DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 February 2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to and line 1 “This relates to a tool and a method for assembling an electric machine rotor, including a rotor body and magnetic pole elements. The process includes:”, may amend similar to: “A method and a tool for assembling an electric machine rotor, including a rotor body and magnetic pole element. The method includes:”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 4, 7, and 9:
- positioning the rotor body…
- placing an upper seal…
- injecting a joining material…
should read:
-- positioning the rotor body…
placing an upper seal…
injecting a joining material… --
In claim 1, line 9: “injecting a joining material into the spaces, through holes” should read:
-- injecting a joining material into the spaces through holes --
In claim 3, line 3: “there is a step of blocking in position the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements” should read:
-- there is a step of locking in position the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements --
In claim 7, lines 4, 5, 8 and 11:
- a bearing element
- a support…
- a press element …
- means for injecting …
should read:
-- a bearing element
a support…
a press element …
means for injecting … --
In claim 7, line 9: “so that it closes the spaces” should read:
-- so that the upper seal closes the spaces --
In claim 7, line 11: “injecting a joining material into the spaces, through holes” should read:
-- injecting a joining material into the spaces through holes --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for injecting a joining material in claim 7.
The claim limitation(s) has/have been presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it/they meet(s) the following 3-prong analysis:
(A) The claim limitation(s) use the phrase “means for” or “step for” or a generic replacement. Prong A is met because: the claim element “means”, which is a generic place holder for “means”
(B) The “means for” or “step for” is modified by functional language: Prong B is met because: the generic place holder “means for” is modified by functional language “injecting”.
(C) The phrase “means for” or “step for” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for achieving the specified function. Prong C is met because: the claim element “means for” is not further modified by sufficient structure of material for performing the claimed function “injecting a joining material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 7, the limitation “a press element adapted to block an upper seal on the rotor body” is confusing because it is unknown how a press element blocks an upper seal on the rotor body. As best understood, it appears that the limitation actually intends that “a press element adapted to block the spaces on the rotor body by an upper seal, or the like.
Claims 8-11 depend on claim 7. Therefore, claims 7-11 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsubayashi (US 20140151926).
Regarding claim 1, Matsubayashi teaches, method for assembling an electric machine rotor (resin sealing permanent magnets in a laminated rotor core using the resin sealing apparatus, Figs. 2 and 8, para. [0050]), including a rotor body (rotor core 36, annotated Fig. 2 below) and magnetic pole elements (permanent magnets 47), said method including steps of:
[AltContent: textbox (bearing element)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (support)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (rotor)][AltContent: textbox (lower seal)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 2, Matsubayashi.
positioning the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements on a support (lower-die support member 17, first step, Fig. 8a, para. [0008]) in such a way that they define between them spaces (see, magnet insertion holes 46, Fig. 3, magnet insertion holes 46 having a rectangular cross section provided in an outer peripheral portion thereof, and permanent magnets 47 having cross-sectional dimensions slightly smaller, para. [0037]) closed on the support side by a lower seal (lower die 29, laminated rotor core 36 is placed on the carrier tray 35, and the prescribed permanent magnets 47 are put respectively into the magnet insertion holes 46…since the permanent magnets 47 are inserted in the magnet insertion holes 46 with the lower surfaces of the magnets 47 coincided with the lower edges of the holes 46, there is a slight difference in level…which ensures contact of the upper surface of the laminated rotor core 36 with the upper die 37, para. [0051-0056]),
placing an upper seal (upper die 37, Fig. 8b) on the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements so that it closes the spaces (see Figs. 4 and 8c) on the side opposite to the support (second step, para. [0008], laminated rotor core 36 set on the carrier tray 35 is pressed against the upper die 37…the space G between the upper die 37 and the middle stationary plate 62 becomes null, para. [0054]),
injecting a joining material into the spaces (the material of the thermosetting resin is once liquefied by heating, and the resin is filled in the magnet insertion holes 46, para. [0057]) through holes (magnet insertion holes 46) made in at least one of the lower seal and upper seal (para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 1. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly method according to claim 1, wherein the lower seal is positioned on a bearing element (heat insulating plate 28, alternatively, receiving plate 42, annotated Fig. 2) and wherein elastically deformable means (springs 34, see Fig. 5) are interposed between the bearing element and the support (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 1. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly method according to claim 1, wherein, after the step of positioning the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements on the support (see Fig. 8c), there is a step of blocking in position the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements by a clamping stop (jack 18, Fig. 4) sandwiching the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements with the support (vertically movable output shaft 23 of the worm jack 18 is coupled to the lower-die support member 17, para. [0030]; lower die 29 is elevated by the worm jack 18 via the lower-die support member 17 so that the laminated rotor core 36 set on the carrier tray 35 is pressed against the upper die 37, para. [0054], see Figs. 8b to 8c).
Regarding claim 5, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 1. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly method according to claim 1, wherein after the step of positioning the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements on the support, there is a step of compressing the lower and upper seals against the rotor by a press element (upper die pairing with the lower die and having resin reservoir pots; a third step of pressing and heating the laminated rotor core by the upper die and the lower die, para. [0008]) adapted to bear against the upper seal.
