DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figs 1-14) in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the engaging protrusion" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the engaging groove of the first inclined portion" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the axial direction" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner suggests the following amendment for claim 16: --provided in front of the engaging groove of the catch in an [[the]] axial direction.-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo JPH09164044 in view of Vogler 7,566,037.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Endo discloses a merchandise display device (Fig 1) comprising: an attachment (Fig 1, #12) configured to or capable of being attached to a merchandise display fixture; a product hanging bar (Fig 1, #13) is configured to allow a product to hang thereon, including a first inclined portion (Fig 1, #13) extending from a proximal end (Fig 1, #13a) to a distal end (annotated Fig 1 below) and being attached to the attachment (Fig 1, #12) at the proximal end (Fig 1, #13a) in a manner inclined downwards toward a front (as shown in Fig 1), and a second inclined portion (Fig 1, #13b) bent upwards and extending diagonally from the distal end (annotated Fig 1 below) of the first inclined portion (Fig 1, #13);
a catch (Fig 1, #16) configured to or capable of catching a product hanging on the first inclined portion (Fig 1, #13); and a trigger (annotated Fig 1 below) configured to release the catch (Fig 1, #16).
Endo has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach wherein the product hanging bar has a resin surface.
Vogler discloses a merchandise display device (Fig 1) wherein the product hanging bar has a resin surface (col 9, lines 64- col 10, line 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the product hanging bar (Endo, Fig 1, #13) of Endo from a resin material has taught by Vogler since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Further, the substitution of one known material for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 13, modified Endo discloses the merchandise display device wherein the catch (Endo, Fig 1, #16) includes an engaging groove (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) provided near the distal end (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) of the first inclined portion (Endo, Fig 1, #13).
Regarding claim 14, modified Endo discloses the merchandise display device wherein the catch (Endo, Fig 1, #16) includes an engaging protrusion (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) provided near the distal end (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) of the first inclined portion (Endo, Fig 1, #13).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, modified Endo discloses the merchandise display device wherein the catch (Endo, Fig 1, #16) includes an engaging protrusion (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) provided in front of the engaging groove (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) of the catch (Endo, Fig 1, #16) in an axial direction.
Regarding claim 19, modified Endo discloses the merchandise display device wherein a small protrusion (Endo, annotated Fig 1 above) protruding slightly upwards is provided to a surface of the resin bar. (Endo, Fig 1, #13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 and 17-18 allowed.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DEVIN K BARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631