Specification
The title is objected to because of the following informalities: the title includes the word “Feflectometer” which appears to have a typographical error. Examiner suggests to replace “Feflectometer” with “Reflectometer” as per the description throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claims 20 and 21, the instant claims recite the limitation “PVDF” in line 3 of each claim. Although abbreviations can be used in claims, they must be defined the first time it appears in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the instant claim recites the limitation "the reflected ultrasonic pulse" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 17, 22 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107727125 A to Dong, Shu-rong et al. (hereinafter “Dong”).
Regarding Claim 1, Dong teaches an RF interrogation system (see abstract, see “Example 1” at line 29 page 4 – line 17 page 5 describing the device operating at central frequency of 4.8GHz, working in the ultra-high frequency (UHF) band, thus it will be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize RF interrogation system since the frequency range of the operating frequency of Dong is within the RF range) comprising:
a substrate (see page 4, lines30 – 38 at Example 1 describing the substrate 3, see Figs. 1, 3) with one or more piezoelectric transducers (see acoustic wave sensor 5, see page 4, lines 15 – 20, see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3);
at least one antenna (see spiral microstrip antenna 4, Fig. 1, see page 4, lines 15 – 38) connected to the substrate (3) or formed onto the substrate (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3);
one or more antenna terminals (see an end portion of the spiral microstrip antenna 4 at the connection region of the acoustic sensor 5 in Fig. 3) extending from the antenna (4) and connected to terminals of at least one piezoelectric transducer (see an end portion of the spiral microstrip antenna 4 at the connection region of the acoustic sensor 5 in Fig. 3, see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 which states “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode”, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
wherein the antenna (4) receives a radio frequency pulse and actuates at least one piezoelectric transducer (see page 4, lines 25 – 26, describing step S201 including “antenna 4 receives the wireless pulse interrogation signal as the excitation energy of film bulk acoustic wave sensor 5”, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
the piezoelectric transducer (5) generates an ultrasonic pulse that reflects off a back side of the substrate (see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 stating “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode and polyimide as a sound reflecting layer fixed on the polyimide substrate”, thus the polyimide or substrate layer serves as a sound reflecting layer, see also page 5, lines 26 – 31 describing the back etching of the silicon wafer is an acoustic reflecting layer, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
further wherein the reflected ultrasonic pulse is received at the piezoelectric transducer and drives the antenna that initially received the radio frequency pulse (see page 4, lines 27 – 28 describing the receiving antenna 4 returns signal modulated by the tested physical quantity such as temperature, humidity, and pressure to the wireless transceiver 1, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 22, Dong teaches a method for RF interrogation (see abstract, see “Example 1” at line 29 page 4 – line 17 page 5 describing the device operating at central frequency of 4.8GHz, working in the ultra-high frequency (UHF) band, thus it will be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize RF interrogation system since the frequency range of the operating frequency of Dong is within the RF range), comprising the steps of:
providing an RF interrogation system (see Figs. 1 – 3) comprising a substrate having a top surface and a back side (see page 4, lines 30 – 38 at Example 1 describing the substrate 3, Figs. 1, 2 as a polyimide substrate with a thickness of 500 um, thus having a top surface and back side as claimed), a piezoelectric transducer (see acoustic wave sensor 5, see page 4, lines 15 – 20, see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3) connected to the top surface of the substrate (see arrangement at Fig. 3), and an antenna (see spiral microstrip antenna 4, Fig. 1, see page 4, lines 15 – 38) attached to the piezoelectric transducer (see an end portion of the spiral microstrip antenna 4 at the connection region of the acoustic sensor 5 in Fig. 3, see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 which states “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Dong teaches a piezoelectric transducer as described above, Dong does not explicitly teach a plurality of piezoelectric transducers as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of piezoelectric transducers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The modification allows for enhanced sensitivity and robustness to environmental variations.
Dong as modified above further teaches;
generating, by at least one of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers (5), ultrasonic pulses (see page 4, lines 25 – 28 and page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing the antenna 4 receiving the wireless pulse interrogation signal as the excitation energy of the sensor 5 and the sensor 5 communicates the sensed signal (i.e., generates the pulses as claimed) such that the antenna returns a response signal of the sensed parameter to the wireless transceiver 1, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
reflecting the ultrasonic pulses off the back side of the substrate as reflected ultrasonic pulses (see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 4 stating “film bulk temperature sensor 5 having a gold upper electrode, zinc oxide piezoelectric layer sandwich structure of metal lower electrode and polyimide as a sound reflecting layer fixed on the polyimide substrate”, thus the polyimide or substrate layer serves as a sound reflecting layer, see also page 5, lines 26 – 31 describing the back etching of the silicon wafer is an acoustic reflecting layer, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
receiving the reflected ultrasonic pulses at piezoelectric transducers; and picking up reflected ultrasonic pulses by the antenna (see page 4, lines 25 – 28 and page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing the antenna 4 returns a response signal modulated by a measured physical quantity such as temperature, pressure and humidity to the wireless transceiver 1, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the antenna (4) is fabricated on a substrate and electrically connected to the piezoelectric transducers on the substrate (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3 which illustrates the antenna 4 fabricated on a substrate and electrically connected to the piezoelectric transducers 5 on the substrate).