Regarding claim 6, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 1. Matsubayashi further teaches, electric machine rotor including a rotor body and magnetic pole elements assembled via an assembly method according to claim 1 (see abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Matsubayashi teaches, tool for assembling an electric machine rotor (resin sealing permanent magnets in a laminated rotor core using the resin sealing apparatus, Fig. 8, para. [0050]) including a rotor body (rotor core 36, Fig. 2) and magnetic pole elements (permanent magnets 47), said tool including:
a bearing element (heat insulating plate 28, alternatively, receiving plate 42, annotated Fig. 2) adapted to receive a lower seal (lower die 29),
a support (lower-die support member 17) adapted to receive the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements in such a way that they define between them spaces (see, magnet insertion holes 46, Fig. 3) closed on the support side by the lower seal,
a press element (upper-die main body 45, alternatively, auxiliary block 38) adapted to block an upper seal (upper die 37) on the rotor body and on the magnetic pole elements, so that it closes the spaces on the side opposite to the support, and means for injecting a joining material into said spaces, through holes made in at least one of the lower seal and upper seal (the material of the thermosetting resin is once liquefied by heating, and the resin is filled in the magnet insertion holes 46, para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 7. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly tool according to claim 7, further comprising elastically deformable means (springs 34, see Fig. 5) interposed between the bearing element and the support (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 7. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly tool according to claim 7, further comprising a clamping stop (jack 18, Fig. 4) adapted to sandwich the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements with the support (see para. [0054], Figs. 8b and 8c).
Regarding claim 10, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 7. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly tool according to claim 7, wherein the press element has a distribution duct (resin passages 51) into which the injection means open and which allows to spread the joining material towards each of said holes (resin passages 51 respectively connected to the resin reservoir pots 50 for leading a liquefied resin material from the pots 50 to the magnet insertion holes 46, para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Matsubayashi teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 7. Matsubayashi further teaches, the assembly tool according to claim 10, wherein said distribution duct has a circular shape and the press element has injection shafts (vertically moving plunger 52) which open, on one side, into said distribution duct, and on the other towards said holes (eight plungers 52 push the melted resin material (i.e., the thermosetting resin) out of the resin reservoir pots 50, thereby filling the respective magnet insertion holes 46, para. [0055]).
Claim(s) 1 alternatively and claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 20190341819).
[AltContent: textbox (upper seal)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (support)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (lower seal)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (rotor)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 8, Yamada.
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches, method for assembling an electric machine rotor (rotor of an electric motor includes a rotor core, Fig. 8, para. [0005]), including a rotor body (rotor 10, Fig. 8) and magnetic pole elements (plurality of magnets 16), said method including steps of:
positioning the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements on a support (first mold 82) in such a way that they define between them spaces (gap G in the axial section of the magnets 16, see Fig. 4 and the cavity 90, Fig. 8, para. [0030]) closed on the support side by a lower seal (see annotated Fig. 8, Fig. 8, step S2 and S3, inserts the assembly 70 made at step S2 into the cavity 90 of the first mold 82, so that the axially front end face 34 of the rotor core 14 contacts a bottom face 98 which defines the cavity 90, para. [0054-0058, 0063]),
placing an upper seal (lower mold 84, Fig. 8) on the rotor body and the magnetic pole elements so that it closes the spaces (see Fig. 8) on the side opposite to the support (see Fig. 8),
injecting a joining material into the spaces (hot runner 88 includes a heater (not shown), and delivers the resin supplied from the resin supply unit 86, along with the resin being kept in a liquid state, para. [0060]) through holes (gap G, or cavity 90, Figs. 4 and 8) made in at least one of the lower seal and upper seal (resin 56 is filled in a gap G formed between the outer peripheral surface 22 of the rotor core 14 and an inner peripheral surface 66 of the cover tube 54, and between outer surfaces 68 of the magnets 52 and the inner peripheral surface 66, para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada teaches the recited limitation with respect to claim 1. Yamada further teaches, the assembly method according to claim 1, wherein the rotor comprising a binding band (cover tube 18, or 18’, Fig. 8, cover tube 18′ is a cylindrical member having a diameter smaller than that of the cover tube 18… the manufacturer fits the cover tube 18′ over the magnets 16 fixed on the rotor core 14 so as to surround the magnets 16 from radially outside, para. [0050]) located on the contour of the magnetic pole elements, during the positioning step, the binding band is positioned on the support, and after the placing step, the upper seal and the lower seal close spaces located between the binding band and the magnetic pole elements, on the support side and on the side opposite to the support (see Fig. 10, the axially front end face 34 of the rotor core 14, the axially front end faces 32 of the magnets 16, and the axially front end face 36 of the cover tube 18′ are in surface-contact with the bottom face 98 of the cavity 90, para. [0064]).
Conclusion
Prior art Kato (US 8951030) teaches, a method and a tool for assembling an electric machine rotor including a rotor body and magnetic pole elements, said tool including: a bearing element having a lower seal, a support having spaces closed on the support side by the lower seal, a press element to block an upper seal on the rotor body and on the magnetic pole elements, and injecting a joining material into said spaces, through holes made in at least one of the lower seal and upper seal.
Prior art Shingu (US 20200153320) teaches, a method and a tool for assembling an electric machine rotor including: a bearing element having a lower seal, a support having spaces closed on the support side by the lower seal, a press element to block an upper seal on the rotor body and on the magnetic pole elements, and injecting a joining material into said spaces, through holes made in at least one of the lower seal and upper seal.
Prior art Fukuyama (US 20190044423) teaches, a method and a tool for assembling an electric machine rotor including: a bearing element having a lower seal, a support having spaces closed on the support side by the lower seal, a press element to block an upper seal on the rotor body and on the magnetic pole elements, and injecting a joining material into said spaces, through holes made in at least one of the lower seal and upper seal.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729