DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are cancelled. Claims 21-40 are new. Claims 21-40 are pending and are rejected.
Priority
PCT:
The current application is a 371 of the PCT application no. PCT/US2022/074499 filled on 08/04/2022.
Provisional:
The PCT application no. PCT/US2022/074499 of the current application has PRO app. no. 63269547 filled on 03/18/2022 and PRO app. no. 63230577 filled on 08/06/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2025, 02/07/2024 and 02/02/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 02/02/2024 are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendments to claims are filed on 02/02/2024. Claims 1-20 are cancelled and claims 21-40 are new. New claims 21-40 are acknowledged and are being fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 40:
The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter, because the subject matter of claim are directed to transitory form of computer-readable storage medium.
Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include:
Transitory forms of signal transmission (often referred to as "signals per se"), such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave;
Claim recites A computer-readable media comprising one or more physical computer-readable storage media. The broadest reasonable interpretation of computer-readable media or computer-readable storage media may include transitory forms of signal transmission such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave. Such that the subject matter of claim are directed to transitory form of computer-readable storage medium. A transitory, propagating signal does not fall within any statutory category. Mentor Graphics Corp. v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d 1275, 1294, 112 USPQ2d 1120, 1133 (Fed. Cir. 2017); Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1356-1357, 84 USPQ2d at 1501-03.
Therefore, claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 22, 27-29, 32-35 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
-Unclear limitations and insufficient antecedent basis:
Claim(s) 22 and 32:
Claim recites, wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at specific locations within the printing area comprises. Regarding the limitation at specific locations, parent claim 21/31 recites at locations in the limitation, create/creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at locations within a printing area. Therefore, it isn’t clear how broader at locations is same as narrower at specific locations.
For the examination purpose, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation is construed as wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at locations within the printing area comprises.
Similar rejections applies to similar limitations of claim 32.
Based on its dependency to claim 32, dependent claim 33 is rejected for the same reasons.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim(s) 27:
Claim recites, average effective bead sizes … have a finer resolution than a resolution of the three-dimensional printer:
The term finer resolution than a resolution of the three-dimensional printer in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term finer resolution than a resolution of the three-dimensional printer is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
It isn’t clear how finer the resolution of the average effective bead sizes compared to the resolution of the three-dimensional printer. The degree of the term finer is not clear.
For the examination purpose, in broadest reasonable interpretation, it is construed that the term finer resolution can be any amount finer than resolution of the three-dimensional printer.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim(s) 28, 34 and 38:
Claim recites, creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes at specific locations within the printing area comprises. Regarding the limitation at specific locations, parent claim 21/31 recites at locations in the limitation, create/creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at locations within a printing area. Therefore, it isn’t clear how broader at locations is same as narrower at specific locations.
For the examination purpose, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation is construed as creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes at locations within the printing area comprises.
Similar rejections applies to similar limitations of claims 34 and 38.
Based on its dependency to claim 28, dependent claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons.
Based on its dependency to claim 35, dependent claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons.
Based on its dependency to claim 38, dependent claim 39 is rejected for the same reasons.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 28-36 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GEORGESON et al. (US20200368970A1) [hereinafter GEORGESON].
