DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/02/2024 where claims 16-35 are pending. Claims 1-15 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 02/02/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 -21,25, 26, 27-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 20220159741 A1 ) hereinafter Hoang and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20230189342 A1)hereinafter Lin
As to claim 16. Hoang teaches A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising:
a processor configured to: ([0033] Fig. 1B, a processor coupled to the transceiver 120 transmit and receives)
receive radio resource control (RRC) configuration information ([0106] WTRY receive the TAC mode via any of a MAC CE and an RRC message.)
that indicates a first set of physical random access (PRACH) resources associated with a first feature combination and a second set of PRACH resources associated with a second feature combination; ([0126] [0137] Fig. 3, WTRU may be configured with multiple PRACH preamble/feature groups; number of PRACH preambles assigned to the SSB is N_Preamble, then the size of each PRACH group is N_Preamble/N_pg., where N_pg=2 and N_Preamble=64, 32 of the 64 32 of the 64 (i.e., 64/2=32) preambles are allocated to each of the first and second PRACH preamble groups.)
determine that a third feature combination is applicable to a PRACH transmission; ([0143][0144]Fig. 1a,Fig. 5, WTRU 102 may be configured with a set of preambles and 2 select a preamble group and a preamble within the group based on a selected delay difference period; PRACH selection window 503 with third delay difference for preamble group/third PRACH with preamble ).
wherein the third feature combination includes a plurality of features,([0144] Fig. 5, a third delay difference period 507-3. Includes plurality PRACH preambles) and
the first feature has the highest configured feature priority among the plurality of features; ([0130][0131] WTRU may select a preamble group based on a location of the PRACH resource/ a PRACH configuration, with a longer sequence length and/or a higher number of repetitions if it is a high priority WTRU )
determine to use one of the first or second set of PRACH resources for the PRACH transmission ([0137] Fig. 3, WTRU may determine the number of preamble groups, the WTRU may divide the set of preambles into two equal size preamble groups, first and second preamble groups 305-1, 305-2; first preamble group 305-1 may be allocated to the first possible time for the PRACH transmission and the second preamble group 305-2 may be allocated to the second possible time for the PRACH transmission )
based on the configured feature priority associated with the first feature([0130][0131] WTRU may select a preamble group based on a location of the PRACH resource/ a PRACH configuration with a longer sequence length and/or a higher number of repetitions if it is a high priority WTRU )
and send the PRACH transmission using the determined first or second set of PRACH resources. ([0160]Fig. 1A, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, WTRU 102 may transmit the selected preamble using a PRACH resource corresponding to the one candidate PRACH occasion)
Hoang does not teach determine a configured feature priority associated with a first feature of the third feature combination,
Lin teaches determine a configured feature priority associated with a first feature of the third feature combination([0143][0144] Fig. 14, UE uses he PRACH configuration , UE transmitting a random access, RA, preamble to the access point, the preamble transmitted by the UE belongs to a set of preambles e.g., includes first preamble, third preamble etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Hoang because Lin teaches that a priority value based on the PRACH configuration that was used by the first UE to transmit the RA preamble would enable more flexible prioritization of RAR transmissions for a particular category of UEs e.g., high priority UEs.(Lin [0059]
Claim 27 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
As to claim 17. The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Lin teaches , wherein the determination to use one of the first or second set of PRACH resources for the PRACH transmission is further based on the first feature being in the first or second feature combination. ([0116] [0121]the first UE selecting (s1006) a first random access, RA, preamble; the first UE transmitting (s1008) the selected RA preamble to the access point during a particular symbol of a particular slot; wherein s_id is the index of the particular symbol, t_id is the index of the particular slot, f_id is the index of the particular PRACH occasion in the frequency domain that was used by the first UE to transmit the first RA preamble)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Hoang because Lin teaches that a priority value based on the PRACH configuration that was used by the first UE to transmit the RA preamble would enable more flexible prioritization of RAR transmissions for a particular category of UEs e.g., high priority UEs.(Lin [0059]
Claim 28 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 17.
