Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With Respect to Claim 14
The phrase “so that the tightness adjustment mechanism adjusts the overlapping length of the two strap bodies” is unclear in scope, noting that this phrase would ordinarily be interpreted as requiring some sort of automatic operation of the tightness adjustment mechanism (i.e. “so that the mechanism adjusts” indicates/implies that the mechanism adjusts itself), but the specification discloses that it is the user that operates the tightness adjustment mechanism based on the length adjustment value, rather than the tightness adjusting mechanism itself adjusting the overlapping length (see, e.g. [0050]). Although the specification does use this phrase (in e.g. [00129]), there is no detail provided as to the meaning of the phrase or how the structure would perform automatic adjustment, and so the narrower interpretation would lead to drawing objections and 112 1st paragraph rejections based on failure to meet the written description requirement.
The remainder of this office action is based on the invention as best understood by Examiner, broadly interpreting this phrase to encompass the tightness adjustment mechanism being operated by the user. It is noted that a narrower interpretation of the phrase would lead to drawing and 112 1st paragraph rejections as there is insufficient support for the tightness
With Respect to Claim 15
This claim is rejected as it depends from a rejected claim and so incorporates its indefinite scope.
With Respect to Claim 18
The optional operator “or” is unclear as to whether the claim recites three optional limiting clauses (i.e. at least one of the three clauses must be true), if the first clause is required and one of the second and third is required, or if the first and second clauses are a first option and the third clause is the other option. Additionally, the second clause recites the device body provided with at least one first monitoring electrode and the adjustment member provided with at least one first monitoring electrode which is confusing as it uses the same term for two different parts.
For the purposes of examination on the merits, Examiner takes the broadest reasonable interpretation of the unclear claim language to be that there are three optional clauses in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 112971747 to Wang (Wang) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang in view of WO 2021/099892 to Arthur (Arthur).
With Respect to Claim 1
Wang discloses wearable device comprising: a device body (10) provided with a controller (wrist size determining part is a controller); two strap bodies (21-22), one end of each of the two strap bodies respectively being connected to either end of the device body (see, e.g. FIGS. 1-5 and description), and the other end of each of the two strap bodies being connected to each other and enabling the two strap bodies to partially overlap (FIG. 5, capable of partially overlapping in this position); a tightness adjustment mechanism (51-52) provided on the strap bodies, wherein an overlapping length of the two strap bodies is changeable by adjusting the tightness adjustment mechanism so as to adjust a tightness of the wearable device (the overlapping length will change based on which opening 52 the first fastener 51 is connected to); and a length measurement mechanism (detection resistors 53 and related structure) electrically connected to the controller and configured for measuring the overlapping length of the two strap bodies (the overlapping length is based on the wrist size as the opening the end of the other strap is attached to simultaneously determines both values, the resistors must be electrically connected to the wrist size determining part in order for it to receive data and function).
Alternately, although Examiner maintains that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the wrist size determining part to be a controller, to the degree that this term is not used and some other interpretation might be possible, Arthur discloses the use of a controller (330) connected to a detection part (color sensor 310/320) to allow for control of the sensor, analysis of data from the sensor and data communication with an external device, and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to form the wrist size determining part as a controller as a mere selection of an art appropriate structure to use for the wrist size determining part, or to add a controller electrically connected to the sensors for any or all of these benefits.
With Respect to Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the strap bodies comprise a first strap body and a second strap body (21-22), and wherein the length measurement mechanism comprises: a resistance element (53) provided on the second strap body and electrically connected to the controller; a conductive member (51, inherently must be conductive to form a closed electrical loop which is part of its disclosed functionality) provided on the first strap body, one end of the conductive member being electrically connected to the controller, and the other end thereof being configured to conductively connect the resistance element (i.e. it forms a closed loop with these parts); and a resistance detection element electrically connected to the controller, wherein the conductive member is conductively connected to the resistance element, and a detection circuit is formed among the controller, the resistance detection element, the conductive member and the resistance element (noting disclosed closed loop formed between the fasteners and the power supply, it is Examiner’s position that this and the connection to the wrist size determining part 101 is a detection circuit, or to the degree some other construction might be possible forming it as a circuit is clearly obvious as a mere selection of an art appropriate way to interconnect these parts).