Regarding claim 21 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, A computer system for dynamically controlling a three-dimensional printer, comprising: [¶5: The printhead is configured to extrude a material onto a substrate and form a new bead during additive manufacturing of an in-work article. The profilometer is movable with the printhead and is configured to measure an in-work cross-sectional profile at least of one or more existing beads of the in-work article during forming of the new bead…
¶58: In FIGS. 1-2, the printhead 140 is configured to extrude a material onto a substrate 120 and form a new bead 324 during relative movement of the printhead 140 for additive manufacturing of the in-work article 460.];
one or more processors; and one or more computer-readable media having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors configure the computer system to: [¶58: The manufacturing system 100 additionally includes a control system 200 (FIG. 2) having a processor 204 (FIG. 2) configured to continuously or periodically generate and record in-work profile data 462 (FIG. 2)…
¶64: the control system 200 may be configured to control the operation (e.g., process parameters 244) of the printhead 140 in forming the new bead 324 based on the computer readable program instructions 224…
¶83: The measurements may be stored in the memory 202 and accessed during the profile comparison performed by the control system 200 during manufacturing of an in-work article 460];
receive an indication to cause a three-dimensional printer to print a non-planar surface of a three-dimensional object having a particular shape; [¶62: the control system 200 (FIG. 2) is configured to adjust (e.g., via a controller 206), based on the profile comparison, one or more bead forming parameters 240, and cause the printhead 140 to form the new bead 324 according to the bead forming parameters 240…
¶5: manufacturing system having a printhead, at least one profilometer, and a control system. The printhead is configured to extrude a material onto a substrate and form a new bead during additive manufacturing of an in-work article];
calculate multiple different bead sizes or ratios for creating the non-planar surface using components of the three-dimensional printer; and [¶78: The profilometer 180 is shown scanning a laser along a scanning plane 182…for measuring an in-work cross-sectional profile 464 (FIG. 8) of the existing beads 340 of an in-work article 460…The profile features 400 may include the bead lateral location 402 of the existing beads 340 (FIG. 8) in the beneath layer 344 (FIG. 8) and the new layer 326 (FIG. 8), and may additionally include the bead size and the bead shape of the existing beads 340. The bead size may include the bead width 406 and the bead height 404…the profile features 400 may include the notch size and the notch shape of each notch 420 between existing beads 340. The notch size may include the notch width 426 and the notch depth 422.];
create a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at locations within a printing area. [¶78: the profile features 400 may include the notch size and the notch shape of each notch 420 between existing beads 340. The notch size may include the notch width 426 and the notch depth 422...
¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches although larger and smaller diameters are possible. For example, the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening).].
Regarding claim 22 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 21, and further discloses,
wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at specific locations within the printing area comprises:
creating a command to change an extrusion rate of material from the three-dimensional printer, wherein the change in extrusion rate conforms to a desired bead size or a location having a particular height where one or more beads are to be deposited. [¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches although larger and smaller diameters are possible. For example, the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening).
Examiner notes that 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in this office action, and at specific locations is construed as at locations].
Regarding claim 23 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 21, and further discloses,
wherein calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios for creating the non-planar surface using components of the three-dimensional printer further comprises:
identifying a plurality of parameters that are related to errors that may be caused by a plurality of limitations of the three-dimensional printer, [¶89: The undersized bead 410 may have occurred as a result of an error in one or more of the bead forming parameters 240 (FIG. 2) during forming of the adjacent bead 328…
¶90: a nonconformity 430 in which the pre-flattened bead 320 is properly located but the adjacent bead 328 is oversized (e.g., a mis-sized bead 408), and which may be the result of an error in one or more bead forming parameters 240 including…an error in the material feed rate of the printhead 140 during extrusion of the pre-flattened bead 320.];
the plurality of limitations including at least one of (1) a minimum bead size that the three-dimensional printer is capable of generating; or (2) a natural lag of an extrusion material that forms beads; [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by or is given the patentable weight.
GEORGESON discloses, the plurality of limitations including at least one of (1) a minimum bead size that the three-dimensional printer is capable of generating, as described below.
¶89: a nonconformity 430 in which the pre-flattened bead 320 is placed at the correct bead lateral location 402, but the adjacent bead 328 (i.e., the existing bead 340 against which the pre-flattened bead 320 is placed) is undersized (e.g., a mis-sized bead 408). The undersized bead 410 may have occurred as a result of an error in one or more of the bead forming parameters 240 (FIG. 2) during forming of the adjacent bead 328…the error in the bead forming parameters 240 may include…an excessively low material feed rate at which is passed (e.g., pumped) through the nozzle 150 (FIG. 3) of the printhead 140. FIG. 19 is a cross-sectional view of the existing beads 340 and pre-flattened bead 320 of FIG. 18 after flattening to form the new bead 324, and which results in a gap 432 between the new bead 324 and the adjacent bead 328 as a result of the adjacent bead 328 being undersized.];
calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios based on the plurality of parameters. [¶62: the control system 200 (FIG. 2) is configured to adjust (e.g., via a controller 206), based on the profile comparison, one or more bead forming parameters 240, and cause the printhead 140 to form the new bead 324 according to the bead forming parameters 240].
