DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-21, and 23 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024, 11/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 16-17, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 2016/0088066) and in view of Auvenshine (US 2018/0103084).
Re Claim 1, Thomas discloses 1. A cloud desktop data migration method, comprising:
determining, according to attribute information of a cloud desktop logged in by a terminal, whether to migrate user data, wherein the attribute information of the cloud desktop logged in by the terminal is information determined according to acquired configuration information of a management node ([0013],[0015], Solutions for migrating a virtual desktop between locations is to improve performance by reducing network latency, increase bandwidth (attribute information). It may be determined a user’s cloud desktop should be migrated from a current region to a destination region based on network latency).
Thomas does not disclose, however Auvenshine discloses determining, when it is determined to migrate the user data, hotspot data according to access popularity corresponding to the user data ([0069], the migration project comprise migration-readiness assessment characterizing data elements to be migrated as relatively “hot” or “cold”. [0135], relative degree of hotness of each element can be considered to be hotter if it is access more frequently.); and
migrating the hotspot data ([0072]-[0073], determine if certain hot, sensitive hot, cold data are to be migrated. When it comprises both hot and cold data, sensitive or nonsensitive data, it may be necessary to “sanitize” the volume prior to migration by removing any information that the business deems infeasible or too expensive to migrate safely, legally, ethically, or cost-effectively.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Thomas’s Data migration system with Auvenshine’s data-migration system to determine which data to migrate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow migration plans to include the expenses or feasibility to migrate certain types of “hot” or sensitive data.
Re claim 2, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Thomas for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Auvenshine discloses wherein the user data comprises: a plurality of files to be processed; determining, when it is determined to migrate the user data, hotspot data according to access popularity corresponding to the user data comprises: acquiring, when it is determined to migrate the user data, access information corresponding to each file to be processed; determining, according to the access information corresponding to each file to be processed, a popularity value of each file to be processed; ranking the plurality of files to be processed according to the popularity value of each file to be processed to obtain a ranking result; and screening, based on the ranking result, the plurality of files to be processed to obtain the hotspot data. ([0072]-[0073], determine if certain hot, sensitive hot, cold data are to be migrated. When it comprises both hot and cold data, sensitive or nonsensitive data, it may be necessary to “sanitize” the volume prior to migration by removing any information that the business deems infeasible or too expensive to migrate safely, legally, ethically, or cost-effectively.)
Re claim 3, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Thomas for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Auvenshine discloses wherein the access information corresponding to each file to be processed comprises: any one or more of a data type of the file to be processed, time information of the file to be processed, access path information of the file to be processed, or a data volume of the file to be processed. ([0006], If government regulations or industry conventions require that enhanced security procedures be implemented to move a volume of sensitive data, the additional cost, resources, or time required for compliance. [0072]-[0073], determine if certain hot, sensitive hot, cold data are to be migrated. When the volume comprises both hot and cold data, sensitive or nonsensitive data, it may be necessary to “sanitize” the volume prior to migration by removing any information that the business deems infeasible or too expensive to migrate safely, legally, ethically, or cost-effectively.)
Re claim 4, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Thomas for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Auvenshine discloses wherein the time information of the file to be processed comprises: historical access time of the file to be processed; and determining, according to the access information corresponding to each file to be processed, the popularity value of each file to be processed comprises: acquiring current time; determining a time weight according to the historical access time of the file to be processed and the current time; and determining a popularity value of the file to be processed according to the time weight and the data volume of the file to be processed ( [0006], If government regulations or industry conventions require that enhanced security procedures be implemented to move a volume of sensitive data, the additional cost, resources, or time required for compliance. ), or,
wherein determining, according to the access information corresponding to each file to be processed, the popularity value of each file to be processed comprises: determining, according to the data type of the file to be processed, a weight of the data type corresponding to the file to be processed; and determining a popularity value of the file to be processed according to the weight of the data type, the data volume of the file to be processed, a time weight in the time information of the file to be processed, and a path weight in the access path information of the file to be processed.
Re claim 6, Thomas discloses wherein the cloud desktop data migration method is applied to a service node comprising: a home service node, or the home service node and a roaming service node, wherein the home service node is a service node for a user account at a home location, and the roaming service node is a service node for the user account at a roaming location ([0013],[0015], Solutions for migrating a virtual desktop between locations is to improve performance by reducing network latency, increase bandwidth (attribute information). It may be determined a user’s cloud desktop should be migrated from a current region to a destination region based on network latency.);; and
the cloud desktop data migration method further comprises: after determining, according to attribute information of the cloud desktop logged in by the terminal, whether to migrate user data, reading the user data in a storage unit corresponding to the service node ([0013],[0015], Solutions for migrating a virtual desktop between locations is to improve performance by reducing network latency, increase bandwidth (attribute information). It may be determined a user’s cloud desktop should be migrated from a current region to a destination region based on network latency).
