DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 1 February 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 63228510 filed on 11 Aug 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pareek et al. (Hereinafter, Pareek, US 12,154,053 A1).
Per claim 1, Pareek discloses a computer-implemented method in which a system performs operations comprising:
accessing data entries associated with a plurality of entities (e.g., Step 602 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 3-11 ) and obtained from a plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 604 as shown in Fig. 6; column 7, lines 30-43; column 12, lines 12-18; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses data extraction 202 as shown in Fig. 2);
generating a classification map for the plurality of entities by classifying the plurality of entities into a plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 606 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-25 ), wherein the plurality of groups are arranged in the classification map according to values of the data entries of the plurality of entities(e.g., Step 212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 10, lines 30-38 and lines 52-61; Examiner’s Note: Pareek disclose generating a matrix visualization 402 including a matrix with prioritization categories.);
determining one or more metrics for the plurality of groups(e.g., Steps 606-608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-32; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing risk scores for a plurality of groups.);
determining a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from one of the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 610 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 33-43; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses providing an interactive visualization of the risk scores 212 as shown in Fig. 2.); and
generating, for inclusion in a user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations(e.g., Step 612 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 44--47), wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are arranged in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (e.g., steps 614-616 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 48-55).
Per claim 2, Pareek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of visualization comprises a two-dimensional arrangement of items, each item representing one of the plurality of groups, and wherein each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations(e.g., matrix visualization 402 as shown in Fig. 4; column 10, lines 52—61 ).
Per claim 3, Pareek discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element in the user interface(column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
determining status of the items in the plurality of visualizations according to the feedback (e.g., step 608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 26-32 );
updating the plurality of visualizations according to the determined status(column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items(e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items ).
Per claim 4, Pareek discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element corresponding to one item in one of the plurality of visualizations in the user interface(column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
updating items in the plurality of visualizations that correspond to the one item according to the received feedback(column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on status of the items in the visualization(e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items )..
Per claim 5, Pareek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining respective weights for the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 308 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 46--51); and
updating the classification map by re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources and the respective weights for the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 6, Pareek discloses the method of claim 5, wherein re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups comprises:
determining that a first data source has a higher weight than a second data source in the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 302 as shown in Fig. 3; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; column 10, lines 1-17);
scaling values of the data entries from the first data source to be within a first data range(column 10, lines 18-29);
scaling values of the data entries from the second data source to be within a second data range, wherein the maximum value of the second data range is smaller than the maximum value of the first data range(column 10, lines 18-29); and
re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the scaled values of the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 7, Pareek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the selectable interface elements comprise a selectable interface element configured for invoking an editing tool for updating a visualization for presenting a population for each group of the plurality of groups(column 4, lines 28-41).
Per claim 8, Pareek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: generating, for inclusion in the user interface of the system, additional selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations, wherein each of the additional selectable interface elements corresponds to one of the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 612 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 44--47), wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are arranged in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (e.g., steps 614-616 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 48-55).
Per claim 9, Pareek discloses a system (e.g., system 700 as shown in Fig. 7; column 13, lines 44-48; column 14, lines 3-19), comprising:
a processing device(e.g., processor 704 as shown in Fig. 7; column 14, lines 3-19); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium communicatively coupled to the processing device(e.g., storage device 718 as shown Fig. 7; column 14, lines 20-30), wherein the processing device is configured to execute program code stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium and thereby perform operations (column 14, lines 30-55) comprising:
accessing data entries associated with a plurality of entities (e.g., Step 602 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 3-11 ) and obtained from a plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 604 as shown in Fig. 6; column 7, lines 30-43; column 12, lines 12-18; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses data extraction 202 as shown in Fig. 2);
generating a classification map for the plurality of entities by classifying the plurality of entities into a plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 606 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-25 ), wherein the plurality of groups are arranged in the classification map according to values of the data entries of the plurality of entities(e.g., Step 212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 10, lines 30-38 and lines 52-61; Examiner’s Note: Pareek disclose generating a matrix visualization 402 including a matrix with prioritization categories.);
determining one or more metrics for the plurality of groups(e.g., Steps 606-608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-32; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing risk scores for a plurality of groups.);
determining a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from one of the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 610 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 33-43; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses providing an interactive visualization of the risk scores 212 as shown in Fig. 2.); and
generating, for inclusion in a user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations(e.g., Step 612 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 44--47), wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are arranged in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (e.g., steps 614-616 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 48-55).
