DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 03/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search encompassing the claims of Group I would necessarily include art on the claimed stick composition and methods of manufacturing the claimed stick composition and using the same for reducing malodour or perspiration. Therefore, an all claims represented by Groups I, II and III is proper since the technical relationship of the claimed inventions involves one or more of the same corresponding technical features. This is not found persuasive because even though the claims correspond to the same technical feature, the technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Potent C. Potent C teaches a composition comprising i)behenyl alcohol, ii) polyglyceryl-2-stearate; sucrose stearate and iii) water.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (WO 2021/073989, disclosed by applicant).
Jin et al. disclose an antiperspirant composition comprising an oil in water emulsion with an oil phase and a nonionic emulsifier having an HLB value of 10 or lower (Abstract). Jin et al. disclose the composition can be in the form of a stick (p. 4, line 7). Jin et al. disclose the nonionic emulsifier include polyglyceryl-2-stearate and sucrose polystearate at a concentration of from 8 to 20 wt.% based on total weight of the composition (p. 5, lines 10-15). Jin et al. disclose a composition comprising about 82.30% water (Table 5). Jin et al. disclose the composition comprises lipophilic material having a melting point greater than 45°C at a concentration of 2 to 20 wt.% based on the total weight of the composition (p. 6, lines 15-25 and p. 7, line 13). The composition of reference comprises similar composition and formed as a stick and one would expect the composition to have similar properties, such as harness of at least 0.15 kg.
The prior discloses compositions containing at least one lipophilic material at least one nonionic emulsifier and aqueous cosmetically acceptable carrier. Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since each component is taught as being useful in making the compositions of the prior art.
Since this modification of the prior art represents nothing more than “the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612