DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 02/02/2024.
The claims 5, 7, 14, 16-18, 22-24, 27, 29-58 and 60-64 have been canceled by the applicant.
The claims 65 have been newly added by the applicant.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-20, 59 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200322921).
Regarding claim 1 Chen disclose, a method for semi-persistent scheduling of a multicast broadcast service (MBS), performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving configuration information for the semi-persistent scheduling of the MBS sent by a network device para. 41, “UE 120 may include means for receiving information identifying an SPS configuration for a broadcast/multicast communication”; and activating or deactivating a semi-persistent resource of the MBS according to the configuration information para. 41, “means for receiving broadcast/multicast signaling regarding the SPS configuration, wherein the broadcast/multicast signaling indicates to activate, deactivate, or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast communication.
Regarding claim 2 Chen disclose, further comprising:
monitoring an indication signaling of the MBS sent by the network device according to the configuration information para. 6, “receiving information identifying a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration for a broadcast or multicast (broadcast/multicast) communication”,
wherein the indication signaling is configured to indicate the terminal device to activate or deactivate the semi-persistent resource para. 41, “wherein the unicast signaling indicates to activate, deactivate, or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast communication”.
Regarding claim 3 Chen disclose, further comprising:
determining one or multiple candidate semi-persistent resource sets according to first configuration information wherein the configuration information comprises the first configuration information used to configure the semi-persistent resource para. 50, “In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a configuration, a resource allocation”; and
activating or deactivating a semi-persistent resource set indicated by the indication signaling, wherein the semi-persistent resource set is one or more of the one or multiple candidate semi-persistent resource sets para. 41, “means for transmitting an ACK or a NACK for the broadcast/multicast communication; means for receiving unicast signaling regarding the SPS configuration, wherein the unicast signaling indicates to activate, deactivate, or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast communication; and/or the like”.
Regarding claim 4 Chen disclose, further comprising: determining an identification of the semi-persistent resource set indicated by the indication signaling, wherein one or more identifications exist para. 51, “In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a common search space and/or a control resource set (CORESET)”; and
activating or deactivating each semi-persistent resource according to the identification of the semi-persistent resource set para. 52, “As shown by reference number 320, the BS may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication to activate the SPS communication”; or
determining a group identification of a semi-persistent resource set group indicated by the indication signaling wherein the semi-persistent resource set group comprises at least one semi-persistent resource set; and
activating or deactivating each semi-persistent resource set comprised in the semi-persistent resource set group according to the group identification. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 6 Chen disclose, wherein the identification of the semi-persistent resource set is a list item number in a semi-persistent resource set list para. 48, “a system information block (SIB) broadcast, and/or the like, which may conserve resources that would otherwise be used to individually signal the SPS configuration”; or wherein the group identification of the semi-persistent resource set group is a list item number in a semi-persistent resource set group list. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claims 19-20 the limitations of claims 19-20, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 1-2, respectively.
Claim 59 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 65 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 19 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200322921) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180279274).
Regarding claim 8 Zhou does not specifically disclose, further comprising: determining the identification or the group identification from a bit. However, Sun teach, “the DCI format in the second format group can be degraded into 1-bit information”, see para. 110, wherein the bit is one of a reserved bit and a bit in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number field, and the indication signaling is downlink control information (DCI) para. 164-166, “According to the HARQ-ACK time configuration, the HARQ-ACKs of the three PDSCHs are transmitted on the same UCI. When this transmission of DL SPS on carrier 1 is canceled due to being rewrote by the SFI, the information bit of the UCI for transmitting the DL SPS can be NACK”.
