DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response file on 12 November 2025, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13 and 15 have been amended. Claims 4, 8, 12 and 16 have been cancelled. No Claim has been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11 and 13-16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to Claim Objection, see p.9-11, filed on 12 November 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous claim objections are withdrawn after related claims being amended.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection to Claim 9-11, see p.11, filed on 12 November 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections to Claim 9-11 are withdrawn after Claim 9 being amended.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection to independent Claim 1/9, see p.11-13, filed on 12 November 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections to Claim 1/9 and their dependent claims are withdrawn after Claim 1/9 being amended. Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are allowed.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.13-15, filed on 12 November 2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection to Claim 5/13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 5, Applicant argues (see p.13-14):
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
An shown in Fig.6, Oh discloses a client sends a request including information on a reconstruction beam to a server (Fig.6 Step S610 ). Oh further teaches after receiving the request, the server sends a response including CGH data and beam adjustment data. Oh further discloses In some embodiments, CGH data are calculated based on information relating to a reconstruction beam that is used in the holographic image display. CGH data may be modified based on the information on the reconstruction beam, allowing a holographic image to be displayed with improved quality. Holographic image quality may be improved on one or more of various displays using different light sources as the reconstruction beam … ([0066]). The Examiner interprets the information of the reconstruction beam sent to the server as the first configuration and the information of regarding different light sources as the second configuration. Therefore Oh teaches or suggests the limitation of receive, from the holographic decoder, a computer generated hologram in a data format determined according to a second configure as recited in Claim 5.
Based on above reasoning, the Examiner maintained 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection to Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, Applicant might a typo in his arguments since the limitation of independent Claim 13 is similar to Claim 5 instead of Claim 1. Therefore the same rationale applied to Claim 5 is also applied to Claim 13.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are based on their dependency on Claim 5 and 13 respectively. Therefore the same rationale applied to Claim 5/13 is applied to Claims 6-7/14-15.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites sending a message to the holographic decoder comprising at least a first configuration accepted by the holographic display device, the first configuration accepted by the holographic display device (lines 4-6). Suggest deleting the underlined portion of above cited limitation since it is redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites send a message to the holographic decoder comprising at least a first configuration accepted by the holographic display device, wherein the at least a first configuration comprises a picture resolution, a frame rate, memory, and processing resources of the holographic decoder (lines 1-6). There is no description regarding the display device sends information including memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder and it is unclear how the display device knows the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder. Claims 6-7 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 5. For compact prosecution, the Examiner rejects Claim 5 as if the limitation of sending the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder by the display device is accidently added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US 2017/0248915 A1) in view of Enrico (DE 102007043149 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Oh discloses a holographic display device ([0026]: In some embodiments, client device 110 may include a reconstruction beam source 112 configured to generate a reconstruction beam L1, and a holographic image display unit 114, such as a spatial light modulator (SLM), configured to display a holographic image using reconstruction beam L1) connected to a holographic decoder (Fig.1 and [0027]: In operation, client device 110 may be configured to provide information on a reconstruction beam L1 generated from reconstruction beam source 112 to server device 130, such that server device 130 may be operable to generate CGH data based on the information on reconstruction beam L. The server is interpreted as the holographic decoder), the holographic display device comprising a memory associated with a processor (Fig.2. Oh does not explicitly discloses the display device comprises a memory associated with a processor. However From Fig.2, the display includes a holographic image display unit, receiver, transmitter and image sensor. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to include a processor with memory in order to connect the four units in the display device in order to make the display to work) configured to:
send a message to the holographic decoder comprising at least a first configuration accepted by the holographic display device (Fig.5: S510: sending, by a client device, information on a reconstruction beam to a server device. The information on a reconstruction beam is interpreted as the first configuration),
