DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 are pending.
Claims 1-3 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda et al. (US 2006/0201588) (Suda) in view of Nakakubo et al. (JP 2017082251A) and Nagao et al. (US 2004/0129354) (Nagao).
Nakakubo et al. (JP 2017082251A) is cited in the IDS filed 02/01/2024. Citations to Nakakubo may be found in the translation provided by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1-3
Suda teaches a steel wire for a spring. The steel wire comprises a main body made of steel and a grain boundary layer possessing a depth of about 10 microns or less. The grain boundary layer constitutes the outer peripheral surface of the steel wire. Since the steel wire is a straight, one-dimensional figure, it follows the steel wire inherently possesses a line shape. The steel constituting the main body comprises 0.53 to 0.68% by mass C, 1.2 to 2.5% by mas Si, 0.2 to 1.5% by mass Mn, 1.4 to 2.5% by mas Cr, and 0 to 0.4% by mass V, with the remainder consisting of iron and inevitable impurities. The steel wire comprises tempered martensite. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0001], [0009], [0012-017], [0020], and [0023].
It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Suda does not explicitly teach the presence of an oxidized layer (A) or the concentration of silicon in the oxidized layer (B).
With respect to the difference, Nakakubo (A) teaches a steel wire for a spring comprising a main body made of a steel and having line shape. The steel constituting the main body possesses 0.1 to 1.5% by mass of carbon, 1.0 to 2.5% by mass Si, 0.01 to 2% by mass Mn, 0.01 to 3% by mass Cr, and 0 to 1% by mass vanadium, with the balance being iron and unavoidable impurities. The steel wire further includes a scale acting as a lubricant at the time of bending in order to improve bending workability. By optimizing conditions of the temperature treatment, especially the heating condition, the component composition can be controlled to produce a steel wire comprising a scale with good adhesion on the steel wire surface for springs. The scale has a thickness of 2.5 to 6 microns. The scale composition includes 95-100% by volume of Fe3O4 and 0 to 5% by volume of Fe2O3. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0001], [0013], [0025-0037], [0042], , and claims 1-2. The scale composition includes 89 to 100% by mass Fe3O4 and 11 to 0% by mass of Fe2O3. Mass of Fe3O4 = (volume of Fe3O4 * density of Fe3O4)/((volume of Fe3O4 * density of Fe3O4)+ (volume of Fe2O3 * density of Fe2O3)) = (90*5.17)/((90*5.17)+(10*5.24))=89%.
Nakakubo and Suda are analogous art as they are both drawn to steel wires for springs.
In light of the motivation as provided by Nakakubo, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to deposit a scale possessing a thickness 2.5 to 5 microns and comprising 95-100% by volume of Fe3O4 and 0 to 5% by volume of Fe2O3 on the main body of the steel wire of Suda, in order to improve bending workability and ensure the scale has good adhesion, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
With respect to the difference, Nagao (B) teaches a steel wire comprising a scale layer deposited on the surface of the base metal portion. The Si average concentration in the interface portion of the scale layer is not less than 2.0 times the Si content of the base metal portion in view of favorable peelability. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0012], [0021], [0036-0044], and [0059].
Nagao and Suda in view of Nakakubo are analogous art as they are both drawn to steel wires.
In light of the motivation as provided by Nagao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to ensure the Si average concentration of the interface portion of the scale layer of Suda in view of Nakakubo is not less than 2.0 times the Si content of the base metal portion, in view of favorable peelability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,807,923 in view of Yoshihara et al. (JP 2007138260A) (Yoshihara) and Nagao et al. (US 2004/0129354) (Nagao). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a steel wire for springs, comprising a main body made of a steel and having a line shape; and an oxidized layer covering an outer peripheral surface of the main body; the steel constituting the main body containing not less than 0.6 mass % and not more than 0.7 mass % carbon, not less than 1.7 mass % and not more than 2.5 mass % silicon, not less than 0.2 mass % and not more than 1 mass % manganese, not less than 0.6 mass % and not more than 2 mass % chromium, and not less than 0.08 mass % and not more than 0.25 mass % vanadium, with the balance consisting of iron and unavoidable impurities,
the steel constituting the main body having a tempered martensitic structure, the oxidized layer including a high silicon concentration layer having a maximum concentration of silicon of not less than 2.5 times and not more than 5.5 times that of the main body,
the main body including an intergranular oxidized layer arranged to constitute the outer peripheral surface and having a thickness of not less than 0.5 μm and not more than 2.5 μm.
The present claims further require the oxidized layer has a thickness of not less than 2 μm and not more than 5 μm.
The present claims further require the oxidized layer contains not less than 80 mass% triiron tetraoxide.
The patented claims, claims 1 and 4, require a spring steel wire comprising:
a main body made of a steel and having a line shape; and
an oxidized layer covering an outer peripheral surface of the main body;
the steel constituting the main body containing not less than 0.62 mass % and not more than 0.68 mass % C, not less than 1.6 mass % and not more than 2 mass % Si, not less than 0.2 mass % and not more than 0.5 mass % Mn, not less than 1.7 mass % and not more than 2 mass % Cr, and not less than 0.15 mass % and not more than 0.25 mass % V, with the balance being Fe and unavoidable impurities, a value obtained by dividing a sum of a Si content and a Mn content by a Cr content being not less than 0.9 and not more than 1.4,
the steel constituting the main body having a tempered martensite structure;
wherein the oxidized layer contains Fe3O4 in a percentage of not less than 80 mass %, and
wherein the oxidized layer has thickness of not less than 2 μm and not more than 5 μm.
The patented claims do not require an intergranular oxidized layer arranged to constitute the other peripheral surface and having a thickness of not less than 0.5 μm and not more than 2.5 μm or a maximum concentration of silicon of not less than 2.5 times and not more than 5.5 times of the main body.
With respect to the difference, Yoshihara teaches a steel wire for a spring. The steel wire includes a grain boundary oxide layer, i.e., corresponding to an intergranular oxide layer, due to the large amount of Cr used in the steel. Cr is present in the steel body in an amount from 0.5 to 1.9% by mass in view of strength, hardenability, and drawability. The grain boundary oxide layer possesses a depth of 8 µm or less. See, e.g., abstract and page 1, lines 10-15 and 36-49, page 2, lines 4-10, page 3, lines 31-35, and page 5, lines 25-26.
Yoshihara and the patented claims are analogous art as they are both drawn to steel wires for springs.
In light of the motivation as provided by Yoshihara, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use 0.5 to 1.9% by mass of Cr in the steel body, and therefore form a grain boundary layer possessing a depth of 8 µm or less, in the steel wire of the patented claims, in order to provide strength, hardenability, and drawability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
With respect to the difference, Nagao teaches a steel wire comprising a scale layer deposited on the surface of the base metal portion. The Si average concentration in the interface portion of the scale layer is not less than 2.0 times the Si content of the base metal portion in view of favorable peelability. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0012], [0021], [0036-0044], and [0059].
Nagao and the patented claims in view of Yoshihara are analogous art as they are both drawn to steel wires.
In light of the motivation as provided by Nagao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to ensure the average concentration of Si in the oxidized layer of the patented claims in view of Yoshihara is not less than 2.0 times the Si content of the base metal portion, in view of favorability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Conclusion
/C.X.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789