DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 03/19/2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 13 and 17 have been amended. Claims 1 – 30 are pending on this application.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, under remarks, applicant argued “The cited portions of Bhatia are silent regarding combining a first encoding and a second encoding. Therefore, the cited portions of Bhatia fail to disclose combining two or more data portions to generate input data for a decoder network, wherein a first data portion of the two or more data portions is based on a first encoding of a data sample by a multiple description coding network, and wherein content of a second data portion of the two or more data portions depends on whether data based on a second encoding of the data sample by the multiple description coding network is available, the content of the second data portion including the second encoding responsive to the second encoding being available, the second encoding including one or more second values that are different from one or more first values of the first encoding, as in claim 1”.
Examiner respectful disagrees from the following:
Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5 of Bhati discloses first coding mode: “includes both primary frame encoding and redundant frame encoding".
Col. 2 lines 3-5 of Bhati discloses second coding mode: includes primary frame encoding without redundant frame encoding”. Fig. 1 of Bhatia discloses a transceiver device 100 comprising multiple description coding network (Coding Mode Change Request 186); first and second coding mode; (Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5) for encoder (110 or 130) and decoder (114 or 134) for first or second vocoders (104 or 124).
Fig. 3 Bhatia discloses a multiple description coding network encoding (first and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5) comprises primary frame coding 320 and redundant frame coding 340 for encoder in Fig. 1.
Fig. 4 discloses Bhatia diagram decoding network of decoder 114 or 134 in Fig. 1.
Bhati discloses the multi description coding of Fig. 3 having first coding mode: includes both primary frame encoding and redundant frame encoding (Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) and second coding mode includes only primary frame encoding without redundant frame encoding to generate input data (Encoded packets 380 which is input data 480 in Fig 4) for a decoder network (Fig. 4); the input data (Encoded packets 380) having a plurality of portions (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded data packets 380), the first portion 4/6 packet of the input data (Encoded packets 380) for a decoder network (Fig. 4) is a first coding mode includes both primary frame encoding (336) and redundant frame encoding 374 (Col. 1 lines 66 to Col. 2 line 2); and a second portion 2 packet of the input data (Encoded packets 380) is a second coding mode includes only primary frame encoding (362) without redundant frame encoding (Col. 2 lines 3-5).
Figs. 1, 3 and Fig. 4 of Bhatia above, clearly discloses the plurality of portions (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 packets) in encoded packets 380 by combining a first encoding (primary frame coding and redundant coding: 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3) and a second encoding (primary frame coding only 2, 1).
Therefore, Fig. 3 of Bhatia clearly discloses combining two or more data portions (combining data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 ) to generate input data (480 in Fig. 4) for a decoder network (Fig. 4), wherein a first data portion (portion 4/6) of the two or more data portions (data portion 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 ) is based on a first encoding (first coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) of a data sample data sample (sample data 310) by a multiple description coding network (first coding mode and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5), and wherein content of a second data portion (content of portion 2 in packets 380) of the two or more data portions (data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 ) depends on whether data (data of 2) based on a second encoding (frame coding of 2; Col. 2 lines 3-5) of the data sample (sample data 310) by the multiple description coding network (first and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5) is available (available of frame coding 320 and redundant frame coding 340), the content of the second data portion (content of 2 in packet 380) including the second encoding (frame coding of 2) responsive to the second encoding (second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5) being available (available of frame coding 320), the second encoding (second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5) including one or more second values (value of frame coding portion 2) that are different from one or more first values (value of 4 or value of 6) of the first encoding (primary frame encoding of 6 and redundant frame encoding of 4 for first portion 4/6; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) as in claim 1”.
Examiner submits that independent claims 6, 13, and 27 recites similar elements discussed in connection with claim 1 above; therefore, rejections of claims 1, 6, 13 and 17 are sustained for the same reasons applied to claim 1 above.
As discussed above, claims are dependent either directly or indirectly from ono of the independent claims 1, 6, 13 and 17. Examiner submits that the dependent claims are rejected from the cited reference Bhatia from previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhatia U.S. patent No. 10,475,456.
Fig. 1 of Bhatia discloses a transceiver device 100 comprising multiple description coding network (Coding mode 186; first and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5) encoder (110 or 130) and decoder (114 or 134) for first or second vocoders (104 or 124)
Fig. 3 Bhatia discloses a multiple description coding network encoding (first and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 -to- Col. 2 line 5) comprises primary frame coding 320 and redundant frame coding 340 for encoder in Fig. 1; and bit packing 350 for coding modes of encoded packets 380; wherein the first coding mode of comprises primary frame coding and redundant frame coding (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, and 1/3 in 380); and second coding mode comprises only primary frame coding (2 and 1 packets in 380).
