DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This is in response to the amendment filed 04/27/2026. Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are in claim 29: means for monitoring at least one; means for selecting; and means for transmitting a sidelink.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶0104,
the apparatus 1402, and in particular the baseband processor 1404, includes means for monitoring at least one resource subset in a set of resource subsets configured for random selection of a sidelink transmission resource. The apparatus 1402, and in particular the baseband processor 1404, may also include means for selecting, based on the monitoring of the at least one resource subset, a resource subset in the set of resource subsets configured for the random selection of the sidelink transmission resource. The apparatus 1402, and in particular the baseband processor 1404, may further include means for transmitting a
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 16, 17, 19-24, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin, Huei-Ming et al (WO 2021/007686 A1), hereinafter “Ming”.
Regarding claim 1, Ming discloses “An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)” (see Ming figure 1); comprising “a memory; and one or more processor coupled to the memory” (See Ming Figure 1); configure to cause the UE TO : “monitor at least one resource subset in a set of resource subsets” (see Ming ¶ 0038, ¶ 0039; discloses excluding and gathering a subset of resources from the initial candidate resource set of the pool set of resources, the excluded set will be used for final selection, which means the excluded subset will be monitored for final selection ); “configured for random selection of a sidelink transmission resource” (see Ming ¶ 0039; discloses The final selection could be done by random selection of one or more Sidelink resources for the initial and retransmissions); “ select, from the at least one resource subset monitored by the UE, a resource subset in the set of resource subsets” (see Ming ¶ 0038, ¶ 0039; discloses excluding and gathering a subset of resources from the initial candidate resource set of the pool set of resources, the excluded set will be used for final selection, which means the excluded subset will be monitored for final selection, The final selection could be done by random selection of one or more Sidelink resources for the initial and retransmissions) ; “and transmit a sidelink message in a randomly selected SIDELINK transmission resource within the selected resource subset (see Ming ¶ 0041; The final selection could be done by random selection of one or more SL resources for the initial and retransmissions of a packet TB and/or future TBs)
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein to monitor the at least one resource subset, the one OR MORE processor are further configured to compare one or more of a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a set of decoding failures to a selection metric”; (see Ming ¶ 0038; based on the measured associated RSSI/RSRP levels, the UE exclude the SL resources).
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein to monitor the at least one resource subset, the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to measure one or more of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), or a channel busy ratio (CBR) for each resource subset in the set of resource subsets.”; (see Ming ¶ 0038; based on the measured associated RSSI/RSRP levels, the UE exclude the SL resources).
Regarding claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein the resource subset is selected from a set of candidate resource subsets having a measured RSRP, a measured RSSI, or a measured CBR below a threshold..”; (see Ming ¶ 0038; based on the measured/associated RSSI/RSRP levels for the already allocated/reserved resources from Step 1 and UE’s target Tx power, the Tx-UE excludes all SL resources adjacent to resources 105, 106, 108, 109, 111, and 112 from the initial candidate resource set (S_INITIAL) with a power difference larger than X dB. For an excluded SL resource, it has a size of at least one PRB or one PSCCH/PSSCH sub-channel).
Regarding claim 8, claim 7 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein to select the resource subset, the one or more processor are configured to randomly select one resource subset in the set of candidate resource subsets..”; (see Ming ¶ 0038; based on the measured/associated RSSI/RSRP levels for the already allocated/reserved resources from Step 1 and UE’s target Tx power, the Tx-UE excludes all SL resources adjacent to resources 105, 106, 108, 109, 111, and 112 from the initial candidate resource set (S_INITIAL) with a power difference larger than X dB. For an excluded SL resource, it has a size of at least one PRB or one PSCCH/PSSCH sub-channel).
Regarding claim 9, claim 7 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein to select the resource subset, the one or more processor are configured to select the resource subset with a lowest associated RSRP, a lowest associated RSSI, or a lowest associated CBR from the set of candidate resource subsets”; (see Ming ¶ 0038; based on the measured/associated RSSI/RSRP levels for the already allocated/reserved resources from Step 1 and UE’s target Tx power, the Tx-UE excludes all SL resources adjacent to resources 105, 106, 108, 109, 111, and 112 from the initial candidate resource set (S_INITIAL) with a power difference larger than X dB. For an excluded SL resource, it has a size of at least one PRB or one PSCCH/PSSCH sub-channel).
Regarding claim 10, claim 7 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein the one or more processor are further configured to: rank each resource subset in the set of resource subsets with an order based on the measured RSRP, the measured RSSI, or the measured CBR”; (see Ming ¶ 0039; prioritizing SL resources with the least power difference to the adjacent/neighboring ones).