With Respect to Claim 12
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the wearable device further comprises a tightness sensing member (pressure sensor 40) electrically connected to the controller (noting disclosure of their interaction, this is inherent or alternately to the degree some other construction might be possible is clearly obvious as electrical connection is a simple and effective way to have the parts interact as disclosed), and the tightness sensing member is provided on a wearing side of the wearable device and is configured to detect the tightness of the wearable device (FIG. 1 and description).
With Respect to Claim 13
The wearable device of claim 12, wherein the tightness sensing member is a pressure sensor (40), and the tightness of the wearable device is represented by a pressure value detected by the pressure sensor.
With Respect to Claim 14
The wearable device of claim 13, wherein a pressure value detected by the pressure sensor corresponds to an overlapping length of the two strap bodies, and wherein the controller is configured to obtain a target overlapping length according to a target pressure value and obtain the current overlapping length detected by the length measurement mechanism so as to obtain a length adjustment value according to the target overlapping length and the current overlapping length, so that the tightness adjustment mechanism adjusts the overlapping length of the two strap bodies to the target overlapping length according to the length adjustment value (see description, noting determining the wrist size determining part determining the wrist size also inherently determines the overlapping length, and the pressure sensor determines the pressure on the user’s wrist at each length, and correcting the measured blood pressure based on the wrist size of the target user inherently requires the ability to obtain a target wristband loop size/overlapping length, and the user can adjust the overlapping length to the target overlapping length using the length adjustment mechanism; as such, the structure is clearly capable of this use, or to the degree that some other interpretation might be possible, having it be capable of doing so is clearly obvious).
Alternately, Arthur discloses having sensors and controllers provide data to the user, which provides sufficient motivation for and/or evidence of the obviousness of having the controller of the combination provide wristband loop size/overlapping length data to the user which then allows the user to adjust the overlapping length to the target overlapping length using the length adjustment mechanism.
With Respect to Claim 15
The wearable device of claim 14, wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect an actual pressure value after the overlapping length of the two strap bodies is adjusted to the target overlapping length (the pressure sensor detects an actual pressure value anytime the straps are connected and so will do so and is clearly capable of this use) and the controller obtains the actual pressure value and determines whether a difference between the actual pressure value and the target pressure value is less than or equal to a preset pressure difference (capable of this use which is also the intended use, noting disclosure of the controller having a target pressure value and comparing it to the actual pressure value); and/or, wherein the target pressure value comprises a test pressure value, the wearable device is a wrist-worn device, and when the wrist-worn device is at a tightness corresponding to the test pressure value, the wrist-worn device is configured for testing blood oxygen saturation.
Claims 3-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 112971747 to Wang (Wang), alone or also in view of WO 2021/099892 to Arthur (Arthur) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent #10,130,131 to Ryou (Ryou).
With Respect to Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 2, wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment member provided at an end of the first strap; and that the first and second fastener are not limited to the buckle structure shown and discloses numerous alternative buckle types that could be used, but does not disclose; but does not disclose wherein the resistance element is arranged in a long strip shape extending along a length direction of the second strap body and lengths of the resistance element connected to the detection circuit are different according to different overlapping lengths of the first strap body and the second strap body; and/or, wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment member provided at an end of the first strap body, and a rack structure provided at the second strap body, the adjustment member is provided with an adjustment cavity, and at least the rack structure enters or exits the adjustment cavity in a movable manner; wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism further comprises a buckle member rotatably provided in the adjustment cavity to have a first state and a second state; wherein in the first state, the buckle member is engaged with the rack structure and drives the adjustment member to move, thereby driving the buckle member to move relative to the rack structure to change a length of the rack structure extending into or out of the adjustment cavity so as to increase the length of the second strap body overlapping the first strap body, and wherein in the second state, the buckle member is configured to be separated from the rack structure, thereby moving the second strap body in a direction of exiting the adjustment cavity so as to reduce the length of the second strap body overlapping the first strap body.