Fig. 4 discloses Bhatia diagram decoding network for decoder 114 or 134 in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 1. Figs 1, 3 and 4 of Bhatia discloses a device (102) comprising: a memory (Col. 2 lines 37-40); and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute instructions from the memory (Col. 2 lines 37-40) to combine two or more data portions (combining data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 in Fig. 3 ) to generate input data (480 in Fig. 4) for a decoder network (Fig. 4) wherein a first data portion (portion 4/6) of the two or more data portions (data portion 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 ) is based on a first encoding (first coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) of a data sample data sample (sample data 310) by a multiple description coding network (first coding mode and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5), and wherein content of a second data portion (content of portion 2 in packets 380) of the two or more data portions (data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 ) depends on whether data (data of 2) based on a second encoding (frame coding of 2; Col. 2 lines 3-5) of the data sample (sample data 310) by the multiple description coding network (first and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5) is available (available of frame coding 320 and redundant frame coding 340), the content of the second data portion (content of 2 in packet 380) including the second encoding (frame coding of 2) responsive to the second encoding (second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5) being available (available of frame coding 320), the second encoding (second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5) including one or more second values (value of frame coding portion 2) that are different from one or more first values (value of 4 or value of 6) of the first encoding (primary frame encoding of 6 and redundant frame encoding of 4 for first portion 4/6; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2); obtain, from the decoder network (Fig. 4), output data based (460 in Fig. 4) on the input data (400 in Fig. 4) ; and generate a representation of the data sample (310 in Fig. 3) based on the output data (Output Data 160).
Regarding claim 2. The device of claim 1, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising wherein the content of the second data portion (portion of 2 packet in packets 380) includes filler data (redundant 372 for portion 2 packet in 370) responsive to the second encoding (second encoding mode primary frame coding only of packet 2 in 380) not being available (LOST of packet 482 in Fig. 4), the filler data generated (redundant 372 of portion 2 in 370) based on source data (330) distinct from the data sample (310).
Regarding claim 3. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 2, wherein the filler data (redundant 372 for portion 2 packet in 370) is based on a second data sample (340), and wherein the data sample (310) is distinct from the second data sample (340).
Regarding claim 4. The device of claim 2, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further, wherein the filler data redundant 372 for portion 2 packet in 370) is based on an interpolation of a second data sample (330) and a third data sample (340), and wherein the data sample (310), the second data sample (330) , and the third data sample (340) are distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 5. The device of claim 1, Figs 1, 3 and 4 further comprising a jitter buffer (410) coupled to the one or more processors (430) , the jitter buffer (41) configured to store data frames (486…481) received from another device (Fig. 3) via a transmission medium (150 in Fig. 1) , wherein each data frame (each of 486…481) includes data representing an encoding (380 in Fig. 3) from the multiple description coding network (Fig. 3) .
Regarding claim 6. Figs. 1, 3 and 4 of Bhatia disclose a method comprising: combining two or more data portions (combining data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 ) to generate input data (480 in Fig. 4) for a decoder network (Fig. 4) ,wherein a first data portion (portion 4/6) of the two or more data portions (data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380) is based on a first encoding (first coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) of a data sample (10) by a multiple description coding network (first coding mode and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5), and wherein content of a second data portion (content of portion 2 in packet 380) of the two or more data portions (data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380) depends on whether a second encoding (frame coding of 2; Col. 2 lines 3-5) of the data sample (10) by the multiple description coding network (first coding mode and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5) is available (available of first and second coding modes) , the content of the second data portion (content of data portion 2) including the second encoding (primary frame coding of 2; Col. 2 lines 3-5) responsive to the second encoding being available ( available of second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5), the second encoding (frame coding of 2; Col. 2 lines 3-5) including one or more second values (values of 2) that are different from one or more first values of the first encoding (values of 4 or value of 6 in data portion of 4/6) ; obtaining, from the decoder network (Fig. 4), output data (460 in Fig. 4) based on the input data (480 in Fig. 4) ; and generating a representation (460) of the data sample (310 in Fig. 3) based on the output data (460 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7. The method of claim 6, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising retrieving the first data portion (4/6 in Fig. 4) from a jitter buffer (410), the jitter buffer (410) configured to store data frames (486…481 in Fig. 4) received from another device (122) via a transmission medium network (150) , wherein each data frame (486…481) includes data representing an encoding (Fig. 3) from the multiple description coding network (first coding mode and second coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5).
Regarding claim 8. The method of claim 7, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising: determining (430 in Fig. 4) whether a second data frame (482 in Fig. 2) associated with the data sample (310 in Fig. 3) is stored in the jitter buffer (410); and determining the content of the second data portion (content of 482) of the two or more data portions (data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1 in encoded packets 380 in Fig. 3) based on whether the second data frame (482) is stored in the jitter buffer (410).
Regarding claim 9. The method of claim 8, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising, based on a determination (430) that the second data frame (482) is stored in the jitter buffer (410), using the second data frame (482) as the second data portion (2 of 487) of the two or more data portions (data portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1).