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “wherein to monitor the at least one resource subset, the one or more processor is configured to measure one or more of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), or a channel busy ratio (CBR) for a subset of the set of resource subsets associated with sidelink communication.”; (see Ming ¶ 0039; see Ming ¶ 0038; based on the measured associated RSSI/RSRP levels, the UE exclude the SL resources).
Regarding claim 16, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Ming further discloses “at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor.”; (see Ming figure 1).
Claims 17 and 19- 24 are the method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 1, 6 - 11 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1, 6 - 11. Claims 17 and 19- 24 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1, 6 - 11.
Claim 29 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claims 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 30 is the computer readable medium claim corresponding to the apparatus claims 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 27 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ming et al (WO 2021/007686 A1).
Most of the limitations of claim 14 have been noted in the rejection of claim 1. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, Ming discloses wherein to monitor the at least one resource subset, the one or more processor are configured to perform a discloses excluding and gathering a subset of resources from the initial candidate resource set of the pool set of resources, the excluded set will be used for final selection, which means the excluded subset will be monitored for final selection).
Ming does not appear to explicitly disclose that the monitoring is periodic. However. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ming before him or her, to modify the invention of Ming to perform periodic monitoring of the resources. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve the performance of the system by improving the resource allocation and selection.
Claim 27 is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claims 14 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 14. Claim 27 is rejected under the same rational as claim 14.
Claims 3-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ming et al (WO 2021/007686 A1) in view of Lin et al (US Pub. No. 2023/0028098 A1).
Most of the limitations of claim 3 have been noted in the rejection of claim 2. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2 above.
Ming does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein to select the resource subset, the one or more processor are further configured to: switch from a prior resource subset for the random selection of the sidelink transmission resource based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) for the prior resource subset exceeding a threshold. However, Lin discloses wherein to select the resource subset, the one or more processor are further configured to: switch from a prior resource subset for the random selection of the sidelink transmission resource based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) for the prior resource subset exceeding a threshold; (See Lin ¶ 0051; As such, the Tx-UE can try to (re)select SL resources from the middle or last time-portions of the RSW or the remaining candidate resource set S′.sub.A, for example when the measured channel busy ratio (CBR) or channel occupancy ratio (CR) for a time-portion is less than a certain M %, where M could be 60, 50, or less. Or the Tx-UE can avoid (re)selecting resources from time-portions that have CBR or CR higher than M % ). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ming and Lin before him or her, to modify the invention of Ming to switch or reselect different resource subset based on CBR. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve resource allocation of, which can provide a good communication performance and high reliability (¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, the combination of Ming and Lin further discloses “wherein the resource subset is a randomly selected resource set from the set of resource subsets in response to the prior resource subset having the CBR exceeding the threshold”; (see Lin ¶ 0041, ¶ 0051).
Most of the limitations of claim 5 have been noted in the rejection of claim 1. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ming does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein to monitor the at least one resource subset, the one or more processor are configured to monitor a current selected resource subset of the set of resource subsets. However, Lin discloses wherein to monitor the at least one resource subset, the one or more processor are configured to monitor a current selected resource subset of the set of resource subsets; (See Lin ¶ 0066; where the resource sensing/monitoring operation comprises of decoding physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to extract information on one or more of the time and frequency resource assignments for the current and future intended/reserved resources). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ming and Lin before him or her, to modify the invention of Ming to monitor current allocated or selected resources. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve resource allocation of, which can provide a good communication performance and high reliability (¶ 0002).
Claim 18 is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claims 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 25, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ming et al (WO 2021/007686 A1) in view of Samsung “on resource allocation for power saving” 3GPP Draft; R1-2101231 3RD Generation partnership project (3GPP), hereinafter “Samsung” (provided by applicant).
Most of the limitations of claim 12 have been noted in the rejection of claim 11. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Ming does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the subset of the set of resource subsets is based on one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE, wherein the resource subset is selected from the subset of the set of resource subsets. However, Samsung discloses wherein the subset of the set of resource subsets is based on one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE, wherein the resource subset is selected from the subset of the set of resource subsets; (See Samsung Section 2.1 ; Resource partitioning is based on UE ID, UE service class, priority of SL data and also discloses sensing window by monitoring periodical subframes corresponding resources selection window). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ming and Samsung before him or her, to modify the invention of Ming to select the resources according to one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve resource allocation and reduce collision probability (conclusion).
Most of the limitations of claim 13 have been noted in the rejection of claim 1. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ming does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one resource subset is monitored based on at least one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE. However, Samsung discloses wherein the at least one resource subset is monitored based on at least one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE.; (See Samsung Section 2.1 ; Resource partitioning is based on UE ID, UE service class, priority of SL data and also discloses sensing window by monitoring periodical subframes corresponding resources selection window). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ming and Samsung before him or her, to modify the invention of Ming to select the resources according to one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve resource allocation and reduce collision probability (conclusion).