However, Ryou discloses forming a wrist worn device including a tightness adjustment mechanism wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment member (300 alone or in combination with related structure, FIG. 3) provided at an end of the first strap body, and a rack structure (120 and upper band portion including such) provided at the second strap body, the adjustment member is provided with an adjustment cavity (area between adjacent 120), and at least the rack structure enters or exits the adjustment cavity in a movable manner; wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism further comprises a buckle member (310) rotatably provided in the adjustment cavity to have a first state and a second state; wherein in the first state, the buckle member is engaged with the rack structure and drives the adjustment member to move, thereby driving the buckle member to move relative to the rack structure to change a length of the rack structure extending into or out of the adjustment cavity so as to increase the length of the second strap body overlapping the first strap body, and wherein in the second state, the buckle member is configured to be separated from the rack structure, thereby moving the second strap body in a direction of exiting the adjustment cavity so as to reduce the length of the second strap body overlapping the first strap body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Ryou, replace the tightness adjustment mechanism/buckle of Wang/the combination with a tightness adjustment mechanism/buckle as taught by Ryou, for the benefits disclosed by Ryou for its structure, to allow for easier adjustment and/or adjustment without having to separate the band (i.e. keeping the band in position on the user during adjustment), and/or as a mere substitution of one art known adjustment mechanism for another.
With Respect to Claim 4
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the resistance element (53 as modified to be part of the buckle structure per Ryou) at least has a portion arranged corresponding to the rack structure (i.e. it will be located so as to mate with the rack structure to form the electrical loop with it), and wherein the rack structure (120) comprises a plurality of tooth slots spaced apart from each other (per Ryou); wherein the conductive member is the buckle member (the buckle member 310 corresponds to Wang 51 and so is the buckle member and the conductive member), and in the first state, the buckle member is engaged in the tooth slots and is configured to be conductively connected to the resistance element, so that the detection circuit is formed among the controller, the resistance element, the buckle member and the resistance detection element; and wherein the buckle member is configured to be engaged in different tooth slots, so that the overlapping length of the two strap bodies is changeable (obvious as the toothed slots correspond to the openings 52 which the resistors/detection element is located on), and the buckle member is configured to be conductively connected to different positions of the resistance element to change a resistance of the resistance element connected to the detection circuit, such that a detection value of the resistance detection element corresponds to the current overlapping length.
With Respect to Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 4, wherein a first conductive contact (53 as modified) electrically connected to the resistance element is provided in each of the tooth slots, and the buckle member is engaged in each of the tooth slots and is configured to conductively contact the first conductive contact; or, wherein a surface of the resistance element (53) is exposed at a bottom of each of the tooth slots (this location is a mere selection of an art appropriate location in the slot or at most a mere rearrangement of parts which does not patentably distinguish over the prior art (MPEP 2144.04)), and the buckle member is engaged in each of the tooth slots and is configured to conductively contact the resistance element; and/or, wherein when the resistance element is in a long strip shape, the resistance element is made of a memory metal material, and the resistance element has an arc-shaped memory state in a natural state, so that the second strap body is at least partially naturally curved.
With Respect to Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism further comprises a rotating shaft (350 and/or hinge knuckles 340) rotatably provided on the adjustment member, and the buckle member is fixedly connected to the rotating shaft.
Alternately, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to replace the removable attachment via the hinge knuckles with an integrally formed rotating pin/shaft, in order to reduce the number of parts and/or as doing so constitutes at most merely making integral which does not patentably distinguish over the prior art (MPEP 2144.04).