Regarding claim 24 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 23, and further discloses,
wherein calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios for creating the non-planar surface using components of the three-dimensional printer further comprises
computing a difference between a desired extrusion rate and an actual extrusion rate. [¶80: the bead forming parameters 240 may also include process parameters 244 regarding processing operations of the printhead 140 during movement along the head path…The process parameters 244 may also include a material feed rate…Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches…the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening)…
¶81: The process parameters 244 may also include the bead lay rate (e.g., inches per unit time) at which a new bead 324 is formed on the substrate 120, and which may be a function of…the material feed rate as described above.].
Regarding claim 25 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 23, and further discloses,
wherein calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios based on the plurality of parameters comprises
computing a bead size (1) to diffuse a first error caused by the natural lag of the extrusion material, (2) to diffuse a second error occurring on an adjacent tool path on a same layer, or (3) to diffuse a third error occurring on an adjacent tool path on a different layer. [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by or is given the patentable weight.
GEORGESON discloses, computing a bead size, to diffuse a second error occurring on an adjacent tool path on a same layer, as described below.
¶89: a nonconformity 430 in which the pre-flattened bead 320 is placed at the correct bead lateral location 402, but the adjacent bead 328 (i.e., the existing bead 340 against which the pre-flattened bead 320 is placed) is undersized (e.g., a mis-sized bead 408). The undersized bead 410 may have occurred as a result of an error in one or more of the bead forming parameters 240 (FIG. 2) during forming of the adjacent bead 328. For example, the error in the bead forming parameters 240 may include…an excessively low material feed rate at which is passed (e.g., pumped) through the nozzle 150 (FIG. 3) of the printhead 140. FIG. 19 is a cross-sectional view of the existing beads 340 and pre-flattened bead 320 of FIG. 18 after flattening to form the new bead 324, and which results in a gap 432 between the new bead 324 and the adjacent bead 328 as a result of the adjacent bead 328 being undersized.].
Regarding claim 28 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 21, and further discloses,
wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes at specific locations within the printing area comprises
interpolating a particular coordinate within the printing area. [¶75: the printhead 140 may include one or more profilometers 180 configured to measure at least one in-work cross-sectional profile 464 representing the contour of the existing beads 340 at a pre-laydown location 300 upstream (e.g., up to several inches or more) of the bead laydown point 302. The bead laydown point 302 may be defined as the location where the leading edge portion of pre-flattened bead 320 first makes contact with the substrate 120 during extrusion of material from the nozzle 150. The printhead 140 may also include one or more profilometers 180 at a pre-flattened location 304 between the nozzle 150 and the compression device 160 for measuring an in-work cross-sectional 464 of the contour of the pre-flattened bead 320 and the existing beads 340 over which and/or against which the new bead 324 is being formed...
¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324... The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size…
¶87: the control system 200 may adjust…the head travel speed and/or the material feed rate as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern.
Examiner notes that 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in this office action, and at specific locations is construed as at locations].
Regarding claim 29 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 28, and further discloses,
wherein interpolating a particular coordinate within the printing area comprises
determining at least one of a bead width, a nozzle height, a travel speed, or an extrusion amount based on the particular shape of the three-dimensional object. [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by or is given the patentable weight.
GEORGESON discloses, interpolating a particular coordinate within the printing area comprises, a travel speed, or an extrusion amount based on the particular shape of the three-dimensional object, as described below.
¶80: The process parameters 244 may also include a material feed rate (e.g., volumetric) at which material passes through a nozzle 150 and is extruded onto the substrate 120. Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324... The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening)…
¶87: the control system 200 may adjust one or more process parameters 244 such as the head travel speed and/or the material feed rate as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern.].