As to claim 18 The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the first feature is in the first feature combination,([0033][0126]Fig. 1A, Fig. 6, The WTRU 102 may select one PRACH occasion to transmit Msg1 based on which of the delay difference periods 607-1, 607-2 includes the selected PRACH occasion, the WTRU 102 may select either the first preamble group 605-1 or the second preamble group 605-2, first preamble group includes first preamble).the determination that the first feature is in the first feature combination, the first set of PRACH resources is determined to be used for the PRACH transmission, ([0126][0127] WTRU may be configured/determine with multiple PRACH preamble groups; each PRACH preamble group may correspond to a (e.g., one) range of Tas, based on a value of an estimated TA, the WTRU may select an appropriate PRACH resource and/or PRACH preamble group/first combination,).
and
the PRACH transmission is sent using the first set of PRACH resources. ([0164] Fig. 1A, the WTRU 102 may select a PRACH resource corresponding to the one candidate PRACH occasion and based on frequency hopping configured by the network, and may transmit the selected preamble using that PRACH resource)
Hoang does not teach wherein, based on the configured feature priority associated with the first feature and
Lin teaches wherein, based on the configured feature priority associated with the first feature and wherein, based on the configured feature priority associated with the first feature and([0102] UE priorities share the same PRACH occasion configuration but are differentiated by using different sets of preamble indexes per PRACH occasion,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Hoang because Lin teaches that a priority value based on the PRACH configuration that was used by the first UE to transmit the RA preamble would enable more flexible prioritization of RAR transmissions for a particular category of UEs e.g., high priority UEs.(Lin [0059]
Claim 29 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 18.
As to claim 19 The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Lin teaches, wherein the first set of PRACH resources indicates a preamble and an RACH occasion associated with the preamble. ([0018] Fig. 3, RRC parameter totalNumberOfRA-Preambles determines how many of these 64 sequences are used as random-access preambles per PRACH occasion in each cell; first PRACH occasion.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Hoang because Lin teaches that a priority value based on the PRACH configuration that was used by the first UE to transmit the RA preamble would enable more flexible prioritization of RAR transmissions for a particular category of UEs e.g., high priority UEs.(Lin [0059]
Claim 30 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 19.
As to claim 20. The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches wherein the third feature combination is different from the first feature combination and the second feature combination, ([0143][0144]Fig. 1a,Fig. 5, WTRU 102 may be configured with a set of preambles and select a preamble group and a preamble within the group based on a selected delay difference period; PRACH selection window 503 with third delay difference 507-3 for preamble group/third PRACH with preamble, different than first and second )
wherein the first feature is in the first feature combination and not in the second feature combination, ([0144]Fig. 1A, Fig. 5a PRACH selection window 503 following the SSB 501.sub.n, a first preamble group 505-1, a second preamble group 505-2, a first delay difference period 507-1, a second delay difference period 507-2, first group is different than second group )
and wherein the first set of PRACH resources is determined to be used for the PRACH transmission. ([0149] the WTRU may be configured to select different frequency resources to transmit Msg1 based on its PRACH transmission time within the delay difference period)
Claim 31 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20.
As to claim 21. The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the third feature combination is used to initiate a random access procedure that comprises sending the PRACH transmission,([0149][0151] Fig. 2,Fig. 7, the WTRU 102 may be configured with three PRACH transmission times e.g., includes third preamble, within at least the first delay difference period 707-1 Based on the time index of the PRACH occasion within the delay difference period, the WTRU may determine the frequency to transmit Msg1 i.e., initiate random access).
and
wherein the determination that the third feature combination is applicable to the PRACH transmission is based on the determination that the third feature combination is used to initiate the random access procedure. ,([0149][0151] Fig. 2,Fig. 7, the WTRU 102 may be configured with three PRACH transmission times e.g., includes third preamble, within at least the first delay difference period 707-1 Based on the time index of the PRACH occasion within the delay difference period, the WTRU may determine the frequency to transmit Msg1 i.e., initiate random access).
Claim 32 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
As to claim 25. The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches, wherein RRC configuration information ([0106] WTRU receive the TAC mode via any of a MAC CE and an RRC message.)
The combination of Hoang and Lin does not teach indicates a respective configured feature priority for each feature of the plurality of features.