With Respect to Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 6, wherein a mounting hole (openings for 350, FIG. 4) is provided on each of opposite sides of the adjustment member, and opposite ends of the rotating shaft are installed in respective mounting holes (350); and wherein at least one end of the rotating shaft is provided with a toggle portion (330), the toggle portion is exposed outside the adjustment member and is configured to be driven to allow the buckle member to switch between the first state and the second state.
With Respect to Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 6, wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism further comprises an elastic member (plate spring 250), and the elastic member is configured to act on the buckle member, so that the buckle member has a tendency to move towards the first state in the second state.
With Respect to Claim 11
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the rack structure comprises a plurality of tooth slots spaced apart from each other (FIG. 3), the buckle member has an engaging end, and in the first state, the engaging end is obliquely engaged in the tooth slots; wherein the tooth slot has opposite first and second sides, the buckle member moves from the first side of one tooth slot to another adjacent tooth slot to increase the overlapping length of the two strap bodies; wherein on the first side, each of the tooth slots is provided with a guide slope parallel to the engaging end, and the guide slope is configured to guide the engaging end to enter another adjacent tooth slot from the first side (FIG. 3); and/or, wherein on the second side, each of tooth slots is provided with a limiting surface, and the limiting surface is arranged at an acute or right angle to a bottom wall of the tooth slot to restrict the engaging end from entering another adjacent tooth slot from the second side.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 112971747 to Wang (Wang) in view of U.S. Patent #10,130,131 to Ryou (Ryou), alone or also in view of WO 2021/099892 to Arthur (Arthur) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent #5,572,747 to Cheng (Cheng).
With Respect to Claim 9
The wearable device of claim 8, but does not disclose wherein the elastic member is a torsion spring sleeved on the rotating shaft, and the torsion spring comprises a spring body and a first torsion arm and a second torsion arm respectively connected to opposite ends of the spring body; and wherein the first torsion arm is fixedly connected to the adjusting member, and the second torsion arm is configured to abut against the buckle member.
However, Cheng discloses forming a similar rotatable member formed as part of a buckle with an elastic member (2) that is a torsion spring sleeved on a rotating shaft (11) , the torsion spring comprises a spring body and a first torsion arm and a second torsion arm respectively connected to two ends of the spring body (see, e.g. FIG. 2), the first torsion arm is fixedly connected to the adjusting member, and the second torsion arm abuts against the buckle member (Col. 2 lines 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Cheng, to form the elastic member as a torsion spring as claimed, as a mere selection of an art appropriate elastic/biasing member to use or a mere substitution of one art known elastic/biasing member for another.
With Respect to Claim 11
As to claim 11 this combination is provided as an alternative rejection of that claim, noting that Cheng discloses forming a similar gear track wherein at the second side, each of the tooth slots is provided with a stop surface, and the stop surface is disposed at an acute or a substantially right angle with respect to a bottom wall of each of the tooth slots, to limit the engaging end from entering another tooth slot adjacent to the one tooth slot from the second side (see e.g. FIG. 4 showing a substantially right angle), and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Cheng, to form the stop surface of Wang/the combination with a right angle or an acute angle as claimed in order to provide a better stop to avoid inadvertent slipping of the hook member from the slot.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 112971747 to Wang (Wang) in view of U.S. Patent #10,130,131 to Ryou (Ryou) and U.S. Patent #5,572,747 to Cheng (Cheng), alone or also in view of WO 2021/099892 to Arthur (Arthur) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent #11,950,663 to Rowland (Rowland) and/or U.S. Patent #11,696,622 to Seader (Seader).
With Respect to Claim 10
The wearable device of claim 9, but does not disclose wherein two torsion springs are provided, the two torsion springs are respectively provided on opposite sides of the buckle member, and second torsion arms of the two torsion springs are integrally connected to each other.