Even though Dong teaches the antenna 4 fabricated on a substrate as described above, Dong is silent regarding the antenna 4 fabricated on a separate substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to fabricate the antenna on a separate substrate, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 5, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the antenna (4) is a coil antenna connected to at least one piezoelectric transducer (see arrangement at Fig. 3 illustrating spiral microstrip antenna 4, see also page 4, lines 30 – 36).
Regarding Claim 6, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the coil antenna has portions of different inductances (see arrangement of the spiral antenna 4, Fig. 3, thus due to the spiral’s physical construction, the surrounding environment and the operating frequency, the inductance will vary, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 7, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the substrate (see substrate 3, Figs. 1, 3) is a flexible polymer (see page 4, lines 30 – 38 describing the substrate as being flexible substrate of a polyimide material).
Regarding Claim 8, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the substrate is a silicon substrate (see claim 3 at page 6 describing the substrate material which can be different types of material including that of a polydimethylsiloxane, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 9, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the size of the substrate as 500 um thick (see page 4, lines 37 – 38). Even though Dong teaches the substrate as having thickness of 500 um, Dong is silent regarding the system is less than 500 um x 500 um x 500 um. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specified size, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The modification allows for a more compact size thus enhancing usability and cost of the system.
Regarding Claim 10, Dong as modified above teaches further comprising a sensitive coating on the substrate surfaces (see for instance page 3 lines 17 – 23 describing the film bulk acoustic wave sensor for sensing temperature, humidity pressure etc. with high sensor sensitivity, thus the film bulk acoustic wave sensor includes a layer (i.e., coating) that is sensitive to the parameter being detected, see also page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 17 descr4ibing the sensing layers of sensor 5, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 11, Dong as modified above teaches the system being used as a humidity sensor (see page 3, lines 17 – 23).
Even though Dong teaches the system being used as a humidity sensor as described above, Dong is silent regarding wherein the sensitive coating is a hygroscopic material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hygroscopic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for an improved moisture/humidity sensing.
Regarding Claims 12 and 23, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the antenna (4) transmits the reflected ultrasonic pulse as a RF signal (see page 4, line 25 – page 5, lines 1 – 4, describing the antenna 4 which returns the sensed parameter to the wireless transceiver 1 and the working signal being in the ultra-high frequency band range, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 13 and 24, Dong as modified above teaches further comprising a RF reader (see wireless transceiver 1 and interrogating antenna 2, Figs. 1, 3) spaced from the antenna (4, see arrangement at Figs. 1, 3), the RF reader configured to receive the RF signal from the antenna (see page 4, lines 27 – 28).
Regarding Claim 14, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the RF reader conducts correlation matching to extract at least one of amplitude and the time-of-flight of the ultrasonic pulse through the substrate (see page 3, lines 17 – 23).
Regarding Claim 15, Dong teaches further comprising an object to be imaged contacting the bottom surface of the substrate (see page 4, line 37 – page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing the substrate 3 which can be adhered on the skin such as a curved surface, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 16, Dong as modified above teaches wherein the reflected ultrasonic pulses comprise RF waves emanating at different phases (see page 3, lines 9 – 23).
Regarding Claim 17, Dong as modified above teaches the ultrasonic pulses are generated from the piezoelectric transducer to generate a focused ultrasonic pulse (see page 4, lines 24 – 38 – page 5, lines 1 – 8 describing acoustic pulses generated from the acoustic wave sensor 5 and being received by the antenna 4, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Dong teaches ultrasonic pulses generated from the piezoelectric transducer as described above, Dong does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic pulses generated from two or more piezoelectric transducers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of piezoelectric transducers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The modification allows for enhanced sensitivity and robustness to environmental variations.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 18 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0355381 A1 to Lal et al. (hereinafter “Lal”).
Regarding Claim 2, Dong teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the substrate is a CMOS chip with the piezoelectric transducers, patterned thin metal film inductors, and transistor electronics to process data and harvest RF energy integrated therewith.
