Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks, see pages 6 - 7, filed 06/29/2026, with respect to the objections of the specification and drawing as well as 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of the specification and drawing as well as 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of 04/08/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is quoted below:
“First, Dong does not disclose a piezoelectric transducer that generates an ultrasonic pulse that reflects off a back side of the substrate. As recited in claim 1, the claimed invention requires that "the piezoelectric transducer generates an ultrasonic pulse that reflects off a back side of the substrate."”
…“The cited reference completely lacks this step of the claimed invention. Dong discloses the use of a substrate (disclosed as a PCB or flex) that absorbs all ultrasound that is transmitted into it, especially at UHF frequencies.”
…“Dong does not disclose any such reflecting of the pulse from the back side of the substrate, identified as substrate 3 in Dong. Substrate 3 does not perform any function other than to support the bulk acoustic wave (BAW) sensor 5 and associated electronics. The "acoustic reflecting layer" is a component of the bulk acoustic wave (BAW) sensor 5, not substrate 3. To the extent there is any reflecting, it occurs within bulk acoustic wave (BAW) sensor 5, and not between any transducer and substrate 3. Moreover, there is no reflecting from the back side of any substrate, whether within sensor 5 or with regard to substrate 3.”
In response to the argument above, examiner believes that Dong does describe the invention comprising “a sound reflecting layer” (see page 5, lines 1 -4 as well as lines 26 – 31). As claimed, the “back side of the substrate” can reasonably be considered as another side i.e., comprising left vs. right side of the substrate and does not necessarily include passing “through” the substrate at the opposite side. In addition, note that the device of Dong may be implemented as a wearable electronic device (see abstract of Dong) which is used to detect temperature, humidity, pressure etc. as described in the examples of Dong. Therefore, in a case where the arrangement is a wearable device, the signals are communicated with the object or environment being sensed which requires the passage of the signals between the transducers and the substrate. Therefore, examiner believes that the invention is reasonably met by Dong as described in the obviousness type rejection below.
Applicant’s second argument is quoted below:
“Second, Dong also does not disclose receipt of the reflected pulses to drive the antenna as further recited in claim 1: "the reflected ultrasonic pulse is received at the piezoelectric8
transducer and drives the antenna that initially received the radio frequency pulse."
…“As further explained in Paragraph [0028], this reflecting of the pulses back to the original transducer and driving antenna after passing through the substrate are critical to determining time-of-flight and decoding of the phases:”
“However, antenna 4 of Dong is not receiving a pulse reflected from substrate 3. Instead, antenna 4 outputs a modulated signal provided from bulk acoustic wave (BAW) sensor 5 based on modulation that occurs within bulk acoustic wave (BAW) sensor 5 and not from pulses reflected back to sensor 5 from substrate 3.
In contrast to the claimed invention, Dong receives a wireless interrogation signal at
antenna 4 and excites a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) sensor 5. Dong then discloses measuring the change in the resonance frequency of the BAW sensor 5 caused by temperature changes propagating through the substrate to the BAW sensor 5, such as heating or cooling of the BAW sensor 5 that causes resonance frequency changes. Similarly, Dong discloses that pressure or humidity will also cause the resonance frequency of BAW sensor 5 to change. Dong does not
disclose sending any pulses from the BAW sensor 5 into substrate 3, nor does it disclose receiving any reflected echoes from substrate 3 that reflect the nature of an object positioned adjacently to substrate 3. Instead, Dong is merely detecting changes in the frequency response of sensor 5 itself that result from environmental conditions, and Dong has nothing to do with how pulses travel through substrate 3 nor how those pulses are echoed back to reflect the nature of an object to be imaged that is positioned against the substrate.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “this reflecting of the pulses back to the original transducer and driving antenna after passing through the substrate”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Note that Dong teaches receiving the signals by the antenna 4 as a response signal of the tested physical quantity as described in the rejections as well as at page 4, lines 15 – 28. See also response to the first argument above, therefore, examiner believes that the invention is reasonably met by Dong (see rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 17, 22 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107727125 A to Dong, Shu-rong et al. (hereinafter “Dong”).