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claim 9 Zhou does not specifically disclose, further comprising: directly acquiring the identification or the group identification from the bit in the HARQ process number field, in case that the bit is the bit in the HARQ process number field However, Sun teach, para. 110, “This one bit or new DCI format with very few bits can be suitable to uni-cast or broadcast (such as, paging information and system information) or multicast information (SC-MCCH or SC-MTCH in Single Cell Point To Multi-point (SC-PTM)”; or determining a HARQ process number from the bit in the HARQ process number field, and determining the identification or the group identification according to the HARQ process number. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claim 10 Zhou does not specifically disclose, wherein the configuration information is first configuration information, and monitoring the indication signaling of the MBS sent by the network device comprises. However, Sun teach, “after the operations of monitoring a DCI of a first format group, and activating SPS according to the indication in the DCI in the first format group, the method further comprises:”, see para. 13:
monitoring the indication signaling according to second configuration information, para. 10, “monitoring DCI in a second format group, and releasing SPS according to an indication in the DCI in the second format group”, wherein the first configuration information comprises the second configuration information for the indication signaling for activating or deactivating the semi-persistent resource para. 10, “wherein a payload size of the DCI format in the second format group is less than the payload size of the DCI format in the first format group..
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claim 11 Zhou does not specifically disclose, further comprising:
determining an identification of the indication signaling according to the second configuration information, and monitoring the indication signaling according to the identification of the indication signaling. However, Sun teach, para. 168, “configured to monitor DCI in a second format group, and release SPS according to an indication in the DCI in the second format group”.
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claim 12 Zhou does not specifically disclose, further comprising: determining a discontinuous reception configuration of the indication signaling according to the second configuration information; and monitoring the indication signaling according to the discontinuous reception configuration. However, Sun teach, para. 169, “the SPS method can be applied to paging service or discontinuous reception (DRX) (broadly, paging service belongs to one type of DRX service). A SPS method applied to paging service will be introduced in the following”.
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claim 13 Zhou does not specifically disclose, further comprising: determining a discontinuous reception cycle according to the discontinuous reception configuration of the indication signaling. However, Sun teach, para. 97, “when UE monitors PDCCH, no PDCCH of this UE exists. For reducing the power consumption of UE, it is necessary to provide a save-power paging or DRX monitoring mechanism and user equipment”; and
monitoring the indication signaling within a reception duration in the discontinuous reception cycle para. 97, “similar condition in DRX of connected state, that is, when UE monitors PDCCH, no PDCCH of this UE exists. For reducing the power consumption of UE, it is necessary to provide a save-power paging or DRX monitoring mechanism and user equipment;
or determining a time domain reception graph within the reception duration according to the discontinuous reception configuration; and
determining a monitoring time slot corresponding to the indication signaling according to the time domain reception graph, and monitoring the indication signaling in the monitoring time slot. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claim 15 Zhou disclose, wherein the configuration information comprises:
an identification of the MBS para. 6, “may include receiving information identifying a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration for a broadcast or multicast (broadcast/multicast) communication”;
Zhou does not specifically disclose, first configuration information of the semi-persistent resource. However, Sun teach, para. 15, “the operation of activating SPS according to the indication in the DCI in the first format group, comprises: deciding whether specific field(s) in the DCI is pre-defined configuration(s), if specified field(s) is/are the pre-configured, activating the SPS”; and
second configuration information for an indication signaling for activating para. 16, “after the operation of releasing SPS according to the indication in the DCI in the second format group”
or deactivating the semi-persistent resource wherein the second configuration information comprises an identification of the indication signaling and a discontinuous reception configuration for monitoring the indication signaling; wherein the discontinuous reception configuration comprises a discontinuous reception cycle and a reception duration in the discontinuous reception cycle;
or the discontinuous reception configuration comprises a time domain reception graph within the reception duration, wherein the time domain reception graph comprises a monitoring time slot corresponding to the indication signaling and an occupied time slot corresponding to the semi-persistent resource. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Zhou and Sun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun for semi-persistent scheduling and power control in wireless communication system in the system of Zhou that relates to semi-persistent scheduling configuration for a broadcast or multicast communication in the network, so the system enables more effective resource utilization and clearer identification of data sessions, especially when multiple sessions are scheduled. The motivation for doing so would have been to improved HARQ Handling for multicast and efficiently identify SPS configurations.
Regarding claims 21, 26 and 28 the limitations of claims 21, 26 and 28, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 15, 6 and 8, respectively,
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ouchi et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230068855) which disclose(s) header-compression packet processing method, mobile station, base station, and control station in wireless communication system.
/R.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471