DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 16, 21, and 26, applicant argues the cited reference, Pattan et al do not disclose wherein the remotely initiated MCPTT call request comprises one or more call set up parameters including at least one of information associated with a commencement mode or information associated with a priority; transmitting the remotely initiated MCPTT call request to a second MCPTT client; and receiving, from the second MCPTT client, an MCPTT call request comprising indication information indicating that the MCPTT call request is a result of the receiving of the remotely initiated MCPTT call request as presently recited. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Pattan et al teach the remotely initiated MCPTT call request comprises one or more call set up parameters including at least one of information associated with a commencement mode or information associated with a priority (Fig. 4a; ¶ [0151]), and the MCPTT server 106 receives from the second MCPTT client 102 a call request at step 414a with the first MCPTT client 104 at steps 414a, 418a, 420a, the MCPTT call request containing indication information, e.g. the priority information, group ID, and implicit floor control information from the MCPTT remotely initiated MCPTT call request as a result of receiving the remotely initiated MCPTT call request (paragraphs [0158]-[0164]). As a result, given the broadest reasonable interpretation according to MPEP 2111, the cited prior art still read on the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pattan (US 2018/0,288,827; hereinafter Pattan).
Regarding claim 26, Pattan disclose a method performed by a Mission Critical Push-To-Talk (MCPTT) server (MCPTT server 106), the method comprising:
receiving a remotely initiated MCPTT call request from a first MCPTT client (MCPTT client 104) (the MCPTT server 106 receives a remotely initiated MCPTT call request from a first MCPTT client 104 at step 404a; Fig. 4a; ¶ [0151]), wherein the remotely initiated MCPTT call request comprises one or more call set up parameters including at least one of information associated with a commencement mode or information associated with a priority (priority, private call, implicit floor control parameters; Fig. 4a; ¶ [0151]); and transmitting the remotely initiated MCPTT call request to a second MCPTT client (the MCPTT server 106 transmit the remotely initiated MCPTT call request to a second MCPTT client 102 at step 406a; Fig. 4a), and
receiving from the second MCPTT client (102) an MCPTT call request comprising indication information indicating that the MCPTT call request is a result of the receiving of the remotely initiated MCPTT call request (the MCPTT server 106 receiving from the second MCPTT client 102 a call request at step 414a with the first MCPTT client 104 at steps 414a, 418a, 420a, the MCPTT call request containing indication information (e.g. the priority information, group ID, and implicit floor control information from the MCPTT remotely initiated MCPTT call request as a result of receiving the remotely initiated MCPTT call request; paragraphs [0158]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 27, Pattan disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the MCPTT call request comprises a group call request (an MCPTT remote group call is initiated and the MCPTT server 106 receives the group call request at step 514a from the second MCPTT client 102; steps 514a-530a, Fig. 5a, paragraphs [0063]-[0066], [0222]-[0233]).
Regarding claim 28, Pattan disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the MCPTT call comprises a MCPTT private call request (initiating a MCPTT call comprises sending a MCPTT remote private call request 404a; Pattan; paras. [0065]-[0066], [0150], [0158]; Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 29, Pattan disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising: verifying whether the first MCPTT client is authorized to initiate the remotely initiated MCPTT call request; wherein the transmitting of the remotely initiated MCPTT call request comprises: transmitting the remotely initiated MCPTT call request to the second MCPTT client based on the first MCPTT client being authorized (the MCPTT server 106 verifies and authorizes the remotely initiated MCPTT call request message from the first MCPTT client 104 and sends the remotely initiated MCPTT call request towards the second MCPTT client 102 via the SIP core; ¶ [0152], step 406a, Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 30, Pattan disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising: receiving a remotely initiated MCPTT call response from the second MCPTT client based on the transmitting of the remotely initiated MCPTT call request; and transmitting the remotely initiated MCPTT call response to the first MCPTT client (the MCPTT server 106 receives the acknowledgment message from the second MCPTT client 102 at step 410a to the remotely initiated MCPTT call request, the MCPTT server 106 sends the acknowledgment message to the first MCPTT client 104 at step 412a through the SIP core; Fig. 4a, paragraphs [0156]-[0157]).
Regarding claim 31, Pattan discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising: transmitting the MCPTT call request to at least one of the first MCPTT client or a third MCPTT client (at step 418a; Fig. 4a; ¶ [0161]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pattan et al (US 2018/0,288,827; hereinafter Pattan) in view of Solano (WO 2020,201,317).
