DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In order to Explain Examiner position it is important to clarify the interpretation. According to Examiner “an artificial side barrier” is any obstacle which is located parallel to vehicle and hence Reference by Sasaki explicitly teaches “identifying the source of the radar echoes as an artificial side barrier based on the determinations” as according to Sasaki “stationary object such as a guardrail and also a parallel running vehicle is detected” and hence limitation “the radar echoes which were reflected perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the vehicle and/or perpendicular to the direction of travel of the motor vehicle” is satisfied. In addition, Primary reference also teaches “the radar echoes which were reflected perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the vehicle and/or perpendicular to the direction of travel of the motor vehicle” and hence combination is proper and teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a radar device configured to detect…” in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 11378653 B2 in view of D2 JP 2015055541 A.
Regarding claim 11 D1 teaches
11. (New) A method for localizing a motor vehicle, comprising:
a data interface configured to acquire radar data,(fig. 4)
a computer-readable data memory, and(col 6 lines 48-67)
a processor coupled to the memory(col 6 lines 48-67), wherein the localization device is configured to
providing a map in which artificial side barriers that run laterally along a road are entered;(claim 1 geometrical objects associated with a predefined map)
emitting radar signals(abstract) in a transverse direction of the vehicle during a journey using a radar device of the motor vehicle;(col 11 line 55- col 12 line 8)
receiving resulting radar echoes; (col 11 line 55- col 12 line 8)
determining the radar echoes which were reflected perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the vehicle(fig. 1) and/or perpendicular to the direction of travel of the motor vehicle(fig. 1)
determining a distance of the motor vehicle from the respective source based on the radar echoes;(col 3 lines 7-20)
identifying the source of the radar echoes as an artificial side barrier based on determination; and(fig. 1)
based on the identified source, determining a current position of the motor vehicle in the map.(claim 1)
But does not teach
and which indicate a vanishing relative velocity between the motor vehicle and a respective source from which the radar echo originates;
D2 teaches
Using radar echo Identifying guardrails by vanishing relative velocity between the motor vehicle and a respective source from which the radar echo originates;[0004][0009]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order to identify the guardrails as required by D1.
12. (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein the source is identified as an artificial side barrier only if a corresponding radar echo is recorded from the same point in a fixed vehicle coordinate system over multiple measurement cycles of the radar device. D1(fig. 3 multiple points are used to identify the structure)/D2([0019-24])
13. (New) The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
determining an expected radar echo from the artificial side barrier based on the map and a respective current pose of the motor vehicle; and
monitoring the position of the motor vehicle on the map based on the expected radar echo and the determined radar echoes. D1 (fig. 1-3, col 12 line 9-col 13 line 6)
14. (New) The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
generating a corresponding particle in a predetermined model for some or all of the received radar echoes, and D1(col 12 lines 39-52)
then using a predetermined particle filter to identify the radar echoes originating from the artificial side barrier.D1 (col 13 line 57-col 14 line 33)
Regarding claim 15 D1 teaches
15. (New) The method according to claim 14, wherein from measurement cycle to measurement cycle of the radar device, the particle filter retains only those particles that repeatedly occur at the same point in a coordinate system; D1 (col 5 line 53-col 6 line 47)
But does not teach while D2 teaches that is fixed relative to the vehicle and indicate a vanishing velocity of the respective source relative to the motor vehicle. [0004-0009]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order identify guardrails or curbsides.
16. (New) The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
modeling a change in a radar echo originating from an artificial side barrier during a lateral relative movement between the motor vehicle and the side barrier, and
assigning radar echoes over multiple measurement cycles of the radar device by considering the change in the radar echo.D1 (col 13 line 65- col 14 line 32)
17. (New) The method according to claim 16, wherein
for determining the lateral relative movement, odometry data of the motor vehicle is automatically evaluated.D1 (col 9 lines 14-37)
18. (New) The method according to claim 16, wherein for determining the lateral relative motion, a course of the road is determined and a course of the side barrier following this course of the road is modelled. D1 (col 9 lines 14-37)
20. (New) A motor vehicle, comprising:
a radar device configured to detect environment objects to the side of the motor vehicle in the transverse direction of the vehicle(D1: fig. 3), and
the localization device of claim 19 coupled to the radar device.(D1: fig. 4)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648C
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648