Detailed Action
Claims 42-48 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (Claims 42 and now 43-48, drawn to polyamides) and the elected species
in the reply filed on 8/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 44-45 and 47-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 42-43 and 46 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
Specification
The specification is objected to because the titular compound of Step 11 in Para 170 recites “affordamido”. It appears that this group should instead be “amido” and that the word “afford” was mistakenly inserted within the long chemical name.
The objection is made on the following grounds: the preceding intermediate of Step 10 recites
instead of
, the compounds only differing by a methyl rather than any amide-type functional group. Further, the starting material of subsequent Step 12, which should be the same as that intermediate formed in Step 11, uses the following to refer to said starting material/Step 11 compound:
. Further, “affordamido” has no apparent chemical meaning.
Appropriate correction throughout the specification is required for each instance of this misnaming. (See also Para 171 at least.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 42 includes the following compounds:
. Only the methyl ester versions of the above compounds are disclosed before applicant’s amendments filed 9/16/2024. Intermediate 36 is described as follows on Page 6 of the specification:
wherein
. However, no specific embodiment supports the claimed acid intermediates. Again, only methyl ester versions are disclosed in Scheme 1 of the specification on Page 56:
, whereas the carboxylic acid forms of the specific intermediates lack support before the above date. Therefore, applicant did not have possession of the scope of the claimed invention at the time of filing. This is a new matter situation.
It is noted, however, that the following compounds
are all supported by the disclosure of the earliest provisional application: US Prov. App. No. 63229235 filed 08/04/2021 (See Para 169).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42-43 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ansari (WO2021158707, published 8/12/2021, filed 2/03/2021, claiming priority to US Provisional App. Nos. 62/969,644 and 63/135,476 which are filed 2/03/2020 and 1/08/2021, respectively; 6/16/2025 IDS).
102(a)(2): The applied reference has a common assignee, applicant, and/or joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Ansari teaches Methyl 4-[4-(3-aminopropanamido)-1-methylimidazole-2-amido]-1-methylpyrrole-2-carboxylate hydrochloride or
as claimed (Page 99, Step 5; See Page 97, Scheme 1). Ansari also teaches the following compounds: Methyl 1-methyl-4-[1-methyl-4-(3-[[1-methyl-4-(1-methylimidazole 2-amido)pyrrol-2-yl]formamido]propanamido)imidazole-2-amido]pyrrole-2-carboxylate
and, the elected species, 1-methyl-4-[1-methyl-4-(3-[[1-methyl-4-(1-methylimidazole-2-amido)pyrrol-2-yl]formamido]propanamido)imidazole-2-afford[sic]amido]pyrrole-2-carboxylic acid
(Pages 100-101, Steps 10-11; See Page 97, Scheme 1).
Claims 42-43 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeffries (WO 2022126000, published 6/16/2022, filed 12/11/2021, claiming priority to US Provisional App. No. 63/124,592 which is filed 12/11/2020).
102(a)(2): The applied reference has a common assignee, applicant, and/or joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Jeffries teaches Methyl 4-[4-(3-aminopropanamido)-1-methylimidazole-2-amido]-1-methylpyrrole-2-carboxylate hydrochloride (INT60-022-201) or
as claimed (Page 214, Step 5; See Page 213, Scheme 25). Jeffries also teaches the following compounds: methyl 1-methyl-4-[1-methyl-4-(3-[[1-methyl-4-(1-methylimidazole 2-amido)pyrrol-2-yl]formamido]propanamido)imidazole-2-amido]pyrrole-2-carboxylate (INT61-001-102)
and, the elected species, 1-methyl-4-[1-methyl-4-(3-[[1-methyl-4-(1-methylimidazole-2-amido)pyrrol-2-yl]formamido]propanamido)imidazole-2-afford[sic]amido]pyrrole-2-carboxylic acid (INT61-001-103)
(Page 219, Steps 5-6; See Page 217, Scheme 26).
Claims 42-43 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shah (WO2022150555, published 7/14/2022, filed 1/07/2022, claiming priority to US Provisional App. No. 63/135,427 which is filed 1/08/2020).
102(a)(2): The applied reference has a common assignee, applicant, and/or joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Shah teaches Methyl 4-[4-(3-aminopropanamido)-1-methylimidazole-2-amido]-1-methylpyrrole-2-carboxylate hydrochloride or
as claimed (Page 175, Step 5; See Page 173, Scheme 1). Shah also teaches the following compounds: methyl 1-methyl-4-[1-methyl-4-(3-[[1-methyl-4-(1-methylimidazole 2-amido)pyrrol-2-yl]formamido]propanamido)imidazole-2-amido]pyrrole-2-carboxylate
and, the elected species, 1-methyl-4-[1-methyl-4-(3-[[1-methyl-4-(1-methylimidazole-2-amido)pyrrol-2-yl]formamido]propanamido)imidazole-2-afford[sic]amido]pyrrole-2-carboxylic acid
(Page 176-177, Steps 10-11; See Page 173, Scheme 1).
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627