Re claim 7, Thomas discloses wherein the storage unit corresponding to the service node comprises: a shared storage unit corresponding to the home service node, and a local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node ([0013],[0015], A user’s cloud desktop in the current region or migrated to a destination region based on network latency, bandwidth, etc.). One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Thomas for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Auvenshine discloses reading the user data in the storage unit corresponding to the service node comprises: when it is determined that the user data is stored in the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node, reading the user data from the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node; and when it is determined that the user data is not stored in the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node, reading the user data from the shared storage unit corresponding to the home service node, or,
wherein migrating the hotspot data comprises: migrating the hotspot data stored in the storage unit corresponding to the home service node to the storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node ([0072]-[0073], determine if certain hot, sensitive hot, cold data are to be migrated. When it comprises both hot and cold data, sensitive or nonsensitive data, it may be necessary to “sanitize” the volume prior to migration by removing any information that the business deems infeasible or too expensive to migrate safely, legally, ethically, or cost-effectively.)
Re claim 16, Thomas discloses wherein the attribute information of the cloud desktop comprises:
a desktop roaming identifier ([0017], being able to identify the destination region the cloud desktop will be migrated to); and
determining, according to attribute information of the cloud desktop logged in by the terminal, whether to migrate user data comprises:
determining to migrate the user data when it is determined that the desktop roaming identifier corresponding to the cloud desktop logged in by the terminal represents that a user account logged in the cloud desktop supports data roaming (([0017], being able to identify the destination region the cloud desktop of the user will be migrated to suggests that the cloud desktop supports data to another cloud at another region (roaming).
Re Claim 17, Thomas discloses A cloud desktop data migration method, comprising: generating configuration information according to acquired attribute information of a cloud desktop logged in by a terminal ([0027], cloud desktop session refers to when a user is logged into a session); and
sending the configuration information to a service node so that the service node determines, according to the attribute information of the cloud desktop logged in by the terminal, whether to migrate user data ([0013],[0015], Solutions for migrating a virtual desktop between locations is to improve performance by reducing network latency, increase bandwidth (attribute information). It may be determined a user’s cloud desktop should be migrated from a current region to a destination region based on network latency.),
Thomas does not disclose, however Auvenshine discloses when it is determined to migrate the user data, determines hotspot data according to access popularity corresponding to the user data, and migrates the hotspot data (Auvenshine [0069] In one example, a migration project may comprise a migration-readiness assessment that characterizes certain data elements to be migrated, such as a volume, folder, or file, as being relatively “hot” or “cold.” Such a “hot/cold” characterization is common in the information technology industry, and identifies how often an element of data is expected to be accessed.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Thomas’s Data migration system with Auvenshine’s data-migration system to determine which data to migrate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow migration plans to include the expenses or feasibility to migrate certain types of “hot” or sensitive data.
With respect to claims 19-21 and 23, they are similar to claims 1 and 17 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas and in view of Auvenshine and in view of Davis (US 2014/0006357).
Re Claim 9, Thomas and Auvenshine does not disclose, however Davis discloses after acquiring the updated data fed back from the terminal ([0433], The two (or more) cloud controllers update their internal tracking structures to reflect the change and distribute updated namespace mappings to all of the cloud controllers. Davis discloses in [0149] The cloud controller can compare the set of file identifiers for the data blocks in the cloud file to determine which data blocks from the cloud file should be opportunistically cached; unrelated data blocks are not cached.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Thomas and Auvenshine’s cloud with Davis’s cloud control system to determine which data will need to update their internal structures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow the controllers to reflect changes in other controllers that need to be updated.
Re Claim 14, Thomas and Auvenshine does not disclose, however Davis discloses after migrating the hotspot data and when it is determined that the service node comprises the home service node and the roaming service node, clearing data in a local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node (Davis [0124], cloud controllers receiving metadata updates can access data from cloud files. A cloud controller that has uploaded data can flush data that has been uploaded from its local file system by clearing its cache).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Thomas and Auvenshine’s cloud with Davis’s cloud control system to determine which data will need to be cleared. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to clear the local cache to free local disk space.
Re Claim 15, Auvenshine discloses when it is determined to clear data in the cache space of the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node, clearing the data in the cache space of the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node according to access popularity and a preset popularity threshold of the data in the cache space of the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node ([0069] In one example, a migration project may comprise a migration-readiness assessment that characterizes certain data elements to be migrated, such as a volume, folder, or file, as being relatively “hot” or “cold.” Such a “hot/cold” characterization is common in the information technology industry, and identifies how often an element of data is expected to be accessed.). One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Thomas and Auvenshine for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 14. In addition, Davis discloses determining a cache proportion according to an acquired capacity of a cache space in the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node and a cached data volume (Davis [0124], cloud controllers receiving metadata updates can access data from cloud files. A cloud controller that has uploaded data can flush data that has been uploaded from its local file system by clearing its cache.);
determining, according to the cache proportion and a preset clearing threshold, whether to clear data in the cache space of the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node (Davis [0124], cloud controllers receiving metadata updates can access data from cloud files. A cloud controller that has uploaded data can flush data that has been uploaded from its local file system by clearing its cache).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas and in view of Auvenshine and in view of Davis and in view of Goodman (US 2014/0130056).
