Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rashid et al (US 10582404), hereinafter referred to Rashid in view of Ye et al (US 20210204316), hereinafter referred to as Ye.
Regarding claim 1 and 10, A control unit [eNB comprises a processor (controller) see example 1, column 19, lines 22-34] for a wireless device comprising a communication transceiver unit [eNB comprises a transceiver, see example 1 on col 19. lines 22-34] and a sensing/localization transceiver unit [eNB has SI interface and may include Mobile Management Entity (MME), see col 19, lines 1-22] , the control unit being configured to:
control the communication transceiver unit to communicate with a network, NW, node [receive an indication from a UE indicating that the UE is capable of detecting radar, see fig. 4 and 7 step 702];
control the sensing/localization transceiver unit to sense and/or localize an object [send instructions to the UE to detect radar on a channel of unlicensed band, see fig. 4 and 7 step 704]] and
control the communication transceiver unit to transmit capability information to the NW node [see fig. 7 and example 29, block 702 where UE send capability information to the eNB] wherein the capability information comprises information about a capability of the sensing/localization transceiver unit to sense [see fig. 7, capable of sensing detecting radar] and/or localize an object [eNB sends radar detection configuration information to UE, see fig. 4 and 7];
Rashid teaches of capability information comprising one or more (in an alternate language) of: backscattering capability of the sensing/localization transceiver unit and radar capability of the sensing/localization transceiver unit in fig. 4, fig. 7, column 18, lines 20-30, Column 19, lines 1-40/example 29 of radar sensing of transceiver.
While Rashid teaches in column 8, lines 1-26 and where capability message which is considered RRC layer message indicates, he is silent on wherein a first portion of the capability information is transmitted on a radio resource control, RRC, layer. However, Ye in the same field of endeavor teaches in fig. 6 of communication between a eNB and UE on a wireless network. Ye teaches in paragraph 0212 and 0226 a transmission comprising of a PRACH preamble portion and a message portion. The message portion comprises RRC part including an RRC message with a UE identity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to effective filing date to include transmission on RRC to ensure quality of service in delivery of communication messages between eNB and UE.
Regarding claim 2, Rashid teaches wherein the capability information comprises sensing and location capability indices according to a pre-defined rule [see Rashid, see column 8 lines 1-25 and UE capability Information table code and column 14 lines 5—20 and Report config EUTRA information element, where sensing and location is included in the capability information].
Regarding claim 3, Rasid teaches wherein a second portion of the capability information is transmitted on one or more of: a media access, MAC, layer; a physical, PHY, layer and an application layer (see fig. 2 and column 4 lines 42-65 of UE including PHYs and MAC circuity and also see example 12, where the capability message includes radar capability value and a list of detectable channel, clearly detectable channels is equivalent to physical layer].
Regarding claim 4 and 12, Rasid teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to:
associate the wireless device with the NW node for establishing a wireless communication channel [see Rashid, abstract, see fig. 7, box 702 and 704, where UE indicates capability of detecting a radar and eNB sends instruction to UE to detect radar on a channel of an unlicensed band]; and
establish a connection to a remote server, connected to the NW node, the remote server controlling the sensing and/or localization of the object [see Rasid fig. 1, 7, box 704 and 706, where established communication between eNB and UE is occurring; see col 18 lines 20-40 scheduling information element includes a selection activating radar presence detection of a measure object; gateway can be considered remote server]; and
wherein controlling the communication transceiver unit [see fig. 7 and example 29, block 702 where UE send capability information to the eNB] to transmit capability information to the NW node comprises causing the communication transceiver unit to transmit, via the NW node, a control message comprising the capability information to the remote server over the established wireless communication channel [eNB sends radar detection configuration information to UE, see fig. 1, 4 and 7].
Regarding claim 6, Rashid teaches wherein the capability information comprises one or more of: frequency ranges which can be utilized for sensing and/or localization of the object [see abstract and fig. 7, the UE is capable of detecting radar, send instructions to the UE to detect radar on a channel of an unlicensed band].
Regarding claim 7, Rashid teaches wherein the communication transceiver unit eNB comprises a transceiver, see example 1 on col 19. lines 22-34] is utilized as the sensing/localization transceiver unit [see fig. 4, fig. 7. Column 19, lines 1-40/example 29 of radar sensing of transceiver].
Regarding claim 8, Rashid teaches wherein the communication with the NW node is performed in a first frequency range [eNB is configured to detect radar on an operating channel frequency, see col. 6 lines 11-17, see fig. 3 and 7, example 53] and the sensing and/or localization of the object is performed in a second frequency range, the second frequency range at least partially overlapping the first frequency range [see column 6, lines 11-46, see fig. 3, example 53 there is a possibility that the eNB may no promptly detect or may even miss a radar transmission, when the radar transmission is affecting a portion of the coverage area of the eNB, and that portion is overlapping with one or more UEs, but not the eNB itself, the eNb may not detect the radar, thus clearly suggesting communication occurs via first frequency and sensing occurs via another frequency of the unlicensed frequency band].
