DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14, and 17-26 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Bifidobacterium animalis subs. lactis CNCM I-3446 for species A and inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) for species B in the reply filed on March 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14, and 17-26 are examined on the merits in regards to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 10-12 and 17-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what are considered the risk factors for having an overactive immune system disorder; thus, it is unclear which subjects are considered to be “at risk” as recited in the claim.
6. Claim 2 is indefinite because it is unclear what diseases are considered to be an “IL-10 mediated disease”. In addition, it is unclear what are considered the risk factors for having an IL-10 mediated disease; thus, it is unclear which subjects are considered to be “at risk” as recited in the claim.
7. Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear what diseases are considered to be an “IL-10 mediated disease”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 14, 17, 18, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benyacoub (US 10,501,530).
Benyacoub teaches a method for reducing the severity of inflammatory bowel disease, the method comprising administering a therapeutically-effective amount of a composition comprising Bifidobacterium lactis (CNCM I-3446) (synonymous with B. animals subsp. lactis) to a subject (see claims 1 and 13). The reference also teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic ingredient (see claim 6).
The reference does not explicitly state that the composition comprises a B. lactis supernatant. However, the reference teaches that the bacteria are viable and are combined with ingredients to promote their growth (see column 4, lines 59-64). Thus, the growing, viable bacteria would naturally produce a supernatant ingredient.
The reference also does not specifically state that the administration of the composition enhances the expression of IL-10 or reduces the expression of pro-inflammatory chemokines. However, this mechanism of action would be inherent in the prior art method because the prior art teaches administering the same composition as claimed to the same subject as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 11, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benyacoub (US 10,501,530) in view of David (US 2014/0294789).
The teachings of Benyacoub are discussed above. Benyacoub teaches that the composition contains prebiotic (claim 6). Benyacoub teaches that the prebiotic is galacto-oligosaccharides (GOS) (claims 7-8).
The reference does not specifically teach does not teach cell-free supernatant. However, David teaches "incubation of probiotic Bifidobacterium lactis with GOS results in production of a supernatant "postbiotic" that induces the expression of genes that can promote gastrointestinal healing" [0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the composition of Benyacoub
with cell-free supernatant "postbiotic" taught by David because David teaches that the supernatant postbiotic promotes gastrointestinal healing. Because probiotics need to be
kept alive, limiting their application, the preparation of supernatant "postbiotic" that
promotes gastrointestinal healing is beneficial because supernatant has same
gastrointestinal healing effect as probiotic itself. Furthermore, the composition of
Benyacoub also contain same prebiotic galacto-oligosaccharides (GOS) as David and
David teaches that incubation of probiotic Bifidobacterium lactis with GOS results in
production of a supernatant "postbiotic" that promote gastrointestinal healing.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to remove bacterial cell
Bifidobacterium lactis from the composition of Benyacoub by centrifugation or filtration
and to prepare supernatant to administer cell-free supernatant instead of cell-containing
composition because cell-free supernatant has an advantage because probiotics need
to be kept alive, limiting their application. Therefore, the invention as a whole would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in
the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because David teaches that the supernatant postbiotic promotes gastrointestinal healing. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 10-11 and 21-24, these claims describe intrinsic characteristics of the Bifidobacterium lactis supernatant. Although David does not expressly teach this characteristics, Bifidobacterium lactis supernatant will have same characteristics because it is an intrinsic characteristics of the supernatant. Furthermore, the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing the claimed products of the prior art in order to establish that the
products of the prior art possess the same material, structural, and functional characteristics as applicant's products. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is upon the applicant to prove that the products to which the claims are directed are different than that taught by the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA, 1977) and Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 1923 (PTO Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences, 1988 and 1989).
10. Claims 5, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Benyacoub (US 10,501,530) in view of David (US 2014/0294789) as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 11, and 21-24 above, and further in view of Liu (WO 2020/063553 – English translation).
The teachings of Benyacoub and David are discussed above. The references do not teach culture media comprising sugar and yeast extract.
However, Liu teaches culturing Bifidobacterium lactis in a culture medium composition yeast powder 2.0, glucose (a sugar) 5.0 (example 5). It is well known in the art that yeast powder and yeast extract is alternative term.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have cultured Bifidobacterium lactis in culture
media comprising sugar and yeast extract because it is well known in the art that Bifidobacterium lactis is cultured in this type of media as taught by Liu. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14, and 17-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3-14 of copending Application No. 18/683,538 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to treating gastrointestinal diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease using a culture supernatant from B. lactis (with B. animalis subsp. lactis CNCM I-3446 claimed). The reference application teaches culturing the bacteria using the same media as claimed and that the supernatant has the same compositional make up as claimed. Thus, the claims are not patentably distinct despite a difference in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
12. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655