Per claim 10, Pareek discloses the system of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of visualization comprises a two-dimensional arrangement of items, each item representing one of the plurality of groups, and wherein each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations(e.g., matrix visualization 402 as shown in Fig. 4; column 10, lines 52—61 ).
Per claim 11, Pareek discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element in the user interface(column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
determining status of the items in the plurality of visualizations according to the feedback (e.g., step 608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 26-32 );
updating the plurality of visualizations according to the determined status(column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items(e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items ).
Per claim 12, Pareek discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element corresponding to one item in one of the plurality of visualizations in the user interface(column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
updating items in the plurality of visualizations that correspond to the one item according to the received feedback(column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on status of the items in the visualization(e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items )..
Per claim 13, Pareek discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining respective weights for the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 308 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 46--51); and
updating the classification map by re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources and the respective weights for the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 14, Pareek discloses the system of claim 13, wherein re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups comprises:
determining that a first data source has a higher weight than a second data source in the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 302 as shown in Fig. 3; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; column 10, lines 1-17);
scaling values of the data entries from the first data source to be within a first data range(column 10, lines 18-29);
scaling values of the data entries from the second data source to be within a second data range, wherein the maximum value of the second data range is smaller than the maximum value of the first data range(column 10, lines 18-29); and
re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the scaled values of the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 15, Pareek discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the selectable interface elements comprise a selectable interface element configured for invoking an editing tool for updating a visualization for presenting a population for each group of the plurality of groups(column 4, lines 28-41).
Per claim 16, Pareek discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon(e.g., storage device 718 as shown Fig. 7; column 14, lines 20-30), the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations (column 14, lines 30-55) comprising:
accessing data entries associated with a plurality of entities (e.g., Step 602 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 3-11 ) and obtained from a plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 604 as shown in Fig. 6; column 7, lines 30-43; column 12, lines 12-18; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses data extraction 202 as shown in Fig. 2);
generating a classification map for the plurality of entities by classifying the plurality of entities into a plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 606 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-25 ), wherein the plurality of groups are arranged in the classification map according to values of the data entries of the plurality of entities(e.g., Step 212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 10, lines 30-38 and lines 52-61; Examiner’s Note: Pareek disclose generating a matrix visualization 402 including a matrix with prioritization categories.);
determining one or more metrics for the plurality of groups(e.g., Steps 606-608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-32; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing risk scores for a plurality of groups.);
determining a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from one of the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 610 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 33-43; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses providing an interactive visualization of the risk scores 212 as shown in Fig. 2.); and
generating, for inclusion in a user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations(e.g., Step 612 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 44--47), wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are arranged in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (e.g., steps 614-616 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 48-55).
Per claim 17, Pareek discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16,wherein each of the plurality of visualization comprises a two-dimensional arrangement of items, each item representing one of the plurality of groups, and wherein each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations(e.g., matrix visualization 402 as shown in Fig. 4; column 10, lines 52—61 ).
Per claim 18, Pareek discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element in the user interface(column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
determining status of the items in the plurality of visualizations according to the feedback (e.g., step 608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 26-32 );
updating the plurality of visualizations according to the determined status(column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items(e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items ).
Per claim 19, Pareek discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element corresponding to one item in one of the plurality of visualizations in the user interface(column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
updating items in the plurality of visualizations that correspond to the one item according to the received feedback(column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on status of the items in the visualization(e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items )..
Per claim 20, Pareek discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining respective weights for the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 308 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 46--51); and
updating the classification map by re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources and the respective weights for the plurality of data sources(e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Conclusion
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178