DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2024 and 10/30/2025 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: at least one part in claims 1 and 7. A review of the specification has identified the at least one part as a brush bar, 110 as shown in Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 – 7 and 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0031244 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Jang teaches a docking station (docking apparatus, 2) for a floor care device (mobile robot, 1), the floor care device (1) comprising at least one part (mop module, 14) that is susceptible to contamination when the floor care device is used in a floor care mode (Paragraph [0065]), the docking station (2) comprising: a docking bay (plate, 22) for receiving and holding at least an element (caster) of the floor care device (Paragraphs [0068] and [0070]), a docking sensor for providing a docking signal when at least the element of the floor care device is held in the docking bay (Paragraph [0034]), at least one light source (sterilization unit, 24) for emitting light (via the germicidal lamp, 241) with a wavelength of 222nm (Paragraph [0125]), the at least one light source being arranged in such a way as to illuminate the at least one part of the floor care device by emitting the light while the floor care device is being held in the docking bay (Paragraphs [0096] – [0104]), and a docking station controller (Paragraph [0137]), operatively coupled to the docking sensor and the at least one light source and operative to receive the docking signal and to execute (Paragraph [0137]), in response thereto, a decontamination program (Paragraph [0034]), wherein the decontamination program is configured to use the at least one light source to illuminate the at least one part of the floor care device for the decontamination thereof (Paragraphs [0034] and [0096] – [0104]).
Regarding Claim 3, Jang teaches a docking station (docking apparatus, 2) further comprising a communication unit (electrically connected terminals; Paragraph [0005]), operatively coupled to the docking station controller (Paragraph [0034]), for enabling communication between the docking station controller and a floor care controller of the floor care device (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jang teaches the docking (docking apparatus, 2) further comprising the decontamination program (Paragraph [0034]) comprising receiving, from the floor care controller, decontamination signal indicating a contaminated portion of the at least one part (Paragraph [0034]), and in response to the contamination signal selectively illuminating the contaminated portion (Paragraphs [0096] – [0104]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jang teaches the docking (docking apparatus, 2), the decontamination program comprising sending, to the floor care controller, an instruction to rotate the at least one part, and illuminating the at least one part during and/or after rotating the at least one part (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Independent Claim 6, Jang teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a combination of a docking station docking station (docking apparatus, 2) and a floor care device (mobile robot, 1), wherein the floor care device (1) comprises at least one part (mop module, 14) that is susceptible to contamination when the floor care device is used in a floor care mode (Paragraph [0065]), the docking station (2) comprising: a docking bay (plate, 22) for receiving and holding at least an element (caster) of the floor care device (Paragraphs [0068] and [0070]), a docking sensor for providing a docking signal when at least the element of the floor care device is held in the docking bay (Paragraph [0034]), at least one light source (sterilization unit, 24) for emitting light (via the germicidal lamp, 241) with a wavelength of 222nm (Paragraph [0125]), the at least one light source being arranged in such a way as to illuminate the at least one part of the floor care device by emitting the light while the floor care device is being held in the docking bay (Paragraphs [0096] – [0104]), and a docking station controller (Paragraph [0137]), operatively coupled to the docking sensor and the at least one light source (Paragraph [0137]) and operative to receive the docking signal and to execute (Paragraph [0137]), in response thereto, a decontamination program, wherein the decontamination program is configured to use the at least one light source to illuminate the at least one part of the floor care device for the decontamination thereof (Paragraphs [0034] and [0096] – [0104]).