Regarding Claim 1, Dong teaches an RF interrogation system (see abstract, see “Example 1” at line 29 page 4 – line 17 page 5 describing the device operating at central frequency of 4.8GHz, working in the ultra-high frequency (UHF) band, thus it will be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize RF interrogation system since the frequency range of the operating frequency of Dong is within the RF range) comprising:
a substrate (see page 4, lines30 – 38 at Example 1 describing the substrate 3, see Figs. 1, 3) with one or more piezoelectric transducers (see acoustic wave sensor 5, see page 4, lines 15 – 20, see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3);
at least one antenna (see spiral microstrip antenna 4, Fig. 1, see page 4, lines 15 – 38) connected to the substrate (3) or formed onto the substrate (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3);
one or more antenna terminals (see an end portion of the spiral microstrip antenna 4 at the connection region of the acoustic sensor 5 in Fig. 3) extending from the antenna (4) and connected to terminals of at least one piezoelectric transducer (see an end portion of the spiral microstrip antenna 4 at the connection region of the acoustic sensor 5 in Fig. 3, see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 which states “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode”, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
wherein the antenna (4) receives a radio frequency pulse and actuates at least one piezoelectric transducer (see page 4, lines 25 – 26, describing step S201 including “antenna 4 receives the wireless pulse interrogation signal as the excitation energy of film bulk acoustic wave sensor 5”, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
the piezoelectric transducer (5) generates an ultrasonic pulse that reflects off a back side of the substrate (see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 stating “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode and polyimide as a sound reflecting layer fixed on the polyimide substrate”, thus the polyimide or substrate layer serves as a sound reflecting layer, see also page 5, lines 26 – 31 describing the back etching of the silicon wafer is an acoustic reflecting layer, thus it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize occurrence of reflection of the signal on the substrate layer as claimed, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
further wherein the ultrasonic pulse is received at the piezoelectric transducer after the ultrasonic pulse reflects off the back side of the substrate (note that as claimed, “back side of the substrate” can be interpreted as left or right side of the substrate 3 as seen at Fig. 1, thus as described above the sound reflecting layer is considered as the reflected signal as claimed) and drives the antenna that initially received the radio frequency pulse (see page 4, lines 27 – 28 describing the receiving antenna 4 returns signal modulated by the tested physical quantity such as temperature, humidity, and pressure to the wireless transceiver 1, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 22, Dong teaches a method for RF interrogation (see abstract, see “Example 1” at line 29 page 4 – line 17 page 5 describing the device operating at central frequency of 4.8GHz, working in the ultra-high frequency (UHF) band, thus it will be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize RF interrogation system since the frequency range of the operating frequency of Dong is within the RF range), comprising the steps of:
providing an RF interrogation system (see Figs. 1 – 3) comprising a substrate having a top surface and a back side (see page 4, lines 30 – 38 at Example 1 describing the substrate 3, Figs. 1, 2 as a polyimide substrate with a thickness of 500 um, thus having a top surface and back side as claimed), a piezoelectric transducer (see acoustic wave sensor 5, see page 4, lines 15 – 20, see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3) connected to the top surface of the substrate (see arrangement at Fig. 3), and an antenna (see spiral microstrip antenna 4, Fig. 1, see page 4, lines 15 – 38) attached to the piezoelectric transducer (see an end portion of the spiral microstrip antenna 4 at the connection region of the acoustic sensor 5 in Fig. 3, see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 which states “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Dong teaches a piezoelectric transducer as described above, Dong does not explicitly teach a plurality of piezoelectric transducers as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of piezoelectric transducers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The modification allows for enhanced sensitivity and robustness to environmental variations.