Regarding claim 30 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 21, and further discloses,
wherein the three-dimensional printer is a thermoset printer. [¶7: extruding, using a printhead of an additive manufacturing system, a polymeric material onto a substrate to form a new bead during manufacturing of the in-work article…
¶70: Examples of materials that the printhead 140 may extrude include…polymeric material, Polymeric material may include thermosetting material …
¶91: Also shown in FIG. 21 is an example of a nonconformity 430 in the form of a void 442, one or more of which may remain in the in-work article 460 after manufacturing is complete and the in-work article 460 has cured or solidified.].
Regarding claim 31 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, A computer-implemented method for dynamically controlling a three-dimensional printer, the computer-implemented method executed on one more processor, the computer-implemented method comprising: [¶6: The method includes extruding, using a printhead of an additive manufacturing system, a material onto a substrate to form a new bead during manufacturing of the in-work article. The method additionally includes measuring, using at least one profilometer movable with the printhead, an in-work cross-sectional profile at least of one or more existing beads of the in-work article during forming of the new bead…
¶58: The manufacturing system 100 additionally includes a control system 200 (FIG. 2) having a processor 204 (FIG. 2) configured to continuously or periodically generate and record in-work profile data 462 (FIG. 2)…
¶64: the control system 200 may be configured to control the operation (e.g., process parameters 244) of the printhead 140 in forming the new bead 324 based on the computer readable program instructions 224…
¶83: The measurements may be stored in the memory 202 and accessed during the profile comparison performed by the control system 200 during manufacturing of an in-work article 460];
receiving an indication to cause a three-dimensional printer to print a non-planar surface of a three-dimensional object having a particular shape; [¶62: the control system 200 (FIG. 2) is configured to adjust (e.g., via a controller 206), based on the profile comparison, one or more bead forming parameters 240, and cause the printhead 140 to form the new bead 324 according to the bead forming parameters 240…
¶5: manufacturing system having a printhead, at least one profilometer, and a control system. The printhead is configured to extrude a material onto a substrate and form a new bead during additive manufacturing of an in-work article];
calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios for creating the non-planar surface; [¶78: The profilometer 180 is shown scanning a laser along a scanning plane 182…for measuring an in-work cross-sectional profile 464 (FIG. 8) of the existing beads 340 of an in-work article 460…The profile features 400 may include the bead lateral location 402 of the existing beads 340 (FIG. 8) in the beneath layer 344 (FIG. 8) and the new layer 326 (FIG. 8), and may additionally include the bead size and the bead shape of the existing beads 340. The bead size may include the bead width 406 and the bead height 404…the profile features 400 may include the notch size and the notch shape of each notch 420 between existing beads 340. The notch size may include the notch width 426 and the notch depth 422.];
creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at locations within a printing area. [¶78: the profile features 400 may include the notch size and the notch shape of each notch 420 between existing beads 340. The notch size may include the notch width 426 and the notch depth 422...
¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches although larger and smaller diameters are possible. For example, the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening).].
Regarding claim 32 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 31, and further discloses,
wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at specific locations within the printing area comprises:
creating a command to change a extrusion rate of material from the three-dimensional printer, wherein the change in extrusion rate conforms to a desired bead size. [¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches although larger and smaller diameters are possible. For example, the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening).
Examiner notes that 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in this office action, and at specific locations is construed as at locations].
Regarding claim 33 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 32, and further discloses,
wherein a higher extrusion rate correlates to a larger bead size. [¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches although larger…The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening).].
Regarding claim 34 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 31, and further discloses,
wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes at specific locations within the printing area comprises:
creating a command to change a speed of a dispenser within the three-dimensional printer, wherein the change in speed conforms to a desired bead size. [¶87: the control system 200 may adjust one or more process parameters 244 such as the head travel speed…as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern.…
¶81: The process parameters 244 may also include the bead lay rate (e.g., inches per unit time) at which a new bead 324 is formed on the substrate 120, and which may be a function of the head travel speed.
Examiner notes that 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in this office action, and at specific locations is construed as at locations].
Regarding claim 35 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 34, and further discloses,
wherein an increase in speed correlates to a smaller bead size. [¶80: the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches…smaller diameters are possible. For example, the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening)…
¶87: the control system 200 may adjust one or more process parameters 244 such as the head travel speed…as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern].