Regarding claim 9, Rashid teaches in example 29 wireless device [UE] comprising a communication transceiver unit [transceiver], a sensing/localization transceiver unit [inherent in the processor of the control unit to detect radar on a channel of the unlicensed band, see example 29] and the control unit [processor] of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Rashid teaches of a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium, having thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a data processing unit and configured to cause execution of the method of claim 10 when the computer program is run by the data processing unit [see rejection to claims 1 and 10 above, and Rashid further teaches in column 24 lines 34-52, supporting implementation of the method/apparatus by a machine/CRM/machine readable medium].
Regarding claim 13, Rashid teaches wherein associating the wireless device [UE 402, see fig. 4 and 7] with a NW node [eNB, 404, fig. 4] for establishing a wireless communication channel is performed through a connection setup [see column of eNB sending instructions to the UE to detect radar on a channel of an unlicensed band, see fig. 7 block 704].
Regarding claim 14, Rasid teaches further comprising: establishing a connection to a remote server [eNB has SI interface and may include Mobile Management Entity (MME), see col 19, lines 1-22], connected to the NW node, the remote server [Gateway/MME, see fig. 1, 4, 6, and 7] controlling the sensing and/or localization of the object [Gateway/MME, see fig. 1, 4, 6 and 7, colum 3 lines 22-29, MME may notify a second eNB of the detected radar on a channel].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment lead to a formulation of new citations under 35 USC 103 over previously cited references under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Rashid in view of Ye as provided in this Final Office Action.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “The amendment to independent claims 1 and 10, which now explicitly recite that the capability information comprises "backscattering capability" and/or "radar capability" of the device's own sensing/localization transceiver unit, clarifies a key technical distinction that the cited art fails to address.
Rashid is directed to an entirely different technical problem and solution. In particular, Rashid's objective is regulatory compliance with Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) by detecting and avoiding external, incumbent radar signals in an unlicensed band (Rashid, col. 13, In. 5-8). The 'capability' reported by the UE in Rashid is merely a binary indication of its ability to perform this passive detection of an external signal (Rashid, claim 2: 'a radar detection capability value').”
In contrast, the amended claims address the technical problem of enabling network- controlled resource allocation for device-centric sensing. The claimed "capability information" is a detailed report on the intrinsic ability of the wireless device's own transceiver to actively perform sensing operations, such as backscattering or radar, for the purpose of sensing its surroundings. Rashid's UE does not possess a transceiver for performing such operations, nor does it report such capabilities.
Moreover, the claimed "radar capability" must be read in context as a capability of the sensing/localization transceiver unit defined in claim 1, which is a transceiver unit configured to sense and/or localize an object. Rashid's UE transceiver performs no such function. The OA's citation of Rashid's Example 29 does not alter this conclusion, as Example 29 merely discloses a UE capable of detecting radar on an unlicensed channel and does not disclose transceiver unit with an intrinsic capability to perform radar sensing or localization of surrounding objects. Therefore, Rashid teaches a fundamentally different concept and provides no suggestion for the invention as claimed.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason(s). While Rashid does focus on regulatory DFS compliance and describes a UE that can detect radar and report the capability to the eNB in example 2 and 29, however, Rashid’s “capability information” includes a value indicating whether the UE can perform radar, and further provides a list of detectable channels, see fig. 7 and column 18, lines 20-30. While Rashid’s primary context is regulatory, the system architecture, i.e. UE with radar detection hardware, reporting capability to the network via RRC is not limited to passive detection. The underlying disclosure supports a UE with hardware capable of radar detection, which may be implemented with the same or similar transceiver technology as in the claims capable of both communication and sensing. Thus, Rashid clearly teaches radar capability of the sensing/localization transceiver unit in fig. 4, fig. 7, column 18, lines 20-30, Column 19, lines 1-40/example 29 of radar sensing of transceiver as claimed. Ye focuses on PRACH procedures, the device architecture and the reporting of “capability information” over the RRC layer directly addresses the claimed subject matter. Thus, combination of Rashid and Ye provides the use of RRC for capability reporting for advanced network management particularly for delivering quality of service related message between eNB and UE. Additionally, if the Applicant wishes to further distinguish the claims, please clarify and positively recite in the claim language with structural and functional details of “backscattering/radar capability” to distinguish from the combined teachings as presented. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477