Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/294,230 filed on February 01, 2024. Claims 11-26 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 11-26 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 01, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications DE10 2021 119 954.9, filed on August 02, 2021.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are lacking content necessary for interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
“A vehicle”, “a hybrid drive”, “an internal combustion engine”, “an electrical machine”, “an on-board electrical system”, “a first subsystem”, “a first energy store”, “a second subsystem”, “a second energy store” in Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear whether is the same on-board electrical system as the “on-board electrical system” of claim 11 or is a different system.
Claim 19 are rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 10604140 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Murakami teaches A device for operating an on-board electrical system, (see at least [43]; "For example, a speed reduction mechanism formed of a plurality of gears, or the like, a clutch that connects or interrupts a driving force transmission path, or another device, may be interposed between the engine 10 and the motor generator 20. That is, as long as the driving force of the motor generator 20 is transmitted to the engine 10 via some kind of mechanism and the engine 10 is able to be started, the above-described technique of the embodiment may be applicable with any mechanism.")
wherein the on-board electrical system comprises a first subsystem with a first energy store and an electrical machine, and (see at least [16]; " The hybrid vehicle includes an engine, a motor generator coupled to the engine, a main battery configured to supply electric power to the motor generator,") Murakami describes an on board electrical system with a first subsystem with a first energy store labeled as a main battery.
a second subsystem with a second energy store, (see at least [12]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to calculate a second available electrical energy available to be supplied from the sub-battery to the motor generator.") Murakami describes a second subsystem with a second energy store outlined as a sub-battery.
wherein the electrical machine is part of a hybrid drive and is configured to start an internal combustion engine of the hybrid drive, (see at least [8]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
wherein the device is configured to: determine whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and (see at least [12]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is smaller than the value obtained by subtracting the second available electrical energy from the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the starter…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes determining whether the batteries have enough charge to start the engine, and if not, starts the engine with the starter. Once the engine is started, the hybrid drive can occur.
cause electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
in response to determining that the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [8, 43]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator" )Murakami describes starting the combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 12, Murakami teaches The device according to claim 11, wherein the device is configured to:determine temperature data relating to a temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or relating to a temperature of an environment of the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [15]; "The hybrid vehicle may further include a temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant temperature of the engine. ") Murakami describes a temperature environment of the engine.
determine, on a basis of the temperature data, whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [15]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.") Once Murakami determines the energy required to start the engine based on the temperature, it may be determined whether the batteries have enough charge to start it.
responsively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 14, Murakami teaches The device according to claim 11, wherein the device is configured to, during a switch-off process of the hybrid drive and/or while the hybrid drive is switched off:(see at least [48]; "For example, depending on a stop position of the drive shaft (crankshaft) of the engine 10 while the engine 10 is stopped,")
determine whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and/or cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 15, Murakami teaches The device according to claim 11, wherein the on-board system comprises a DC/DC converter configured to transfer electrical energy from the second subsystem to the first subsystem, and wherein the device is configured to: cause the DC/DC converter to transfer the electrical energy from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 16, Murakami teaches The device according to claim 11, wherein the first subsystem has a first nominal voltage of 48 V or more, and/or wherein the second subsystem has a second nominal voltage of 18 V or less; and/or wherein the hybrid drive is in the form of a drive of a motor vehicle. (see at least [8]; "The high-voltage battery 22 is, for example, a 48 V lithium ion battery. ")
Regarding claim 17, Murakami teaches The device according to claim 11, wherein the device is configured to:determine an amount of energy which, starting from an actual state of charge of the first energy store, is still needed to operate the electrical machine for starting the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [15]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.")
cause the determined amount of energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [31,32]; "In step S22, the electronic control unit 30 determines whether the available electrical energy Wout calculated in step S11 is larger than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting the available step-up electrical energy Wbst from the required electrical energy Wsta. When affirmative determination is made (YES in step S22), the process of the electronic control unit 30 proceeds to step S23.
(32) In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22. The electronic control unit 30 controls the DC-DC converter 23 such that a step-up electrical energy W2 of the DC-DC converter 23 at this time becomes an electrical energy obtained by subtracting the available electrical energy Wout from the required electrical energy Wsta. That is, an electrical energy short of the required electrical energy Wsta is provided by the step-up electrical energy W2 from the low-voltage battery 24. When the DC-DC converter 23 has been controlled in this way, not only electric power from the high-voltage battery 22 is supplied to the motor generator 20 but also electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and supplied to the motor generator 20. ")
Regarding claim 18, Murakami teaches A vehicle comprising: a hybrid drive with an internal combustion engine and an electrical machine, (see at least [8]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
wherein the electrical machine is designed to start the internal combustion engine; (see at least [8]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
an on-board electrical system comprising a first subsystem with a first energy store and the electrical machine, and (see at least [16]; " The hybrid vehicle includes an engine, a motor generator coupled to the engine, a main battery configured to supply electric power to the motor generator,") Murakami describes an on board electrical system with a first subsystem with a first energy store labeled as a main battery.
a second subsystem with a second energy store; and (see at least [12]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to calculate a second available electrical energy available to be supplied from the sub-battery to the motor generator.") Murakami describes a second subsystem with a second energy store outlined as a sub-battery.
the device according to claim 11. (see at least [43]; "For example, a speed reduction mechanism formed of a plurality of gears, or the like, a clutch that connects or interrupts a driving force transmission path, or another device, may be interposed between the engine 10 and the motor generator 20. That is, as long as the driving force of the motor generator 20 is transmitted to the engine 10 via some kind of mechanism and the engine 10 is able to be started, the above-described technique of the embodiment may be applicable with any mechanism.")