wherein the at least a first configuration comprises a picture resolution ([0046]: In some embodiments, the reconstruction beam may include at least one of a coherent light beam such as a laser beam or a white light beam. Further, the information on the reconstruction beam may include at least one of reconstruction beam parameters including amplitude, phase, spectrum (e.g., spectral frequency and/or bandwidth), polarization, and an incident angle of the reconstruction beam with respect to a holographic image display unit of the client device, such as holographic image display unit 114. Additionally or alternatively to providing the information on the reconstruction beam to the server device, the client device may provide information on the holographic image display unit to the server device. The information on the holographic image display unit may include at least one physical characteristic or electronic characteristic of a display screen of the holographic image display unit. For example, the information on the holographic image display unit may include at least one of a display size, a display resolution, an image depth and a display response time of a display screen of the holographic image display unit), ([0046]: In some embodiments, the reconstruction beam may include at least one of a coherent light beam such as a laser beam or a white light beam. Further, the information on the reconstruction beam may include at least one of reconstruction beam parameters including amplitude, phase, spectrum (e.g., spectral frequency and/or bandwidth), polarization, and an incident angle of the reconstruction beam with respect to a holographic image display unit of the client device, such as holographic image display unit 114. Additionally or alternatively to providing the information on the reconstruction beam to the server device, the client device may provide information on the holographic image display unit to the server device. The information on the holographic image display unit may include at least one physical characteristic or electronic characteristic of a display screen of the holographic image display unit. For example, the information on the holographic image display unit may include at least one of a display size, a display resolution, an image depth and a display response time of a display screen of the holographic image display unit. In some embodiments, an incident angle of the reconstruction beam with respect to the holographic image display unit may be detected, by an image sensor, e.g., by capturing the reconstruction beam);
receive, from the holographic decoder, a computer generated hologram in a data format determined according to a second configuration selected by the holographic decoder according to the at least a first configuration; and render the computer generated hologram (Fig.5: S530: receiving, by the client device, the CGH data from the server device and reconstructing a holographic image of the object. Note [0069]: CGH data may be adaptively modified as the reconstruction beam changes. [0066]: In some embodiments, CGH data are calculated based on information relating to a reconstruction beam that is used in the holographic image display. CGH data may be modified based on the information on the reconstruction beam, allowing a holographic image to be displayed with improved quality. Holographic image quality may be improved on one or more of various displays using different light sources as the reconstruction beam. ([0032]: In one example scenario of a video call, server device 130 may receive first video data (e.g., video stream capturing a face of a user 150) from client device 130 and also receive information on a second reconstruction beam. Note Oh teaches the server may receive information on two reconstruction beams. The information regarding different sources is interpreted as the second configuration. Also see Fig.6: notice it is the server which selects a second configuration as shown in Fig.6 S620: receiving a response to the request, by the client device, from the server device, the response including CGH data and beam adjustment data); and
Oh does not disclose the first configuration comprises a frame rate; the message comprising a nominal configuration.
However Enrico, in the same field of endeavor, discloses in addition to picture resolution, sending a first configuration comprising a frame rate ([0060]: Based on these configuration data, further configuration data determined by the calculation unit follow, such as achievable frame rate and/or viewer range, possible number of viewers and/or depth reconstruction range, which are sent to the holographic display via the return channel 260 or the connection 150 itself). Enrico further teaches or suggests the message comprising a nominal configuration ([0012]: Furthermore, the problem still exists that, compared to conventional video displays, when calculating holographic video data by a calculation unit for display on a holographic display, the calculation unit has to take into account a series of configuration data of the holographic display in order to enable the calculated holographic video data to be displayed on the holographic display in the first place and, moreover, in the best possible way). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Enrico into that of Oh and to include above missing limitation in order to provide a digital video interface for holographic displays which takes into account the specific requirements of the holographic display regarding the holographic video data to be transmitted, taking into account the predetermined calculation unit and the connection to the holographic display, and which transmits the holographic video data at a sufficient data rate as taught by Enrico ([0014]).
