DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a mold core positioned on a mold surface gas inlet port defined by the at least one sidewall;”
It appears applicant missed a semicolon and the phrase was intended to read “a mold core positioned on a mold surface; a gas inlet port defined by the at least one sidewall.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. : “a mold core positioned on a mold surface gas inlet port defined by the at least one sidewall.” The examiner acknowledges that this is likely the result of typographical error, but this feature is not described in the specification.
Claims 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “prism shaped.” The specification does not provide a description of what applicant intends by the term “prism shaped,” the examiner believes what is meant by this phrase is that the mold insert has a roughly rectangular shape when viewed in plan see and has symmetrical side walls [Fig 5, 6].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsutsumi (US 4976900).
As to claim 10, Tsutsumi teaches a housing defining a mold surface (3A) and an opposing support surface (bottom surface of 3), the housing further defining at least one sidewall (the sidewall approximate to where the numeral 13 is placed) connecting the mold surface (3A) and the support surface (bottom surface of 3); a mold core (the projection) positioned on a mold surface (3A); a gas outlet port defined by the mold surface, positioned proximate to the mold core; and a gas conduit (13) system configured to transport gas from the gas inlet port to the gas outlet port [Fig 1-4]. Tsutsumi teaches a gas inlet port defined by the at least one sidewall [Fig 8].
As to claim 11, Tsutsumi teaches the a plurality of gas outlet ports (exits of 13) defined by the mold surface, the gas outlet ports disposed around the mold core [Fig 1-4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (US 4976900) in view of Lin (US 2016/0107357).
As to claim 1, Tsutsumi teaches mould insert part for injection moulding, comprising - a main body having a first surface (the top surface facing the cavity 3a) and an opposed second surface (the bottom surface), the first surface defining a plane- a mould core (the raised portion of 3) extending from the first surface of the main body of the mould insert part [Fig 1-4]; a gas inlet port (the entrance to 13 where 13 receives the air from 11) connectable to a supply of pressurized gas (12) [Fig 1-4, col 3 line 5-16]; - two or more gas outlet ports (exits to 10 and 13) arranged to direct gas to the uncovered surface of the molded item [col 3 line 65-col 4 line 3, Fig 1-4], after the mould core and the mould cavity have been separated from each other[Fig 1-4]; and a gas conduit system (13) extending inside the main body of the mould insert part, and connecting the two or more gas outlet ports (exits of 13) with the gas inlet port, common to the two or more gas outlet ports (13), wherein each of the two or more gas outlet ports (40) are arranged at least partially through the first surface (3a), and wherein the gas conduit system (50) is provided in the main body (10) below said first surface (11).
Tsutsumi teaches the gas outlet ports arranged in the first surface and gas outlets that are arranged in the opposite mold insert that are arranged to cool the part [col 3 line 65-col 4 line 3, Fig 1-4], but does not explicitly state the gas outlets that cool the part are in the body of the same insert.
Lin teaches a method of injection molding [Abstract] wherein cooling air outlets (312) provided in the mold that contains the mold core (313) such that cooling air is directed towards the part [Fig 3, 4, 0035, 0036, 0038, 0039]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Tsutsumi and had the gas outlets that cool the part be placed in the body of the same insert, as suggested by Lin, as this placement had proven equally successful at cooling the part. Moreover, this feature is a mere rearrangement of part, generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 VI C
As to claim 2, Tsutsumi teaches at least two of the two or more gas outlet ports are arranged on opposite sides of the mould core [Fig 1-4].
As to claim 3, Tsutsumi teaches at least one gas conduit of the gas conduit system has a bend of 90° or more [Fig 8].
As to claim 4, Tsutsumi teaches the at least one gas conduit (13) at least partially extends under the mould core of the mould insert part [Fig 1-4].
As to claim 5, Tsutsumi teaches the two or more gas outlet ports are further configured to direct gas towards a centreline (C) of the mould core as they are directed towards (2) which is along this axis [col 3 line 42-col 4 line 18, Fig 1-4].
As to claim 6, Tsutsumi teaches each of the two or more gas outlet ports (exits of 13) are configured to direct the gas in an angle relative to the plane (P) defined by the first surface, and where the angle is larger than 0° and smaller than 90° [Fig 1-4].
As to claim 7, Tsutsumi does not explicitly state the mould insert part is formed in an additive manufacturing process. However, the examiner notes the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. As there are no additional structural limitations, the mold insert taught by the combination Tsutsumi and Lin would be structurally identical to the invention as claimed.
As to claim 8, Tsutsumi teaches a mould box for and injection moulding machine, the mould box comprising - a first mould part (the platen below 3); and a second mould part ( the platen below 1), wherein a mould insert part (3) according to claim 1 is insertable into one of the first mould part, and where a second mould insert having a mould cavity corresponding to the mould core (1) in order to form an injection moulded item is insertable into the other one of the first or second mould part to form a mould [Fig 1-4].
As to claim 12 and 13, Tsutsumi does not explicitly state comprising an injection channel extending from the support surface to the mold core, the gas conduit system wrapping around the injection channel within the housing of the mold insert.