Lal, in the field of semiconductor technologies, teaches wherein the substrate is a CMOS chip with the piezoelectric transducers, patterned thin metal film inductors, and transistor electronics to process data and harvest RF energy integrated therewith (see paragraph [0012] describing a monolithic ultrasonic scanner including an acoustic matching layer to provide a contact surface, an array of piezoelectric transducers, see paragraph [0114] and Figs. 1A – 1F describing the piezoelectric transducer elements 130 of the device 100 and further describes the CMOS layer 132 over the substrate 131, see also paragraph [0217] describing the thin film piezoelectric transducers in the area of RF MEMS being CMOS compatible, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the semiconductor material/technologies of Lal into Dong, in order to allow compact design with improved robustness and reliability (see also additional advantages at paragraphs [0103] and [0247] of Lal).
Regarding Claim 3, Dong in view of Lal as modified above teaches where the thin metal film inductors are formed by connecting metal layers available in the CMOS chip (see paragraphs [0089] – [0115] and Figs. 1A – 1F of Lal illustrating metal layer structures such as 133, 134a – c in the CMOS chip, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 18, Dong teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the piezoelectric transducer is formed with two stacked piezoelectric layers sharing a common electrode to form two transducers in parallel.
Lal, in the field of semiconductor technologies, teaches wherein the piezoelectric transducer is formed with two stacked piezoelectric layers sharing a common electrode to form two transducers in parallel (see paragraphs [0010], [0090], [0104] and [0139] which described the disclosed array of CMOS-integrated piezoelectric transducers integrated into a 3D chip-stack, thus reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stacked piezoelectric layers of Lal into Dong, in order to be able to efficiently transmit pulses. The modification further allows for more compact and cost effective system.
Regarding Claim 19, Dong in view of Lal as modified above teaches wherein the two stacked piezoelectric layers (see modification above) are connected to an inductor (see the spiral microstrip antenna 4 being connected to the sensor 5 of Dong which in view of Lal as modified above can be stacked piezoelectric layers, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 20, Dong in view of Lal as modified above teaches wherein the two stacked piezoelectric layers comprise a bottom transducer layer composed of a thin film AlN (aluminum nitride) piezoelectric based transducer (see for instance Figs. 20, 38, 39 of Lal illustrating AlN based transducer, see paragraphs [0114], [0138] – [0147] of Lal), and a top transducer layer based on PVDF piezoelectric transducer (see paragraph [0275] of Lal describing in one embodiment the polymer used is PVDF, therefore it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the combination of the AlN layer and the PVDF layer as claimed, since Lal teaches that modifications and enhancements can be made based on what is described in the Lal’s teachings, see paragraphs [0283] – [0285] of Lal, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 21, Dong in view of Lal teaches wherein the two stacked piezoelectric layers comprise a bottom transducer layer composed of a thin film AlN (aluminum nitride nitride) piezoelectric based transducer, and a top transducer layer based on PVDF piezoelectric transducer (see rejection of claim 20 above).
However, Dong in view of Lal does not explicitly teach the bottom transducer layer composed of AlScN (aluminum scandium nitride). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use AlScN (aluminum scandium nitride), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification provides higher piezoelectric and electromechanical performance with high CMOS compatibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Liu et al. (U.S. 2006/0230833 A1) teaches wireless oil filter sensor which uses an interdigital surface wave device 100. Shear horizontal surface wave device (SH-SAW) 100 generally includes an interdigital transducer 106 formed on a piezoelectric substrate 104. The surface wave device 100 can be implemented in the context of a sensor chip. Interdigital transducer 106 can be configured in the form of an electrode, depending upon design considerations.
Bolorforosh et al. (U.S. 2004/0002655 A1) teaches system and method for improved transducer thermal design using thermos-electric cooling. The system further uses a transducer assembly 138 according to a first embodiment. The assembly 138 includes a backing layer 102, a piezo-electric layer 104, impedance matching layer 106, and a mechanical lens 108. The piezo-electric layer 104 is preferably a PZT layer 104.
Han, Tao et al. (CN 102889923 A) teaches a vibrating sensor based on surface acoustic wave radio frequency identification technology.
McIntyre (U.S. 2017/0070204 A1) teaches a method involves providing a piezoelectric substrate layer (14). A sensor layer is printed on the substrate layer by aerosol jet direct digital printing, where the sensor layer comprises an interdigitated acoustic wave transducer (18), a sensing film, another interdigitated acoustic wave transducer (22), and a Bragg reflector.
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855