Lei teaches indicates a respective configured feature priority for each feature of the plurality of features. ([0102] UE priorities/different UE priorities, share the same PRACH occasion configuration but are differentiated by using different sets of preamble indexes per PRACH occasions e.g., plurality of preambles)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lei with the teaching of Hoang and Lin because Lei teaches that UE 1 may apply dynamic power sharing or other power control schemes to enable coverage enhancement for UE located at the cell edge. (Lei [0063])
As to claim 26. The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches wherein the processor is further configured to receive system information, ([108 Fig. 2, a WTRU 102 may receive, and may read, a master information block (MIB) (not shown) and/or a system information block-1 (SIB1))
wherein the system information indicates a respective configured feature priority for each feature of the plurality of features,([0127] WTRU may select a PRACH configuration to transmit Msg1, WTRU receive SIB with priority level of WTRU, WTRU configured with multiple PRACH preamble groups, the WTRU may select an appropriate PRACH resource and/or PRACH preamble group)
wherein the configured feature priority associated with the first feature is determined based on the system information. ([0130][0131] WTRU may select a preamble group based on a location of the PRACH resource/ a PRACH configuration with a longer sequence length and/or a higher number of repetitions if it is a high priority WTRU )
Claim(s) 22, 24, 33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang, Lin and further in view of Lei et al. (US 20200305201 A1)hereinafter Lei
As to claim 22. The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches wherein the first feature corresponds to a capability of the WTRU( [0137] Fig. 3, he WTRU may select a PRACH configuration based on its capability, WTRU may be configured with multiple PRACH preamble/feature groups, the first preamble group 305-1) and
The combination of Hoang does not teach wherein the capability of the WTRU is one of: RedCap; small data transmission (SDT); coverage enhancement or Msg3 repetition; or slicing.
Lei teaches capability of the WTRU is one of: RedCap; small data transmission (SDT); coverage enhancement or Msg3 repetition; or slicing.([0063] UE is capable of coverage enhancement)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lei with the teaching of Hoang and Lin because Lei teaches that UE 1 may apply dynamic power sharing or other power control schemes to enable coverage enhancement for UE located at the cell edge. (Lei [0063])
Claim 33 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 22.
As to claim 24 The combination of Hoang and Lin specifically Hoang teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to receive radio resource control (RRC) configuration information, ([0106] WTRU receive the TAC mode via any of a MAC CE and an RRC message.)
The combination of Hoang and Lin does not teach and wherein the configured feature priority associated with the first feature is determined based on the RRC configuration information.
Lei teaches and wherein the configured feature priority associated with the first feature is determined based on the RRC configuration information. ([0092] Fig. 1, UE 120 is in an RRC active state, UE 120 assist RAM payload by treating the RAM payload with the same high priority as the RAM preamble)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lei with the teaching of Hoang and Lin because Lei teaches that UE 1 may apply dynamic power sharing or other power control schemes to enable coverage enhancement for UE located at the cell edge. (Lei [0063])
Claim 35 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 23 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 23 and 34 prior art Nazanin et al. [US 20240032103 A1] teaches in para [[0328] RACH partitioning may be considered for early identification of multiple new and/or different features, such as RedCap, Small Data Transmission (SDT), coverage enhancement, and slicing. For example, RRC/SIB1 may configure a first RACH configuration for RedCap to indicate reduced capabilities to the network in MSG1 so that the network can adapt subsequent transmissions. For example, RRC/SIB1 may configure a second RACH configuration for SDT to enable the UE to request a larger MSG3 size (or MSGA size in case of 2-step RA). For example, RRC/SIB1 may configure a third RACH configuration for coverage enhancement to enable the UE to indicate need for coverage enhancement (esp. for request of MSG3 repetition). For example, RRC/SIB1 may configure a fourth RACH configuration for slicing to indicate high priority slice to the network and to achieve slice isolation also for RACH.
And prior art HE et al. [US 20230038191 A1] discloses in para [0110] In a tenth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through ninth aspects, the prioritized order includes a highest priority for the first RACH feature associated with uplink selection, a next highest priority for the second RACH feature associated with the UE type, a next highest priority for the third RACH feature associated with network slicing, a next highest priority for the fourth RACH feature associated with the RACH procedure type, a next highest priority for one or more of the fifth RACH feature associated with the coverage enhancement or the sixth RACH feature associated with the SDT, and a lowest priority for the seventh RACH feature associated with preamble groupings
However, combination or prior arts records Nazanin and HE does not teach
wherein the plurality of features comprises small data transmission (SDT), slicing, RedCap, and coverage enhancement,
wherein the first feature is SDT, and
wherein the configured feature priority associated with SDT is higher than a configured feature priority associated with slicing,
the configured feature priority associated with slicing is higher than a configured feature priority associated with RedCap, and
the configuredfeature priority associated with RedCap is higher than a configured feature priority associated with coverage enhancement.
Therefore, claims 23 and 34 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan et al. [US 11083010 B2] Integrated access and backhaul associated with NR
Li et al. [US 20230199862 A1] MESSAGE PRIORITIZATION IN RANDOM ACCESS PROCEDURE
Rastegardoost; Nazanin et al. [US 20200314913 A1] Selecting a Random Access Procedure Type in a Wireless System
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413