Regarding claim 36 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 31, and further discloses,
further comprising causing the three-dimensional printer to dispense the multiple different bead sizes at specific locations within the printing area. [¶100: The profile comparison performed by the control system 200 may include comparing the sizes and/or shapes of any one or more of the above-noted profile features 400…
¶77: a printhead 140 having a plurality of nozzles 150 for forming a corresponding plurality of new beads 324. In FIG. 6, the plurality of nozzles 150 are arranged in a linear array and may be configured to simultaneously extrude material onto the substrate 120 to simultaneously form a corresponding plurality of pre-flattened beads 320. The printhead 140 may include at least one compression device 160 such as a compression roller 162 configured to simultaneously flatten the pre-flattened beads 320 into flattened beads 322 (e.g., new beads 324) preferably arranged in side-by-side contacting relation with each other.].
Regarding claim 38 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 31, and further discloses,
wherein creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes at specific locations within the printing area comprises
interpolating a particular coordinate within the printing area. [¶75: the printhead 140 may include one or more profilometers 180 configured to measure at least one in-work cross-sectional profile 464 representing the contour of the existing beads 340 at a pre-laydown location 300 upstream (e.g., up to several inches or more) of the bead laydown point 302. The bead laydown point 302 may be defined as the location where the leading edge portion of pre-flattened bead 320 first makes contact with the substrate 120 during extrusion of material from the nozzle 150. The printhead 140 may also include one or more profilometers 180 at a pre-flattened location 304 between the nozzle 150 and the compression device 160 for measuring an in-work cross-sectional 464 of the contour of the pre-flattened bead 320 and the existing beads 340 over which and/or against which the new bead 324 is being formed...
¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324... The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size…
¶87: the control system 200 may adjust…the head travel speed and/or the material feed rate as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern.
Examiner notes that 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in this office action, and at specific locations is construed as at locations].
Regarding claim 39 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 38, and further discloses,
interpolating a particular coordinate within the printing area includes
computing at least one of a bead width, a nozzle height, a travel speed, or an extrusion amount, and [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by or is given the patentable weight.
GEORGESON discloses, interpolating a particular coordinate within the printing area comprises, computing a travel speed, or an extrusion amount, as described below.
¶80: The process parameters 244 may also include a material feed rate (e.g., volumetric) at which material passes through a nozzle 150 and is extruded onto the substrate 120. Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324... The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening)…
¶87: the control system 200 may adjust one or more process parameters 244 such as the head travel speed and/or the material feed rate as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern.].
creating a command, causing the three-dimensional printer to print based on the computed bead width, nozzle height, travel speed, or extrusion amount. [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by or is given the patentable weight.
GEORGESON discloses, creating a command, causing the three-dimensional printer to print based on the computed travel speed, or extrusion amount, as described below.
¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324... The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324 (i.e., the pre-flattened bead 320 after flattening)…
¶87: the control system 200 may adjust one or more process parameters 244 such as the head travel speed and/or the material feed rate as the printhead 140 approaches the location identified in the pattern as a means to locally increase the bead size of the new bead 324 at the location identified in the pattern.].
Regarding claim 40 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, A computer-readable media comprising one or more physical computer-readable storage media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed at a processor, cause a computer system to perform a method for dynamically controlling a three-dimensional printer, the method comprising: [¶6: The method includes extruding, using a printhead of an additive manufacturing system, a material onto a substrate to form a new bead during manufacturing of the in-work article. The method additionally includes measuring, using at least one profilometer movable with the printhead, an in-work cross-sectional profile at least of one or more existing beads of the in-work article during forming of the new bead…
¶58: The manufacturing system 100 additionally includes a control system 200 (FIG. 2) having a processor 204 (FIG. 2) configured to continuously or periodically generate and record in-work profile data 462 (FIG. 2)…
¶64: the control system 200 may be configured to control the operation (e.g., process parameters 244) of the printhead 140 in forming the new bead 324 based on the computer readable program instructions 224…
¶83: The measurements may be stored in the memory 202 and accessed during the profile comparison performed by the control system 200 during manufacturing of an in-work article 460.
