DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 04/28/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 8, 14 and 32 have been amended.
Clams 1-7, 15-31, 35 and 38-47 were canceled.
Clams 12 and 34 are canceled.
Claims 8-11, 13-14, 32-33 and 36-37 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remark section of Amendment, filed April 28, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 8-11, 13-14, 32-33 and 36-37 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 10, 11, 32, 33 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soloway et al. [hereinafter as Soloway] US 2021/0112137 A1 in view of Ng [hereinafter as Ng] US 2009/0086622 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Soloway discloses wherein a first edge enabler server (EES) comprising (Fig.2-3 [0025], edge enabler server 325/first edge enabler server (EES) 325):
a memory (Fig.2-3&13 [0026][0167], a memory 1325 of the edge enabler server); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig.2-3&13 [0026][0167], a processor 1330 coupled to the memory 1325) and
configured to send a control message to a User Equipment (UE) indicating that the first EES is scheduled to be shut down or be unavailable (Fig.2-3 [0029], the first edge enabler server 325 is sending a keep-alive probe message i.e., control message to the EEC 340 of the UE 115 indicating that the first EES 325 is scheduled to be expired i.e., shut down or be unavailability or to be released connection prior to an expiration of an edge watchdog timer that is running at the edge enabler server 325 and Fig.5 [0101], step 520 & step 545 the first edge enabler server 325 is sending a keep-alive probe message i.e., control message to the UE 115 indicating that the first edge enabler server is scheduled to be expired i.e., shut down or be unavailability, the watchdog timer is running at the edge enabler server, Fig.6 [0107], Fig.7 [0115], Fig.8 [0119], Fig.9 [0132], Fig.10 [0142], Fig.11 [0152], Fig.20 [0215], Fig.21 [0221]),
wherein the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable (Fig.1-2 [0090], the keep-alive probe message i.e., control message indicates the edge watchdog timer period i.e., grace period until the edge enable server is unavailable e.g., before the end of the watchdog timer period for maintaining a connection between the edge enabler server and the edge application client at the UE and Fig.7 [0115], the edge enabler server is sending a keep-alive probe message for maintaining a connection between an edge application client at the UE and an edge application server in the edge data network and determine whether the connection is to be maintained and Fig.8 [0122], the keep-alive probe message is transmitted by the edge enabler server prior to an expiration of an edge watchdog timer that is running at the edge enabler server).
Even though Soloway discloses the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable, in the same field of endeavor, Ng teaches wherein the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable (Fig.1-2 [0021], the control message is indicating a certain amount of waiting time referred to as a grace period when a router has become unavailable, rather than immediately reporting to their own neighbors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Soloway to incorporate the teaching of Ng in order to provide for enhancements to the link state routing protocol. It would have been beneficial to use the control message which is indicating a certain amount of waiting time referred to as a grace period when a router has become unavailable, rather than immediately reporting to their own neighbors as taught by Ng to have incorporated in the system of Soloway to provide for enhancing router availability and avoid disruption of data connectivity. (Ng, Fig.1 [0008] and Fig.1-2 [0021])
Regarding claim 9, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses the control message causes the UE to send an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to a second EES different from the first EES (Fig.3&5 [0047][0100], a keep-alive message i.e., control message causes the edge enabler client of the UE sending an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to the edge enabler server 325-b i.e., a second EES different from the edge enabler server 325-a first EES and Fig.2 [0086]-[0087], the keep-alive messages 210 includes registration request messages with an update indication, that are transmitted prior to the expiration of a life time value of the current registration e.g., by providing a proposed lifetime in a registration request).
Regarding claim 10, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses the control message causes the UE to send an edge enabler client (EEC) deregistration request to the first EES (Fig.2-3 [0089][0093], the edge enabler client at the UE is sending a request to the edge enable servers via the EDGE-4 interface, the keep-alive message i.e., control message causes the UE sending the deregistration request of an edge enabler client to the edge enable server, upon expiration of the edge watchdog timer, the edge enabler server releases local caching for the related applications and removes registration for the UE and Fig.8&12 [0127][0160], send the deregistering request to the edge enable server and a confirmation message indicates the edge application client is to be deregistered; Fig.1-2 [0014][023], Fig.3&8 [0034][0125], Fig.18-19 [0203][0211]).
Regarding claim 11, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses the control message causes the UE to determine whether to send an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to a second EES or an EEC deregistration request to the first EES (Fig.3&5 [0047][0100], a keep-alive message i.e., control message causes the edge enabler client of the UE to determine whether to send an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to the edge enabler server 325-b i.e., a second EES different from the edge enabler server 325-a first EES and Fig.2 [0086]-[0087], the keep-alive messages 210 includes registration request messages with an update indication, that are transmitted prior to the expiration of a life time value of the current registration e.g., by providing a proposed lifetime in a registration request).
