DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/25/2026 in which claims 1-14 and 18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20220150946A1) in view of Lin et al. (US20200396684A1).
As to claims 1, 8, and 18, Tsai teaches a method by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: ([0061] The (DRX) on-duration 104 may be a duration for which the UE may wait (e.g., after waking up) to receive PDCCHs.)
receiving a parameter related to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation through a higher layer signaling; ([0067] A UE may be configured with an RRC parameter for performing the SS (or SSG) switching.)
receiving information regarding an operation related to the PDCCH monitoring adaptation based on the parameter; and ([0067] In some implementations, a first value (e.g., a bit value of zero “0”) for an SS (or SSG) switching may indicate that only a first SSG (e.g., SSG 202A in FIG. 2A) may be monitored by the UE and a second value (e.g., a bit value of one “1”) for an SS (or SSG) switching may indicate that only a second SSG (e.g., SSG 204A in FIG. 2A) may be monitored.)
receiving the PDCCH based on the information, wherein the receiving the PDCCH includes monitoring the PDCCH based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) different from a cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) through a common search space (CSS) set during a time duration related to the information. ([0072] In some implementations, a physical layer signaling may be used to further control PDCCH monitoring behaviors for a DRX on-duration based on a configured DRX mechanism. As such, the NW may send a physical layer signaling to a UE to determine whether or not the UE may wake up within a DRX on-duration (e.g., to start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next DRX cycle or not to start the drx-onDurationTimer for the next DRX cycle). The physical layer signaling may be called a DCP, or a DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI. [0079] In some implementations, the first SS sets in the first SSG may (only) include a SS/SSS which is related to USS and/or type-3 CSS types. In some implementations, the second SS sets in the second SSG may (only) include a SS/SSS which is related to USS and/or type-3 CSS types. [0222] In some implementations, if the UE is configured with higher layer parameter PS-RNTI and dci-Format2-6, one block may be configured for the UE by higher layers,)
But does not specifically teach:
wherein monitoring of the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI through the CSS set is skipped during the time duration
However Lin teaches wherein monitoring of the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI through the CSS set is skipped during the time duration ([0191] When a UE receives (or does not receive) a power saving signal/channel, such as for example a PDCCH outside of DRX Active Time that provides a DCI format indicating to the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring for one or more DRX ON duration(s), the UE can skip PDCCH monitoring at least for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by a Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) in UE specific search space (USS) set(s). However, in some embodiments, the UE is still expected to monitor PDCCH candidates in the associated DRX ON duration(s) for any of the following cases regardless of the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring. [0192] –[0196] describes different cases of other RNTIs that are expected to be monitored. [0198] Flowchart 1300 begins at operation 1302 by receiving an indication to skip PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) outside DRX Active Time in RRC_CONNECTED state 501. In operation 1304, a determination is made as to whether the PDCCH candidate for a search space set is only associated with a C-RNTI. If the PDCCH candidate for the search space set is only associated with a C-RNTI, then flowchart 1300 proceeds to operation 1306 where monitoring of the PDCCH candidate is skipped. However, if the PDCCH candidate for the search space set is not only associated with a C-RNTI in operation 1304, then flowchart 1300 proceeds to operation 1308 and the PDCCH candidate is monitored even though the drx-onDurationTimer is not running.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring method of Tsai with he method form Lin in order to obtain system information updates, establish synchronization, or other receive other expected PDCCH.
As to claims 2 and 9, Tsai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the method comprises monitoring the PDCCH through the CSS set based on the C-RNTI, based on reception of the PDCCH through the CSS set based on the RNTI different from the C-RNTI. (Lin [0191] When a UE receives (or does not receive) a power saving signal/channel, such as for example a PDCCH outside of DRX Active Time that provides a DCI format indicating to the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring for one or more DRX ON duration(s), the UE can skip PDCCH monitoring at least for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by a Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) in UE specific search space (USS) set(s). However, in some embodiments, the UE is still expected to monitor PDCCH candidates in the associated DRX ON duration(s) for any of the following cases regardless of the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring. [0192] –[0196] describes different cases of other RNTIs that are expected to be monitored. [0198] Flowchart 1300 begins at operation 1302 by receiving an indication to skip PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) outside DRX Active Time in RRC_CONNECTED state 501. In operation 1304, a determination is made as to whether the PDCCH candidate for a search space set is only associated with a C-RNTI. If the PDCCH candidate for the search space set is only associated with a C-RNTI, then flowchart 1300 proceeds to operation 1306 where monitoring of the PDCCH candidate is skipped. However, if the PDCCH candidate for the search space set is not only associated with a C-RNTI in operation 1304, then flowchart 1300 proceeds to operation 1308 and the PDCCH candidate is monitored even though the drx-onDurationTimer is not running.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring method of Tsai with he method form Lin in order to obtain system information updates, establish synchronization, or other receive other expected PDCCH.