Re Claim 10, Davis discloses after acquiring the updated data fed back from the terminal ([0433], The two (or more) cloud controllers update their internal tracking structures to reflect the change and distribute updated namespace mappings to all of the cloud controllers. Davis discloses in [0149] The cloud controller can compare the set of file identifiers for the data blocks in the cloud file to determine which data blocks from the cloud file should be opportunistically cached; unrelated data blocks are not cached.
Thomas, Auvenshine, and Davis does not disclose, however Goodman discloses acquiring a cache identifier sent from a management node (Goodman 2014/0130056 [0107], Cache controller compares cache ID) ; and
determining, according to the cache identifier, whether to cache the updated data to the service node (Goodman 2014/0130056 [0107], Cache controller compares cache ID to determine to update the object with that of the CC’s local cache id).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Thomas, Auvenshine, and Davis’s cache with Goodman’s cache control to include a cache ID. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order for the cache controller to determine if the object is to be updated.
Re Claim 11, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Thomas, Auvenshine, and Davis for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 10. In addition, Goodman discloses when it is determined that the cache identifier indicates that the updated data is to be cached to the service node, caching the updated data to a local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node, and synchronizing the updated data to a shared storage unit corresponding to the home service node (goodman [0107] When a node has a result that may be needed by another node, it sends a message to the Cache Controller (CC) and includes the unique id of the data object, the object itself, and the local cache id of the object. If the object is new, the cache id is 0; otherwise, it is the cache id from the local Cache Interface (CI). The CC compares the cache id of the updated object with that of the CC's local cache id. If the new id is not higher than the CC's local cache id, the update is rejected, and the node receives a failure message. If the update is accepted, the CC sends and acceptance message that includes the new cache id.).; and
when it is determined that the cache identifier indicates that the updated data is not to be cached to the service node, transmitting the updated data to the shared storage unit corresponding to the home service node (goodman [0107] When a node has a result that may be needed by another node, it sends a message to the Cache Controller (CC) and includes the unique id of the data object, the object itself, and the local cache id of the object. If the object is new, the cache id is 0; otherwise, it is the cache id from the local Cache Interface (CI). The CC compares the cache id of the updated object with that of the CC's local cache id. If the new id is not higher than the CC's local cache id, the update is rejected, and the node receives a failure message. If the update is accepted, the CC sends and acceptance message that includes the new cache id.)
Re claim 12, Auvenshine discloses wherein caching the updated data to the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node comprises: accumulating access popularity corresponding to the updated data according to access information corresponding to the updated data ([0069], the migration project comprise migration-readiness assessment characterizing data elements to be migrated as relatively “hot” or “cold”[0135], relative degree of hotness of each element can be considered to be hotter if it is access more frequently.).
In addition, Davis discloses caching the updated data and the corresponding access popularity to the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node ([0098], [0100], caching storage device (cloud controller) manages sets of data from a network from a client or disk block of local storage).
Re claim 13, Davis discloses wherein the shared storage unit corresponding to the home service node comprises: any one or more of a network attached storage device, a distributed file storage device, or a cloud storage (Davis, [0098], [0100], caching storage device (cloud controller) manages sets of data from a network from a client or disk block of local storage); and
the local storage unit corresponding to the roaming service node comprises: any one or more of a redundant array of independent disks, a distributed storage device or a hard disk (Davis, [0098], [0100], caching storage device (cloud controller) manages sets of data from a network from a client or disk block of local storage).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas and in view of Auvenshine and in view of Goodman.
Re Claim 18, Thomas discloses wherein the desktop roaming identifier represents whether a user account logging in the cloud desktop supports data roaming (([0017], being able to identify the destination region the cloud desktop of the user will be migrated to suggests that the cloud desktop supports data to another cloud at another region (roaming). In addition, Auvenshine discloses any one or more of a desktop roaming identifier, a storage address, a migrated volume of the user data, a cache identifier, a capacity of a cache space of a service node, a clearing period of the cache space of the service node, or a preset clearing threshold (Auvenshine [0069] In one example, a migration project may comprise a migration-readiness assessment that characterizes certain data elements to be migrated, such as a volume, folder, or file, as being relatively “hot” or “cold.” Such a “hot/cold” characterization is common in the information technology industry, and identifies how often an element of data is expected to be accessed.); and
the capacity of the cache space of the service node is larger than or equal to the migrated volume of the user data (Auvenshine [0069] In one example, a migration project may comprise a migration-readiness assessment that characterizes certain data elements to be migrated, such as a volume, folder, or file, as being relatively “hot” or “cold.” Such a “hot/cold” characterization is common in the information technology industry, and identifies how often an element of data is expected to be accessed.).
Thomas, Auvenshine, and Davis does not disclose, however Goodman discloses the cache identifier represents whether to cache updated user data ([0107], Cache controller compares cache ID to determine to update the object with that of the CC’s local cache id).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Thomas, Auvenshine, and Davis’s cache with Goodman’s cache control to include a cache ID. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order for the cache controller to determine if the object is to be updated.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443