Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 depend from claim 1. The claims begin with “a composition” and should begin with “the composition”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 has an extra period at the end of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the total surfactant" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the phrases "more preferably" and “most preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of expedited prosecution the claim is being interpreted as the composition having a pH of 5-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US2014/0187466) in view of Boutique et al (US2017/0362539).
Lin et al teach a laundry detergent a comprising a nonionic surfactant that is methyl ester ethoxylate (MEE) with alkyl chain length of from about 10 to about 20 carbon atoms [0011]. Lin et al further teach the composition has stable MEE at a pH of at least 7.8 [0016]. Lin et al teach the composition comprises 1-5% wt nonionic surfactant [0017]. Lin et al teach an aqueous formulation comprising 75-85% water, 1-6% MEE and 0.15-0.5% fragrance that has a pH of 7.8 [0086].
Lin et al do not specifically teach the instantly claimed fragrances.
Boutique et al teach liquid laundry detergent composition comprising a perfume composition providing superior malodour neutralization of fabrics without causing a colour change of the composition [Abstract]. Boutique et al teach a specific example with an ethoxylated nonionic surfactant and water [0060]. Boutique et al further teaches the perfume raw materials providing superior malodour neutralization of fabrics include compositions containing 2.5% dihydromyrcenol [0056].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to select the dihydromyrcenol fragrance as taught by Boutique et al and use in the composition taught by Lin et al before the effective filing date following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a laundry detergent that is stable and provides superior fragrance perception. One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve the predictable result of neutralizing malodor of the fabric being washed by the composition, as taught by Boutique et al. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761