DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/16/2026.
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ottersten et al. (US 2021/0258063 A1; hereafter OTTERSTEN).
With respect to claim 1, OTTERSTEN discloses a terminal (120 in FIG. 1; 3291, 3292 in FIG. 9; 3330 in FIG. 10) comprising:
a receiver (3337, 3331 in FIG. 10) that computes a radio link quality corresponding to one or more reference signals (201 in FIG. 2; paragraph [0090], [0091], [0092], see the measurements of RSRP or CSI-RS and quality values shared between first and second nodes and used for input to a training model); and
a processor (3338 in FIG. 10) that detects a predicted beam failure on the basis of a predicted radio link quality at a future time computed based on the radio link quality (Input Data, ML trained, Target Data in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0090], [0091], [0092], see the machine learning model will predict the time of a beam failure at time t + s).
With respect to claim 2, OTTERSTEN further discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor detects the predicted beam failure assuming that the future time during a timer running is the same (Input Data, ML trained, Target Data in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0090], [0091], [0092], see the machine learning model will predict the time of a beam failure at time t + s; Time t +s, Time t + s -1, and Time t + s -2 in Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 5, OTTERSTEN discloses a radio communication method (Abstract; Title) for a terminal (120 in FIG. 1; 3291, 3292 in FIG. 9; 3330 in FIG. 10), the radio communication method comprising:
computing a radio link quality corresponding to one or more reference signals (201 in FIG. 2; paragraph [0090], [0091], [0092], see the measurements of RSRP or CSI-RS and quality values shared between first and second nodes and used for input to a training model); and
detecting a predicted beam failure on the basis of a predicted radio link quality at a future time computed based on the radio link quality (Input Data, ML trained, Target Data in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0090], [0091], [0092], see the machine learning model will predict the time of a beam failure at time t + s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTTERSTEN in view of Butt et al. (US 2023/0171836 A1; hereafter BUTT).
With respect to claim 3, OTTERSTEN does not disclose the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs control to transmit a random access channel for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on detection of the predicted beam failure.
BUTT discloses (in and invention for machine learning of beam failure management) wherein the processor performs control to transmit a random access channel for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on detection of the predicted beam failure (paragraphs [0011], [0019], [0074], see the random access procedure started when a beam failure is higher than a threshold or triggered by a threshold crossing).
BUTT teaches the benefit of lesser delay in declaring a beam failure (paragraph [0007] and [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the beam failure modeling and detection as taught by BUTT in the terminal, method, and base station of OTTERSTEN to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 4, OTTERSTEN further discloses the terminal according to claim 3, wherein the processor performs control to transmit information related to a time when the predicted beam failure recovery is to be performed (204, 210, 205, 211, 206 in FIG. 2; paragraph [0064], see the minimum time needs to switch a beam).
With respect to claim 7, OTTERSTEN does not disclose the terminal according to claim 2, wherein the processor performs control to transmit a random access channel for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on detection of the predicted beam failure.
BUTT discloses (in and invention for machine learning of beam failure management) wherein the processor performs control to transmit a random access channel for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on detection of the predicted beam failure (paragraphs [0011], [0019], [0074], see the random access procedure started when a beam failure is higher than a threshold or triggered by a threshold crossing).
BUTT teaches the benefit of lesser delay in declaring a beam failure (paragraph [0007] and [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the beam failure modeling and detection as taught by BUTT in the terminal, method, and base station of OTTERSTEN to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 6, OTTERSTEN discloses a base station (110 in FIG. 1; 3212a, 3212b in FIG. 9; 3320 in FIG. 10) comprising:
a transmitter (3327 in FIG. 10) that transmits, to a terminal (120 in FIG. 1; 3291, 3292 in FIG. 9; 3330 in FIG. 10), configuration information for detection of a predicted beam failure, on the basis of a predicted radio link quality at a future time (Input Data, ML trained, Target Data in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0090], [0091], [0092], see the machine learning model will predict the time of a beam failure at time t + s) computed based on a radio link quality corresponding to one or more reference signals (201 in FIG. 2; paragraph [0090], [0091], [0092], see the measurements of RSRP or CSI-RS and quality values shared between first and second nodes and used for input to a training model); and
a receiver (3327 in FIG. 10) that receives, from the terminal (120 in FIG. 1; 3291, 3292 in FIG. 9; 3330 in FIG. 10), a measurement report (paragraph [0090], [0091], [0092]).
OTTERSTEN does not disclose receives, from the terminal, a random access channel for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on the detection of the predicted beam failure.
BUTT discloses (in and invention for machine learning of beam failure management) receives, from the terminal, a random access channel for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on the detection of the predicted beam failure (paragraphs [0011], [0019], [0074], see the random access procedure started when a beam failure is higher than a threshold or triggered by a threshold crossing).
BUTT teaches the benefit of lesser delay in declaring a beam failure (paragraph [0007] and [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the beam failure modeling and detection as taught by BUTT in the terminal, method, and base station of OTTERSTEN to produce an expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/16/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7 under KANG have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of OTTERSTEN and OTTERSTEN combined with BUTT.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 June 6, 2026