Regarding claim 19, Murakami teaches The vehicle according to claim18, wherein the vehicle does not have a separate starter for starting the internal combustion engine in the second subsystem. (see at least [Fig. 1]) Murakami depicts one starter in its entire system.
Regarding claim 20, Murakami teaches A method for operating an on-board electrical system, the on-board electrical system comprising a first subsystem with a first energy store and an electrical machine, and (see at least [16]; " The hybrid vehicle includes an engine, a motor generator coupled to the engine, a main battery configured to supply electric power to the motor generator,") Murakami describes an on board electrical system with a first subsystem with a first energy store labeled as a main battery.
a second subsystem with a second energy store, (see at least [12]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to calculate a second available electrical energy available to be supplied from the sub-battery to the motor generator.") Murakami describes a second subsystem with a second energy store outlined as a sub-battery.
wherein the electrical machine is part of a hybrid drive and is configured to start an internal combustion engine of the hybrid drive, (see at least [8]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
the method comprising: determining whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and (see at least [12]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is smaller than the value obtained by subtracting the second available electrical energy from the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the starter…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes determining whether the batteries have enough charge to start the engine, and if not, starts the engine with the starter. Once the engine is started, the hybrid drive can occur.
causing electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
in response to determining that the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [8, 43]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator" )Murakami describes starting the combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive
Regarding claim 21, Murakami teaches The method according to claim 20, comprising: determining temperature data relating to a temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or relating to a temperature of an environment of the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [15]; "The hybrid vehicle may further include a temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant temperature of the engine. ") Murakami describes a temperature environment of the engine.
determining, on a basis of the temperature data, whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [15]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.") Once Murakami determines the energy required to start the engine based on the temperature, it may be determined whether the batteries have enough charge to start it.
Regarding claim 23, Murakami teaches The method according to claim 20, comprising: during a switch-off process of the hybrid drive and/or while the hybrid drive is switched off:(see at least [48]; "For example, depending on a stop position of the drive shaft (crankshaft) of the engine 10 while the engine 10 is stopped,")
determining whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and/or causing the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 24, Murakami teaches The method according to claim 20, wherein the on-board system comprises a DC/DC converter configured to transfer electrical energy from the second subsystem to the first subsystem, the method comprising: causing the DC/DC converter to transfer the electrical energy from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 25, Murakami teaches The method according to claim 20, wherein the first subsystem has a first nominal voltage of 48 V or more, and/or wherein the second subsystem has a second nominal voltage of 18 V or less; and/or wherein the hybrid drive is in the form of a drive of a motor vehicle. (see at least [8]; "The high-voltage battery 22 is, for example, a 48 V lithium ion battery. ")
Regarding claim 26, Murakami teaches The method according to claim 20, comprising: determining an amount of energy which, starting from an actual state of charge of the first energy store, is still needed to operate the electrical machine for starting the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [15]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.")
causing the determined amount of energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [31,32]; "In step S22, the electronic control unit 30 determines whether the available electrical energy Wout calculated in step S11 is larger than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting the available step-up electrical energy Wbst from the required electrical energy Wsta. When affirmative determination is made (YES in step S22), the process of the electronic control unit 30 proceeds to step S23.
(32) In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22. The electronic control unit 30 controls the DC-DC converter 23 such that a step-up electrical energy W2 of the DC-DC converter 23 at this time becomes an electrical energy obtained by subtracting the available electrical energy Wout from the required electrical energy Wsta. That is, an electrical energy short of the required electrical energy Wsta is provided by the step-up electrical energy W2 from the low-voltage battery 24. When the DC-DC converter 23 has been controlled in this way, not only electric power from the high-voltage battery 22 is supplied to the motor generator 20 but also electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and supplied to the motor generator 20. ")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (JP 2006275856 A) in view of Steuernagel (US 8838309 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Murakami discloses the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami discloses responsively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Murakami does not explicitly disclose The device according to claim 12, wherein the device is configured to:determine, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value.
However, Steuernagel teaches The device according to claim 12, wherein the device is configured to:determine, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value; and (see at least [12]; "The direct start is possible in particular when parameters of the internal combustion engine system are favorable, in particular for a favorable crankshaft angular position of the internal combustion engine, a suitable temperature of the internal combustion engine, and a suitable injection pressure. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Steuernagel which teaches parameters of a start temperature for the combustion engine in order to determine whether the electric starts needs to assist the starting process.
Regarding claim 22, Murakami discloses the limitations of claim 20 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami discloses responsively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [32]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Murakami does not explicitly disclose The method according to claim 21, comprising: determining, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value
However, Steuernagel teaches The method according to claim 21, comprising: determining, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value (see at least [12]; "The direct start is possible in particular when parameters of the internal combustion engine system are favorable, in particular for a favorable crankshaft angular position of the internal combustion engine, a suitable temperature of the internal combustion engine, and a suitable injection pressure. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Steuernagel which teaches parameters of a start temperature for the combustion engine in order to determine whether the electric starts needs to assist the starting process.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664