DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, the Examiner interprets the vitrifiable materials as the material worked upon by the apparatus.
In claim 1, lines 12-13, Applicant recites “at least one outlet means located downstream of the fining tank for a melted glass to flow to a working zone”. The Examiner has interpreted “for a melted glass to flow to a working zone” as intended use of the at least one outlet means in the apparatus claim. Accordingly, it is interpreted a working zone is not required in the apparatus claim.
The following claim limitations use the word “means”: electrical heating means, combustion heating means, at least one first inlet means, at least one outlet means, at one second inlet means, and at least one third inlet means.
In the specification, electrical heating means ([0019]- electrodes), combustion heating means ([0019]-burners), inlet means ([0052]-top batch charger), and outlet means ([0070]-[0071]-neck/throat).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: typographical error in claim 18. In claim 18, the Examiner notes the amendment reads “the third crown [[Cliii]]”, in line 2 of claim 18, but Cliii was previously mapped to “the third melting crown [[Cliii]]” in line 3 of claim 17. Appropriate correction is required. For Examination purposes Claim 18, the Examiner interprets “the third crown” should be “the third melting crown”.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographical error in claim 21. Claim 21 references claim 17, the Examiner interprets “ Wlii” should be “Wliii”, since claim 17 references Wliii. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15-16 share dependency with claim 9, and claim 9 claims at least one second inlet means located at the second melting tank, but in claims 15-16 the location of the at least one second inlet means is tied to the at least one first melting tank, and it is unclear how the second melting tank is related to the at least one first melting tank. Accordingly, the claim lacks clarity. For Examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the locations reference the second melting tank.
Claims 23-24 share dependency with claim 17, and claim 17 claims at least one third inlet means located at the third melting tank, but in claims 23-24 the location of the at least one third inlet means is tied to the at least one first melting tank, and it is unclear how the third melting tank is related to the at least one first melting tank. Accordingly, the claim lacks clarity. For Examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the locations in reference the third melting tank.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/869,338 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 9 of the provisional application claims specifically in claim 1 the following:
a melting tank (corresponding to at least one first melting tank); crowns C1 and C2 (corresponding to a first melting crown) and equipped with electrical heating mean;
a fining tank covered by a crown C4 (corresponding to a fining crown) and equipped with combustion means;
a neck (corresponding to at least one first neck) covered by a crown C3 (corresponding to a first crown) and separating the melting tank (i.e. at least first melting tank) and the fining tank;
at least one inlet means located at the melting tank (i.e. at least one first melting tank), for charging the melting tank with vitrifiable materials to be heated; and
at least one outlet means located downstream of the fining tank for melted glass to flow to working zone. Claim 11/9/1 claims the furnace is defined by the following 0.1 * WF <= WN <=0.6 W*WF, where WF corresponds to W2 and WN corresponds to W3i. Accordingly, Claim 11/9/1 claims the same equation 0.1*W2<=W3i<=0.6*W2. Additionally, Claim 9/1 claims WM >= 1.4*WN, where WM corresponds to Wli and WN corresponds to W3i. Accordingly, claim 11 provides for the same equation Wli>=1.4*W3i.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozac et al. (US 5,078,777 – hereinafter Cozac).
Regarding claim 1, Cozac (Figs. 1-6, Col. 10, line 51 to Col. 11, line 25) discloses at least one first melting tank (“tank 2”) covered by a first melting crown (“superstructure 16”). Cozac (Figs. 1-6 and Col. 13) discloses the melting compartment 1 of tank 2 including a plurality of electrodes and (Col. 4, lines 12-13) the furnace may be heated electrically using electrodes immersed in the melt. The plurality of electrodes correspond to electrical heating means. Cozac (Figs. 1-6 and Col. 10, line 51 to Col. 11, line 33) discloses a fining tank (“refining tank 3”) covered by a fining crown (“superstructure 17”) and discloses burners 19, 20, and 21 in the refining compartment in the fining tank. Cozac (Col. 16, lines 18-19) further discloses fuel fed to the burners.
Cozac fails to explicitly state the burners are a combustion heating means. However, since Cozac discloses fuel is fed to the burners, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the burners provide for a combustion heating means, as claimed. Cozac (Figs. 1-6 and Col. 10, line 51 to Col. 11, line 33) discloses at least one first neck (“throat 5”) and the at least one first neck separating the at least one first melting tank and the fining. Cozac (Fig. 6) illustrates the throat is covered. Accordingly, Cozac provides for the at least one neck (i.e. throat) covered by a first crown.
Cozac (Fig. 2 and Col. 7, lines 49-55) illustrates an opening in tank 2 and discloses the tank and supersturcture equipped for receiving and melting raw batch material. Accordingly, based on these disclosures, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, there is at least one first inlet means, such as an opening, located at the at least one first melting tank for charging (i.e. receiving) with raw batch materials (corresponding to vitrifiable materials) to be heated.
