DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/294,723 filed on 02/02/2024 in which claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-14, 18-20, 22, 24, and 49-52 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 50 is objected to because there are two claim 50. Examiner assumes the second one is claim 52. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-14, 18-20, 22, 24, and 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo et al. (US 2023/0014303 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Di Girolamo teaches a communication configuration method, performed by a first User Equipment (UE), comprising:
determining that at least a part of sidelink (SL) configurations provided by a
second UE are unusable (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration), and sending indication information to the second UE through the SL(Paragraph [0260] provide a cause value to UE 203 as to the reason for modification or rejection), wherein the indication information at least indicates: one or more sets of SL configurations not used by the first UE or one or more sets of SL configurations used by the first UE (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason).
2. Regarding claim 12, Di Girolamo teaches A communication configuration method, performed by a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving indication information sent by a first UE through a sidelink (SL),
wherein the indication information at least indicates: one or more sets of SL
configurations not used by the first UE or one or more sets of SL configurations used
by the first UE (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason).
3. Regarding claims 2 and 13, Di Girolamo teaches wherein the SL configurations
comprise at least one of:
first configurations, the first configurations comprising one or more sets of
Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations of the SL; or
second configurations, the second configurations comprising configurations
other than the DRX configurations of the SL (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen).
4. Regarding claims 3 and 14, Di Girolamo teaches, wherein sending the indication
information to the second UE through the SL comprises at least one of:
sending a first indication to the second UE through the SL, the first indication
being configured to indicate that the one or more sets of DRX configurations in the
first configurations are unusable (Paragraphs [0256] to [0258] indication of requested DRX parameters);
sending a second indication to the second UE through the SL, the second
indication being configured to indicate that the one or more sets of DRX
configurations in the first configurations are usable (Paragraphs [0256] to [0258] indication of requested DRX parameters);
sending a third indication to the second UE through the SL, the third indication
being configured to indicate that one or more sets of SL configurations in the second
configurations are usable (Paragraphs [0256] to [0258] indication of requested DRX parameters); or
sending a fourth indication to the second UE through the SL, the fourth indication
being configured to indicate that one or more sets of SL configurations in the second
configurations are unusable (Paragraphs [0256] to [0258] indication of requested DRX parameters).
5. Regarding claim 5, Di Girolamo teaches wherein the second
configuration comprises at least one of:
a data transmission configuration;
a SL bearer configuration; or
a SL configuration other than the DRX configurations (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration).
6. Regarding claims 7 and 18, Di Girolamo teaches, wherein the first or third
indication comprises:
a first configuration request indication, wherein the first configuration request
indication is configured to indicate a request to the second UE for sending a new
DRX configuration of the SL (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen).
7. Regarding claims 8 and 19, Di Girolamo teaches wherein the second or
fourth indication comprises:
a second configuration request indication, wherein the second configuration
request indication is configured to indicate a request to the second UE for sending a
new configuration other than the DRX configurations of the SL (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen).
8. Regarding claim 9, Di Girolamo teaches, further
comprising at least one of:
determining that Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations in the SL
configurations are unusable and using a first default configuration, wherein the first default configuration is a DRX configuration determined by the first UE based on a communication protocol, a current DRX configuration of the first UE, or a default DRX configuration of the first UE (Paragraph [0168] SL DRX configuration provided through pre-configuration); or
determining that configurations in the SL configurations other than the DRX
configurations are unusable and using a second default configuration, wherein the
second default configuration is a configuration other than the DRX configurations in
SL configurations determined by the first UE based on a communication protocol, a
current configuration other than the DRX configurations in the SL configurations of
the first UE, or a default configuration other than the DRX configurations in the SL
configurations of the first UE (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen).
9. Regarding claims 11 and 24, Di Girolamo teaches wherein the SL configurations are sent by
the second UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration SL message (Paragraphs [0259] to [0264] RRC; reconfiguration).
10. Regarding claim 20, Di Girolamo teaches
further comprising at least one of:
determining that the indication information indicates that Discontinuous
Reception (DRX) configurations in the SL configurations are unusable, and
determining that the first UE uses a first default configuration, wherein the first default configuration is: a DRX configuration determined by the first UE based on a communication protocol, a current DRX configuration of the first UE, or a default DRX configuration of the first UE (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen);
determining that the indication information indicates that the DRX configurations
in the SL configurations are unusable, and stopping a timer on the SL; or
determining that the indication information indicates that the DRX configurations
in the SL configurations are unusable, and sending a [[third]] indication to a base
station in response to the indication information indicating that DRX configurations
in the SL configurations are unusable, wherein the [[third]] indication is configured to
indicate that the DRX configurations in the SL configurations provided to the first UE
are unusable (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen).
11. Regarding claim 22, Di Girolamo teaches
further comprising at least one of:
determining that the indication information indicates that configurations other than
Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations in the SL configurations are unusable,
and determining that the first UE uses a second default configuration, wherein the
second default configuration is a configuration other than the DRX configurations in
SL configurations determined by the first UE based on communication protocol, a
current configuration other than the DRX configurations in the SL configurations of
the first UE, or a default configuration other than the DRX configurations in the SL
configurations of the first UE (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason; may provide the SL DRX configuration chosen);
to determining that the indication information indicates that configurations other than DRX configurations in the SL configurations are unusable, and stopping a timer on the SL; or determining that the indication information indicating indicates that configurations other than the DRX configurations in the SL configurations are unusable, and sending an indication to the base station, wherein the fourth indication is configured to indicate a failure of configurations other than the DRX configurations of the SL configurations provided to the first UE.
12. Regarding claim 49, Di Girolamo teaches a communication device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine that at least a part of sidelink (SL) configurations provided by a
second UE are unusable (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration), and send indication information to the second UE through the SL(Paragraph [0260] provide a cause value to UE 203 as to the reason for modification or rejection), wherein the indication information at least indicates: one or more sets of SL configurations not used by the first UE or one or more sets of SL configurations used by the communication device (Fig. 19 Paragraphs [0255] to [0260] UE 201 may accept SL DRX configuration, modify or reject the SL DRX configuration; provide a cause value as to the reason).
13. Regarding claim 50, Di Girolamo teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Paragraph [0496] computer readable storage medium), having a computer executable program stored thereon, wherein when the
executable program is executed by a processor, the processor is caused to perform the
communication configuration method of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 with Di Girolamo).
14. Regarding claim 51, Di Girolamo teaches A communication device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 12 (See rejection of claim 12 with Di Girolamo)
15. Regarding claim 50, Di Girolamo teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Paragraph [0496] computer readable storage medium), having a computer
executable program stored thereon, wherein when the executable program is executed
by a processor, the processor is caused to perform the communication configuration
method of claim 12 (See rejection of claim 12 with Di Girolamo).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Wu et al. (US 2021/0059004 A1) Paragraph [0111]
Freda et al. (US 2023/0156858 A1) Paragraph [0137]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466