Dong as modified above further teaches;
generating, by at least one of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers (5), ultrasonic pulses (see page 4, lines 25 – 28 and page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing the antenna 4 receiving the wireless pulse interrogation signal as the excitation energy of the sensor 5 and the sensor 5 communicates the sensed signal (i.e., generates the pulses as claimed) such that the antenna returns a response signal of the sensed parameter to the wireless transceiver 1, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
reflecting the ultrasonic pulses off the back side of the substrate as reflected ultrasonic pulses (see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 stating “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode and polyimide as a sound reflecting layer fixed on the polyimide substrate”, thus the polyimide or substrate layer serves as a sound reflecting layer, see also page 5, lines 26 – 31 describing the back etching of the silicon wafer is an acoustic reflecting layer, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
receiving the reflected ultrasonic pulses at piezoelectric transducers; and picking up reflected ultrasonic pulses by the antenna (see page 4, lines 25 – 28 and page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing the antenna 4 returns a response signal modulated by a measured physical quantity such as temperature, pressure and humidity to the wireless transceiver 1, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the antenna (4) is fabricated on a substrate and electrically connected to the piezoelectric transducers on the substrate (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3 which illustrates the antenna 4 fabricated on a substrate and electrically connected to the piezoelectric transducers 5 on the substrate).
Even though Dong teaches the antenna 4 fabricated on a substrate as described above, Dong is silent regarding the antenna 4 fabricated on a separate substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to fabricate the antenna on a separate substrate, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 5, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the antenna (4) is a coil antenna connected to at least one piezoelectric transducer (see arrangement at Fig. 3 illustrating spiral microstrip antenna 4, see also page 4, lines 30 – 36).
Regarding Claim 6, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the coil antenna has portions of different inductances (see arrangement of the spiral antenna 4, Fig. 3, thus due to the spiral’s physical construction, the surrounding environment and the operating frequency, the inductance will vary, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 7, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the substrate (see substrate 3, Figs. 1, 3) is a flexible polymer (see page 4, lines 30 – 38 describing the substrate as being flexible substrate of a polyimide material).
Regarding Claim 8, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the substrate is a silicon substrate (see claim 3 at page 6 describing the substrate material which can be different types of material including that of a polydimethylsiloxane, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 9, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the size of the substrate as 500 um thick (see page 4, lines 37 – 38). Even though Dong teaches the substrate as having thickness of 500 um, Dong is silent regarding the system is less than 500 um x 500 um x 500 um. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specified size, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The modification allows for a more compact size thus enhancing usability and cost of the system.
Regarding Claim 10, Dong as modified above teaches further comprising a sensitive coating on the substrate surfaces (see for instance page 3 lines 17 – 23 describing the film bulk acoustic wave sensor for sensing temperature, humidity pressure etc. with high sensor sensitivity, thus the film bulk acoustic wave sensor includes a layer (i.e., coating) that is sensitive to the parameter being detected, see also page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 17 descr4ibing the sensing layers of sensor 5, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 11, Dong as modified above teaches the system being used as a humidity sensor (see page 3, lines 17 – 23).
Even though Dong teaches the system being used as a humidity sensor as described above, Dong is silent regarding wherein the sensitive coating is a hygroscopic material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hygroscopic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for an improved moisture/humidity sensing.
Regarding Claims 12 and 23, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the antenna (4) transmits the reflected ultrasonic pulse as a RF signal (see page 4, line 25 – page 5, lines 1 – 4, describing the antenna 4 which returns the sensed parameter to the wireless transceiver 1 and the working signal being in the ultra-high frequency band range, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 13 and 24, Dong as modified above teaches further comprising a RF reader (see wireless transceiver 1 and interrogating antenna 2, Figs. 1, 3) spaced from the antenna (4, see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3), the RF reader configured to receive the RF signal from the antenna (see page 4, lines 27 – 28).
Regarding Claim 14, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the RF reader conducts correlation matching to extract at least one of amplitude and the time-of-flight of the ultrasonic pulse through the substrate (see page 3, lines 17 – 23).
Regarding Claim 15, Dong teaches further comprising an object to be imaged contacting the bottom surface of the substrate (see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing the substrate 3 which can be adhered on the skin such as a curved surface, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 16, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the reflected ultrasonic pulses comprise RF waves emanating at different phases (see page 3, lines 9 – 23).
Regarding Claim 17, Dong as modified above teaches the ultrasonic pulses are generated from the piezoelectric transducer to generate a focused ultrasonic pulse (see page 4, lines 24 – 38 – page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing acoustic pulses generated from the acoustic wave sensor 5 and being received by the antenna 4, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Dong teaches ultrasonic pulses generated from the piezoelectric transducer as described above, Dong does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic pulses generated from two or more piezoelectric transducers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of piezoelectric transducers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The modification allows for enhanced sensitivity and robustness to environmental variations.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 18 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0355381 A1 to Lal et al. (hereinafter “Lal”).
