Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 2/1/2024 has been considered.
Preliminary Amendment
In the preliminary amendment of 2/1/2024, Applicant amended the specification, amended the Abstract and amended claims 1-10.
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/294,413 filed on 2/1/2024 is presented for examination by the Examiner.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig 6 lacks any legends in the shown boxes.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a curling an end bend of a rod” in lines 5-6. It is suggested that the above quoted feature is replaced by “a curling of an end bend of a rod” for better clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first configuration" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be taken that the above quoted feature recites “a first configuration”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an optimal configuration" in line 8. It is not clear the parameters/structure the “optimal” configuration refers to. For examination purposes, it will be taken that the above quoted feature refers to “original” configuration (based on p. 3, lines 19-21 of the specification).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "end bend of a rod (temple curl)" in lines 5-6. The phrase "(temple curl)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes it will be taken that the above quoted feature recites "end bend of a rod”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the indications on how to solve the detected problems" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be taken that the above quoted feature recites "indications on how to solve the detected problems".
Claim 6 recites the limitation "considered as optimal" in line 7. It is not clear the parameters/structure the “optimal” (configuration) refers to. For examination purposes, it will be taken that the above quoted feature refers to “original” configuration (based on p. 3, lines 19-21 of the specification).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "detected to the optician" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be taken that the above quoted feature recites “detected to an optician”.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 depend from claim 1 and are indefinite for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental steps comprising comparing and analyzing data without significantly more. The claim recites “comparing the first configuration with the second configuration; analyzing the two configurations and determining the differences; and indicating problems detected between the two configurations, providing indications on how to solve them”. This belongs to the enumerated grouping of a judicial exception of abstract ideas, e.g., mental processes (MPEP 2106.04(a)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the scanning and saving steps are recited with a high degree of generality and are just extra-solution data gathering and do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The indicating step is just a notification and is insignificant post-solution activity and thus not meaningful enough to render the claim eligible (See, e.g., Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 612, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) ("Flook established that limiting an... abstract idea to one field of use or adding token post-solution components did not make the concept patentable") (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 198 USPQ 193 (1978)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional steps are insignificant extra-solution data gathering and post-solution activity and do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same reasons give above. The additional steps (processor implementing the actions, three-dimensional scanning, providing indications, checking the scanning, reporting the problems, and measuring from data are insignificant extra-solution data gathering and post-solution activity and do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they recite “a computer program”. “Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: … Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitation” (MPEP 2106.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister at al. (US 2015/0277154, hereinafter, “Hofmeister”) in view of Mason et al. (US 2016/0135925, hereinafter, “Mason”).
Regarding claim 1, Hofmeister discloses a method for maintaining glasses frame (Abstract) the method including the following steps:
carrying out a scanning of said glasses frame (Fig. 6, [0133]), wherein the scanning measures at least one characteristic of the frame included in a list comprising a front curve-face form angle, a pantoscopic angle, a curling of an end bend of a rod (temple wrap), a maximum opening angle of the rod, a rod bending (Fig. 38E, [0142]);
saving in a data file said at least one characteristic of the glasses frame ([0183]).
Hofmeister does not disclose (saving in a data file said at least one characteristic of the glasses frame) as a first configuration if it is an optimal configuration of the glasses frame, or as a second configuration if it is a modified configuration of the glasses frame;
comparing the first configuration with the second configuration;
analyzing the two configurations and determining the differences; and
indicating problems detected between the two configurations, providing indications on how to solve them.
Mason discloses a method for comparing and analyzing data representative of the state of a patient’s intraoral cavity (Abstract). In one embodiment, data 302, 304 representative of the state of the cavity at two different times is saved and compared to determine possible changes/problems and proving indications on how to solve them (Fig. 3, [0084]).
Both Hofmeister and Mason disclose taking scan data of an object (e.g., a frame, an intraoral cavity) for future processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Hofmeister so that two consecutive scans of the frame (for example, one representing the original frame and one representing a modified frame) are compared for further processing, as taught by Mason, for providing cost savings and improve customer (i.e., the owner of the frame) satisfaction, [0015] in Hofmeister.
Regarding claim 2, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 implemented in a computer program comprising a computer code running on an electronic computer performing operations of the method, wherein said computer comprises at least one memory comprising the data file and a processor to implement the actions of the method ([0183] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 3, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 whereby the scanning is carried out with a three-dimensional scanner, classifying the scanning as a three-dimensional scanning ([0020] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 4, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 whereby the scanning is carried out with an application scanning the glasses frame, wherein said application is a computer program loaded on a device electronic ([0166] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 5, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the indications on how to solve the detected problems include at least one among making an appointment with a salesperson or an optician, an explanation on how solving the problems independently, a programming of a maintenance procedure, an indication of a need to change the glasses frame ([0184] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 6, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 further including the step of checking to verify if the scanning data is a first scanning by asking the user (1006 in Fig. 10A of Mason) or by verifying whether the characteristics of the glasses frame have already been saved in the data file,
in case it is a first scanning, or in case it is a configuration of the glasses frame considered as optimal, then the method saves the characteristics of the glasses frame in the data file, listing the characteristics as the first configuration of the glasses frame (1012 in Fig. 10A of Mason),
otherwise, the method saves the characteristics of the glasses frame in the data file as the second configuration of the glasses frame (1018 in Fig. 10A of Mason).
Regarding claim 7, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 further including a step of reporting the problems detected to the optician or to a manufacturer of the glasses frame ([0184] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 8, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the execution of the scanning includes a step of data scanning and measuring from said data of said at least one characteristic of the glasses frame ([0184] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 9, Hofmeister/Mason discloses a computer program loadable into the memory of an electronic computer comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by the computer, carry out a method according to claim 1 ([0183] in Hofmeister).
Regarding claim 10, Hofmeister/Mason discloses the computer program according to claim 9, further comprising a user interface for signaling further lens or frame defects ([0133], [0166] in Hofmeister).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephone Allen, can be reached on 571-272-2434. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/L.B./
Patent Examiner, AU 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872