DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, it appears that “had” should be “has”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This refers to “means for actively reinforcing radial separation” in claim 9, which is taken to mean rotating disc or equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102010047760 A1.
DE ‘760 teaches a device for degassing fluid mixtures, comprising a nozzle for feeding a fluid mixture composed of a plurality of components into a volume defined by a housing (3), wherein the nozzle has a conical annular cap (figure 1) arranged between a conical inner face (13) of the housing and a guide cone (25) and opens at its top into the volume. The housing also includes a tangential fluid feed (11) leading into the gap and a separator tube (35) connected to a discharge line (27) and an inlet opening (37) arranged concentrically with the nozzle opening and spaced therefrom (see paragraphs 24-27). Regarding claim 10, the space between the separator inlet and the nozzle outlet is a demixing chamber. Regarding claims 12 and 13, the fluid mixture is ejected from the nozzle as a twisted jet that causes a reduced pressure inside to cause heavier components to move radially outward. The fluid in the volume during separation will be the same as the fluid feed.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 03/002227 A1.
WO ‘227 teaches a device for degassing fluid mixtures, comprising a nozzle for feeding a fluid mixture composed of a plurality of components into a volume defined by a housing (10), wherein the nozzle has a conical annular cap (figure 1) arranged between a conical inner face (24) of the housing and a guide cone (25) and opens at its top into the volume. The housing also includes a tangential fluid feed (12) connected to a pump (110) and leading into the gap, and a separator tube (32) connected to a discharge line (56) and an inlet opening (60) arranged concentrically with the nozzle opening and spaced therefrom (see figure 1, paragraphs 33-40, 56). Regarding claims 6 and 9, the spacing between the nozzle opening and the inlet opening of the separator can be adjusted, which will result in better radial separation (paragraph 41). Regarding claim 10, the space between the separator inlet and the nozzle outlet is a demixing chamber. Regarding claims 12 and 13, the fluid mixture is ejected from the nozzle as a twisted jet that causes a reduced pressure inside to cause heavier components to move radially outward. The fluid in the volume during separation will be the same as the fluid feed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of DE ‘760 or WO ‘227 in view of Gomez (2004/0256312 A1).
Any one of DE ‘760 or WO ‘227 discloses all of the limitations of the claim except that there is a heating device in the fluid feed, nozzle casing or guide cone. Gomez ‘312 discloses a centrifugal degasser comprising a heating or cooling jacket (35) around a reducing cone (14) or separating cylinder (16) (see abstract, figures, paragraph 46). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the separator of the primary references by using the heating jacket of Gomez ‘312 in order to provide an optimal separation temperature that would be required for specific processes.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of DE ‘760 or WO ‘227 in view of Lynch et al. (2011/0245750 A1).
Any one of DE ‘760 or WO ‘227 discloses all of the limitations of the claim except that there is an ultrasonic device for generating short-term local pressure gradients in the fluid mixture. Lynch et al. ‘750 disclose a centrifugal degasser comprising an ultrasonic device (20) that causes bubbles in the fluid to move towards the bubble outlet (see figure 1, abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the separator of the primary references by using the ultrasonic generator of Lynch et al. ‘750 in order to provide enhanced bubble separation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose centrifugal fluid separation arrangements.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl