DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communication filed on 1 May 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 63228510 filed on 11 Aug 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pareek et al. (Hereinafter, Pareek, US 12,154,053 A1) in view of Sanches et al. (Hereinafter, Sanches, US 2019/0250809 A1).
Per claim 1, Pareek discloses a computer-implemented method in which a system performs operations comprising:
accessing data entries associated with a plurality of entities (e.g., Step 602 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 3-11) and obtained from a plurality of data sources (e.g., Step 604 as shown in Fig. 6; column 7, lines 30-43; column 12, lines 12-18; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses data extraction 202 as shown in Fig. 2);
generating a classification map for the plurality of entities by classifying the plurality of entities into a plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 606 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-25 ), wherein the plurality of groups are arranged in the classification map according to values of the data entries of the plurality of entities(e.g., Step 212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 10, lines 30-38 and lines 52-61; Examiner’s Note: Pareek disclose generating a matrix visualization 402 including a matrix with prioritization categories.);
determining one or more metrics for the plurality of groups (e.g., Steps 606-608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-32; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing risk scores for a plurality of groups); but does but does not expressly disclose:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system, a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map, wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations; and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations, wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map, and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization.
Sanches discloses:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system (e.g., user interface 900 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0051] ), a plurality of visualizations (e.g., Panels 910, 920, 930, 940, 950, 960, and 970 as shown in Fig. 9 ) based on the classification map (e.g., block 501 as shown in Fig. 5; paragraph [0092],” At block 501, the system 300 generates a user interface configured to display a plurality of panels, each panel associated with display settings and a query. “; paragraph [0137], “FIG. 9 illustrates one embodiment of a user interface 900 comprising dynamic panels for displaying results of queries performed on one or more data sources. “), each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map (paragraph [0137]), wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations (paragraph [0002], “The present disclosure relates to systems and techniques for data integration, analysis, and visualization. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to dynamic linked panels associated with queries performed on data sources and visualization of results of the queries.”; paragraph [0010]; paragraph [012]; paragraph [0014]; paragraph [0051]; paragraph [0138], “Like the panels described with respect to FIG. 1, the panels in FIG. 9 can be linked to one or more other dynamic panels. The panels in FIG. 9 can also output data to other panels, are associated with query code for retrieving data, output a visualization based on the queried data and selected display settings, and update when the underlying data changes… “; paragraph [0054], “A dynamic panel can be linked to one or more other dynamic panels. As mentioned above, the output of a panel can be used in another panel. When the data of a panel depends or relies on the data of another panel, if the data in the source panel changes, the data in the panel that relies on the source panel may also change or be refreshed …”; paragraph [0056], “….The panels can also be linked together so that the data from one panel can be used to display the data in another panel. “; Examiner’s Note: Sanches discloses linked visualizations where a change in a value for one visualization causes linked visualizations to update.); and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system (e.g., block 2704 as shown in Fig. 27; paragraph [0204], “At block 2704, a user interface is generated. The user interface displays a first portion including a panel associated with query code. “), selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations (paragraph [0028], “FIG. 10 illustrates one embodiment of a user interface of a dashboard creation system comprising dynamic panels for displaying results of queries performed on one or more data sources with editing tools.”); paragraph [0139], wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (paragraph [0140]), and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization (paragraph [0006], “… generate user interface data configured to be rendered as a user interface, the user interface including at least a first display portion and a second display portion; receive an input indicating a relationship between the first panel of the plurality of panels and a second panel of the plurality of panels, wherein the relationship is indicated by associating a variable of the first panel with a query of the second panel; and in response to the input: updating a visual representation of data displayed in the second panel by executing the query of the second panel using a value of the variable of the first panel to retrieve updated data from the database; and updating the graphical visualization included in the second display to include an edge connecting a first node representing the first panel to a second node representing the second panel …. “; paragraph [0054]; paragraphs [0145]; paragraph [0146]; Examiner’s Note: Sanches teaches dynamic panels that are linked so that updates to one dynamic panel causes updates to linked panels.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Sanches’ dynamic linked panels with Pareek’s system for the purpose of allowing the query and presentation of large amounts of data in a user interface as suggested by Sanches (See paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 2, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of visualizations comprises a two-dimensional arrangement of the items, and the selectable interface elements are overlaid on the items
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Sanches’ dynamic linked panels with Pareek’s system for the purpose of allowing the query and presentation of large amounts of data in a user interface as suggested by Sanches (See paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 3, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element in the user interface (Pareek, column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
determining status of the items in the plurality of visualizations according to the feedback (Pareek, e.g., step 608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 26-32);
updating the plurality of visualizations according to the determined status (Pareek, column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items(Pareek, e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items ).