Regarding claim 14, Soloway discloses wherein a method performed by a first edge enabler server (EES) (Fig.2-3 [0025], a method performed by edge enabler server 325/first edge enabler server (EES) 325), the method comprising:
sending a control message to a User Equipment (UE) indicating that the first EES
is scheduled to be shut down or be unavailable (Fig.2-3 [0029], the first edge enabler server 325 is sending a keep-alive probe message i.e., control message to the EEC 340 of the UE 115 indicating that the first EES 325 is scheduled to be expired i.e., shut down or be unavailability or to be released connection prior to an expiration of an edge watchdog timer that is running at the edge enabler server 325 and Fig.5 [0101], step 520 & step 545 the first edge enabler server 325 is sending a keep-alive probe message i.e., control message to the UE 115 indicating that the first edge enabler server is scheduled to be expired i.e., shut down or be unavailability, the watchdog timer is running at the edge enabler server, Fig.6 [0107], Fig.7 [0115], Fig.8 [0119], Fig.9 [0132], Fig.10 [0142], Fig.11 [0152], Fig.20 [0215], Fig.21 [0221]),
wherein the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable (Fig.1-2 [0090], the keep-alive message i.e., control message indicates the edge watchdog timer period i.e., grace period until the edge enable server is unavailable e.g., before the end of the watchdog timer period for maintaining a connection between the edge enabler server and the edge application client at the UE and Fig.7 [0115], the edge enabler server is sending a keep-alive probe message for maintaining a connection between an edge application client at the UE and an edge application server in the edge data network and determine whether the connection is to be maintained and Fig.8 [0122], the keep-alive probe message is transmitted by the edge enabler server prior to an expiration of an edge watchdog timer that is running at the edge enabler server).
Even though Soloway discloses the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable, in the same field of endeavor, Ng teaches wherein the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable (Fig.1-2 [0021], the control message is indicating a certain amount of waiting time referred to as a grace period when a router has become unavailable, rather than immediately reporting to their own neighbors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Soloway to incorporate the teaching of Ng in order to provide for enhancements to the link state routing protocol. It would have been beneficial to use the control message which is indicating a certain amount of waiting time referred to as a grace period when a router has become unavailable, rather than immediately reporting to their own neighbors as taught by Ng to have incorporated in the system of Soloway to provide for enhancing router availability and avoid disruption of data connectivity. (Ng, Fig.1 [0008] and Fig.1-2 [0021])
Regarding claim 32, Soloway discloses wherein a User Equipment (UE) comprising (Fig.2-3 [0025], a user equipment (UE) comprising):
a memory (Fig.9 [0130], a memory 930); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (Fig.9 [0130], a processor 940 coupled to the memory 930 and configured to):
receive a control message from a first edge enabler server (EES) or an edge
configuration server indicating that the first EES is scheduled to be shut down or be
unavailable (Fig.2-3 [0029], the EEC 340 of the UE 115 is receiving a keep-alive probe message i.e., control message from the first edge enabler server 325 indicating that the first EES 325 is scheduled to be expired i.e., shut down or be unavailability or to be released connection prior to an expiration of an edge watchdog timer that is running at the edge enabler server 325 and Fig.5 [0101], step 520 & step 545 the UE 115 is receiving a keep-alive probe message i.e., control message from the first edge enabler server 325 indicating that the first edge enabler server is scheduled to be expired i.e., shut down or be unavailability, the watchdog timer is running at the edge enabler server, Fig.6 [0107], Fig.7 [0115], Fig.8 [0119], Fig.9 [0132], Fig.10 [0142], Fig.11 [0152], Fig.20 [0215], Fig.21 [0221]),
wherein the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable (Fig.1-2 [0090], a keep-alive message i.e., control message indicates the edge watchdog timer i.e., grace period until the edge enable server is unavailable e.g., before the end of the watchdog timer period and Fig.7 [0115], the edge enabler server is sending a keep-alive probe message for maintaining a connection between an edge application client at the UE and an edge application server in the edge data network and determine whether the connection is to be maintained and Fig.8 [0122], the keep-alive probe message is transmitted by the edge enabler server prior to an expiration of an edge watchdog timer that is running at the edge enabler server); and
depending on receiving the control message, send an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to a second EES different from the first EES (Fig.3&5 [0047][0100], at step 505, the edge enabler client of the UE is sending an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to the edge enabler server 325-b i.e., a second EES different from the edge enabler server 325-a first EES, depending on receiving the keep-alive message information/control message and Fig.2 [0086]-[0087], the keep-alive messages 210 includes registration request messages with an update indication, that are transmitted prior to the expiration of a life time value of the current registration e.g., by providing a proposed lifetime in a registration request).