The examiner appreciates that applicant likely intends by “wrapped around” the configuration depicted in [9C], but this language is too broad and would just convey being generally surrounded by the conduit system.
Lin teaches a method of injection molding [Abstract] wherein cooling air outlets (312) provided in the mold that contains the mold core (313) such that cooling air is directed towards the part via a gas conduit (500a, 510, 501) with the conduit fully surrounding the mold core such that even distribution of air is applied to the part by the corresponding gas outlets that likewise surround the mold core [Fig 4A, 0035, 0036, 0038, 0039]. The injection channel extends from the support surface is provided in the mold core [Fig 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Tsutsumi and had the injection channel extend through the support surface and go through the mold core and the gas conduit system wrapping around the injection channel within the housing of the mold insert so as to provide gas outlets surrounding the mold core, as suggested by Lin, as this placement had proven equally successful at cooling the part and provided even distribution of air to the part. Moreover, this feature is a mere rearrangement of part, generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 14, Tsutsumi does not explicitly state a mold insert comprising: a prism shaped housing defining a mold surface (3A) [Fig 1-4, 8]; a mold core (the projection) positioned on the mold surface; a gas inlet port (the entrance to 13 where 13 receives the air from 11) connectable to a supply of pressurized gas (12) [Fig 1-4, col 3 line 5-16]; two or more gas outlet ports (exits to 10 and 13) arranged to direct gas to the uncovered surface of the molded item from the mold surface [col 3 line 65-col 4 line 3, Fig 1-4], a gas conduit system (13) extending inside the main body/housing of the mould insert part, and connecting the two or more gas outlet ports (exits of 13) with the gas inlet port [Fig 1-4].
The specification does not provide a description of what applicant intends by the term “prism shaped,” the examiner believes what is meant by this phrase is that the mold insert has a roughly rectangular shape when viewed in plan see and has symmetrical side walls [Fig 5, 6] which Tsutsumi does disclose [Fig 8, and 1-4 ].
Tsutsumi does not explicitly state the mold core is configured to receive molding material from an injection channel defined by the housing.
Lin teaches a method of injection molding [Abstract] wherein cooling air outlets (312) provided in the mold that contains the mold core (313) such that cooling air is directed towards the part via a gas conduit (500a, 510, 501) with the conduit fully surrounding the mold core such that even distribution of air is applied to the part by the corresponding gas outlets that likewise surround the mold core [Fig 4A, 0035, 0036, 0038, 0039]. The injection channel extends from the support surface is provided in the mold core [Fig 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Tsutsumi and had the injection channel extend through the support surface and go through the mold core, as suggested by Lin, as this placement had proven equally successful at cooling the part and provided even distribution of air to the part. Moreover, this feature is a mere rearrangement of part, generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 15, the combination of Tsutsumi and Lin teaches a gas inlet port (the entrance to 13 where 13 receives the air from 11) connectable to a supply of pressurized gas (12) [Fig 1-4, col 3 line 5-16]; two or more gas outlet ports proximate to the mold core(exits to 10 and 13) arranged to direct gas to the uncovered surface of the molded item from the mold surface [col 3 line 65-col 4 line 3, Fig 1-4], a gas conduit system (13) extending inside the main body/housing of the mould insert part, and connecting the two or more gas outlet ports (exits of 13) with the gas inlet port [Fig 1-4].
Lin teaches a method of injection molding [Abstract] wherein cooling air outlets (312) provided in the mold that contains the mold core (313) such that cooling air is directed towards the part via a gas conduit (500a, 510, 501) with the conduit fully surrounding the mold core such that even distribution of air is applied to the part by the corresponding gas outlets that likewise surround the mold core [Fig 4A, 0035, 0036, 0038, 0039]. The injection channel extends from the support surface is provided in the mold core [Fig 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Tsutsumi and had the injection channel extend through the support surface and go through the mold core and the gas conduit system wrapping around and surrounding the mold core within the housing of the mold insert so as to provide gas outlets surrounding the mold core, as suggested by Lin, as this placement had proven equally successful at cooling the part and provided even distribution of air to the part. Moreover, this feature is a mere rearrangement of part, generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 16, Tsutsumi teaches the gas delivery system has a plurality of gas outlet ports defined along a length there of [Fig 1-4] but does not explicitly teach that the such that the mold core is surrounded by gas outlet ports.
Lin teaches a method of injection molding [Abstract] wherein cooling air outlets (312) provided in the mold that contains the mold core (313) such that cooling air is directed towards the part via a gas conduit (500a, 510, 501) with the conduit fully surrounding the mold core such that even distribution of air is applied to the part by the corresponding gas outlets that likewise surround the mold core [Fig 4A, 0035, 0036, 0038, 0039]. The injection channel extends from the support surface is provided in the mold core [Fig 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Tsutsumi and had the injection channel extend through the support surface and go through the mold core and the gas conduit system wrapping around and surrounding the mold core within the housing of the mold insert so as to provide gas outlets surrounding the mold core, as suggested by Lin, as this placement had proven equally successful at cooling the part and provided even distribution of air to the part. Moreover, this feature is a mere rearrangement of part, generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759