DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: what is disclosed on page 3, paragraph 6 about the support post overlapping the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit on the drive backplate contradicts the disclosure on page 16 paragraph 4 and figure 2, which makes clear that the support post (81) does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the light emitting unit (20) on the drive backplate (10).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an orthographic projection of the at least one support post (81) on the drive backplate (10) is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light emitting unit (20) on the drive backplate (10) (see page 16 paragraph 4 of the specification), does not reasonably provide enablement for an orthographic projection of the at least one support post on the drive backplate is overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit on the drive backplate. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. For examination purpose it is assumed in the claim that the orthographic projection of the at least one support post on the drive backplate is not overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aoki (US 20210217934 A1), Aoki hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses a display panel (1, ¶ [42], fig. 1), comprising: a drive backplate (11, ¶ [60], fig. 2); at least one light emitting unit (12, ¶ [43], fig. 2) disposed on the drive backplate (11); a support structure (15, ¶ [44]), disposed on the drive backplate (11), wherein an orthographic projection of the support structure (15) on the drive backplate (11) is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 2); and a light shielding layer (16, ¶ [53]) disposed on the drive backplate (11), wherein the light shielding layer (16) covers at least part of the support structure (15) and an orthographic projection of the light shielding layer (16) on the drive backplate (11) is not overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki discloses that the support structure (15) has a first top surface (see fig. 2), the at least one light emitting unit (12) has a third top surface (see fig. 2), and the first top surface is on a side of the third top surface away from the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki discloses a cell-alignment substrate (22, ¶ [63], fig. 6), wherein the cell-alignment substrate (22) is disposed on a side of the at least one light emitting unit (12) away from the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Aoki discloses an encapsulation layer (17, ¶ [57], fig. 8), wherein the encapsulation layer (17) is disposed on the drive backplate (11) and the encapsulation layer (17) covers at least a part of the at least one light emitting unit (12) (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Aoki discloses that the encapsulation layer (17) comprises a thermally conductive material (¶ [57]).
Regarding claim 13, Aoki discloses at least one support post (17, ¶ [56], fig. 6), wherein the at least one support post (17) is on a side of the support structure (15) away from the drive backplate (11) and an orthographic projection of the at least one support post (17) on the drive backplate (11) is not; as best understood by the Examiner; overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Aoki discloses that the support structure (15) has a first top surface (see fig. 2), the light shielding layer (16) covers the first top surface of the support structure (15) (see fig. 2), the light shielding layer (16) has a second top surface (see fig. 4), and the at least one support post (17) is disposed on the second top surface (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Aoki discloses a support layer (17, ¶ [57], fig. 8), wherein the support layer (17) is on a side of the support structure (15) away from the drive backplate (11) and an orthographic projection of the support layer (17) on the drive backplate (11) is overlapped with both of the orthographic projection of the support structure (15) on the drive backplate (11) and the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Aoki discloses that the support layer (17) comprises a thermal insulation material (¶ [57]).
Regarding claim 19, Aoki discloses a method for manufacturing a display panel, comprising: forming a drive backplate (11, ¶ [60], fig. 6); forming a support structure (15, ¶ [44]) on the drive backplate (11); wherein the support structure (15) supports a transfer device (22, ¶ [64], fig. 6), and at least one light emitting unit (12, ¶ [43], fig. 6) is transferred to the drive backplate (11) by the transfer device (22) (see figs. 6 & 7); an orthographic projection of the support structure (15) on the drive backplate (11) is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11); forming a light shielding layer (16, ¶ [53]) on the drive backplate (11) so that the light shielding layer (16) covers at least part of the support structure (15) and an orthographic projection of the light shielding layer (16) on the drive backplate (11) is not overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Aoki discloses a support layer (17,¶ [44], fig. 8) is formed on the side of the support structure (15) away from the drive backplate (11) and an orthographic projection of the support layer on the drive backplate (11) is overlapped with both of the orthographic projection of the support structure (15) on the drive backplate (11) and the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (12) on the drive backplate (11) (see fig. 8).
Claims 1, 5-7, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20220367765 A1), Lee hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display panel (210, ¶ [70], fig. 3), comprising: a drive backplate (221, ¶ [87], fig. 6); at least one light emitting unit (310, ¶ [95], fig. 6) disposed on the drive backplate (221); a support structure (620, ¶ [90]), disposed on the drive backplate (221), wherein an orthographic projection of the support structure (620) on the drive backplate (221) is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (310) on the drive backplate (221) (see fig. 6); and a light shielding layer (630, ¶ [90] discloses that element 630 is formed of the same material as element 610 & ¶ [114] discloses that element 610 is made of a material that is black in color) disposed on the drive backplate (221), wherein the light shielding layer (630) covers at least part of the support structure (620) and an orthographic projection of the light shielding layer (630) on the drive backplate (221) is not overlapped with the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (310) on the drive backplate (221) (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses that the support structure (620) has a first top surface (see fig. 6), the at least one light emitting unit (310) has a third top surface (see fig. 6), and the first top surface is on a side of the third top surface away from the drive backplate (221) (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses that an outer profile of a vertical cross section of the light shielding layer (630) is narrower at top and wider at bottom (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a cell-alignment substrate (700, ¶ [104], fig. 6), wherein the cell-alignment substrate (700) is disposed on a side of the at least one light emitting unit (310) away from the drive backplate (221) (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a support layer (350a, ¶ [173], fig. 12), wherein the support layer (350a) is on a side of the support structure (620) away from the drive backplate (221) and an orthographic projection of the support layer (350a) on the drive backplate (221) is overlapped with both of the orthographic projection of the support structure (620) on the drive backplate (221) and the orthographic projection of the at least one light emitting unit (310) on the drive backplate (221).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a display device (101, ¶ [40], fig. 1), comprising the display panel (210) according to any one of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if at least one the limitations indicated below were included in the base claim.
Regarding claim 2, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 2, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the support structure has a side surface and a first top surface and the light shielding layer covers the side surface and the first top surface of the support structure.
Regarding claims 3-4, the claims are allowable for the reasons given in claim 2 because of their dependency status from claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 8, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the cell-alignment substrate comprises a light blocking pattern, the orthographic projection of the support structure on the drive backplate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light blocking pattern on the drive backplate.
Regarding claims 9-10, the claims are allowable for the reasons given in claim 8 because of their dependency status from claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 15, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to a distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the at least one support post on the drive backplate and an edge of an orthographic projection of the second top surface on the drive backplate is greater than 0.6 microns.
Conclusion
/JOSE M DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875