DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sengupta et al. (USPGPub 2022/0322477).
As per claim 1, Sengupta teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Sengupta, see paragraph [0047], a user equipment (UE)) comprising:
at least one memory; (Sengupta, see paragraph [0133], memory coupled with) and
at least one processor (Sengupta, see paragraph [0133], a processor) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a system information block in a system information window (Sengupta, see paragraph [0098], UE 115-a may receive the ephemeris information in a system information block from network node)
start or restart a synchronization validity timer based on a configured value in the system information block and an end of the system information window where the system information block is received (Sengupta, see paragraph [0101], UE 115-a initiating a radio link failure (RLF), …initiating an RLF timer, or any combination thereof. In some examples, resetting the synchronization timer may be based on UE 115-a acquiring the global navigation satellite system fix).
As per claim 2, Sengupta teaches the UE of Claim 1, wherein the system information block comprises one or more of updated satellite ephemeris information or common timing advance information (Sengupta, see paragraph [0098], UE 115-a may receive the ephemeris information in a system information block from network node).
As per claim 3, Sengupta teaches the UE of claim 1 wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to start or reset the synchronization validity timer upon receiving the system information block and determine information of the synchronization validity timer based on one or more of the system information window (Sengupta, see paragraph [0098], UE 115-a may receive the ephemeris information in a system information block from network node 120-a. In some cases, UE 115-a may acquire the global navigation satellite system fix from a network of satellites) or a broadcast control channel (BCCH) modification window including to determine a length of the synchronization validity timer based on a configured value and an offset and wherein the offset is a time interval from receipt of the system information block to one or more of a start or an end of the system information window or the BCCH modification window (Sengupta, see paragraph [0097], a timer that is originally configured to indicate a validity of a timing advance of a terrestrial network (e.g., a MAC timer) may be configured to indicate a validity of the synchronization associated with the connection between the UE 115-a and the network node 120-a in addition to indicating the validity of the timing advance).
As per claim 4, Sengupta teaches the UE of claim 3 wherein the configured value is configured in the system infiltration block. (Sengupta, see paragraph [0097], a timer that is originally configured to indicate a validity of a timing advance of a terrestrial network (e.g., a MAC timer) may be configured to indicate a validity of the synchronization associated with the connection between the UE 115-a and the network node 120-a in addition to indicating the validity of the timing advance).
As per claim 5, Sengupta teaches the UE of Claim 3, wherein the configured value is associated with one or more of a satellite ephemeris or a moving speed of a serving satellite (Sengupta, see paragraph [0011], resetting the synchronization timer based on the UE receiving ephemeris information from the network node of the non-terrestrial network).
As per claim 6, Sengupta teaches the method of Claim 3, wherein the configured value is one or more of an integer multiple of a length of the BCCH modification window or an integer multiple of a length of a system information window. (Sengupta, see paragraph [0068], Each slot may include a number of symbol periods (e.g., depending on the length of the cyclic prefix prepended to each symbol period)).
As per claim 7, Sengupta teaches the UE of claim 3 wherein the configured value is based on a time offset drift rate (Sengupta, see paragraph [0093], the synchronization associated with the connection between UE 115-a and network node 120-a may include a time-based synchronization of the connection, or a frequency-based synchronization of the connection, or a Doppler frequency offset of the connection).
As per claim 8,
[Rejection rational for claim 3 is applicable].
As per claim 9, Sengupta teaches the UE of Claim 8, wherein a length of the synchronization validity timer is one or more of an integer multiple of a length of the BCCH modification window or an integer multiple of a length of a system information window (Sengupta, see paragraph [0149], resetting the synchronization timer based on the UE receiving ephemeris information from the network node of the non-terrestrial network, or the UE acquiring the UE's location via a global navigation satellite system fix based on signals received from a set of multiple positioning satellites separate from the non-terrestrial network).
As per claim 10, Sengupta teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein a length of the synchronization validity timer is based on a time offset drift rate (Sengupta, see paragraph [0037], the synchronization timer includes a media access control timer that indicates a validity of a Doppler frequency offset associated with communication between the UE and the non-terrestrial network and that indicates a validity of a timing advance of a terrestrial network).
As per claim 11, Sengupta teaches the UE of claim 1 wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit Global Navigation satellite system (GNSS) timer configuration assist information (Sengupta, see paragraph [0053], …the frequency synchronization being out of range, loss of GNSS fix, expiry of ephemeris information (e.g., expiry of NTN serving satellite ephemeris information), expiry of a time synchronization timer, expiry of a frequency synchronization timer, expiry of a media access control (MAC) timer).
As per claim 12, Sengupta teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the GNSS timer configuration assist information comprises at least one of a GNSS measurement period a GNSS measurement window or a length of a GNSS validity timer (Sengupta, see paragraph [0053], The synchronization failure event may include the time synchronization being out of range (e.g., outside of a range constraint), the frequency synchronization being out of range, loss of GNSS fix, expiry of ephemeris information (e.g., expiry of NTN serving satellite ephemeris information), expiry of a time synchronization timer, expiry of a frequency synchronization timer, expiry of a media access control (MAC) timer, or any combination thereof. In some cases, the synchronization timer may include a frequency alignment timer that is dedicated to the non-terrestrial network and that indicates a validity of a Doppler frequency offset associated with communication between the UE and the non-terrestrial network.)