Most of the limitations of claim 15 have been noted in the rejection of claim 14. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 14 above.
Ming does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein a period of the periodic monitoring is based on at least one of a UE source identifier, a groupcast identifier, or an application identifier.. However, Samsung discloses wherein a period of the periodic monitoring is based on at least one of a UE source identifier, a groupcast identifier, or an application identifier.; (See Samsung Section 2.1 ; Resource partitioning is based on UE ID, UE service class, priority of SL data and also discloses sensing window by monitoring periodical subframes corresponding resources selection window). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ming and Samsung before him or her, to modify the invention of Ming to select the resources according to one of a UE source identifier associated with the UE, a groupcast identifier associated with the UE, or an application identifier associated with the UE. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve resource allocation and reduce collision probability (conclusion).
Claims 25, 26 and 28 are the method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 12, 13 and 15 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 12, 13 and 15. Claims 25, 26 and 28 are rejected under the same rational as claims 12, 13 and 15.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, the Applicant argues in substance that:
The applicant argues that Applicant argues that Lin does not disclose "a set of resource subsets configured for random selection of a sidelink transmission resource," but only operates on a single pool that is progressively narrowed, not on multiple pre-configured subsets.
In response. Examiner respectively disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Lin’s (¶ 0034) clearly discloses that the process begins with a resource pool (S_INITIAL), which is a window of available resources. Also, Lin describes exclusion steps based on sensing and power difference criteria (¶ 0038 and ¶ 0039), resulting in an “updated candidate resource set” (S_EXCLUDE), which is a subset of the original pool. This clearly shows that forming S_EXCLUDE inherently creates a “subset” of resources from the larger set, and Lin’s disclosure is not limited to a single subset. Also, Lin (¶ 0039) shows that the candidate set dynamically changes based on sensing results and exclusion criteria that Each time the exclusion process is performed (e.g., for new transmissions, retransmissions, or in different time windows), a new subset is formed. Moreover, Lin (¶ 0039) explicitly and clearly disclose that the final selection can be random from the S_EXCLUDE set “The final selection could be done by random selection of one or more SL resources for the initial and retransmissions of a packet TB…”).Thus, Lin discloses a *set* (i.e., a collection) of possible resource subsets, each configured for random selection. Thus, Lin meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Lin fails to teaches or suggest " monitor at least one resource subset in a set of resource subsets configured for random selection of a sidelink transmission resource " as recited in Applicant's claim 1.
IN response: b) Examiner respectively disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. The applicant argued that Lin only discloses full sensing of the entire pool, not monitoring of a subset from among a set of subsets. First, the current claim language “monitor at least one …” does not require that monitoring be limited to only a subset, nor does it exclude monitoring the entire pool. With that being said, Lin (¶ 0030, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0038) discloses that the UE performs sensing of available resources and then specifically monitors the candidate resources (the subset S_EXCLUDE) for suitability based on RSSI/RSRP and power difference. The monitoring of resource usage, power, and allocation is performed on the “updated candidate resource set,” which is a subset. Moreover, Lin (¶ 0038, ¶ 0039) discloses excluding and gathering a subset of resources from the initial candidate resource set of the pool set of resources, the excluded set will be used for final selection, which means the excluded subset will be monitored for final selection. Thus, Lin meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
The Office Action has Failed to Show that Lin Discloses "selecting, from the at least one resource subset monitored by the UE, a resource subset in the set of resource subsets" and "transmitting a sidelink message in a randomly selected sidelink transmission resource within the selected resource subset".
In response: Examiner respectively disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. - Lin (¶ 0038, ¶ 0039) clearly disclose constructing S_EXCLUDE from S_INITIAL by applying exclusion criteria. This process is, in effect, selecting a resource subset (S_EXCLUDE) from the larger set (S_INITIAL or the overall resource pool). Also, Lin (¶ 0039) disclose that the “selection” of the subset is performed based on the results of sensing and exclusion, which is “based on the monitoring of the at least one resource subset,” as claimed.
Moreover, Lin (¶ 0039, ¶ 0041) discloses the excluded set will be used for final selection, which means the excluded subset will be monitored for final selection, The final selection could be done by random selection of one or more Sidelink resources for the initial and retransmissions; and that the final selection could be done by random selection of one or more SL resources for the initial and retransmissions of a packet TB and/or future TBs, which shows random selection of a resource within S_EXCLUDE for transmission. Thus, Lin meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475