However, Rowland discloses forming a strap length adjustment mechanism comprising a torsion spring structure wherein two torsion springs are provided (FIG. 6, noting 1515 comprising two torsion springs), the two torsion springs are respectively provided on opposite sides of the buckle member (noting that when attached as shown in FIG. 6 one is on each side of the buckle member/hook of the latch member 310), and second torsion arms of the two torsion springs are integrally connected to each other (FIG. 6); Seader discloses that a torsion spring structure comprising two torsion springs connected on opposite sides of an integrally connected second torsion arm (see e.g. 195, FIG. 3) are a common torsion spring structure (noting disclosure that they are “commonly manufactured components”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Rowland or Seader, to use a double torsion spring as claimed/as taught by either reference with one side of the double torsion spring on each side of the buckle, as a mere selection of an art appropriate torsion spring structure to use or at most a mere substitution of one art known torsion spring/biasing structure for another.
Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 112971747 to Wang (Wang), alone or also in view of WO 2021/099892 to Arthur (Arthur) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent #10,448,711 to Kallman (Kallman).
With Respect to Claim 16
The wearable device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the wearable device further comprises a prompter electrically connected to the controller, and the prompter comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a display screen, a speaker, and a vibrator, and is configured to receive and feedback an adjustment instruction generated by the controller.
However, Kallman discloses a similar wrist worn wearable device comprising a prompter (user interface disclosed as a speaker or display and a display screen is a common type of display) configured to interoperate with electronic components in the body as well as on the band, such as supporting electrical components such as sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Kallman, to add a prompter that is a speaker or display screen
electrically connected to the controller and configured to receive and feedback an adjustment instruction generated by the controller, in order to provide information to the user. For clarity, electrical connection is obvious in view of Kallman’s disclosure of using electrical connections between parts for similar operations and/or as this is the simplest and most common way to allow electronic/electrical parts such as the controller and prompter to interoperate.
With Respect to Claim 19
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the two strap bodies are detachably connected to the device body (noting disclosed as connected and also the disclosure that terms such as “connected” includes detachable connections), but does not detail how the straps are connected and so does not disclose one end of each of the strap bodies is provided with a buckling protrusion, and opposite ends of the device body are each provided with a buckling groove, and the buckling groove is engaged with the buckling protrusion; and wherein the buckling protrusion provided on at least one of the strap bodies is a conductive buckling protrusion, electronic components on the strap body are electrically connected to the conductive buckling protrusion, the buckling groove corresponding to the conductive buckling protrusion is provided therein with a second conductive contact, the second conductive contact is electrically connected to the controller, and the conductive buckling protrusion is configured to conductively contact the second conductive contact after being engaged with the buckling groove.
However, Kallman discloses a strap detachably connected to the device body, one end of the strap is provided with a buckling protrusion (112, 1312, or similar parts on other embodiments), and each of both ends of the device body is provided with a buckling groove (FIG. 1), and the buckling groove is engaged with the buckling protrusion (FIGS. 1A-3); wherein the buckling protrusion provided on at least one of the strap bodies is a conductive buckling protrusion (all are conductive, it is noted that Kallman discloses the conductors connecting sensors or other electronic structures on the strap/band to electronic structures on the device body), electronic components (e.g. sensor) on the strap are electrically connected to the conductive locking protrusion, the buckling groove corresponding to the conductive buckling protrusion is provided therein with a second conductive contact (122 or similar parts of other embodiments), the second conductive contact is electrically connected to electronics on the device body, and the conductive buckling protrusion is configured to conductively contact the second conductive contact after being engaged with the buckling groove
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Kallman, to detachably connect each of the straps and their sensors/electronic components of Wang/the combination to the device body and its controller using a detachable connection as claimed/as taught by Kallman, in order to provide the benefits disclosed by Kallman to the Wang/combination device and/or as a mere selection of an art appropriate attachment mechanism to use.
