DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The substitute specification filed 2/2/24 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2018/0241023).
Lim et al. disclose a battery cell having positive and negative electrodes with a separator in between mounted in a cell case such that the case includes a receiving part for containing the electrode assembly wherein a top portion is sealed to the receiving portion around the edges with electrode tabs protruding therefrom (see claim 1). The reference also teaches forming seal reinforcement tapes (see figure numbers 170, 270, 370, 470, and 570 in figs 1-9) that surround the sealed edge portions of the cell case (140).
With regard to claims 2 and 10-11, see above.
With regard to claim 3, see Figure 4, for example.
With regard to claim 4, see Figures 1-8.
With regard to claim 7, Figure 11 shows an embodiment wherein the seal tape reinforcement has a rounded edge portion (bending portion) that is considered to have a height (i.e., diameter) that is larger than the gap between the ends of the first and second extensions shown on the top and bottom of the bending portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2018/0241023) in view of Kun et al. (KR 2021/0088172 - citations refer to the English translation submitted by Applicant on 2/2/2024).
Lim et al. disclose all the features of the claims, as set forth above, but fail to disclose a reinforcing member with a bending portion and an extension portion having ”a connector connected to respective ends of the extension.”
Kun et al. disclose a pouch battery wherein a sealing clamp structure is used to seal the upper and lower edge portions of the pouch body together (see Figs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a clamp structure to the sealed edges of the pouch body taught by Lim et al. in order to provide a second sealing means in case of failure of the seal reinforcement tapes taught therein. While Kun discloses a clamp-type structure, it does not specifically describe a connector portion connecting the ends of the two extension portions. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add any kind of fastening structure (i.e. a connector) to more securely fasten the clamp to the pouch structure.
Lim et al. fail to disclose the claimed connector wherein “a hook is formed on a portion contacting the second extension on the connector” (claim 8) and wherein the connector “is formed by entangling portions extending from the first extension and the second extension with each other” (claim 9). However, it would have been well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to choose from conventionally known fasteners such as a hook and loop structure. A hook and loop structure would also read on the claimed “entangling portions” of the first and second extensions.
/Holly Rickman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785