Regarding Independent Claim 7, Jang teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a combination of a docking station docking station (docking apparatus, 2) and a floor care device (mobile robot, 1), wherein the floor care device (1) comprises at least one part (mop module, 14) that is susceptible to contamination when the floor care device is used in a floor care mode (Paragraph [0065]), and at least a second part that is susceptible to contamination when the floor care device is used in the floor care mode, the docking station (2) comprising: a docking bay (plate, 22) for receiving and holding at least an element (caster) of the floor care device (Paragraphs [0068] and [0070]), a docking sensor for providing a docking signal when at least the element of the floor care device is held in the docking bay (Paragraph [0034]), at least one light source (sterilization unit, 24) for emitting light (via the germicidal lamp, 241) with a wavelength of 222nm (Paragraph [0125]), the at least one light source being arranged in such a way as to illuminate the at least one part of the floor care device by emitting the light while the floor care device is being held in the docking bay (Paragraphs [0096] – [0104]), and a docking station controller (Paragraph [0137]), operatively coupled to the docking sensor and the at least one light source (Paragraph [0137]) and operative to receive the docking signal and to execute (Paragraph [0137]), in response thereto, a decontamination program, wherein the decontamination program is configured to use the at least one light source to illuminate the at least one part of the floor care device for the decontamination thereof (Paragraphs [0034] and [0096] – [0104]); wherein, when the floor care device (1) is received in and held by the docking bay (22), the at least one part (14) is situated between the at least one light source (241) and the second part (water tank, 81) and configured to guide the light emitted by the light source (241) towards the second part (81; Figs. 5 and 7 – the light source, 241 guides lite in the direction of the second part, 81).
Regarding Claim 10, Jang teaches the apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the wherein the floor care device (1) further comprises a floor care controller (Paragraph [0034]), and wherein the docking station (2) and the floor care device (1) each comprise a communication unit (electrically connected terminals; Paragraph [0005]), operatively coupled to their respective controllers for enabling communication between the docking station controller and a floor care controller of the floor care device (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 11, Jang teaches the apparatus (Fig. 1), the decontamination program (Paragraph [0034]) comprising the docking station controller receiving, from the floor care controller, a contamination signal indicating a contaminated portion of the at least one part (Paragraph [0034]), and in response to the contamination signal selectively illuminating the contaminated portion (Paragraphs [0096] – [0104]).
Regarding Claim 12, Jang teaches the apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the at least one part (14) is comprises a rotatable part (Paragraph [0036]), and wherein the decontamination program comprises the docking station controller (Paragraph [0034]) sending, to the floor care controller, an instruction to rotate the rotatable part, and illuminating the rotatable part during and/or after rotating the rotatable part (Paragraphs [0105] and [0140]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0031244 A1) in view of Ram (KR 2015/0006526 A) as cited by Applicant – see attached machine translation.
Regarding Claim 2, Jang teaches the docking station of claim 1 as discussed above.
Jang does not explicitly teach the docking station further comprising a contamination detector for detecting contamination on a contaminated portion of the at least one part of the floor care device and wherein the decontamination program comprises selectively illuminating the contaminated portion.
Ram, however, teaches the docking station further comprising a contamination detector (moisture detection unit; Paragraph [0017]) for detecting contamination (excess moisture) on a contaminated portion of the at least one part of the floor care device and wherein the decontamination program comprises selectively illuminating the contaminated portion (Paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Jang to further include a contamination detector for detecting contamination on a contaminated portion of the at least one part of the floor care device and wherein the decontamination program comprises selectively illuminating the contaminated portion, as taught by Jang, to provide a system that effectively targets a specific contaminated areas, thus saving time in the sterilization process.
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0031244 A1) in view of Ram (KR 2015/0006526 A) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Claim 8, Jang teaches the apparatus of claim 8 as discussed above.
Jang further teaches a water bin, 81 but does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the at least one part is comprises a dust bin.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of claim 1 to further include the at least one part is comprises a dust bin, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 9, Jang teaches the apparatus of claim 8 as discussed above.
Jang does not explicitly teach the apparatus the second part is comprises an air filter, or a shroud for at least partially enclosing the dust bin.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of claim 1 to further include the second part is comprises an air filter, or a shroud for at least partially enclosing the dust bin, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: CN 115969280 A to Jian teaches a control method, cleaning equipment and a base station. The control method comprises the steps that a rolling brush of the cleaning equipment is sterilized; in the degerming process, the rolling brush is controlled to rotate once at a preset time interval, and the rotation angle is preset for one time. The cleaning device includes: a device body; the rolling brush is arranged in the equipment body; the triggering part is arranged in the equipment body and is used for being in contact with or sensing a first detection module on a base station to generate triggering information; wherein the trigger information is used for triggering a sterilization module on the base station to operate; and the second control module is used for controlling the rolling brush to rotate for one time at a preset time interval in the sterilization process of the rolling brush, and the rotation angle is preset for one time of rotation. According to the technical scheme provided by the embodiment of the invention, automatic sterilization of the rolling brush of the cleaning equipment is realized (Abstract).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723