DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4-7 of copending Application No. 18/290,886 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, the claim is identical to claim 1 of the reference application, with the following exceptions:
the amine-based component is referred to as an “age resistor” (versus an “antioxidant” in the copending application);
the quinoline-based component is referred to as an “age resistor” (versus an “antioxidant” in the copending application);
the compositional amounts of the amine-based and quinoline-based components are limited by a ratio thereof (versus specific mass amounts per 100 parts of rubber in the copending application)
The first two differences are tantamount to intended uses thereof within the compositions, and therefore do not positively limit the compositions (see MPEP 2111.02.II.). Regarding the third difference, claim 1 of the copending application requires that the amine-based and quinoline-based components are included in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 11 and 1.75 to 2.5 phr, respectively, which is equivalent to a ratio of 0.159- 25. This ratio range overlaps the claimed range of “0.05 to 0.2,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the copending application requires the same listing of rubber components.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, claim 1 of the copending application requires the same compositional amount of the amine-based component, as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 12, claim 4 of the copending application requires the same substituents for “R1” and “R2.”
Regarding claims 5, 10, 13, and 15, claim 5 of the copending application also requires the incorporation of a wax in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 5 phr.
Regarding claims 6, 11, 14, 16, and 17, claim 7 of the copending application requires 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinone as the quinoline-based component.
Regarding claim 7, claim 6 of the copending application requires a tire formed from the purportedly-inventive composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unterberg (EP 2604651 A1, hereinafter referring to the attached ESPACENET translation).
Regarding claims 1-17, Unterberg teaches a novel rubber formulation ([0001]), comprising a rubber ([0024]) and an antioxidant such as N,N’-bis-1,4,-(1,4-dimethylpentyl)-p-phenylenediamine (77PD) ([0063]). 77PD reads on the claimed “amine-based age resistor” because it has an identical structure to the claimed “general formula (1)” wherein “R1” – “R2” are both 1,4-dimethylpentyl groups. These 1,4-dimethylpentyl groups are saturated hydrocarbon groups having 7 carbons, and they therefore also read on the substituents stipulated upon within claims 4, 9, and 12. Unterberg teaches that said antioxidant is included in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 5 phr ([0063]), and teaches the incorporation of anti-aging agents such as polymerized 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline (TMQ) ([0062]), in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 5 phr. Polymerized TMQ reads on the claimed “quinoline-based age resistor.” The ratio of said antioxidant and anti-aging agent therefore ranges from about 0.02 to about 50, which encompasses the claimed range of “0.05 to 0.2,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. The amount of amine, 0.1 to 5 phr, likewise falls within the claimed range of claims 3 and 8, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
This anti-aging agent (polymerized TMQ) likewise reads on the specifically claimed antioxidant within claims 6, 11, 14, 16, and 17
Unterberg teaches that the rubber within the formulation is preferably a styrene/butadiene rubber or a polyisoprene rubber ([0035]), which reads on list of rubbers within claim 2.
Unterberg further teaches the incorporation of waxes in amounts ranging from 1 to 50 phr ([0066]), which overlaps the claimed range within claims 5, 10, 13, and 15, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Unterberg teaches the formation of a tire from the inventive composition ([0094]), and therefore meets the limitation of claims 7.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762