Regarding claim 10. The method of claim 8, Figs 1, 3 and 4 further comprising, based on a determination (430) that the second data frame (482) is not stored in the jitter buffer (410), determining filler data (data of filler 487) and using the filler data (2 of 487) as the second data portion (2 for lost data frame 482) of the two or more data portions (portions 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2 and 1).
Regarding claim 11. The method of claim 6, Figs 1, 3 and 4 further comprising selecting (selecting of 430) the decoder network (Fig. 4) from among a plurality of available decoder networks (420, 430) based, at least in part, on whether data (480) based on the second encoding (Second Coding Mode 420) of the data sample (310 in Fig. 3) by the multiple description coding network is available (Fig. 3; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5).
Regarding claim 12. The method of claim 6, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising, after determining (after determining of 430) that data based on the second encoding (primary frame coding only) is not available at a first time (first of primary frame coding and Redundant frame coding for first coding mode) and combining the first data portion (4/6) with filler data (3/5, 2/4, 1/3 to generate the input data (480) for the decoder network in Fig. 4) : determining, at a second time (time for redundant frame coding only in second coding mode) , that data based on the second encoding has become available (data of 2 and data of 1 is available), the second time (coding mode 2) subsequent to the first time (first coding mode) ; and updating (updating of 430 in) a state (state of 410) of the decoder network (Fig. 4) based on the first data portion (portion of 4/6) and the data based on the second encoding (the data of portions 2 and 1 are second coding mode; Primary frame coding only).
Regarding claim 13. Figs. 1, 3 and Fig. 4 of Bhatia disclose device comprising: a memory (Col. 2 lines 37-40); and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute instructions from the memory (Col. 2 lines 37-40) to: obtain an encoded data output (380 in Fig. 3) corresponding to a data sample (310) processed by a multiple description coding encoder network (Fig. 3; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 5 discloses “first coding mode and second coding mode”), the encoded data output (380) including a first encoding (first coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) of the data sample (310) and a second encoding (Second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5) of the data sample (310) that is distinct from, and at least partially redundant (340) to, the first encoding (first coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2) the second encoding (Second coding mode; Col. 2 lines 3-5) including one or more second values (values of 2in 380) that are different from one or more first values (values of 4 or 6 in 380) of the first encoding (first coding mode; Col. 1 line 66 to Col. 2 line 2); initiate transmission of a first data packet (packets 486…483 in Fig. 4) via a transmission medium (150 in Fig. 1, the first data packet (including data representing the first encoding (first coding mode: primary frame coding and redundant frame coding); and initiate transmission of a second data packet (transmission of packets 482..481 in Fig. 4) via the transmission medium (150 in Fig. 1), the second data packet (packets 482..481 in Fig. 4) including data representing the second encoding (second coding mode: primary frame coding only; see portions of data 2 and 1 of 380 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14. The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising one or more microphones (1146 in Fig. 11) capture an audio data stream (audio data 1146 in Fig. 11) including a plurality of audio data frames (336…361 in Fig. 3), wherein the data sample (310) includes extracted from an audio data frame (366…361 in Fig.3) of the audio data stream (audio data 1146 in Fig. 11 .
Regarding claim 15. The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising one or more cameras to capture a video data stream (Col. 1 lines 18-20) including a plurality of image data frames (336…361 in Fig. 3), wherein the data sample (310) includes features extracted from an image data frame (336…361 in Fig. 3) of the video data stream (Col. 1 lines 18-20).
Regarding claim 16. The device of claim 13, Figs 1, 3 and Fig. 4 further comprising a game engine to generate a game data stream (Col. 18 lines 35-37) including a plurality of game data frames (336…361 in Fig. 3), wherein the data sample (310 in Fig. 3) includes features extracted from a game data frame (336…361 in Fig. 3) of the game data stream (Col. 18 lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 17. The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further comprising one or more quantizers (350 in Fig. 3) configured to generate a first quantized (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 of 380) representation of the first encoding (first coding mode) and a second quantized (2 and 1 of 380) representation of the second encoding (second coding mode), wherein the first data packet (4/6 of 380) includes the first quantized representation (primary frame coding and Redundant frame coding) and the second data packet (2 of 380) includes the second quantized representation (primary frame coding).
Regarding claim 18. (Original) The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and Fig. 4 further comprising a quantizer (350) configured to generate a quantized representation (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) of the encoded data output (Encoded Packets 380), wherein the first data packet (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 of 380) includes a first data portion (portion o 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 of 380) of the quantized representation (380) and the second data packet (2 and 1 of 380) includes a second data portion (second portion of 380) of the quantized representation (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380).
