DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11,14 recite “cancel all BFRs triggered for the BFD-RS set of the SCell” however, claims 11,14 only recite “trigger a beam failure recovery (BFR) for a beam failure detection (BFD)-reference signal (RS) set of a serving cell” not “trigger a BFD-RS set of the SCell.” Therefore, the claims are not clear.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for depending on rejected base claims 11,14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sengupta to (US20200383167)
Regarding claims 11,14 , Sengupta teaches Equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; a memory, wherein instructions stored in the memory are executable to( [0143] A UE 902 reception may be established by and via the antenna panels 926, RFFE 924, RF circuitry 922, receive circuitry 920, digital baseband circuitry 916, and protocol processing circuitry 914. In some embodiments, the antenna panels 926 may receive a transmission from the AN 904 by receive-beamforming signals received by a plurality of antennas/antenna elements of the one or more antenna panels 926) trigger a beam failure recovery (BFR) for a beam failure detection (BFD)-reference signal (RS) set of a serving cell; ([0060] discloses the UE 102 declares a beam failure instance/event and triggers a BFR procedure, which involves the UE 102 transmitting a BFR request (BFRQ) to a serving AN 108 and identifying new beams on which it can continue Tx/Rx . [0042] For beam failure detection (BFD), the AN 108 (e.g., gNB 116) configures the UE 102 with BFD reference signals and the UE 102 declares a beam failure when a number of beam failure instance indications from the PHY layer reaches a configured threshold before a configured timer expires) and in a case where a medium access control (MAC) PDU is transmitted and the MAC PDU includes a BFR MAC control element (CE) or a truncated BFR MAC CE which contains beam failure recovery information of a BFD-RS set of a secondary cell (SCell), cancel all BFRs triggered for the BFD-RS set of the SCell([0134] discloses the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled. The MAC entity may trigger the SR for SCell BFR as previously described with respect to FIGS. 1-7. All BFRs triggered prior to MAC PDU assembly for SCell BFR may be cancelled when a MAC PDU is transmitted and that PDU includes a BFR MAC CE or truncated BFR MAC CE).
Regarding claim 12, Sengupta teaches wherein the instructions are further executable to: if a beam failure recovery procedure determines that at least one BFR for a BFD-RS set has been triggered and not cancelled for an SCell for which evaluation of candidate beams has been completed and if an available uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource cannot accommodate the BFR MAC CE plus a subheader of the BFR MAC CE,([0134] discloses if UL-SCH resources are available for a new transmission and if the UL-SCH resources can accommodate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802, 803 plus its subheader as a result of LCP, the MAC entity instructs the Multiplexing and Assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC CE 802 or 803. Otherwise, the MAC entity triggers the SR for SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered and not cancelled) trigger a scheduling request (SR) for beam failure recovery of the BFD-RS set([0135] Discloses an SR used for requesting UL-SCH resources for new transmission. The MAC entity may be configured with zero or more SR configurations).
Regarding claim 13, Sengupta teaches wherein the instructions are further executable to: if a special cell (SpCell) is configured with two BFD-RS sets and if a BFR is triggered for both of the two BFD-RS sets of the SpCell and a beam failure recovery procedure is not successfully completed for one of the two BFD-RS sets, initiate a random access procedure([0079] FIG. 4 illustrates another example BFR procedure 400 with PCell triggered PDCCH order-like RACH, according to various embodiments. In this embodiment, the BFR process for SCell follows the BFR procedure step 1 for indicating a beam failure event over an SR-like PUCCH over the PCell when the PCell has active link. In some embodiments, the PCell can trigger a PDCCH order-like dynamic RACH configuration over a PCell DCI).
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461