Per claim 4, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element corresponding to one item in one of the plurality of visualizations in the user interface (Pareek, column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
updating items in the plurality of visualizations that correspond to the one item according to the received feedback (Pareek, column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on status of the items in the visualization(Pareek, e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items )..
Per claim 5, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining respective weights for the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 308 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 46-51); and
updating the classification map by re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources and the respective weights for the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 6, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 5, wherein re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups comprises:
determining that a first data source has a higher weight than a second data source in the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 302 as shown in Fig. 3; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; column 10, lines 1-17);
scaling values of the data entries from the first data source to be within a first data range (Pareek, column 10, lines 18-29);
scaling values of the data entries from the second data source to be within a second data range, wherein the maximum value of the second data range is smaller than the maximum value of the first data range (Pareek, column 10, lines 18-29); and
re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the scaled values of the data entries from the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 7, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the selectable interface elements comprise a selectable interface element configured for invoking an editing tool for updating a visualization for presenting a population for each group of the plurality of groups (Pareek, column 4, lines 28-41).
Per claim 8, Pareek and Sanches disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: generating, for inclusion in the user interface of the system, additional selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations, wherein each of the additional selectable interface elements corresponds to one of the plurality of data sources(Pareek, e.g., Step 612 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 44--47), wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are arranged in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (e.g., steps 614-616 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 48-55).
Per claim 9, Pareek discloses a system (e.g., system 700 as shown in Fig. 7; column 13, lines 44-48; column 14, lines 3-19), comprising:
a processing device(e.g., processor 704 as shown in Fig. 7; column 14, lines 3-19); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium communicatively coupled to the processing device(e.g., storage device 718 as shown Fig. 7; column 14, lines 20-30), wherein the processing device is configured to execute program code stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium and thereby perform operations (column 14, lines 30-55) comprising:
accessing data entries associated with a plurality of entities (e.g., Step 602 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 3-11 ) and obtained from a plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 604 as shown in Fig. 6; column 7, lines 30-43; column 12, lines 12-18; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses data extraction 202 as shown in Fig. 2);
generating a classification map for the plurality of entities by classifying the plurality of entities into a plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 606 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-25 ), wherein the plurality of groups are arranged in the classification map according to values of the data entries of the plurality of entities(e.g., Step 212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 10, lines 30-38 and lines 52-61; Examiner’s Note: Pareek disclose generating a matrix visualization 402 including a matrix with prioritization categories.);
determining one or more metrics for the plurality of groups (e.g., Steps 606-608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-32; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing risk scores for a plurality of groups.); but does but does not expressly disclose:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system, a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map, wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations; and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations, wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map, and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization.
Sanches discloses:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system (e.g., user interface 900 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0051] ), a plurality of visualizations (e.g., Panels 910, 920, 930, 940, 950, 960, and 970 as shown in Fig. 9 ) based on the classification map (e.g., block 501 as shown in Fig. 5; paragraph [0092],” At block 501, the system 300 generates a user interface configured to display a plurality of panels, each panel associated with display settings and a query. “; paragraph [0137], “FIG. 9 illustrates one embodiment of a user interface 900 comprising dynamic panels for displaying results of queries performed on one or more data sources. “), each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map (paragraph [0137]), wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations (paragraph [0002], “The present disclosure relates to systems and techniques for data integration, analysis, and visualization. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to dynamic linked panels associated with queries performed on data sources and visualization of results of the queries.”; paragraph [0010]; paragraph [012]; paragraph [0014]; paragraph [0051]; paragraph [0138], “Like the panels described with respect to FIG. 1, the panels in FIG. 9 can be linked to one or more other dynamic panels. The panels in FIG. 9 can also output data to other panels, are associated with query code for retrieving data, output a visualization based on the queried data and selected display settings, and update when the underlying data changes… “; paragraph [0054], “A dynamic panel can be linked to one or more other dynamic panels. As mentioned above, the output of a panel can be used in another panel. When the data of a panel depends or relies on the data of another panel, if the data in the source panel changes, the data in the panel that relies on the source panel may also change or be refreshed …”; paragraph [0056], “….The panels can also be linked together so that the data from one panel can be used to display the data in another panel. “; Examiner’s Note: Sanches discloses linked visualizations where a change in a value for one visualization causes linked visualizations to update.); and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system (e.g., block 2704 as shown in Fig. 27; paragraph [0204], “At block 2704, a user interface is generated. The user interface displays a first portion including a panel associated with query code. “), selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations (paragraph [0028], “FIG. 10 illustrates one embodiment of a user interface of a dashboard creation system comprising dynamic panels for displaying results of queries performed on one or more data sources with editing tools.”); paragraph [0139], wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (paragraph [0140]), and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization (paragraph [0006], “… generate user interface data configured to be rendered as a user interface, the user interface including at least a first display portion and a second display portion; receive an input indicating a relationship between the first panel of the plurality of panels and a second panel of the plurality of panels, wherein the relationship is indicated by associating a variable of the first panel with a query of the second panel; and in response to the input: updating a visual representation of data displayed in the second panel by executing the query of the second panel using a value of the variable of the first panel to retrieve updated data from the database; and updating the graphical visualization included in the second display to include an edge connecting a first node representing the first panel to a second node representing the second panel …. “; paragraph [0054]; paragraphs [0145]; paragraph [0146]; Examiner’s Note: Sanches teaches dynamic panels that are linked so that updates to one dynamic panel causes updates to linked panels.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Sanches’ dynamic linked panels with Pareek’s system for the purpose of allowing the query and presentation of large amounts of data in a user interface as suggested by Sanches (See paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 10, Pareek and Sanches disclose the system of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of visualizations comprises a two-dimensional arrangement of the items, and the selectable interface elements are overlaid on the items
Per claim 11, Pareek and Sanches disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element in the user interface (Pareek, column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
determining status of the items in the plurality of visualizations according to the feedback (Pareek, e.g., step 608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, l32) 26-32);
updating the plurality of visualizations according to the determined status (Pareek, column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items(Pareek, e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items ).