As per claim 13, Sengupta teaches a user equipment (UE) (Sengupta, see paragraph [0047], a user equipment (UE)) for wireless communication comprising:
at least one memory (Sengupta, see paragraph [0133], memory coupled with) and at least one processor (Sengupta, see paragraph [0133], a processor) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to
transmit Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) timer configuration assist information the GNSS timer configuration assist information comprising at least one of a GNSS measurement period, a GNSS measurement window length or a length of a GNSS validity timer (Sengupta, see paragraph [0105], the UE 115-a may transmit a message to another NTN device (e.g., network node 120-a, base station 105-a) that indicates the synchronization failure event (e.g., synchronization error), or that a timer associated with the NTN has expired, or identifies the timer that has expired (e.g., time synchronization timer expired, frequency synchronization timer expired, ephemeris information timer expired, GNSS fix timer expired, etc.), or that a timer is reset (e.g., time synchronization timer reset, frequency synchronization timer reset, ephemeris information timer reset, GNSS fix timer reset).
As per claim 14, Sengupta teaches a base station (Sengupta, see paragraph [0047], base station) for wireless communication comprising: at least one memory; (Sengupta, see paragraph [0133], memory coupled with) and at least one processor (Sengupta, see paragraph [0133], a processor) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
receive Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) timer configuration assist information, the GNSS timer configuration assist information comprising at least one of a GNSS measurement period, aGNSS measurement window length, and or a length of a GNSS validity timer (Sengupta, see paragraph [0105], the UE 115-a may transmit (Examiner Note: this is received by the base station) a message to another NTN device (e.g., network node 120-a, base station 105-a) that indicates the synchronization failure event (e.g., synchronization error), or that a timer associated with the NTN has expired, or identifies the timer that has expired (e.g., time synchronization timer expired, frequency synchronization timer expired, ephemeris information timer expired, GNSS fix timer expired, etc.), or that a timer is reset (e.g., time synchronization timer reset, frequency synchronization timer reset, ephemeris information timer reset, GNSS fix timer reset).
As per claim 16,
[Rejection rational for claim 1 is applicable].
As per claim 17, Sengupta teaches the processor of Claim 16, wherein the system information block comprises one or more of updated satellite ephemeris information or common timing advance information (Sengupta, see paragraph [0098], UE 115-a may receive the ephemeris information in a system information block from network node).
As per claim 18, Sengupta teaches The processor of Claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to: start or restart the synchronization validity timer upon receiving the system information block, and determine information of the synchronization validity timer based on one or more of the system information window (Sengupta, see paragraph [0098], UE 115-a may receive the ephemeris information in a system information block from network node 120-a. In some cases, UE 115-a may acquire the global navigation satellite system fix from a network of satellites) or a broadcast control channel (BCCH) modification window, including to determine a length of the synchronization validity timer based on a configured value and an offset, and wherein the offset is a time interval from receipt of the system information block to one or more of a start or an end of the system information window or the BCCH modification window (Sengupta, see paragraph [0097], a timer that is originally configured to indicate a validity of a timing advance of a terrestrial network (e.g., a MAC timer) may be configured to indicate a validity of the synchronization associated with the connection between the UE 115-a and the network node 120-a in addition to indicating the validity of the timing advance).
As per claim 19, Sengupta teaches the processor of Claim 18, wherein the configured value is configured in the system information block (Sengupta, see paragraph [0097], a timer that is originally configured to indicate a validity of a timing advance of a terrestrial network (e.g., a MAC timer) may be configured to indicate a validity of the synchronization associated with the connection between the UE 115-a and the network node 120-a in addition to indicating the validity of the timing advance).
As per claim 20, Sengupta teaches the processor of Claim 18, wherein the configured value is associated with one or more of a satellite ephemeris or a moving speed of a serving satellite (Sengupta, see paragraph [0011], resetting the synchronization timer based on the UE receiving ephemeris information from the network node of the non-terrestrial network).
As per claim 21, Sengupta teaches the processor of claim 16 wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to transmit Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) timer configuration assist information wherein the GNSS timer configuration assist information comprises at least one of a GNSS measurement period a GNSS measurement window length or a length of a GNSS validity timer (Sengupta, see paragraph [0053], The synchronization failure event may include the time synchronization being out of range (e.g., outside of a range constraint), the frequency synchronization being out of range, loss of GNSS fix, expiry of ephemeris information (e.g., expiry of NTN serving satellite ephemeris information), expiry of a time synchronization timer, expiry of a frequency synchronization timer, expiry of a media access control (MAC) timer, or any combination thereof. In some cases, the synchronization timer may include a frequency alignment timer that is dedicated to the non-terrestrial network and that indicates a validity of a Doppler frequency offset associated with communication between the UE and the non-terrestrial network.)
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449