Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This FINAL communication is in response to application No. 18/294,230 filed on 11 June 2024. Claims 1-10 were previously cancelled. Claims 11, 18, and 20 are currently amended. New claims 27-30 have been added. Claims 11-30 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications DE10 2021 119 954.9, filed on August 02, 2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the Claim Objections and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 11 February 2026 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Objections rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 25 August 2023 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 11 February 2026 have been considered and:
Claims 11 and 20 include the added limitation of “prior to receipt of request to start the hybrid drive”. The examiner could not find support for this limitation in the specification, however Tamai states "the ECU may activate the APM even prior to a failed key-crank. This may occur in conjunction with determining the inadequacy of certain vehicle conditions. For instance, the method may include monitoring any or all of voltage level of the low voltage battery pack, voltage level of the high voltage battery pack, temperature of the low voltage battery pack and temperature of the high voltage battery pack.". Tamai describes a method for the hybrid vehicle that monitors the conditions to determine what type of start will be required for the vehicle prior to the request to start the vehicle.
Furthermore, applicant argues that Murakami doesn’t teach the method for when the hybrid drive is switched off, however Murakami states [column 6, lines 64-67]; "Starting the engine 10, for example, not only includes starting resulting from turning on of an ignition switch (also referred to as an engine start switch, a system startup switch, or the like) by a driver of the vehicle but also automatic restarting after a temporary stop (idling stop) of the engine 10 while the vehicle stops at a red light, or the like.") Murakami teaches determining the conditions for an assisted start during a switch off or restart of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 12 and 21, applicant argues Murakami does not teach determining whether the electric machine must be operated on the basis of temperature data, however, Murakami teaches using the temperature to calculate the energy required to start, or restart, the vehicle. Ultimately, Murakami teaches a method that includes the temperature as a factor in determining whether an electrical or combustion start will be required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 10604140 B2) in view of Tamai (US 7267090 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Murakami teaches A device for operating an on-board electrical system, (see at least [column 11, lines 44-52]; "For example, a speed reduction mechanism formed of a plurality of gears, or the like, a clutch that connects or interrupts a driving force transmission path, or another device, may be interposed between the engine 10 and the motor generator 20. That is, as long as the driving force of the motor generator 20 is transmitted to the engine 10 via some kind of mechanism and the engine 10 is able to be started, the above-described technique of the embodiment may be applicable with any mechanism.")
wherein the on-board electrical system comprises a first subsystem with a first energy store and an electrical machine, and (see at least [column 3, lines 45-48]; " The hybrid vehicle includes an engine, a motor generator coupled to the engine, a main battery configured to supply electric power to the motor generator,") Murakami describes an on board electrical system with a first subsystem with a first energy store labeled as a main battery.
a second subsystem with a second energy store, (see at least [column 2, lines 59-62]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to calculate a second available electrical energy available to be supplied from the sub-battery to the motor generator.") Murakami describes a second subsystem with a second energy store outlined as a sub-battery.
wherein the electrical machine is part of a hybrid drive and is configured to start an internal combustion engine of the hybrid drive, (see at least [column 8, lines 29-34]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
wherein the device is configured to: determine whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and (see at least [column 3, lines 2-10; column 4 lines 45-56]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is smaller than the value obtained by subtracting the second available electrical energy from the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the starter…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes determining whether the batteries have enough charge to start the engine, and if not, starts the engine with the starter. Once the engine is started, the hybrid drive can occur.
cause electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
in response to determining that the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 2, lines 29-34]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator" ) Murakami describes starting the combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive.
Murakami does not explicitly disclose prior to receipt of a request to start the hybrid drive:
However, Tamai teaches (see at least Tamai [column 3, lines 14-21]; "the ECU may activate the APM even prior to a failed key-crank. This may occur in conjunction with determining the inadequacy of certain vehicle conditions. For instance, the method may include monitoring any or all of voltage level of the low voltage battery pack, voltage level of the high voltage battery pack, temperature of the low voltage battery pack and temperature of the high voltage battery pack.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate the teachings of Tamai which teaches monitoring the conditions of the vehicle before a request to start in order for the vehicle to be able to start upon the user’s request.