Per claim 12, Pareek and Sanches disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element corresponding to one item in one of the plurality of visualizations in the user interface (column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
updating items in the plurality of visualizations that correspond to the one item according to the received feedback (Pareek, column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on status of the items in the visualization(Pareek, e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items )..
Per claim 13, Pareek and Sanches disclose the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining respective weights for the plurality of data sources (e.g., operation 308 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines46-51); and
updating the classification map by re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources and the respective weights for the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 14, Pareek and Sanches the system of claim 13, wherein re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups comprises:
determining that a first data source has a higher weight than a second data source in the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 302 as shown in Fig. 3; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; column 10, lines 1-17);
scaling values of the data entries from the first data source to be within a first data range (Pareek, column 10, lines 18-29);
scaling values of the data entries from the second data source to be within a second data range, wherein the maximum value of the second data range is smaller than the maximum value of the first data range (Pareek, column 10, lines 18-29); and
re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the scaled values of the data entries from the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 310 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Per claim 15, Pareek and Sanches the system of claim 9, wherein the selectable interface elements comprise a selectable interface element configured for invoking an editing tool for updating a visualization for presenting a population for each group of the plurality of groups (Pareek, column 4, lines 28-41).
Per claim 16, Pareek discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon (e.g., storage device 718 as shown Fig. 7; column 14, lines 20-30), the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations (column 14, lines 30-55) comprising:
accessing data entries associated with a plurality of entities (e.g., Step 602 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 3-11 ) and obtained from a plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 604 as shown in Fig. 6; column 7, lines 30-43; column 12, lines 12-18; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses data extraction 202 as shown in Fig. 2);
generating a classification map for the plurality of entities by classifying the plurality of entities into a plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources(e.g., Step 606 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-25 ), wherein the plurality of groups are arranged in the classification map according to values of the data entries of the plurality of entities(e.g., Step 212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 10, lines 30-38 and lines 52-61; Examiner’s Note: Pareek disclose generating a matrix visualization 402 including a matrix with prioritization categories.);
determining one or more metrics for the plurality of groups (e.g., Steps 606-608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 19-32; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing risk scores for a plurality of groups.); but does but does not expressly disclose:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system, a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map, wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations; and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations, wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map, and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization.