Regarding claim 16 and 21, Pattan disclose a method (Fig. 4a) performed by a first Mission Critical Push-To-Talk (MCPTT) client (first MCPTT client 102), the first Mission Critical Push-To-Talk (MCPTT) client comprising: a memory (610/612) storing instructions (¶ [0283]); and at least one processor (608) (paragraphs [0281]-[0283]; Fig. 6), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a remotely initiated MCPTT call request (MCPTT remotely initiate call request 406a) from an MCPTT server (MCPTT server 106) (¶ [0151]),
wherein the remotely initiated MCPTT call request comprises one or more call set up parameters including at least one of information associated with a commencement mode or information associated with a priority (parameters included in the remote initiate call request include priority; ¶ [0151]); and
transmitting to the MCPTT server, an MCPTT call request (MCPTT remote call request 414a) comprising indication information indicating that the MCPTT call request is a result of the receiving of the remotely initiated MCPTT call request (the first MCPTT client 102 initiate an MCPTT remote call request for establishing a call with the second MCPTT client 104 via the MCPTT server 106 starting at step 414a using the SIP core, the MCPTT call containing indication information, e.g. the priority information, group ID, and implicit floor control information as a result of receiving the MCPTT remotely initiated MCPTT call request; paragraphs [0158]-[0164], [0222]-[0223]). Pattan do not explicitly disclose the first Mission Critical Push-To-Talk (MCPTT) client comprising the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver. In the same field of endeavor, Solano disclose a first Mission Critical Push-To-Talk (MCPTT) client (UE1/MCPTT client 1) comprising: a memory (604); a transceiver (606), and at least one processor (602) coupled with the transceiver (606) and the memory (604) (Figs. 1, 6; ¶ [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide the type of apparatus, e.g. a user equipment, that the first MCPTT client could use to input information and make calls with the other MCPTT clients.
Regarding claim 17 and 22, Pattan and Solano disclose the method and the first MCPTT client of claim 16 and 21 respectively, wherein the MCPTT call request comprises sending, to the MCPTT server, a group call request (the first MCPTT client 102 sends the MCPTT remote call request towards the MCPTT server 106 via the SIP core, an MCPTT remote group call is initiated, the acknowledgement message to host the group identified by the MCPTT group identity, in an embodiment, the MCPTT remote call request includes the priority information, the group ID and the implicit floor control; Pattan, steps 514a-530a, Fig. 5a, paragraphs [0063]-[0066], [0222]-[0233]).
Regarding claim 18 and 23, Pattan and Solano disclose the method and the first MCPTT client of claim 16 and 21 respectively, wherein the initiating of the MCPTT call comprises a MCPTT private call request (initiating a MCPTT call comprises sending a MCPTT remote private call request 404a includes information that call is a result of the receiving of the remotely initiated MCPTT private call request 402a with notification, priority, private call parameters; Pattan; paras. [0065]-[0066], [0150], [0158]; Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 19 and 24, Pattan and Solano the method and the first MCPTT client of claim 16 and 21 respectively, wherein the MCPTT server (MCPTT server 106) is configured to: receive the remotely initiated MCPTT call request (MCPTT remotely initiate call request 404a) from a second MCPTT client (second MCPTT client 104) (¶ [0151]), verify whether the second MCPTT client is authorized to initiate the remotely initiated MCPTT call request, and transmit the remotely initiated MCPTT call request to the first MCPTT client based on the second MCPTT client being authorized (the MCPTT server 106 verifies and authorizes the request message from the second MCPTT client 104 and sends the request message towards first MCPTT client 102 via the SIP core; Pattan, ¶ [0152], step 406a, Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 20 and 25, Pattan and Solano disclose the method and the first MCPTT client of claim 16 and 21 respectively, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (Pattan; ¶ [0283]), further cause the first MCPTT client to: transmit a remotely initiated MCPTT call response to the MCPTT server based on the receiving of the remotely initiated MCPTT call request, and wherein the remotely initiated MCPTT call response is transmitted from the MCPTT server to a second MCPTT client (the first MCPTT client 102 sends the acknowledgment message at step 410a to the MCPTT server 106, and wherein the MCPTT server 106 sends the acknowledgment message at step 412a to the second MCPTT client 104 through the SIP core; Pattan, step 410a & step 412a; Fig. 4a, paras. [0156]-[0157]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Allen et al (US 10123182) teach merging active group calls at a first Push to talk (PTT) server
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648