Even though Soloway discloses the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable, in the same field of endeavor, Ng teaches wherein the control message indicates a grace period until the first EES becomes unavailable, or a date and time or period of time when the first EES is unavailable (Fig.1-2 [0021], the control message is indicating a certain amount of waiting time referred to as a grace period when a router has become unavailable, rather than immediately reporting to their own neighbors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Soloway to incorporate the teaching of Ng in order to provide for enhancements to the link state routing protocol. It would have been beneficial to use the control message which is indicating a certain amount of waiting time referred to as a grace period when a router has become unavailable, rather than immediately reporting to their own neighbors as taught by Ng to have incorporated in the system of Soloway to provide for enhancing router availability and avoid disruption of data connectivity. (Ng, Fig.1 [0008] and Fig.1-2 [0021])
Regarding claim 33, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 32 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses the at least one processor is configured to determine, based on the control message, whether to send the EEC registration request to the second EES or an EEC deregistration request to the first EES the control message causes the UE to determine whether to send an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to a second EES or an EEC deregistration request to the first EES (Fig.3&5 [0047][0100], a keep-alive message i.e., control message causes the edge enabler client of the UE’s processor to determine whether to send an edge enabler client (EEC) registration request to the edge enabler server 325-b i.e., a second EES different from the edge enabler server 325-a first EES and Fig.2 [0086]-[0087], the keep-alive messages 210 includes registration request messages with an update indication, that are transmitted prior to the expiration of a life time value of the current registration e.g., by providing a proposed lifetime in a registration request).
Regarding claim 36, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 32 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses the control message is sent by the first EES (Fig.2-3 [0047], the keep-alive probe message i.e., control message is sent by the edge enabler server/first EES).
Claims 13 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soloway et al. [hereinafter as Soloway] U.S 2021/0112137 A1 in view of Ng [hereinafter as Ng] US 2009/0086622 A1 further in view of GE et al. [hereinafter as GE] US 2023/0239675 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses Soloway the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response, or an EAS discovery notification (Fig.18 [0203], the control message is an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response).
Even though Soloway and Ng disclose wherein the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response, or an EAS discovery notification, in the same field of endeavor, GE teaches wherein the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response, or an EAS discovery notification (Fig.1&3 [0074][0114]-[0115], the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response and an EEC registration response; Fig.4 [0120]-[0121], an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, Fig.4 [0152]-[0154] and Fig.6 [0145], an EEC registration response and Fig.8 [0159]-[0161], an edge application server (EAS) discovery response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Soloway and Ng to incorporate the teaching of GE in order to provide a solution for preconfiguring relocation of an application context of some applications for an edge enabler function entity. It would have been beneficial to use the control message which is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response and an EEC registration response and, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response as taught by GE to have incorporated in the system of Soloway and Ng to provide an edge computing enabling capability for the application client. (GE, Fig.1 [0076], Fig.1&3 [0114]-[0115], Fig.6 [0145], Fig.4 [0152]-[0154] and Fig.8 [0159]-[0161])
Regarding claim 37, Soloway and Ng disclose all the elements of claim 36 as stated above wherein Soloway further discloses the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response, or an EAS discovery notification (Fig.18 [0203], the control message is an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response).
Even though Soloway and Ng disclose wherein the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response, or an EAS discovery notification, in the same field of endeavor, GE teaches wherein
the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, an EEC registration response, an EEC deregistration response, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response, or an EAS discovery notification (Fig.1&3 [0114]-[0115], the control message is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response and an EEC registration response; Fig.4 [0120]-[0121], an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response, Fig.4 [0152]-[0154] and Fig.6 [0145], an EEC registration response and Fig.8 [0159]-[0161], an edge application server (EAS) discovery response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Soloway and Ng to incorporate the teaching of GE in order to provide a solution for preconfiguring relocation of an application context of some applications for an edge enabler function entity. It would have been beneficial to use the control message which is an edge enabler client (EEC) registration update response and an EEC registration response and, an edge application server (EAS) discovery response as taught by GE to have incorporated in the system of Soloway and Ng to provide an edge computing enabling capability for the application client. (GE, Fig.1 [0076], Fig.1&3 [0114]-[0115], Fig.6 [0145], Fig.4 [0152]-[0154] and Fig.8 [0159]-[0161])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yao et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0137269 A1) teaches Method for Instantiating Edge application Server and Apparatus.
Ge et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0121672 A1) teaches Context Relocation Method and Apparatus.
Takakura et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0107424 A1) teaches Server, Requesting Entity and Methods Therefor.
Gupta et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0369218 A1) teaches Method and System for Distributed Discovery and Notification for Edge Computing.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414