CTNF 18/294,338 CTNF 101406 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Parkin (US 20050078511 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Parkin discloses a magnetic domain wall motion element (100) comprising: a magnetic domain wall motion layer (1335, Fig. 13B) in which a magnetic domain wall is formed; a ferromagnetic layer (magnetic film, 10, Fig. 13B); and a nonmagnetic layer (insulating film, 15, Fig. 13B) interposed between the magnetic domain wall motion layer and the ferromagnetic layer (Fig. 13B), wherein at least a portion of a first surface of the magnetic domain wall motion layer on a side closer to the ferromagnetic layer, at a position overlapping the ferromagnetic layer in a plan view in a laminating direction, is curved (Fig. 13B). Regarding claim 2 , Parkin discloses at least a portion of a second surface of the magnetic domain wall motion layer (1335) on a side opposite to the first surface, at a position overlapping with the ferromagnetic layer (10) in a plan view in the laminating direction, is curved in the same direction as the first surface (Fig. 13A/B). Regarding claim 3 , Parkin discloses the curved surface of the first surface is curved in one direction (Fig. 13B). Regarding claim 5 , Parkin discloses a first conductive layer (1325) and a second (1330, Fig. 13B) conductive layer each connected to the magnetic domain wall motion layer (1335), wherein the curved surface of the first surface is curved in a second direction when a direction from the first conductive layer toward the magnetic domain wall motion layer in the laminating direction is defined as a first direction and a direction opposite to the first direction is defined as the second direction (Fig. 13B). Regarding claim 11 , Parkin discloses a magnetic array (100A) comprising a plurality of magnetic domain wall motion elements (Fig. 13A) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4, 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVE Q PHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-1227. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marlon Fletcher can be reached at (571) 272-2063. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEVE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/294,338 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/294,338 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817