Regarding claim 12, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the device is configured to: determine temperature data relating to a temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or relating to a temperature of an environment of the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [claim 3, lines 30-32]; "The hybrid vehicle may further include a temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant temperature of the engine. ") Murakami describes a temperature environment of the engine.
determine, on a basis of the temperature data, whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 3, lines 32-43]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.") Once Murakami determines the energy required to start the engine based on the temperature, it may be determined whether the batteries have enough charge to start it.
responsively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 14, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the device is configured to, during a switch-off process of the hybrid drive and/or while the hybrid drive is switched off:(see at least [column 12, lines 33-35]; "For example, depending on a stop position of the drive shaft (crankshaft) of the engine 10 while the engine 10 is stopped,")
determine whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and/or cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 15, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the on-board system comprises a DC/DC converter configured to transfer electrical energy from the second subsystem to the first subsystem, and wherein the device is configured to: cause the DC/DC converter to transfer the electrical energy from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 16, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the first subsystem has a first nominal voltage of 48 V or more, and/or wherein the second subsystem has a second nominal voltage of 18 V or less; and/or wherein the hybrid drive is in the form of a drive of a motor vehicle. (see at least [column 5, lines 9-10]; "The high-voltage battery 22 is, for example, a 48 V lithium ion battery. ")
Regarding claim 17, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the device is configured to:determine an amount of energy which, starting from an actual state of charge of the first energy store, is still needed to operate the electrical machine for starting the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [column 3, lines 32-43]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.")
cause the determined amount of energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 4-26]; "In step S22, the electronic control unit 30 determines whether the available electrical energy Wout calculated in step S11 is larger than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting the available step-up electrical energy Wbst from the required electrical energy Wsta. When affirmative determination is made (YES in step S22), the process of the electronic control unit 30 proceeds to step S23.
(32) In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22. The electronic control unit 30 controls the DC-DC converter 23 such that a step-up electrical energy W2 of the DC-DC converter 23 at this time becomes an electrical energy obtained by subtracting the available electrical energy Wout from the required electrical energy Wsta. That is, an electrical energy short of the required electrical energy Wsta is provided by the step-up electrical energy W2 from the low-voltage battery 24. When the DC-DC converter 23 has been controlled in this way, not only electric power from the high-voltage battery 22 is supplied to the motor generator 20 but also electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and supplied to the motor generator 20. ")
Regarding claim 18, Murakami teaches A vehicle comprising: the hybrid drive with an internal combustion engine and the electrical machine, (see at least [column 2, lines 29-34]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
wherein the electrical machine is designed to start the internal combustion engine; (see at least [column 2, lines 29-34]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
The on-board electrical system comprising a first subsystem with the first energy store and the electrical machine, and (see at least [column 3, lines 45-48]; " The hybrid vehicle includes an engine, a motor generator coupled to the engine, a main battery configured to supply electric power to the motor generator,") Murakami describes an on board electrical system with a first subsystem with a first energy store labeled as a main battery.
the second subsystem with the second energy store; and (see at least [column 2, lines 59-62]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to calculate a second available electrical energy available to be supplied from the sub-battery to the motor generator.") Murakami describes a second subsystem with a second energy store outlined as a sub-battery.
the device according to claim 11. (see at least [column 11, lines 44-52]; "For example, a speed reduction mechanism formed of a plurality of gears, or the like, a clutch that connects or interrupts a driving force transmission path, or another device, may be interposed between the engine 10 and the motor generator 20. That is, as long as the driving force of the motor generator 20 is transmitted to the engine 10 via some kind of mechanism and the engine 10 is able to be started, the above-described technique of the embodiment may be applicable with any mechanism.")
Regarding claim 19, Murakami discloses the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above, furthermore, wherein the vehicle does not have a separate starter for starting the internal combustion engine in the second subsystem. (see at least [Fig. 1]) Murakami depicts one starter in its entire system.
Regarding claim 20, Murakami teaches A method for operating an on-board electrical system, the on-board electrical system comprising a first subsystem with a first energy store and an electrical machine, and (see at least [column 3, lines 45-48]; " The hybrid vehicle includes an engine, a motor generator coupled to the engine, a main battery configured to supply electric power to the motor generator,") Murakami describes an on board electrical system with a first subsystem with a first energy store labeled as a main battery.
a second subsystem with a second energy store, (see at least [column 2, lines 59-62]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to calculate a second available electrical energy available to be supplied from the sub-battery to the motor generator.") Murakami describes a second subsystem with a second energy store outlined as a sub-battery.
wherein the electrical machine is part of a hybrid drive and is configured to start an internal combustion engine of the hybrid drive, (see at least [column 2, lines 29-34]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator.") Murakami describes an electrical machine that is part of a hybrid drive that is configured to start an internal combustion engine.
