DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0038125 Farlow, hereinafter “Farlow”, in view of US 2020/0205923 Hufford et al., hereinafter “Hufford”.
Regarding claim 1, Farlow discloses a surgical robotic system (Para 29 and Figure 1, element 1) comprising: a robotic arm (Figure 1, robotic arms 12 and Para 29), a camera (Figure 1, element 56 and Para 30), and instrument (Figure 1, robotic arms 12 carry instruments 20 and Para 29), each of which includes a surgical instrument (Figure 1, robotic arms 12 carry instruments 20 and Para 29); a surgeon console (Figure 1, element 40) including a display (Figure 1, element 44) configured to display a graphical user interface (Figure 5 shows the graphical user interface) having a plurality of graphical representations each of which corresponds to one instrument (Figure 5, elements 122-128 are all graphical representations that provide information about each instrument/tool, see Para 35 and 37); and a controller (Para 29 and Figure 1, element 30) configured to assign each of the instruments to one graphical representation based on orientation of the instruments (Para 37; “The positions of the icons 122, 126 may switch or swap relative to one another as the positions of the end effectors A, C change during a surgical procedure”).
Farlow does not disclose a plurality of movable carts each of the movable carts including a robotic arm, the plurality of movable carts includes a camera movable cart having a camera and instrument movable carts.
However, Hufford discloses a robotic system (Abstract) and teaches a plurality of movable carts (Figure 2, elements 10 and Para 11) each of the movable carts including a robotic arm (Para 11), the plurality of movable carts includes a camera movable cart (Para 1) having a camera and instrument movable carts (Para 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have put the robotic arms on movable carts as shown in Hufford, in the invention of Farlow, in order to allow the robotic instruments to move in any direction (Hufford; Para 15).
Regarding claim 2, Farlow discloses the surgeon console (Figure 1, element 40) further includes a left-hand controller and a right-hand controller (Figure 1, elements 42 left and right side), wherein each of the left- hand controller and the right-hand controller is configured to control one selected surgical instrument of the surgical instruments (Para 37).
Regarding claim 3, Farlow discloses a first portion of the plurality of graphical representations are assigned to the left-hand controller and a second portion of the plurality of graphical representations are assigned to the right-hand controller (Para 37).
Regarding claim 4, Farlow discloses the controller is further configured to assign each of the instrument movable carts to one graphical representation based on an orientation of the camera (Para 37; the icons associated with the left hand are on the left (based on cameras view) and the icons associated with the right hand are on the right, see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Farlow discloses the controller is further configured to assign each of the instrument movable carts to one graphical representation based on an angle of each of the instrument movable carts relative to a surgical table (Para 37 and Figure 5; the instruments that are between angles 90 and 180 are assigned to the left side of the screen, the instruments that are between angles 0 and 90 are on the right side).
Regarding claim 7, Farlow discloses a surgical robotic system (Para 29 and Figure 1, element 1) comprising: a robotic arm (Figure 1, robotic arms 12 and Para 29), a camera (Figure 1, element 56 and Para 30), and instrument (Figure 1, robotic arms 12 carry instruments 20 and Para 29), each of which includes a surgical instrument (Figure 1, robotic arms 12 carry instruments 20 and Para 29); a display (Figure 1, element 44) configured to display a graphical user interface (Figure 5 shows the graphical user interface) having a plurality of graphical representations each of which corresponds to one instrument (Figure 5, elements 122-128 are all graphical representations that provide information about each instrument/tool, see Para 35 and 37); and a controller (Para 29 and Figure 1, element 30) configured to assign each of the instruments to one graphical representation based on orientation of the instruments (Para 37; “The positions of the icons 122, 126 may switch or swap relative to one another as the positions of the end effectors A, C change during a surgical procedure”).
Farlow does not disclose a plurality of movable carts each of the movable carts including a robotic arm, the plurality of movable carts includes a camera movable cart having a camera and instrument movable carts.
However, Hufford discloses a robotic system (Abstract) and teaches a plurality of movable carts (Figure 2, elements 10 and Para 11) each of the movable carts including a robotic arm (Para 11), the plurality of movable carts includes a camera movable cart (Para 1) having a camera and instrument movable carts (Para 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have put the robotic arms on movable carts as shown in Hufford, in the invention of Farlow, in order to allow the robotic instruments to move in any direction (Hufford; Para 15).
Regarding claim 8, Farlow discloses a surgeon console (Figure 1, element 40) including a left-hand controller and a right-hand controller (Figure 1, elements 42 left and right side), wherein each of the left- hand controller and the right-hand controller is configured to control one selected surgical instrument of the surgical instruments (Para 37
Regarding claim 9, Farlow discloses a first portion of the plurality of graphical representations are assigned to the left-hand controller and a second portion of the plurality of graphical representations are assigned to the right-hand controller (Para 37).
