DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “substantially only”. The word “substantially” suggests that a large degree of the material is BiNi but other materials can be present, in a small degree, while the word “only” suggests that is exclusively formed of BiNi. Clarification or amendment to the claim is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0220196).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 12, Jang teaches a battery (i.e., sodium metal-sulfur battery) (paragraph [0016]) comprising:
a first electrode (i.e., anode) (paragraph [0065]) (see figure 2);
a second electrode (i.e., cathode) (paragraph [0065]) (see figure 2); and
an electrolyte solution (paragraph [0065]),
wherein
the first electrode comprises:
a base material that is a porous body (i.e., Cu foil, Ni foam, porous layer of nanofilaments) (paragraph [0024]) (see figure 2), and
an active material layer (paragraph [0040]) located on a surface of the base material (see figure 2), and the active material layer contains an alloy containing Bi and Ni (i.e., alloys of Bi, Ni) (paragraph [0040]) (Note: alloying bismuth and nickel produce the specific intermetallic structure of BiNi).
Regarding claim 6, Jang the active material layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of LiBi (i.e., Bi and lithiated versions thereof) (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Jang does not teach the active material layer contains a solid electrolyte which reads on the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches the base material contains Ni (i.e., Cu foil, Ni foam, porous layer of nanofilaments) (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Jang teaches the electrolyte solution contains a vinylene carbonate solvent and a lithium salt dissolved in the solvent (paragraph [0099]-[0100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0220196) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Berthelot et al. (NPL, 20171).
Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches the battery as described above in claims 1-2 including the BiNi but does not explicitly teach the BiNi has a crystal structure having a space group which belongs to C2/m.
Berthelot teaches an active material including BiNi (i.e., Li3Ni2BiO6) with a C2/m structure having outstanding properties and applicability in batteries (page 5377, 5384).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang BiNi to have a C2/m structure in order to have increased properties, including paramagnetic and antiferromagnetic behaviors, as suggested by Berthelot.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0220196) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawase et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0234861).
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches the battery as described above in claims 1 including the active material layer but does not teach the layer is a heat-treated plating layer.
Kawase, directed to an electrode (abstract), teaches an active material layer that is formed as a heat-treated plating layer (paragraph [0038]). Kawase teaches such improve the characteristics of the alloy formed of the active material (paragraph [0038]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active material layer of Jang to be a heat-treated plating layer, as suggested by Kawase, in order to improve the characteristics of the active material.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu, Binder-free Integration of Bismuth Nanoflakes onto Nickel Foams for Sodium-ion batteries, Royal Society of Chemistry, Dec 2017. Liu teaches an active material comprising BiNi (page 1-2).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723
1 Berthelot et al., New Layered Compounds with Honeycomb Ordering: Li3Ni2BiO3, Li3NiM’BiO6, (M’=M, Cu, Zn), and the Delafossite Ag3Ni2BiO6, Inorganic Chemistry, ACS Publications, 2012, 51, 5377-5385.