Regarding Claim 6, Oh modified by Enrico further teaches or suggests wherein the at least a first configuration comprises: a display technology, a wavelength of red, green, blue (RGB) laser, a pixel pitch of a spatial light modulator, accepted data formats, a bit per pixel value, a nominal picture size, a nominal frame rate, a number of accepted picture sizes, a list of accepted picture sizes, a number of accepted frame rates, and a list of accepted frame rates (Oh [0066]:... Holographic image quality may be improved on one or more of various displays using different light sources as the reconstruction beam. The information on the reconstruction beam may include one or more of: spectral data (such as center wavelength, bandwidth (degree of monochromacity), spectral characteristics, and the like), beam intensity (such as total beam intensity, beam intensity within one or more spectral ranges, and the like), coherence data (such as coherence length), polarization, phase data (such as the phase of a coherent reconstruction beam relative to other time-dependent parameters), modulation (if any), physical configuration data (such as the distance of a beam source from display, physical extent of the reconstruction beam at the display, physical extent of the reconstruction beam source, incident angle of a reconstruction beam on the display), display size, and the like. The information may include an identification of the type of reconstruction beam source, for example by identifying the reconstruction beam source as one or more of: a white light source, laser, LED, fluorescent lamp, halogen lamp, diffuse solar radiation, or direct solar radiation from the Sun). In some examples, a display user may select a reconstruction beam source type from a menu displayed on a client device, or otherwise input the type of reconstruction beam source into the client device. [0041]: In some embodiments, client devices 410 to 430 may be any suitable electronic devices each including a reconstruction beam source, a holographic image display unit such as a spatial light modulator (SLM) and wireless/wired network communication capabilities. [0029]: For example, the information on holographic image display unit 114 may include at least one of a display size, a display resolution, an image depth and a display response time of a display screen of holographic image display unit 114. Enrico [0056]: According to another embodiment, with simultaneous color display on the holographic display but sequential display of the views, the three video frames are mixed with the views in the three primary colors per view and the views are transmitted one after the other ... [0062]-[0064]: Further configuration data in this context are, for example, the resolution of the holographic display (or the SLM) in cells, the number of supported color components and their wavelengths, the maximum and minimum permissible depth reconstruction range, the maximum and minimum permissible viewer range, the maximum and minimum permissible number of viewers, calculation methods and their parameters, coding methods and their parameters, normalization methods and their parameters as well as parameters for the layout of a cell, such as the number of elements per cell, bit depth per cell element, the size of a cell (cell pitch), the size of a cell element, layout, i.e. Arrangement of elements in a cell and types of cell elements, i.e. phase and/or amplitude… Further configuration data in this context are, for example, the correction method used by the holographic display and the corresponding correction parameters used, such as various parameters (arrays, values) for correcting mechanical errors/deviations of the panel of the holographic display for use in the calculation, the order and mixing of the frames during the transmission of the video data or the minimum permissible frame rate of the holographic display).
Regarding Claim 13, Oh discloses a method ([0023]: This disclosure is generally drawn, inter alia, to methods, apparatus, systems, devices and computer program products related to generating a holographic image) implemented by a holographic display device ([0026]: In some embodiments, client device 110 may include a reconstruction beam source 112 configured to generate a reconstruction beam L1, and a holographic image display unit 114, such as a spatial light modulator (SLM), configured to display a holographic image using reconstruction beam L1) connected to a holographic decoder (Fig.1 and [0027]: In operation, client device 110 may be configured to provide information on a reconstruction beam L1 generated from reconstruction beam source 112 to server device 130, such that server device 130 may be operable to generate CGH data based on the information on reconstruction beam L. The server is interpreted as the holographic decoder), the method comprising:
sending a message to the holographic decoder comprising at least a first configuration accepted by the holographic display device, the first configuration accepted by the holographic display device Fig.5: S510: sending, by a client device, information on a reconstruction beam to a server device. The information on a reconstruction beam is interpreted as the first configuration), the message comprising ([0046]: In some embodiments, the reconstruction beam may include at least one of a coherent light beam such as a laser beam or a white light beam. Further, the information on the reconstruction beam may include at least one of reconstruction beam parameters including amplitude, phase, spectrum (e.g., spectral frequency and/or bandwidth), polarization, and an incident angle of the reconstruction beam with respect to a holographic image display unit of the client device, such as holographic image display unit 114. Additionally or alternatively to providing the information on the reconstruction beam to the server device, the client device may provide information on the holographic image display unit to the server device. The information on the holographic image display unit may include at least one physical characteristic or electronic characteristic of a display screen of the holographic image display unit. For example, the information on the holographic image display unit may include at least one of a display size, a display resolution, an image depth and a display response time of a display screen of the holographic image display unit. In some embodiments, an incident angle of the reconstruction beam with respect to the holographic image display unit may be detected, by an image sensor, e.g., by capturing the reconstruction beam); and
receiving, from the holographic decoder, a computer generated hologram in a data format determined according to a second configuration selected by the holographic decoder according to the at least a first configuration; and rendering the computer generated hologram (Fig.5: S530: receiving, by the client device, the CGH data from the server device and reconstructing a holographic image of the object. Note [0069]: CGH data may be adaptively modified as the reconstruction beam changes. [0066]: In some embodiments, CGH data are calculated based on information relating to a reconstruction beam that is used in the holographic image display. CGH data may be modified based on the information on the reconstruction beam, allowing a holographic image to be displayed with improved quality. Holographic image quality may be improved on one or more of various displays using different light sources as the reconstruction beam. ([0032]: In one example scenario of a video call, server device 130 may receive first video data (e.g., video stream capturing a face of a user 150) from client device 130 and also receive information on a second reconstruction beam. Note Oh teaches the server may receive information on two reconstruction beams. The information regarding different sources is interpreted as the second configuration. Also see Fig.6: notice it is the server which selects a second configuration as shown in Fig.6 S620: receiving a response to the request, by the client device, from the server device, the response including CGH data and beam adjustment data).
