Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104555964A in view of CN 109437980A. CN 104555964A discloses a method for producing potassium acid phosphate by reacting phosphoric acid with potassium dihydrogen phosphate. (See Paragraphs [0010] through [0013] of the English translation.) CN 104555964A teaches in Paragraph [0005] that because potassium acid phosphate is strongly acid and has excellent water solubility, it can be used as an agricultural fertilizer and can be dissolved in water and then delivered to the place where fertilizer is needed through drip irrigation pipes. The differences between the method disclosed by CN 104555964A, and that recited in claims 1-7 and 11-15, are that CN 104555964A does not disclose that the composition has a pH between 1 and 4, CN 109437980A discloses in Paragraph [0004] that potassium dihydrogen phosphate has a pH of about 2.3 in a 0.4% aqueous solution and, because it is very water-soluble, is mainly used as a raw material for acidic water-soluble fertilizers or directly as an acidic water-soluble fertilizer. It would have been obvious from CN 109437980A to provide a pH between 1 and 4 for the aqueous solution of CN 104555964A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since CN 104555964A teaches in Paragraphs [0004] and [0005] that potassium acid phosphate is strongly acidic, and CN 109437980A discloses in Paragraph [0004] that a pH of 2.3 is typical in a 0.4% aqueous solution. The aqueous solution of potassium acid phosphate disclosed by CN 104555964A and CN 109437980A would comprise am mixture of phosphoric acid and dihydrogen phosphate, since CN 104555964A discloses in Paragraph [0004] that the molecular structure of potassium acid phosphate is KH2PO4.H3PO4.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable P/K ratio of the composition of CN 104555964A.
Regarding claim 5, it appears that the composition of CN 104555964A would consist of the mixture of phosphoric acid, dihydrogen phosphate and water, since there is no indication that other components are present.
Regarding clam 7, the composition of CN 104555964A would be used as a biostimulant and elicitor product and for controlling pathogens to no less extent than would the composition of CN 104555964A, when applied to plants.
Regarding claim 12, the uses recited therein would be inherent in the composition of CN 104555964A, since the composition of CN 104555964A comprises a mixture of phosphoric acid and dihydrogen phosphate.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, it would be within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art suitable application durations and rates for the composition of CN 104555964A
Regarding claim 15, CN 104555964A discloses in Paragraph [0005] that the composition is applied through drip irrigation.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104555964A in view of CN 109437980A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brown et al (US 9,908,821). It would have been further obvious from Brown et al to include zinc sulfate in the composition of CN 104555964A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Brown et al disclose in col. 1, lines 40-42 that zinc is needed by plants for regulating plant growth and in carbohydrate and sugar metabolism, with a further disclosure in the paragraph bridging columns 3 and 4 of zinc sulfate as a suitable micronutrient in combination with metal phosphates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is indefinite as to what step(s) would be included in the “use” of the composition.
In claim 13, “preferentially” renders the scope of the claim vague and indefinite, since it is not clear whether the limitation following this term is positively recited or is merely an example of the broader genus. Also in claim 13, it is indefinite as to whether “any of claims 1 to 10” would be limited to any one of claims 1 to 10, or whether it could include multiple claims of claims 1 to 10.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WAYNE A LANGEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-1353. The examiner can normally be reached Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736