the method comprising: determining whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and (see at least [column 3, lines 2-10; column 4, lines 45-56]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is smaller than the value obtained by subtracting the second available electrical energy from the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the starter…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes determining whether the batteries have enough charge to start the engine, and if not, starts the engine with the starter. Once the engine is started, the hybrid drive can occur.
causing electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
in response to determining that the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 2, lines 29-32]; "In the hybrid vehicle, the electronic control unit may be configured to, when the first available electrical energy of the main battery is larger than or equal to the required electrical energy, control the DC-DC converter such that the main battery outputs electric power to the sub-battery, and start the engine with the use of the motor generator" ) Murakami describes starting the combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive
Murakami does not explicitly disclose prior to receipt of a request to start the hybrid drive:
However, Tamai teaches (see at least Tamai [column 3, lines 14-21]; "the ECU may activate the APM even prior to a failed key-crank. This may occur in conjunction with determining the inadequacy of certain vehicle conditions. For instance, the method may include monitoring any or all of voltage level of the low voltage battery pack, voltage level of the high voltage battery pack, temperature of the low voltage battery pack and temperature of the high voltage battery pack.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate the teachings of Tamai which teaches monitoring the conditions of the vehicle before a request to start in order for the vehicle to be able to start upon the user’s request.
Regarding claim 21, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 20 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches determining temperature data relating to a temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or relating to a temperature of an environment of the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [column 3, lines 30-32]; "The hybrid vehicle may further include a temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant temperature of the engine. ") Murakami describes a temperature environment of the engine.
determining, on a basis of the temperature data, whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 3, lines 32-43]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.") Once Murakami determines the energy required to start the engine based on the temperature, it may be determined whether the batteries have enough charge to start it.
Regarding claim 23, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 20 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches: during a switch-off process of the hybrid drive and/or while the hybrid drive is switched off:(see at least [column 12, lines 33-35]; "For example, depending on a stop position of the drive shaft (crankshaft) of the engine 10 while the engine 10 is stopped,")
determining whether the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive; and/or causing the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 24, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 20 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the on-board system comprises a DC/DC converter configured to transfer electrical energy from the second subsystem to the first subsystem, the method comprising: causing the DC/DC converter to transfer the electrical energy from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Regarding claim 25, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches wherein the first subsystem has a first nominal voltage of 48 V or more, and/or wherein the second subsystem has a second nominal voltage of 18 V or less; and/or wherein the hybrid drive is in the form of a drive of a motor vehicle. (see at least [column 5, lines 9-10]; "The high-voltage battery 22 is, for example, a 48 V lithium ion battery. ")
Regarding claim 26, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches determining an amount of energy which, starting from an actual state of charge of the first energy store, is still needed to operate the electrical machine for starting the internal combustion engine; and (see at least [column 3, lines 32-43]; "The electronic control unit may be configured to calculate the required electrical energy such that the required electrical energy increases as the coolant temperature of the engine decreases. When the coolant temperature of the engine is low, the viscosity of oil that lubricates components of the engine is high and the static friction of each of these components is large, so a larger energy is required to start the engine. For this reason, with the above configuration, in calculating the required electrical energy, the static friction of each of the components is also taken into consideration, so it is possible to accurately calculate the required electrical energy.")
causing the determined amount of energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 4-26]; "In step S22, the electronic control unit 30 determines whether the available electrical energy Wout calculated in step S11 is larger than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting the available step-up electrical energy Wbst from the required electrical energy Wsta. When affirmative determination is made (YES in step S22), the process of the electronic control unit 30 proceeds to step S23.
(32) In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22. The electronic control unit 30 controls the DC-DC converter 23 such that a step-up electrical energy W2 of the DC-DC converter 23 at this time becomes an electrical energy obtained by subtracting the available electrical energy Wout from the required electrical energy Wsta. That is, an electrical energy short of the required electrical energy Wsta is provided by the step-up electrical energy W2 from the low-voltage battery 24. When the DC-DC converter 23 has been controlled in this way, not only electric power from the high-voltage battery 22 is supplied to the motor generator 20 but also electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and supplied to the motor generator 20. ")
2. Claims 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 10604140 B2) in view of Tamai (US 7267090 B2), in further view of Steuernagel (US 8838309 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami discloses responsively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Murakami does not explicitly disclose The device according to claim 12, wherein the device is configured to:determine, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value.