Sanches discloses:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system (e.g., user interface 900 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0051] ), a plurality of visualizations (e.g., Panels 910, 920, 930, 940, 950, 960, and 970 as shown in Fig. 9 ) based on the classification map (e.g., block 501 as shown in Fig. 5; paragraph [0092],” At block 501, the system 300 generates a user interface configured to display a plurality of panels, each panel associated with display settings and a query. “; paragraph [0137], “FIG. 9 illustrates one embodiment of a user interface 900 comprising dynamic panels for displaying results of queries performed on one or more data sources. “), each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map (paragraph [0137]), wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations (paragraph [0002], “The present disclosure relates to systems and techniques for data integration, analysis, and visualization. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to dynamic linked panels associated with queries performed on data sources and visualization of results of the queries.”; paragraph [0010]; paragraph [012]; paragraph [0014]; paragraph [0051]; paragraph [0138], “Like the panels described with respect to FIG. 1, the panels in FIG. 9 can be linked to one or more other dynamic panels. The panels in FIG. 9 can also output data to other panels, are associated with query code for retrieving data, output a visualization based on the queried data and selected display settings, and update when the underlying data changes… “; paragraph [0054], “A dynamic panel can be linked to one or more other dynamic panels. As mentioned above, the output of a panel can be used in another panel. When the data of a panel depends or relies on the data of another panel, if the data in the source panel changes, the data in the panel that relies on the source panel may also change or be refreshed …”; paragraph [0056], “….The panels can also be linked together so that the data from one panel can be used to display the data in another panel. “; Examiner’s Note: Sanches discloses linked visualizations where a change in a value for one visualization causes linked visualizations to update.); and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system (e.g., block 2704 as shown in Fig. 27; paragraph [0204], “At block 2704, a user interface is generated. The user interface displays a first portion including a panel associated with query code. “), selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations (paragraph [0028], “FIG. 10 illustrates one embodiment of a user interface of a dashboard creation system comprising dynamic panels for displaying results of queries performed on one or more data sources with editing tools.”); paragraph [0139], wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map (paragraph [0140]), and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization (paragraph [0006], “… generate user interface data configured to be rendered as a user interface, the user interface including at least a first display portion and a second display portion; receive an input indicating a relationship between the first panel of the plurality of panels and a second panel of the plurality of panels, wherein the relationship is indicated by associating a variable of the first panel with a query of the second panel; and in response to the input: updating a visual representation of data displayed in the second panel by executing the query of the second panel using a value of the variable of the first panel to retrieve updated data from the database; and updating the graphical visualization included in the second display to include an edge connecting a first node representing the first panel to a second node representing the second panel …. “; paragraph [0054]; paragraphs [0145]; paragraph [0146]; Examiner’s Note: Sanches teaches dynamic panels that are linked so that updates to one dynamic panel causes updates to linked panels.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Sanches’ dynamic linked panels with Pareek’s system for the purpose of allowing the query and presentation of large amounts of data in a user interface as suggested by Sanches (See paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 17, Pareek and Sanches disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of visualizations comprises a two-dimensional arrangement of the items, and the selectable interface elements are overlaid on the items
Per claim 18, Pareek and Sanches disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element in the user interface (Pareek, column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
determining status of the items in the plurality of visualizations according to the feedback (Pareek, e.g., step 608 as shown in Fig. 6; column 12, lines 26-32);
updating the plurality of visualizations according to the determined status (Pareek, column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items(Pareek, e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items ).
Per claim 19, Pareek and Sanches disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving feedback from a selectable interface element corresponding to one item in one of the plurality of visualizations in the user interface (Pareek, column 11, lines 12-16, “Selection detail section 408 may provide details based on what is selected by a user in the other sections. For example, if a user selects the ‘35’ block in matrix visualization 402, selection detail section 408 may list the top applications by total score of assets within that block. “);
updating items in the plurality of visualizations that correspond to the one item according to the received feedback (Pareek, column 11, lines 16-23; column 12, lines 33-43); and
generating access control decisions for the plurality of entities based on status of the items in the visualization(Pareek, e.g., steps 208-212 as shown in Fig. 2; column 6, lines 56-63; column 8, lines 60-67 to column 9, lines 1-3; Examiner’s Note: Pareek discloses computing and visualizing a risk priority with a plurality of entities based on the determined status of the items )..
Per claim 20, Pareek and Sanches disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining respective weights for the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 308 as shown in Fig. 3; column 9, lines 46-51); and
updating the classification map by re-classifying the plurality of entities into the plurality of groups based on the data entries from the plurality of data sources and the respective weights for the plurality of data sources (Pareek, e.g., operation 310 as shown 3; column 9, lines 52—67; column 13, lines 23-36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, applicant argues that Pareek does not disclose:
determining, for display in a user interface of the system, a plurality of visualizations based on the classification map, each visualization representing a unique one of the one or more metrics or the data entries from a unique one of the plurality of data sources and including an array of items arranged according to the classification map, wherein each item has a value and represents a group of entities of the plurality of groups and the items have a one- to-one correspondence such that each item in one visualization has corresponding items in other visualizations of the plurality of visualizations; and
generating, for display in the user interface of the system, selectable interface elements configured for invoking an editing tool for updating the plurality of visualizations, wherein the selectable interface elements for the plurality of visualizations are associated with the items in the respective visualizations according to the classification map, and wherein the one-to-one correspondence between the items in the plurality of visualizations enables automatic updating of a given item across the plurality of visualizations upon updating the given item in a single visualization.
The current rejection does not rely on Pareek to reject the amended claims.
In view of the foregoing, claims now pending in this application are not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robertson et al. (US 8,358,308 B2) - Various types of data can be collected into a data set and related content and/or related concepts across the data in the data set and/or across search histories can be displayed as a visual representation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178