Regarding Claim 2, Dong teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the substrate is a CMOS chip with the piezoelectric transducers, patterned thin metal film inductors, and transistor electronics to process data and harvest RF energy integrated therewith.
Lal, in the field of semiconductor technologies, teaches wherein the substrate is a CMOS chip with the piezoelectric transducers, patterned thin metal film inductors, and transistor electronics to process data and harvest RF energy integrated therewith (see paragraph [0012] describing a monolithic ultrasonic scanner including an acoustic matching layer to provide a contact surface, an array of piezoelectric transducers, see paragraph [0114] and Figs. 1A – 1F describing the piezoelectric transducer elements 130 of the device 100 and further describes the CMOS layer 132 over the substrate 131, see also paragraph [0217] describing the thin film piezoelectric transducers in the area of RF MEMS being CMOS compatible, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the semiconductor material/technologies of Lal into Dong, in order to allow compact design with improved robustness and reliability (see also additional advantages at paragraphs [0103] and [0247] of Lal).
Regarding Claim 3, Dong in view of Lal as modified above teaches where the thin metal film inductors are formed by connecting metal layers available in the CMOS chip (see paragraphs [0089] – [0115] and Figs. 1A – 1F of Lal illustrating metal layer structures such as 133, 134a – c in the CMOS chip, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 18, Dong teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the piezoelectric transducer is formed with two stacked piezoelectric layers sharing a common electrode to form two transducers in parallel.
Lal, in the field of semiconductor technologies, teaches wherein the piezoelectric transducer is formed with two stacked piezoelectric layers sharing a common electrode to form two transducers in parallel (see paragraphs [0010], [0090], [0104] and [0139] which described the disclosed array of CMOS-integrated piezoelectric transducers integrated into a 3D chip-stack, thus reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stacked piezoelectric layers of Lal into Dong, in order to be able to efficiently transmit pulses. The modification further allows for more compact and cost effective system.
Regarding Claim 19, Dong in view of Lal as modified above teaches wherein the two stacked piezoelectric layers (see modification above) are connected to an inductor (see the spiral microstrip antenna 4 being connected to the sensor 5 of Dong which in view of Lal as modified above can be stacked piezoelectric layers, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 20, Dong in view of Lal as modified above teaches wherein the two stacked piezoelectric layers comprise a bottom transducer layer composed of a thin film AlN (aluminum nitride) piezoelectric based transducer (see for instance Figs. 20, 38, 39 of Lal illustrating AlN based transducer, see paragraphs [0114], [0138] – [0147] of Lal), and a top transducer layer based on PVDF piezoelectric transducer (see paragraph [0275] of Lal describing in one embodiment the polymer used is PVDF, therefore it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the combination of the AlN layer and the PVDF layer as claimed, since Lal teaches that modifications and enhancements can be made based on what is described in the Lal’s teachings, see paragraphs [0283] – [0285] of Lal, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 21, Dong in view of Lal teaches wherein the two stacked piezoelectric layers comprise a bottom transducer layer composed of a thin film AlN (aluminum nitride nitride) piezoelectric based transducer, and a top transducer layer based on PVDF piezoelectric transducer (see rejection of claim 20 above).
However, Dong in view of Lal does not explicitly teach the bottom transducer layer composed of AlScN (aluminum scandium nitride). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use AlScN (aluminum scandium nitride), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification provides higher piezoelectric and electromechanical performance with high CMOS compatibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Oh Min Seok et al. (KR 20190098556 A) teaches a biometric information measuring apparatus comprises: a transmission unit which transmits ultrasonic waves to a subject; a reception unit which receives the ultrasonic waves reflected from the subject; and a driving control unit which controls the transmission unit and the reception unit. The reception unit comprises: a first piezoelectric member; and a plurality of first electrodes. The transmission unit comprises: a second piezoelectric member placed apart in a first direction, having a plurality of piezoelectric bars which are placed to be parallel to a second direction, having a length in the second direction which is greater than the width in the first direction.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855