DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene” is misspelled as “styrene-ethylene-butylene-stryrene” in line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. (JP2010-270193, see machine translated version) in view of Brant et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0125118) and Wu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2018/0194919).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ishii et al. teach a halogen free flame retardant polypropylene rigid flooring (paragraphs [0012], [0014], [0034]), comprising the following raw materials in mass percentage polypropylene 30 to 99.9% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10% to 45% (paragraphs [0034], [0036]), inorganic flame retardant 50 to 200 parts by mass which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 50% to 80% (paragraphs [0050], [0052]) and compatibilizer 0.1 to 20% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 1% to 10% (paragraphs [0037], [0039]).
Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein the flooring comprises toughening agent 1% to 15%. However, Brant et al. teach a polypropylene flooring (page 3, paragraph [0034], page 7, paragraph [0098]) comprising polypropylene (page 3, paragraph [0034]) and ethylene propylene elastomer (toughening agent) in a range from about 0 to about 50 wt% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 1% to 15% (page 3, paragraph [0034], page 7, paragraph [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the toughening agent of Brant et al. in the flooring of Ishii et al. in order to toughen the plastic (Brant et al., page 1, paragraph [0001]).
Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein the flooring comprises antioxidant 0.1% to 0.6%; and lubricant 0.5% to 2%. However, Wu et al. teach a polypropylene flooring comprising polypropylene (page 1, paragraph [0002]); antioxidant in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 0.1% to 0.6% (page 5, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]) and lubricant in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 0.5% to 2% (page 5, paragraphs [0061], [0062], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the antioxidant and lubricant of Wu et al. in the flooring of Ishii et al. in order to achieve their desired effect (Wu et al., page 5, paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein the polypropylene has a melt index of (1-15) g/10 min and a density of (0.89-0.91) g/10 min. However, Wu et al. teach a polypropylene flooring comprising polypropylene (page 1, paragraph [0002]); antioxidant in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt% (page 5, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]) and lubricant in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt% (page 5, paragraphs [0061], [0062], [0064]), wherein the polypropylene has a MFR from 0.5 to 30.0 g/10 min which reads on Applicant’s claimed melt index of (1-15) g/10 min (page 1, paragraph [0008]) and a density of greater than or equal to 0.888 g/cm3 to less than or equal to 0.910 g/cm3 which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 0.89-0.91 g/cm3 (page 2, paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the melt index and density of the polypropylene of Ishii et al. to that of Wu et al. in order to provide excellent abrasion resistance, good scratch/mar resistance and good optical clarity (Wu et al., page 1, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Ishii et al. teach wherein the inorganic flame retardant is magnesium hydroxide (paragraph [0050]) and the inorganic flame retardant has a particle size of 0.1 to 50 µm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 1,000 mesh to 5,000 mesh (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishii et al. teach wherein the compatibilizer is polypropylene grafter maleic acid (paragraph [0037]).
Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein the toughening agent is one or more selected from the group consisting of an ethylene-propylene random copolymer, a polyolefin elastomer (POE), styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS), and thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU). However, Brant et al. teach a polypropylene flooring (page 3, paragraph [0034], page 7, paragraph [0098]) comprising polypropylene (page 3, paragraph [0034]) and ethylene propylene elastomer (toughening agent) in a range from about 0 to about 50 wt% (page 3, paragraph [0034], page 7, paragraph [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the toughening agent of Brant et al. in the flooring of Ishii et al. in order to toughen the plastic (Brant et al., page 1, paragraph [0001]).
Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein the antioxidant is one or more selected from the group consisting of an antioxidant 1010, an antioxidant 168, an antioxidant 264, and an antioxidant 1076; and the lubricant is one or more selected from the group consisting of paraffin wax, polyethylene (PE) wax, stearic acid, and calcium stearate. However, Wu et al. teach a polypropylene flooring comprising polypropylene (page 1, paragraph [0002]); antioxidant in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt% (page 5, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]) and lubricant in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt% (page 5, paragraphs [0061], [0062], [0064]), wherein the antioxidant is antioxidant 1010, antioxidant 168, or antioxidant 1076 (page 5, paragraph [0063]) and the lubricant is polyethylene wax, stearic acid or calcium stearate (page 5, paragraph [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the antioxidant and lubricant of Wu et al. in the flooring of Ishii et al. in order to achieve their desired effect (Wu et al., page 5, paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Ishii et al. teach wherein the halogen free flame retardant PP rigid flooring (paragraphs [0012], [0014], [0034]) has a thickness of 1.0 to 4.0 mm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 3 mm to 10 mm (paragraph [0020]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. (JP2010-270193, see machine translated version) in view of Brant et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0125118) and Wu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2018/0194919), in further view of Yasumoto (US Patent Application No. 2009/0030130).
Ishii et al., Brant et al. and Wu et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 5, Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein the inorganic flame retardant is a mixture of the magnesium hydroxide and the aluminum hydroxide at a mass ratio of (2-4):1. However, Yasumoto et al. teach polypropylene flooring comprising polypropylene (page 2, paragraph [0036], page 6, paragraph [0082]) and inorganic flame retardant in an amount of 50 to 250 parts by mass (page 1, paragraph [0013]), wherein the inorganic flame retardant is a mixture of magnesium hydroxide and aluminum hydroxide (page 5, paragraph [0064]).
Yasumoto et al. do not disclose wherein the mixture of the magnesium hydroxide and the aluminum hydroxide at a mass ratio of (2-4):1. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in ratio involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the mass ratio of magnesium hydroxide and aluminum hydroxide of Yasumoto et al. in order to provide high flame retardance and economic efficiency (Yasumoto et al., page 5, paragraph [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the mixture of magnesium hydroxide and aluminum hydroxide of Yasumoto et al. in the flooring of Ishii et al. in order to provide high flame retardance and economic efficiency (Yasumoto et al., page 5, paragraph [0064]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. (JP2010-270193, see machine translated version) in view of Brant et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0125118) and Wu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2018/0194919), in further view of Boucke (US Patent Application No. 2020/0131784).
Ishii et al., Brant et al. and Wu et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 7, Ishii et al. teach wherein the halogen free flame retardant PP rigid flooring (paragraphs [0012], [0014], [0034]) has a polypropylene integrated film attached to an upper surface (paragraph [0057]) and a polypropylene balance layer attached to a lower surface (paragraph [0061]).
Ishii et al. fail to teach wherein a surface of the PP integrated film is covered with an ultraviolet (UV) coating oil. However, Boucke teach a polypropylene flooring comprising polypropylene base (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 8, paragraph [0056]) a polypropylene substrate attached to the polypropylene base (page 7, paragraph [0049], page 8, paragraph [0056]) and an ultraviolet coating (page 8, paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the ultraviolet coating of Boucke on the PP integrated film of Ishii et al. in order to improve the surface scratch resistance, glossiness and antimicrobial resistance (Boucke, page 8, paragraph [0053]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 10/22/2026