Response to Arguments
Claim Objections: Applicant has addressed various informalities regarding claims 1 and 5. Accordingly, objections to claims 1 and 5 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections: Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 regarding rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. This is because the added limitations to claim 1 that describe where the coupling parts connect to the magnetic pole pieces are already described by Kawamura, the primary reference, as will be shown below.
In general, the coupling parts mechanically connect a pole piece to the annular part while providing a high magnetic flux resistance path between the two. Therefore, any curved or straight connecting segment can achieve those two design objectives. For example, a number of shapes has been disclosed in the admitted prior art by Applicant, see for example: figs. 6-10 in US 20140042861 A1 or figs. 9 and 10 in JP 2004096978 A.
Accordingly, the circumferential location of the coupling point between an end part of a coupling part and a pole piece is simply a design choice which is within the skills of a person having ordinary skills in the art. In the instant application, Applicant has not shown any unexpected results or improvements for the choice of coupling locations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 recite the limitation "The rotor according to claim 6" in the preamble of the claims whereas claim 6 has been cancelled by Applicant. In this Office action, “claim 6” will be interpreted as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura et al. (WO2018043288A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura discloses a rotor (fig. 2) comprising:
a plurality of magnetic bodies (7a and 7b, fig. 2) stacked in an axial direction (see fig. 2); and
a plurality of first magnets (8, fig. 2), wherein
the plurality of magnetic bodies includes a plurality of first magnetic bodies (7a, fig. 2) and a plurality of second magnetic bodies (7b, fig. 2); and
wherein each first magnetic body of the plurality of first magnetic bodies includes:
a first annular part (71a, fig. 2),
a plurality of first magnetic pole pieces (72a, fig. 2) extending in a radial direction, and
a plurality of first coupling parts (73a, fig. 2) configured to couple each of the plurality of first magnetic pole pieces and the first annular part (see fig. 2),
wherein each second magnetic body of the plurality of second magnetic bodies includes:
a second annular part (71b, fig. 2),
a plurality of second magnetic pole pieces (72b, fig. 2) extending in the radial direction, and
a plurality of second coupling parts (73b, fig. 2) configured to couple each of the plurality of
second magnetic pole pieces and the second annular part,
wherein the plurality of first magnetic bodies are alternatively stacked with the plurality of second magnetic bodies (see 7a and 7b in fig. 8, above),
wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets (8, fig. 2) disposed between two adjacent first magnetic pole pieces among the plurality of magnetic pole pieces in a circumferential direction (see fig. 2),
wherein each of the plurality of first coupling parts and each of the plurality of second coupling parts include a first component extending in the radial direction and a second component extending in the circumferential direction (each coupling part extends in both radial and circumferential directions as seen in fig. 2),
wherein an inner peripheral part of each first magnetic pole piece of the plurality of first magnetic pole pieces includes a first end part (first end, annotated fig. 3- zoomed in) located at an upstream side in the circumferential direction,
wherein an inner peripheral part of each second magnetic pole piece of the plurality of second magnetic pole pieces includes a second end part at a downstream side in the circumferential direction (second end, annotated fig. 3- zoomed in), and
wherein a first coupling point located between the first end part and one first coupling part of the plurality of first coupling parts is at a different position from a second coupling point located between the second end part and one second coupling part of the plurality of second coupling parts in the circumferential direction (see the zoomed in portion of fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first magnetic bodies and the plurality of second magnetic bodies after being inverted have a same shape (see 73a and 73b in fig. 3 that are symmetric with respect to a radial direction).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura as modified by Kawaji in claim 1 discloses the rotor according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of first magnetic bodies and the plurality of second magnetic bodies have a same shape (see 7a and 7b in fig. 2); and the plurality of first coupling parts and the plurality of second coupling parts are located at positions displaced from one another in the circumferential direction (see the triangular shape extending in the axial direction in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Kawamura as modified by Kawaji in claim 1 discloses a motor (100, fig. 1) comprising: the rotor according to claim 1;
a shaft fixed to the rotor (65, fig. 1); and a stator (3, fig. 1) including a coil (32, fig. 1) and a magnetic body wound around with the coil (31, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (WO2018043288A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura discloses an electronic device comprising the motor according to claim 9 but does not disclose an electronic device comprising the motor.
This undisclosed limitation is an intended use for the motor and does not further limit the structure of the motor, see MPEP 2111.02(II).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the motor in an electronic device.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (WO2018043288A1) in view of Kawaji, M. (US 20140042861 A1) and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 20220037943 A1 same as JP 2020124112 A).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura discloses the rotor according to claim 1, but does not disclose: wherein a first distance between a radially innermost end of each first coupling part of the plurality of first coupling parts and a radially innermost end of each second coupling part of the plurality of second coupling parts is larger than a second distance between a radially outermost end of each first coupling part of the plurality of first coupling parts and a radially outermost end of each second coupling part of the plurality of second coupling parts.
The above undisclosed limitations by Kawamura can be simply met if the connection points of the coupling parts are moved to one of the radially inner corners of the pole pieces as taught by Kawaji, see annotated fig. 11, below.
Furthermore, Yamada teaches a similar rotor design wherein an arrangement for the coupling parts results in reducing the leakage of the magnetic flux of the first magnets by inserting a plurality of second magnets (second magnets, annotated fig. 3, below) in the gaps (gap, annotated fig. 3, below) between the coupling parts, see annotated fig. 3, below.
To reduce the leakage of the magnet flux of the first magnets, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling points of the first and second coupling parts of the rotor disclosed by Kawamura in such a way that: a first distance between a radially innermost end of each first coupling part of the plurality of first coupling parts and a radially innermost end of each second coupling part of the plurality of second coupling parts is larger than a second distance between a radially outermost end of each first coupling part of the plurality of first coupling parts and a radially outermost end of each second coupling part of the plurality of second coupling parts.
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura as modified by Kawaji in view of Yamada in claim 2 discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein a gap (gap, annotated fig. 3, Yamada) surrounded by the plurality of first coupling parts, the plurality of second coupling parts of a second magnetic body adjacent to the first magnetic body, the first magnetic pole piece of the first magnetic body, the second magnetic pole piece of the second magnetic body, the first annular part, and the second annular part is formed extending in the axial direction (see annotated fig. 3, Yamada; the gaps run axially implied because the gap is axial).
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura as modified by Kawaji in view of Yamada in claim 2 discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein an extending direction of the coupling part of the first magnetic body is different from an extending direction of the coupling part of the second magnetic body (the coupling parts 73a and 73b extend in opposite circumferential directions as seen in figs. 2 and 3; see also annotated fig. 3- Yamada).
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura as modified in claim 2 discloses the rotor according to claim 2, discloses the rotor comprising: a second magnet, wherein the second magnet is arranged in the gap (see annotated fig. 3, Yamada).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834