DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5-5-2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-5-2-26 have been fully considered.
With respect to applicant’s amendment and argument that the prior art does not disclose the array having a plurality of transmit receive pairs associated with range vectors, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Crouch discloses various individual transmit/receive pairs each receiving different data and vectors based on their positioning (para. 59, and 63-64). In addition, the applicant appears to provide a copy/paste of amended claims 1 and 15 and argues that Crouch and Wu do not disclose it without providing any detail or evidence as to what is not disclosed.
With respect to the amended claims, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crouch, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0099817, filed December 23, 2020.
As per claims 1 and 15, Crouch discloses an automotive radar system comprising:
at least a first radar sensor a second radar sensor, and a processor (Crouch, Fig. 2)
wherein each of the first radar sensor and the second radar sensor includes an antenna array having a plurality of transmit-receive antenna pairs each associated with a respective range vector (Crouch, ¶59, 63-64);
where each of the first and second radar sensors is arranged to transmit a radar signal over a radar bandwidth where each of the first and second radar sensor is arranged to determine respective ranges to one or more detected targets [[(140)]], where each determined range is associated with a complex value in a range vector (Crouch, ¶75),
where the processor is arranged to determine a difference in the ranges determined by the first radar sensor and by the second radar sensor (Crouch, ¶78 where range difference is spatial matching)
where the processor is arranged to convert the difference in ranges to an intermediate frequency, phase value by relating the difference in ranges to the radar bandwidth (Crouch, ¶79 ideal phase shifts in place of ratio);
and where the processor is arranged to adjust the complex values in the range vectors by the IF phase value and determine an angle to at least one of the detected targets based on the adjusted complex values in the range vectors from each of the first and second radar sensors (Crouch, ¶82-83).
Crouch fails to explicitly disclose using the ratio and adjusting complex values however Crouch disclose adjusting pertinent values of the data to provide more accurate measurements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to address the complex values and use the ratio since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
As per claim 2, Crouch further discloses the automotive radar system [[(100)]] according to claim 1, where each of the first and second radar sensors sensor (110, 120) comprises an antenna array [[(210)]] configured with a plurality of transmit-receive antenna pairs [[(210)]], where each of the transmit-receive antenna pair pairs is associated with a respective range vector (Crouch, ¶69).
As per claim 9, Crouch further discloses The automotive radar system according to claim 1,where each of the first and second radar sensors is arranged to transmit a frequency modulated continuous wave, radar signal over the radar bandwidth (Crouch, ¶53).
As per claim 10, Crouch further discloses the automotive radar system according to claim 1,where each of the first and second radar sensors sensor (110,120) is arranged to determine respective radial velocities to the one or more detected targets [[(140)]], where each pair of range and radial velocity is associated with a complex value [[(Vmn)]] in a range-Doppler matrix (Crouch, ¶59).
As per claim 12, as best understood by examiner, Crouch further discloses the automotive radar system [[(100)]] according to claim 1,where the processor [[(130)]] is arranged to determine the difference in the ranges in dependence of a pre-determined radial velocity (Crouch, ¶59 using radial velocity data).
As per claim 14, Crouch further discloses a vehicle comprising the system of claim 1 (Crouch, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3-8, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crouch in view of Wu, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0094397, filed July 27, 2021.
As per claim 3, Crouch discloses the system of claim 2 but fails to disclose using a matrix to represent the antenna elements.
Wu teaches a matrix representation of the array elements for processing (¶39).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use matrices, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Crouch. The examiner notes it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine how the data should be processed using known algorithms.
As per claim 4, Crouch as modified by Wu discloses The automotive radar system [[(100)]] according to claim 3, where the processor [[(130)]] is arranged to determine the angle [[(a)]] by performing a phase alignment over the matrix V (405), where each row is rotated in dependence of the first element [[(Vx1)]] in the row (Wu, ¶50-51).
As per claim 5, Crouch as modified by Wu further discloses the automotive radar system [[(100)]] according to claim 3, where the processor [[(130)]] is arranged to determine the angle [[(a)]] by applying a pre-determined calibration phase rotation to at least some of the elements of the matrix (Wu, ¶71 where phase shifts are known).
As per claims 6 and 7, Crouch as modified by Wu further discloses the automotive radar system [[(100)]] according to claim 3, where the processor [[(130)]] is arranged to determine the angle [[(a)]] to at least one of the detected targets [[(140)]] by zero-padding the rows of the matrix V (405) in dependence of the [[IF]] intermediate frequency phase value [[(CDIF)]] for each radar sensor with respect to a pre-determined reference radar sensor (Wu, ¶50).
It is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine whether zero padding of elements should be done in rows or columns depending on the spare antenna arrangement.
As per claim 8, Crouch as modified by Wu further discloses the automotive radar system [[(100)]] according to claim 3, where the processor [[(130)]] is arranged to determine the angle [[(a)]] to at least one of the detected targets [[(140)]] by a two-dimensional Discrete Fourier Transform, DFT, of the matrix V (405) after at least phase adjustment by at least the [[IF]] intermediate frequency phase value [[(CDIF)]] for each of the first and second radar sensors (Crouch, ¶60 and Wu, ¶55).
As per claim 11, Crouch as modified by Wu further discloses the automotive radar system according to claim 1,where the processor [[(130)]] is arranged to determine the difference in the ranges as a difference between a weighted sum of the magnitudes of the complex values in the range vector for each radar sensor (Wu, ¶64 using weighting).
As per claim 13, Crouch as modified by Wu further discloses the automotive radar system according to claim 1,where the first radar sensor [[(110)]] and the second radar sensor [[(120)]] constitute front corner radar sensors of a vehicle [[(101)]], where the radar sensors (110, 120) are configured with an overlapping field-of-view, FoV, (135) in a forward direction [[(F)]] of the vehicle (Crouch, ¶4 and Wu, ¶3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the sensors face forward in order to gain the obvious benefit of sensing possible collisions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646