DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 31 recites ammonio methacrylate copolymer (Type). The claim is indefinite because the claims recites a broad limitation followed by a narrower limitation. It is not clear if (Type) is meant to further limit the copolymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obviousness
1) Claims 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirostko (US 2015/0157563) in view of Griesser et al. (Polymers, 2018).
Wirostko disclose an ocular composition comprising a polymer matrix and an antibiotic dispersed in the polymer matrix. The ocular composition may be formulated into an ocular insert, solution, film (meeting instant claim 17) or gel. The polymer matrix may comprise a thiolated hyaluronic acid (HA). The thiolated HA includes thiolated carboxymethyl hyaluronic acid cross-linked with a poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylates (interpreted as nonactivated). The hyaluronic active film comprises 10%, 12% and 16% of the film. Actives that are delivered by polymer matrix includes those that treat glaucoma. Glaucoma agents may be added to the compositions and include Latanoprost, Bimatopost, Travaprost, Timolol, Betaxalol, Dorzolamide, Brinzolamide, and Briminodine. The therapeutic agents comprise 0.01 to about 0.5% and 0.2% to about 10% of the composition. Additional ingredients can be added to the HA bioerodible polymer to improve a variety of polymeric properties such as mucoadhesiveness, flexibility, and the like. Non-limiting examples of such ingredients include methylcellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl-pyrrolidone, alginic acid, chitosan, xanthan gum, carrageenan, poly(acrylic) acid, or a derivative thereof (instant claim 31).
Wirostko differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the preactivated thiomer of hyaluronic acid or the nonactivated thiomers of hyaluronic acids of the instant claims.
Griesser et al. disclose thiolated hyaluronic acid as a versatile mucoadhesive polymer. Due the ability of disulfide bond formation within the polymer itself as well as with biological materials, certain properties such as mucoadhesive, gelling, enzyme inhibitory, permeation enhancing and release controlling properties are improved (Abstract).The composition may be used for drug delivery to the eye and used to treat ocular wounds. The hyaluronic acid is thiolated at the carboxyl group. The thiol group is further protected with 6-mercaptonicotinamide. Via this pre-activation with 6 mercaptonicotinamide the free thiol groups are oxidized to disulfide bonds. As free thiol groups from thiolated HA are sensitive towards oxidation and rapidly react with the cysteine-rich domains in the mucus, S-protection (pre-activation) plays a major role in the improvement of mucoadhesiveness, cohesiveness as well as stability against degradation. Thiolation of HA leads to an even 12-fold augmentation in mucoadhesion on buccal mucosa. Thiolated HA preactivated with 6-mercaptonicotinamide demonstrated a 4-fold improved adhesion time compared to thiolated HA. The unprotected polymers have a cysteine side chain (instant claim 23). The polymers are crosslinked (3.2). Crosslinking causes a higher stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have use the pre-activated thiolated hyaluronic acids in conjunction with or as the thiolated hyaluronic acids of Wirostko motivated by the desire to produce a film with an improved mucoadhesiveness, cohesiveness as well as stability against degradation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have made the films of Wirostko with a combination of the activated and nonactivated thiolated hyaluronic acids of Griesser et al. motivated by the desire to obtain different mucoadhesiveness by combining polymers with different adhesive properties.
In regards to the amounts recited in claim 32, the preactivated thiomer of hyaluronic acid is a result effective variable because it controls that adhesiveness of the system that is applied to the eye. It would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the amount of preactivated thiomer of hyaluronic acid to obtain the desired therapeutic effect. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to claim 33, the composition of Wirostko may be used to deliver glaucoma actives either alone or in combination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have used the delivery systems of Wirostko modified with Griesser et al. to deliver the glaucoma drugs to treat glaucoma because they are suitable for delivering glaucoma therapeutic agents.
In regards to claims 18, the protection of the cysteine hyaluronic acid of Griesser et al. with 6-mercaptonicotinamide would yield one of the compounds of instant claim 18.