Regarding claim 10, Farlow discloses the controller is further configured to assign each of the instrument movable carts to one graphical representation based on an orientation of the camera (Para 37; the icons associated with the left hand are on the left (based on cameras view) and the icons associated with the right hand are on the right, see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Farlow discloses the controller is further configured to assign each of the instrument movable carts to one graphical representation based on an angle of each of the instrument movable carts relative to a surgical table (Para 37 and Figure 5; the instruments that are between angles 90 and 180 are assigned to the left side of the screen, the instruments that are between angles 0 and 90 are on the right side).
Regarding claim 13, Farlow discloses a method for controlling a surgical robotic system (Para 29 and Figure 1, element 1), the method comprising: receiving instrument orientation data for each instrument of a plurality of instrument (Para 37; “The positions of the icons 122, 126 may switch or swap relative to one another as the positions of the end effectors A, C change during a surgical procedure”); displaying a graphical user interface (Figure 5 shows the graphical user interface) having a plurality of graphical representations each of which corresponds to one instrument (Figure 5, elements 122-128 are all graphical representations that provide information about each instrument/tool, see Para 35 and 37); and assigning each of the instrument to one graphical representation based on orientation data of the instruments (Para 37; “The positions of the icons 122, 126 may switch or swap relative to one another as the positions of the end effectors A, C change during a surgical procedure”).
Farlow does not disclose instrument movable cart and a plurality of instrument movable carts.
However, Hufford discloses a robotic system (Abstract) and teaches instrument movable cart and a plurality of instrument movable carts (Figure 2, elements 10 and Para 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed movable carts as shown in Hufford, in the invention of Farlow, in order to allow the robotic instruments to move in any direction (Hufford; Para 15).
Regarding claim 14, Farlow discloses assigning a first portion of the plurality of graphical representations to a left-hand controller (Para 37).
Regarding claim 15, Farlow discloses assigning a second portion of the plurality of graphical representations to a right- hand controller (Para 37).
Regarding claim 16, Farlow discloses receiving camera orientation data for a camera (Para 46; Figure 1, element 56 and Para 30).
Farlow does not disclose held by a camera movable cart.
However, Hufford discloses a robotic system (Abstract) and teaches a camera (Para 1 and 4) held by a camera movable cart (Para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have put a camera on movable carts as shown in Hufford, in the invention of Farlow, in order to allow the camera to move in any direction (Hufford; Para 15).
Regarding claim 17, Farlow discloses assigning each of the instrument movable carts to one graphical representation based on the camera orientation data (Para 37; the icons associated with the left hand are on the left (based on cameras view) and the icons associated with the right hand are on the right, see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 18, Farlow discloses assigning each of the instrument movable carts to one graphical representation based on an angle of each of the instrument movable carts relative to a surgical table (Para 37 and Figure 5; the instruments that are between angles 90 and 180 are assigned to the left side of the screen, the instruments that are between angles 0 and 90 are on the right side).
Regarding claim 19, Farlow discloses orientation data of the instrument movable carts includes an angle of each of the instrument movable carts relative to a surgical table (Para 37 and Figure 5; the instruments that are between angles 90 and 180 are assigned to the left side of the screen, the instruments that are between angles 0 and 90 are on the right side those are the orientation data, left vs right).
Regarding claim 20, Farlow discloses moving at least one graphical representation of the plurality of graphical representations on the graphical user interface (Para 37, “The positions of the icons 122, 126 may switch or swap relative to one another as the positions of the end effectors A, C change during a surgical procedure”).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0038125 Farlow, hereinafter “Farlow”, in view of US 2020/0205923 Hufford et al., hereinafter “Hufford”, further in view of US 2021/0068907 Fuerst et al., hereinafter “Fuerst”.
Regarding claim 6, Farlow discloses the display (Figure 1, element 44).
Farlow does not disclose a touchscreen and each graphical representation of the plurality of graphical representations is movable on the touchscreen.
However, Fuerst discloses a robotic surgical system (Abstract) and teaches a touchscreen (Para 32) and each graphical representation of the plurality of graphical representations is movable on the touchscreen (Para 32; “The display screen 26 may be a touch screen to allow a user to … manipulate displayed objects”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a touchscreen as shown in Fuerst, in the invention of Farlow, in order to allow move around graphical displays (Fuerst; Para 32).
Regarding claim 12, Farlow discloses the display (Figure 1, element 44).
Farlow does not disclose a touchscreen and each graphical representation of the plurality of graphical representations is movable on the touchscreen.
However, Fuerst discloses a robotic surgical system (Abstract) and teaches a touchscreen (Para 32) and each graphical representation of the plurality of graphical representations is movable on the touchscreen (Para 32; “The display screen 26 may be a touch screen to allow a user to … manipulate displayed objects”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a touchscreen as shown in Fuerst, in the invention of Farlow, in order to allow move around graphical displays (Fuerst; Para 32).
Conclusion
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796