Examiner notes the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this office action];
receiving an indication to cause a three-dimensional printer to print a non-planar surface of a three-dimensional object having a particular shape; [¶62: the control system 200 (FIG. 2) is configured to adjust (e.g., via a controller 206), based on the profile comparison, one or more bead forming parameters 240, and cause the printhead 140 to form the new bead 324 according to the bead forming parameters 240…
¶5: manufacturing system having a printhead, at least one profilometer, and a control system. The printhead is configured to extrude a material onto a substrate and form a new bead during additive manufacturing of an in-work article];
calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios for creating the non-planar surface using components of the three-dimensional printer; [¶78: The profilometer 180 is shown scanning a laser along a scanning plane 182…for measuring an in-work cross-sectional profile 464 (FIG. 8) of the existing beads 340 of an in-work article 460…The profile features 400 may include the bead lateral location 402 of the existing beads 340 (FIG. 8) in the beneath layer 344 (FIG. 8) and the new layer 326 (FIG. 8), and may additionally include the bead size and the bead shape of the existing beads 340. The bead size may include the bead width 406 and the bead height 404];
creating a command to generate the multiple different bead sizes or ratios at locations within a printing area. [¶78: the profile features 400 may include the notch size and the notch shape of each notch 420 between existing beads 340. The notch size may include the notch width 426 and the notch depth 422...
¶80: Controlling the material feed rate may provide a means to control the bead width 406 (e.g., FIG. 12) of the pre-flattened bead 320 which therefore affects the bead size of the new bead 324…the printhead 140 may be configured to extrude a pre-flattened bead 320 having a bead diameter in the range of 0.12 inch to 3.0 inches although larger and smaller diameters are possible…the pre-flattened bead 320 may be extruded in a bead diameter of from 0.25-1.0 inch. The material feed rate may be synchronized with the head travel speed to achieve a desired size of the pre-flattened bead 320 which, in turn, affects the size (e.g., the bead width 406 and the bead height 404) of the new bead 324].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 26-27 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GEORGESON and further in view of Page (US20150266244A1) [hereinafter Page].
Regarding claim 26 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer system of claim 23, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Page discloses, wherein a first tool path of travel down a slope has a first set of bead sizes, [¶114: When the nozzle 1202 is travelling downhill, i.e., when its path has a negative slope, the vertical position of the nozzle 1202 at points along the second path may be adjusted such that a corrected version of distance 1234 may be equal to the dimension 1232 from respective points in the first nominal path. This is because when the nozzle 1202 travels downhill, the point 1244 may determine the thickness of the resulting deposited material…
¶112: The material shape created by a material deposition process on a non-horizontal surface or path may therefore be dependent on the direction of motion of a nozzle or deposition system or the sign (positive, zero or negative) of the slope of the path followed by the nozzle or material deposition system];
a second tool path of travel up the slope has a second set of bead sizes, [¶115: When the nozzle 1202 is travelling uphill, i.e., when its path has a positive slope, the vertical position of the nozzle 1202 for the second path may be adjusted such that the corrected distance 1246 for the second path may be equal to the dimension 1232 as calculated for each point in the first nominal path. This is because when the nozzle 1202 travels uphill, the distal edge of the nozzle exit orifice as represented by the location of point 1248 may determine the thickness of the resulting deposited material.…
¶112: The material shape created by a material deposition process on a non-horizontal surface or path may therefore be dependent on the direction of motion of a nozzle or deposition system or the sign (positive, zero or negative) of the slope of the path followed by the nozzle or material deposition system].