With Respect to Claim 20
The wearable device of claim 19, wherein the second conductive contact is provided on a conductive ejector pin or a conductive elastic piece in the buckling groove (FIGS. 16-17 show the second conductive contact as an ejector pin to the extent claimed or alternately it is also a conductive elastic piece), one end of the conductive ejector pin or the conductive elastic piece is connected to a wall of the buckling groove and is electrically connected to the controller (inherent in using the band to connect the controller on the device body to the sensor or alternately clearly obvious), and the other end thereof is provided with the second conductive contact for conductively contacting the conductive buckling protrusion (1412).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 112971747 to Wang (Wang), alone or also in view of WO 2021/099892 to Arthur (Arthur) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 109820488 to Ye (Ye), alone or also in view of Ryou or Cheng.
With Respect to Claim 17
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the wearable device is a wrist-worn device, the wrist-worn device has a health monitoring function, wherein the wrist-worn device has a wearing side; wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment member provided at an end of one of the strap bodies, and the other strap body is movably connected to the adjustment member (movably connected as one can separate the fasteners and move to a different adjustment location); but does not disclose an electrocardiogram (ECG) monitoring function, wherein a monitoring electrode electrically connected to the controller is provided outside the device body and/or the adjustment member, and at least two monitoring electrodes are provided for ECG monitoring; and at least one of the monitoring electrodes is arranged on the wearing side, and at least one of the monitoring electrodes is arranged on other positions than the wearing side.
However, Ye discloses a similar wrist worn health monitoring device including an electrocardiographic monitoring function (ECG), at least two monitoring electrodes (e.g. one or both of 111 in combination with one or both of 113) for electrocardiographic monitoring and electrically connected to the controller are located outside the device body and/or the adjustment member (FIGS. 2, 3, and description), and the monitoring electrodes comprise a first monitoring electrode (111) arranged on the wearing side and a second monitoring electrode (113) arranged at another position
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application, given the disclosure of Ye, to add an electrocardiographic monitoring function having electrodes as taught by Ye/as claimed to the device of Wang/the combination, in order to improve a user’s health via health monitoring, to provide more health information, and/or to obtain the benefits of Ye in addition to those of Wang/the combination.
Alternately, as to the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises an adjustment member provided at an end of one of the straps, and the other strap is movably connected to the adjustment member, Wang discloses the use of alternate fastener/buckle structure, and Ryou or Cheng discloses a similar tightness adjustment mechanism that comprises an adjustment member provided at an end of one of the straps, and the other strap is movably connected to the adjustment member (noting slidable adjustment), and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to use a tightness adjustment mechanism as taught by either of those references, for the benefits disclosed by that reference or the obvious benefits of such known to one of ordinary skill in the art, as a mere selection of an art appropriate adjustment mechanism/fastener to use, or at most a mere substitution of one art known buckle/fastener/tightness adjustment mechanism for another.
With Respect to Claim 18
The wearable device of claim 17, wherein the monitoring electrode comprises a first monitoring electrode (111) arranged on the wearing side and a second monitoring electrode arranged at another position (e.g. 113); wherein the device body is at least provided with one first monitoring electrode (111) and one second monitoring electrode (113), but does not disclose that the adjustment member is provided with at least one first monitoring electrode; or, wherein the device body is provided with at least one first monitoring electrode (111 or 113), but does not disclose that the adjustment member is provided with at least one second monitoring electrode. For clarity, the claim language is met by the structure meeting the first of the three optional clauses, see the 112 2nd paragraph rejection above for details.
Alternately, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to locate one or more of the monitoring electrodes on the adjustment member, in order to better distribute weight, to save space on the device body for other structures to increase functionality, and/or as doing so constitutes at most a mere duplication of parts and/or rearrangement of parts which does not patentably distinguish over the prior art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the cited prior art discloses structures relevant to the invention as disclosed or claimed, such as similar double torsion springs.
/ADAM J WAGGENSPACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734