Regarding claim 19. The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and F4 further disclose wherein the multiple description coding encoder network (Fig. 3) is configured to generate a plurality of encodings of the data sample (380), the plurality of encodings (380) including the first encoding (first coding mode of 4/6), the second encoding (second coding mode of 2 of 380), and one or more additional encodings (one or more addition coding of 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, and 1) wherein each of the one or more additional encodings (addition code of 1) is distinct from, and at least partially redundant (redundant 3) to, the first encoding (first encoding of 4/6) and the second encoding (second encoding of 2).
Regarding claim 20. The device of claim 13, Figs, 1, 3 and Fig. 4 further disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors (Col. 2 lines 37-40) to determine a split configuration of the encoded data output (slitted configuration of4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) , wherein the first encoding (first coding mode of 4/6) and the second encoding (second coding mode of 2) are generated based on the split configuration (split configuration of 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380).
Regarding claim 21. The device of claim 20, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further disclose wherein the split configuration (split configuration of 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) is based on quality of the transmission medium (150 in Fig. 1; Col. 8 lines 43-46 discloses packet loss).
Regarding claim 22. The device of claim 20, Figs 1, 3 and Fig. 4 further discloses wherein the split configuration (split configuration of 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) is based on criticality of the data sample (310) to output reproduction quality (460 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 23. The device of claim 20, Figs. 1, 3 and Fig. 4 further discloses wherein the multiple description coding encoder network (Fig.3) is configured to generate a plurality of encodings (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) of the data sample (310) , the plurality of encodings (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) including the first encoding (first coding mode of 4/6), the second encoding (second coding mode of 2), and one or more additional encodings (additional coding of 3/5) , and wherein a count (count 1 to 6 of 380) of the plurality of encodings (4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380) is based on the split configuration (split configuration of 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3, 2, 1 of 380).
Regarding claim 24. The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and Fig. 6) wherein the instructions ((Col. 2 lines 37-40), when executed, further cause the one or more processors (Col. 2 lines 37-40) to, prior to initiating transmission of the first data packet (4/6), determine a count of bits (Col. 5 lines 63-65) of the first data packet (366 in Fig. 3) to be allocated to the data (4/6) representing the first encoding (first coding mode).
Regarding claim 25. The device of claim 13, Figs. 1, 3 and 4 further disclosing wherein the multiple description coding encoder network (Fig. 3) comprises an encoder portion (110 or 130) of a feedback recurrent (feedback recurrent between 102 and 122 for coding mode change request 186 in Fig. 1) in autoencoder (Vocoder in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26. The device of claim 13, Fig. 1 further comprising one or more wireless transmitters (wireless transmits of 102 and 122) coupled to the one or more processors 104, 124) and configured to transmit the first data packet and the second data packet (160…164)
Regarding claim 27. Figs. 1, 3 and Fig. 4 of Bhatia discloses a method comprising: obtaining an encoded data output (380 in Fig. 3) corresponding to a data sample (310) processed by a multiple description coding encoder network (Fig. 3) , the encoded data output (packets 380) including a first encoding of the data sample (first encoding mode of packet 4/6 in 380) and a second encoding of the data sample (second encoding mode of 2 packet 380) that is distinct from, and at least partially redundant (redundant frame) to, the first encoding (first encoding mode of 4/6) , the second encoding (second coding mode of packet 2) including one or more second values (value of packet 2) that are different from one or more first values of the first encoding (value of 4 or value of 6 of packet 4/6); causing a first data packet (packet 4/6) including data representing the first encoding (first coding mode) to be sent via a transmission medium (150 in Fig. 1) ; and causing a second data packet (packet 2) including data representing the second encoding (second coding mode of packet 2) to be sent via the transmission medium (150).
Regarding claim 28. The method of claim 27, Figs, 1, 3 and Fig. 4 further comprising generating one or more additional encodings of the data sample (encoding of 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 and 1 packets), wherein each of the one or more additional encodings (encoding of 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 and 1 packets) is distinct from, and at least partially redundant (redundant in Fig. 3) to, the first encoding (first coding mode 4/6) and the second encoding (second coding mode of 2 in 380).
Regarding claim 29. The method of claim 27, Fig. 1, Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 further comprising determining a split configuration of the encoded data output (split configuration of 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 and 1 packets in 380), wherein the first encoding (first coding mode of 4/6 packet in 380) and the second encoding (second coding mode of 2 packet in 380) are generated based on the split configuration (split configuration of 4/6, 3/5, 2/4, 1/3 and 1 packets in 380).
Regarding claim 30. The method of claim 27, Figs. 1 further comprising, prior to initiating transmission of the first data packet (160), determining a count of bits (Col. 5 lines 63-65) of the first data packet (160) to be allocated to the data (4/6 of 380 in Fig. 3) representing the first encoding (first coding mode of 4/6 packet in Fig. 3).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection from previous cited reference presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
05/02/2025
/LINH V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845