and an average size of the first set of bead sizes is greater than that of the second set of bead sizes. [¶116: In the case of downhill motion, a vertical coordinate or distance representing the vertical position of the nozzle 1202 in the second path may be found by adding the absolute value of dimension 1236 as calculated for each point of downhill (negative) slope on the first nominal path to dimension 1232 for each point on the first nominal path…The resulting second path will then be higher by an amount equal to the absolute value of dimension 1236 in areas with downhill slope.,…
¶117: In the case of uphill motion, a vertical coordinate or distance representing the vertical position of the nozzle 1202 in the second path may be found by subtracting the absolute value of dimension 1238 as calculated for each point of uphill (positive) slope on the first nominal path from dimension 1232 for each point on the first nominal path…The resulting second path will then be lower by an amount equal to the absolute value of dimension 1238 in areas with uphill slope.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined a first tool path of travel down a slope has a first set of bead sizes, a second tool path of travel up the slope has a second set of bead sizes, and an average size of the first set of bead sizes is greater than that of the second set of bead sizes in order to ensure achieving desired material/bead shape, more constant resulting thickness of deposited material, and improved adhesion of deposited material regardless of the slope taught by PAGE with the system taught by GEORGESON as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to ensure achieving desired material/bead shape, more constant resulting thickness of deposited material, and improved adhesion of deposited material regardless of the slope [PAGE, ¶129: By following a path adjusted according to slope as described above, deposited material 1270 is able to match desired material shape 1212 and deposited material thickness 1272 matches a desired deposited material thickness even though nozzle 1202 is moving on a path with negative slope…
¶125: may achieve a more constant resulting thickness of deposited material regardless of the slope of part surface 1210 and may also achieve improved adhesion of deposited material].
Regarding claim 27 (new):
GEORGESON and Page discloses, The computer system of claim 26, and
Page further discloses, wherein the first tool path and the second tool path are adjacent on the slope, and average effective bead sizes of the first tool path and the second tool path have a finer resolution than a resolution of the three-dimensional printer [¶116: In the case of downhill motion…The resulting second path will then be higher by an amount equal to the absolute value of dimension 1236 in areas with downhill slope.,…
¶117: In the case of uphill motion,..The resulting second path will then be lower by an amount equal to the absolute value of dimension 1238 in areas with uphill slope…
¶119: After the corrected path points have been found for points or regions of negative slope, positive slope and zero slope, the points or path regions may be combined in their respective path order to form a completed second path…
¶125: The second path or set of positions as calculated…may then be used to guide the nozzle 1202 to deposit material on sloped or horizontal part surfaces and may achieve a more constant resulting thickness of deposited material regardless of the slope of part surface 1210 and may also achieve improved adhesion of deposited material….
¶126: The controller 104 may then receive and interpret such instructions, which incorporate the correction factors, and implement them by controlling the nozzle to move accordingly.
Examiner notes that 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in this office action, and it is construed that the term finer resolution can be any amount finer than resolution of the three-dimensional printer.
Examiner notes that, one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, a 3D printer is capable of printing only up to its maximum limited resolution, and since Page’s 3D printer is capable of printing the resulted second path (average effective bead sizes); therefore, Page’s resulted second path must have finer resolution than a resolution of the three-dimensional printer.].
Regarding claim 37 (new):
GEORGESON discloses, The computer-implemented method of claim 31, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Page discloses, wherein calculating multiple different bead sizes or ratios for creating the non-planar surface using three-dimensional components comprises:
determining a length of the non-planar surface; [¶104: Distance 1114 is measured normal to (perpendicular to) the desired surface shape 1106…
¶123: A first partial second path consisting of corrected values for distance 1232 may be calculated for points with negative slope on the path of the nozzle 1202 as: distance_1232_corrected=distance_1232_from first nominal path+dimension_1236. A second partial second path consisting of corrected values for distance 1232 may be calculated for points with positive or zero slope on the path of the nozzle 1202 as: distance_1232_corrected=distance_1232_from first nominal path−dimension_1238. The first partial second path and second partial second paths may then be combined to create a complete slope-corrected second path.];
determine at least one angle of taper associated with the non-planar surface; and [¶16: defining a reference angle from horizontal, and depositing one or more primary layers of material, wherein a primary layer of material is deposited in a shape that matches the shape of the part design in areas where the part design does not exceed the reference angle…
¶122: calculate a correction factors dimension 1236 and 1238 is to use the trigonometric tangent of angle 1228, where angle 1228 is defined as negative for downhill nozzle motion (negative slope) as shown in FIG. 12A and positive for uphill motion (positive slope) as shown in FIG. 12B. An alternate corrected value calculation for dimension 1238 for points of negative slope on a path for the nozzle 1202 may then be expressed as (−1*(dimension_1222/2)*tan(angle_1228)). An alternate corrected value calculation for dimension 1238 for all points on a path for the nozzle 1202 with positive slope may then be expressed as: dimension_1238=(dimension_1220/2)*tan(angle_1228)).]