Oh does not disclose the message comprising a nominal configuration.
However Enrico, in the same field of endeavor, teaches or suggests the message comprising a nominal configuration ([0012]: Furthermore, the problem still exists that, compared to conventional video displays, when calculating holographic video data by a calculation unit for display on a holographic display, the calculation unit has to take into account a series of configuration data of the holographic display in order to enable the calculated holographic video data to be displayed on the holographic display in the first place and, moreover, in the best possible way). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Enrico into that of Oh and to include above missing limitation in order to provide a digital video interface for holographic displays which takes into account the specific requirements of the holographic display regarding the holographic video data to be transmitted, taking into account the predetermined calculation unit and the connection to the holographic display, and which transmits the holographic video data at a sufficient data rate as taught by Enrico ([0014]).
Oh fails to disclose receiving a signal indicating that the holographic decoder is active. However Enrico discloses the messages are communicated through handshake ([0065]: These messages are expediently at least the following: messages for handshake, confirmation and query purposes, notification of successful/unsuccessful initialization of the holographic display and/or the computing unit, notification of whether the holographic computing unit and the display are compatible or incompatible with each other, notification of whether the computing hardware or display is switched off, all types of error messages or the notification that reinitialization is required). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to include a signal indicating that the holographic decoder is active in order to receive the configuration message from the display device via handshake protocol.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 ais similar to Claim 6 except in the format of method. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 6 is/are also applied to Claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are allowed.
Claim 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art, either individually or in combination, fails to disclose or render obviousness the limitation of:
determine a computation cost for generating a computer generated hologram according to the nominal configuration, the computation cost being based on at least one of resolution, frame rate, and number of holographic layers and on the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder; on condition that the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder enable the computation cost, set a second configuration to the nominal configuration; on condition that the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder do not enable the computation cost, estimate computation costs for generating the computer generated hologram in each item of the at least a first configuration and select the second configuration from the at least a first configuration according to the computation costs and the available resources; and generate the computer generated hologram in a data format determined according to the second configuration and send the computer generated hologram to the holographic display device as claimed in independent Claim 1;
determining a computation cost for generating a computer generated hologram according to the nominal configuration, the computation cost being based on at least one of resolution, frame rate, and number of holographic layers and on memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder; on condition that the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder enable the computation cost, setting a second configuration to the nominal configuration; on condition that the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder do not enable the computation cost, estimating computation costs of each item of the at least a first configuration and setting the second configuration to one of the items of the at least a first configuration according to the computation cost and the memory and processing resources of the holographic decoder; and generating the computer generated hologram in a data format determined according to the second configuration and sending the computer generated hologram to the holographic display device as claimed in independent Claim 9;
receive a message from the holographic decoder comprising a value representative of a capacity of the holographic decoder to provide the holographic display device with the computer generated hologram according to the nominal configuration; and send a new configuration comprising a frame rate and a picture resolution accepted by the holographic display device according to the value as claimed in dependent Claim 7;
and receiving a message from the holographic decoder comprising a value representative of a capacity of the holographic decoder to provide the holographic display device with the computer generated hologram according to the nominal configuration; and sending a new configuration comprising a frame rate and a picture resolution accepted by the holographic display device according to the value as claimed in dependent Claim 15.
Oh (US 2017/0248915 A1) and Enrico (DE 102007043149 A1), discloses messages exchange between display device and server providing GCH. However, prior arts fail to disclose above cited limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613