However, Steuernagel teaches The device according to claim 12, wherein the device is configured to:determine, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value; and (see at least [column 3, lines 34-38]; "The direct start is possible in particular when parameters of the internal combustion engine system are favorable, in particular for a favorable crankshaft angular position of the internal combustion engine, a suitable temperature of the internal combustion engine, and a suitable injection pressure. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Steuernagel which teaches parameters of a start temperature for the combustion engine in order to determine whether the electric starts needs to assist the starting process.
Regarding claim 22, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami teaches responsively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store in preparation for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least [column 9, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 45-56]; " In step S23, the electronic control unit 30 outputs the operation signal MSc to control the DC-DC converter 23 such that electric power from the low-voltage battery 24 is stepped up and is output to the high-voltage battery 22…The motor generator 20 is a so-called three-phase alternating-current motor. The output shaft of the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to a second pulley 13. The transmission belt 12 is wound around the second pulley 13. That is, the motor generator 20 is drivingly coupled to the engine 10 via the second pulley 13, the transmission belt 12, and the first pulley 11. When the motor generator 20 functions as an electric motor, the motor generator 20 supplies rotating torque to the second pulley 13. The rotating torque is input to the crankshaft of the engine 10 via the transmission belt 12 and the first pulley 11. That is, the motor generator 20 assists the engine 10. ") Murakami describes the energy being transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store, which is used to start the engine. Therefore, charging the main battery is in preparation for starting the hybrid drive.
Murakami does not explicitly disclose The method according to claim 21, comprising: determining, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value
However, Steuernagel teaches The method according to claim 21, comprising: determining, on the basis of the temperature data, that the temperature of the internal combustion engine and/or of the environment of the internal combustion engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold value (see at least [column 3, lines 34-38]; "The direct start is possible in particular when parameters of the internal combustion engine system are favorable, in particular for a favorable crankshaft angular position of the internal combustion engine, a suitable temperature of the internal combustion engine, and a suitable injection pressure. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Steuernagel which teaches parameters of a start temperature for the combustion engine in order to determine whether the electric starts needs to assist the starting process.
3. Claims 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 10604140 B2) in view of Tamai (US 7267090 B2) in further view of Zhu (US 20050274705 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured to, during a parking process, wake up a vehicle if a temperature threshold value is undershot in order to cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the device is configured to, during a parking process, wake up a vehicle if a temperature threshold value is undershot in order to cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store. (see at least Zhu [0016]; " Another advantage of the present invention is that the vehicle controller can be placed in a sleep mode to conserve energy and placed into an active mode thereafter to determine whether the battery needs heating.") This could apply to the engine being off while in electric mode, determining the engine is too cold, and woken up to warm up during a parking process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Zhu which teaches waking while parking if the engine temperature is below a threshold in order for the vehicle to remain functional in cold temperatures.
Regarding claim 30, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured to determine temperature data during a switch-off process of the hybrid drive and/or while the hybrid drive is switched off.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the device is configured to determine temperature data during a switch-off process of the hybrid drive and/or while the hybrid drive is switched off. (see at least Zhu [0040-0041]; "The automatic wake-up typically occurs two hours after key-off. Two hours is an arbitrary time based on common vehicle usage and how long it takes batteries in general to cool after normal use. Shorter or longer intervals could be use. These intervals could be tied to the driving environment of the vehicle.
[0041] One purpose of the wake-up period is to give controller 24 an opportunity to check battery 16 and, if needed, heat battery 16. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Zhu which teaches determining temperature data while the vehicle is off in order to ensure the vehicle will be able to start at the desired time or request of the user.
4. Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 10604140 B2) in view of Tamai (US 7267090 B2) in further view of Lei (CN122519216A).
Regarding claim 28, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether the electrical machine must be operated comprises determining whether a cold start of the internal combustion engine must be effected.
However, Lei teaches wherein determining whether the electrical machine must be operated comprises determining whether a cold start of the internal combustion engine must be effected. (see at least Lei [0008]; "detecting the ambient temperature outside the vehicle; responding to the ambient temperature being lower than a preset threshold,")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Lei which teaches determining if the cold start will be effected in order to take measured to ensure the vehicle will start at the request of the user.
Regarding claim 29, Murakami and Tamai, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Murakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured to selectively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store only when it is determined that the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive.
wherein the device is configured to selectively cause the electrical energy to be transferred from the second energy store to the first energy store only when it is determined that the electrical machine must be operated in order to start the internal combustion engine for subsequently starting the hybrid drive. (see at least Lei [0008]; "responding to the ambient temperature being lower than a preset threshold, controlling the vehicle's power battery to supply power to the drive motor to drive the vehicle in pure electric mode;")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate teachings of Lei which teaches transferring energy in order to start the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664