Claims 1,3,4, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) in view of Park et al. (2017/0005764).
For claims 1,3,4, 21, and 23 ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)
(sections 1-3): In this contribution, the aspects of CSI reporting when UE adapts to maximum number of MIMO layer are discussed. When adapting to DL maximum number of MIMO layers, UE can save considerable power consumption. If the rank indicator restriction is not properly configured, the UE might traverse several ranks to find a proper value for a CSI report (e.g., from rank one to rank two, then to rank three, then to rank four). This will not only consume more power, but also cause more computation complexity. An appropriate configuration on rank indicator restriction can further reduce power consumption for CSI measurement (corresponding to obtaining a channel state information (CSI) report configuration from a base station, wherein the CSI report configuration includes one or more measurement resource sets). From the power consumption perspective, it would be helpful to let UE turn off some antenna panels. However, in Rel-15 NR, the standard does not well support any scheme to enable UE to efficiently turn on-off or activate/deactivate any antenna ports. It lacks coordination between UE and gNB for antenna ports activation/deactivation Therefore, to improve UE power efficiency, gNB can inform UE to activate or de-activate some non-useful panels through L1 or L2 signaling. Meanwhile, UE may need to report some information so that gNB can make a proper decision considering performance, power consumption and latency. The mechanism of activating/de-activating some UE antenna ports for CSI/beam measurement is helpful for UE power saving (corresponding to sending a CSI report to the base station in response to a CSI measurement in the one or more measurement resource sets; supporting deactivation of antenna ports ( See sections 1-3) , wherein the one or more measurement resource sets each comprise a first resource subset and a plurality of second resource subsets, the second resource .
subsets each supporting the deactivation of base station antenna ports, the method further comprising: obtaining a message from the base station indicating at least one of the first resource subsets and the second resource subsets for the CSI measurement, wherein the message comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI) ( See sections 1-3), and wherein the one or more measurement resource sets each comprise a first resource subset and a plurality of second resource subsets, the second resource subsets each supporting the deactivation of base station antenna ports, and the CSI report includes a resource identifier and a resource subset identifier associated with the CSI measurement in response to the CSI report configuration including the second resource subsets( See sections 1-3).
For independent and dependent claims 1,3,4,21,and 23, ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports in a communications network. Park et al. (2017/0005764) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports in a communications network ( See paragraphs 0164 lines 1-6, 0189 lines 1-10 , and 0165 lines 1-2). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports in a communications network as taught by Park et al. (2017/0005764)in the communications of ZTE for the purpose of setting to support the activation/deactivation of the ports to save power.
Claims 14,16, 17, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) in view of Park et al. (2017/0005764) and further in view of Nam (2016?0157218).
For claims 14,16, 17, 26, and 28, ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (sections 1-3): In this contribution, the aspects of CSI reporting when UE adapts to maximum number of MIMO layer are discussed. When adapting to DL maximum number of MIMO layers, UE can save considerable power consumption. If the rank indicator restriction is not properly configured, the UE might traverse several ranks to find a proper value for a CSI report (e.g., from rank one to rank two, then to rank three, then to rank four). This will not only consume more power, but also cause more computation complexity. An appropriate configuration on rank indicator restriction can .
further reduce power consumption for CSI measurement (corresponding to obtaining a channel state information (CSI) report configuration from a base station, wherein the CSI report configuration includes one or more measurement resource sets). From the power consumption perspective, it would be helpful to let UE turn off some antenna panels. However , in Rel-15 NR, the standard does not well support any scheme to enable UE to efficiently turn on-off or activate/deactivate any antenna ports. It lacks coordination between UE and gNB for antenna ports activation/deactivation Therefore, to improve UE power efficiency, gNB can inform UE to activate or de-activate some non-useful panels through L1 or L2 signaling. Meanwhile, UE may need to report some information so that gNB can make a proper decision considering performance, power consumption and latency. The mechanism of activating/de-activating some UE antenna ports for CSI/beam measurement is helpful for UE power saving (corresponding to sending a CSI report to the base station in response to a CSI measurement in the one or more measurement resource sets; supporting deactivation of antenna ports ( See sections 1-3) , wherein the one or more measurement resource sets each comprise a first resource subset and a plurality of second resource subsets, the second resource subsets each supporting the deactivation of base station antenna ports, the method further comprising: obtaining a message from the base station indicating at least one of the first resource subsets and the second resource subsets for the CSI measurement, wherein the message comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI) ( See sections 1-3), and wherein the one or more measurement resource sets each comprise a first resource subset and a plurality of second resource subsets, the second resource subsets each
supporting the deactivation of base station antenna ports, and the CSI report includes a resource identifier and a resource subset identifier associated with the CSI measurement in response to the CSI report configuration including the second resource subsets( See sections 1-3).
For independent and dependent claims 14,16, 17, 26, and 28, ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports in a communications network. Park et al. (2017/0005764) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports in a communications network ( See paragraphs 046 lines 1-15, 0049 lines 1-5, and details of claim 39). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports in a communications network as taught by Park et al. in the communications of ZTE for the purpose of setting to support the activation/deactivation of the ports to save power.
For Claims 14,16, 17, 26,and 28, ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) in view of Park et al. (2023/0344578) disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of memory and processor in a communications network. Nam et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor
teaches a provision of the memory and processor ( See paragraphs 0014 and 0052). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use memory and processor as taught by Nam et al. in the communication network of , ZTE ( ON UE Adaptation to Maximum Number of MMO Layers) in view of Park et al. for the purpose of storing codes in the memory to execute the process by the processor.
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (2018/0262250).
For claims 1 and 21, Kim et al. (2018/0262250) discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining a channel state information (CSI) report configuration ( See paragraphs 0040 lines 1-7, 0044 lines 1-11, 0099 lines 1-9, 0098 lines 1-7, 0175 lines 1-4, and 0176 lines 1-6), wherein the CSI report configuration includes one or more measurement resource sets supporting deactivation of base station antenna ports; and sending a CSI report in response to a CSI measurement in the one or more measurement resource sets. ( See paragraphs 0040 lines 1-7, 0044 lines 1-11, 0099 lines 1-9, 0098 lines 1-7, 0175 lines 1-4, and 0176 lines 1-6).
Claims 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al in view of Nam(2016/0157218)..
For Claims 14 and 26, Kin et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of memory and processor in a communications network. Nam et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of the memory and processor ( See paragraphs 0014 and 0052). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use memory and processor as taught by Nam et al. in the communication network of Kim et al. for the purpose of storing codes in the memory to execute the process by the processor.
Claims 2,5-13,15,18,19,20,22,24,25,27,29,anc 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/DANG T TON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/D.T.T/