As to claims 3 and 10, Tsai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving information related to a time for monitoring the PDCCH based on the C- RNTI; and monitoring the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI through the CSS set based on the information related to the time. (Lin [0191] When a UE receives (or does not receive) a power saving signal/channel, such as for example a PDCCH outside of DRX Active Time that provides a DCI format indicating to the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring for one or more DRX ON duration(s), the UE can skip PDCCH monitoring at least for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by a Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) in UE specific search space (USS) set(s). However, in some embodiments, the UE is still expected to monitor PDCCH candidates in the associated DRX ON duration(s) for any of the following cases regardless of the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring. [0192] –[0196] describes different cases of other RNTIs that are expected to be monitored. [0198] Flowchart 1300 begins at operation 1302 by receiving an indication to skip PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) outside DRX Active Time in RRC_CONNECTED state 501. In operation 1304, a determination is made as to whether the PDCCH candidate for a search space set is only associated with a C-RNTI. If the PDCCH candidate for the search space set is only associated with a C-RNTI, then flowchart 1300 proceeds to operation 1306 where monitoring of the PDCCH candidate is skipped. However, if the PDCCH candidate for the search space set is not only associated with a C-RNTI in operation 1304, then flowchart 1300 proceeds to operation 1308 and the PDCCH candidate is monitored even though the drx-onDurationTimer is not running.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring method of Tsai with he method form Lin in order to obtain system information updates, establish synchronization, or other receive other expected PDCCH.
As to claims 4 and 11, Tsai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI for a type of a CSS set included in a specific search space (SS) set, based on the PDCCH monitoring adaptation being related to SS set switching regarding switching to the specific SS set. (Tsai[0110] In some implementations, SSG switching for at least one of a BWP, a serving cell, a group of serving cells, and all serving cells may be based on an RA event/procedure. In some implementations, if a UE is initiating or performing an RA procedure on (e.g., a serving cell) and/or an RA procedure is ongoing, the UE may determinate that the time period has started, and/or may perform an SS switching to a first SSG and/or a second SSG on a PDCCH (e.g., for the serving cell). In some implementations, if a PDCCH indicating a new transmission and/or retransmission (e.g., addressed to a C-RNTI of a MAC entity) has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response (RAR) for an RA Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble, the UE may determinate that the time period has ended, and/or may perform an SSG switching to a first SSG and/or a second SSG on the PDCCH for at least one of a BWP, a serving cell, a group of serving cells, and all serving cells of the UE. [0113] In some implementations, the UE may only apply the SSG switching indication for a specific SS/SSS (e.g., an USS and/or a type-3 CSS).)
As to claims 5 and 12, Tsai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CSS set has a type different from Type 2. (Tsai [0113] In some implementations, the UE may only apply the SSG switching indication for a specific SS/SSS (e.g., an USS and/or a type-3 CSS).)
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Lin as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yang et al. (US20170019884A1).
As to claims 6 and 13, Tsai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the PDCCH is monitored by prioritizing a UE-specific search space (USS) over a CSS during the time duration.
However Yang teaches wherein the PDCCH is monitored by prioritizing a UE-specific search space (USS) over a CSS during the time duration. ([0126] However, in the case of overlap between the CSS and USS, priority of the USS can always be set higher irrespective of presence of cross-CC scheduling. The reason for this is that since a BS is expected not to perform an RRC reconfiguration using flexible U, more opportunities for use of additional functions, which can be configured only in the USS (DCI format), can be secured. The method of handling SS overlap in the Alt 2-3 can also be applied to the Alt 2-2.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PDCCH monitoring method of Tsai with the methods from Yang in order to for more opportunities for use of additional functions, which can be configured only in the USS (DCI format), can be secured.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Lin as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ouchi et al. (US20230155746A1).
As to claims 7 and 14, Tsai teaches the method of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the CSS set has a type different from Type 3.
However Ouchi teaches wherein the CSS set has a type different from Type 3.
([0258] The terminal apparatus 1 may monitor at least one or multiple search spaces in the slot in which DRX (Discontinuous reception) is not configured. DRX may be given based at least on a higher layer parameter. The terminal apparatus 1 may monitor at least one or multiple Search space sets in the slot in which DRX is not configured. [0259] The search space set may at least include one or multiple search spaces. The type of the search space set may be any one of a Type-0 PDCCH common search space, a Type-0A PDCCH common search space, a Type-1 PDCCH common search space, a Type-2 PDCCH common search space, a Type-3 PDCCH common search space, and/or a UE-specific PDCCH search space.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search spaces of Tsai with the search spaces of OUCHI in order to transmit different DCI to the UE.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465