In regard to instant claim 20, the moles of 6-mercaptonicotinamide would control how much of the hyaluronic acid is protected, making it a result effective variable. It would have been in the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the micromole/g of 6-mercaptonicotinamide in order to arrive at the desired substitution on the hyaluronic acid. See MPEP 2144.05.
1) Claims 16-22 and 24-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirostko (US 2015/0157563) in view of Nowak et al. (Inter. J. of Pharm., 2015).
Wirostko disclose an ocular composition comprising a polymer matrix and an antibiotic dispersed in the polymer matrix. The ocular composition may be formulated into an ocular insert, solution, film (meeting instant claim 17) or gel. The polymer matrix may comprise a thiolated hyaluronic acid (HA). The thiolated HA includes thiolated carboxymethyl hyaluronic acid cross-linked with a poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylates (interpreted as nonactivated). The hyaluronic active film comprises 10%, 12% and 16% of the film. Actives that are delivered by polymer matrix includes those that treat glaucoma. Glaucoma agents may be added to the compositions and include Latanoprost, Bimatopost, Travaprost, Timolol, Betaxalol, Dorzolamide, Brinzolamide, and Briminodine. The therapeutic agents comprise 0.01 to about 0.5% and 0.2% to about 10% of the composition. Additional ingredients can be added to the HA bioerodible polymer to improve a variety of polymeric properties such as mucoadhesiveness, flexibility, and the like. Non-limiting examples of such ingredients include methylcellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl-pyrrolidone, alginic acid, chitosan, xanthan gum, carrageenan, poly(acrylic) acid, or a derivative thereof (instant claim 31).
Wirostko differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the preactivated thiomer of hyaluronic acid or the nonactivated thiomers of hyaluronic acids of the instant claims.
Nowak et al. disclose preactivated hyaluronic acid as a potential mucoadhesive. Mucoadhesive polymeric excipients were developed for vaginal drug delivery systems. Hyaluronic acid (HA) was thiolated and subsequently preactivated with 6-mercaptonicotinamide (HA-CYS–MNA) (encompassing 6-mercaptonicotinamide cysteine, instant claim 18) to enhance stability and mucoadhesive properties on vaginal mucosa. Modifying HA-CYS with MNA resulted in higher stability (3.6-fold prolonged disintegration time compared to unmodified hyaluronic acid) and prolonged mucoadhesion time (Abstract). The thiol and disulfide were present exhibiting 218.87 micromole per game of HA and 173.8 micromole per gram respectively (3.1).
Although Nowak et al. disclose virginal mucosa, this can be translated to develop delivery of therapeutics to the mucosa of the eye. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have used the pre-activated thiolated hyaluronic acids in conjunction with or as the thiolated hyaluronic acids of Wirostko motivated by the desire to produce a film with higher stability.
In regards to the amounts of in claim 32, the preactivated thiomer of hyaluronic acid is a result effective variable because it controls the stability and the adhesiveness of the system that is applied to the eye. It would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the amount of preactivated HA in order to obtain the desire stability and residence time for delivery of the active to the eye. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to claim 33, the composition of Wirostko may be used to deliver glaucoma actives either alone or in combination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have used the delivery systems of Wirostko modified with the preactivated HA of Nowak et al. to deliver the glaucoma drugs to treat glaucoma because they are suitable for delivering glaucoma therapeutic agents.
In regard to instant claim 20, the moles of 6-mercaptonicotinamide would control how much of the hyaluronic acid is substituted with the 6-mercaptonicotinamide, making it a result effective variable. It would have been in the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the micromole/g of 6-mercaptonicotinamide in order to arrive at the desired substitution on the hyaluronic acid. See MPEP 2144.05.
Obvious-Type Double Patenting
Claims 16-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-31 of copending Application No. 17/796,183 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are coextensive insofar as they both recite a mucoadhesive delivery system comprising a preactivated thiomer polymer. The instant claims differ from the copending claims insofar as they recite hyaluronic acid as the polymer. However the copending claims recite that hyaluronic acid may be the polymer in dependent claim 15. Therefore the instant claims are obvious over the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16-33 are rejected.
No claims allowed.
/LEZAH ROBERTS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612