based upon the length of the non-planar surface and the at least one angle of taper, calculating a geometric ratio of bead size differences between adjacent print lines. [¶123: A first partial second path consisting of corrected values for distance 1232 may be calculated for points with negative slope on the path of the nozzle 1202 as: distance_1232_corrected=distance_1232_from first nominal path+dimension_1236. A second partial second path consisting of corrected values for distance 1232 may be calculated for points with positive or zero slope on the path of the nozzle 1202 as: distance_1232_corrected=distance_1232_from first nominal path−dimension_1238. The first partial second path and second partial second paths may then be combined to create a complete slope-corrected second path…
¶122: calculate a correction factors dimension 1236 and 1238 is to use the trigonometric tangent of angle 1228, where angle 1228 is defined as negative for downhill nozzle motion (negative slope) as shown in FIG. 12A and positive for uphill motion (positive slope) as shown in FIG. 12B. An alternate corrected value calculation for dimension 1238 for points of negative slope on a path for the nozzle 1202 may then be expressed as (−1*(dimension_1222/2)*tan(angle_1228)). An alternate corrected value calculation for dimension 1238 for all points on a path for the nozzle 1202 with positive slope may then be expressed as: dimension_1238=(dimension_1220/2)*tan(angle_1228))…
¶133: Filaments 1516 may have a constant width as shown in this figure, or they may have variable width. In this case, the deposition rate (volume of material deposited per linear distance moved by a material deposition device) changes along the filament length as it is created in order to achieve the varying filament thickness needed to match the varying thickness of layers 1506 while keeping the width constant as shown. Alternatively, the width of the filaments could be varied while keeping the material deposition rate constant in order to achieve a desired layer thickness. In some cases, both the width and material deposition rate can be varied along the length of the filament….
Page discloses, use of inclination/slope angle (taper angle) and length/distance of surface to create different sizes of beads/filaments (since sizes are different, size ratios of adjacent beads are different)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of determining a length of the non-planar surface; determine at least one angle of taper associated with the non-planar surface; and based upon the length of the non-planar surface and the at least one angle of taper, calculating a geometric ratio of bead size differences between adjacent print lines in order to ensure achieving desired material/bead shape, more constant resulting thickness of deposited material, and improved adhesion of deposited material regardless of the slope taught by PAGE with the system taught by GEORGESON as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to ensure achieving desired material/bead shape, more constant resulting thickness of deposited material, and improved adhesion of deposited material regardless of the slope [PAGE, ¶129: By following a path adjusted according to slope as described above, deposited material 1270 is able to match desired material shape 1212 and deposited material thickness 1272 matches a desired deposited material thickness even though nozzle 1202 is moving on a path with negative slope…
¶125: may achieve a more constant resulting thickness of deposited material regardless of the slope of part surface 1210 and may also achieve improved adhesion of deposited material].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
LIU et al. (US20230236571A1): Method of determining toolpaths for an infill structure for a digital 3d model
¶23: provides for a geometric framework allowing various adaptive bead width control schemes used to generate contour-parallel toolpaths which minimize under- and overfill. We also present a specific beading scheme which furthermore reduces the amount of variation in the extrusion widths compared to the state of the art to be below a factor of 2.
Kanada (US20150352792A1): 3D modeling and printing methods based on specification of height and width of each part
¶20: The model specifies the trajectory of the print head (i.e., the tool-path) and specifies the cross section or the height, width of the filament, and the direction for each part of string. The model described above is used for a 3D- printable model 101 and 101′, and the method shown in FIG. 1 is applied. The cross section, the height, and the width of each portion of a string may be different from other portions.
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/CHAD G ERDMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116