DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 2/1/2024.
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2022/0294514 A1; hereafter KANG).
With respect to claim 1, KANG discloses a terminal (UE of FIG. 8) comprising:
a receiving section (106 in FIG. 11) that computes a radio link quality corresponding to one or more reference signals (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]); and
a control section (102 in FIG. 11) that detects a predicted beam failure on the basis of a predicted radio link quality at a future time computed based on the radio link quality (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
With respect to claim 2, KANG further discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control section detects the predicted beam failure assuming that the future time during a timer running is the same (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
With respect to claim 3, KANG further discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control section performs control to transmit a random access channel (paragraph [0104]) for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on detection of the predicted beam failure (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
With respect to claim 4, KANG further discloses the terminal according to claim 3, wherein the control section performs control to transmit information related to a time when the predicted beam failure recovery is to be performed (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
With respect to claim 5, KANG discloses a radio communication method (Abstract; Title) for a terminal (UE of FIG. 8), the radio communication method comprising:
computing a radio link quality corresponding to one or more reference signals (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]); and
detecting a predicted beam failure on the basis of a predicted radio link quality at a future time computed based on the radio link quality (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
With respect to claim 6, KANG discloses a base station (TRP of FIG. 8) comprising:
a transmitting section (206 in FIG. 11) that transmits, to a terminal, configuration information for detection of a predicted beam failure, on the basis of a predicted radio link quality at a future time computed based on a radio link quality corresponding to one or more reference signals (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]);
and a receiving section (206 in FIG. 11) that receives, from the terminal, a random access channel (paragraph [0104]) for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on the detection of the predicted beam failure (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
With respect to claim 7, KANG further discloses the terminal according to claim 2, wherein the control section performs control to transmit a random access channel (paragraph [0104]) for predicted beam failure recovery triggered based on detection of the predicted beam failure (S901, S902, S903 in FIG. 9; paragraphs [0237], [0242], [0243]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 January 4, 2026