Cozac (Figs. 1 and 5 and Col. 10, lines 51 to 67) discloses the refining tank is provided with a neck 10 giving communication with a conditioning tank 11. The neck 10 provides for at least one outlet means located downstream of the fining tank for a melted glass to flow to a conditioning tank (corresponding to a working zone) or to a glass shaping apparatus (corresponding to a working zone).
Cozac (Col. 13) discloses the width of the at least one first melting tank (Wli) is 4.0 m, the width of the fining tank (W2) is 4.0 m, and the width of the neck (i.e. throat) (W3i) as 0.7 m. With these dimensions, Cozac provides for the furnace with dimensions within Applicant’s claimed range as claimed in the equations in lines 15 and 16. For example, in line 15, 0.1*W2 (4.0m) <= W3i (0.7 m) <= 0.6*W2 (4.0m) (calculated as 0.4 m <= 0.7 m <= 2.4 m) and in line 16 Wli (4.0 m) >= 1.4 W3i (0.7 m) (calculated as (4.0 m >= 0.98 m).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Cozac illustrates the neck (i.e. throat) is covered, which provides for a first crown and Cozac (Figs. 1-6) discloses a fining crown (“superstructure 17”). Cozac (Figs. 1-6) further illustrates the first crown covering the throat and a roof of neck 10 has a height which is lower than a height of the fining crown. Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the first crown has a height which is lower than a height of the fining crown.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Cozac discloses a first crown covering the neck and a first melting crown (“superstructure 16”). Cozac (Figs. 1-6) further illustrates the first crown covering the throat and a roof of neck 10 has a height which is lower than a height of the first melting crown. Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the first crown covering the neck has a height which is lower than a height of the first melting crown, as claimed in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Cozac (Col. 13) discloses the width of the at least one first melting tank (Wli) is 4.0 m, the width of the fining tank (W2) is 4.0 m, and the width of the neck (i.e. throat) (W3i) as 0.7 m. With these dimensions, Cozac provides for the furnace with dimensions within Applicant’s claimed range as claimed in claim 5 ((4.0 m) Wli >= 1.5 * W3i (0.7 m) calculated as 4.0 m >= 1.05 m).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Cozac teaches width of the neck (i.e. throat) W3i as 0.7 m. Cozac (Figures and Col. 13) further discloses an alternative tank width, such as 3.6 m and an alternative neck width, such as of 1.2 m. Cozac discloses neck 10 between refining tank 3 and conditioning tank 11. Accordingly, based on the additional teachings by Cozac, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, alternative neck widths, such as such as width of 1.2 m, between two tanks. With this alternative neck width, this provides for the conditions claimed in claim 6, 0.2*4.0 m <= 1.2 m <= 0.6*4.0 m (calculated as 0.8 m <= 1.2 m <= 2.4 m), as claimed.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozac et al. (US 5,078,777 – hereinafter Cozac) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 6,253,578 – hereinafter Kobayashi) and Reynolds et al. (WO2020/229559A1 – hereinafter Reynolds).
Regarding claim 2, Cozac fails to disclose the first melting crown covering the at least one first melting tank, where the height of the first melting crown is lower than a height of the fining crown. However, Kobayashi (Col. 4, lines 26-34 and Fig. 1) teaches a glass melting furnace and teaches a higher crown height due to an increase in burner height so as to prevent an increase in the crown temperature, and teaches a higher crown height increases the furnace wall surface area and results in larger heat losses, thus a lower crown height may be preferred from the standpoint of optimizing furnace energy efficiency. Additionally, Reynolds (Fig. 1, abstract, pg. 11, line 1) discloses a furnace comprising a fining zone (last combustion zone) having a height H, and a melting zone having a height h, and teaches the height h in the melting section as lower than a height in the fining section. Accordingly, based on the additional teachings by Kobayashi and Reynolds, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the crown height affects the furnace energy efficiency of the furnace, and therefore, it is a recognized result effective variable and it would be obvious to optimize the crown height, and it would be obvious to try a first melting crown in a melting section as having a height which is lower than a height of the fining crown covering the fining section during optimization.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozac et al. (US 5,078,777 – hereinafter Cozac) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FR-2787784-A1 (hereinafter FR’784).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Cozac (Fig. 2 and Col. 7, lines 49-55) illustrates an opening in tank 2 and discloses the tank and supersturcture equipped for receiving and melting raw batch material. Accordingly, based on these disclosures, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, there is at least one first inlet means, such as an opening, located at the at least one first melting tank for charging (i.e. receiving) with raw batch materials (corresponding to vitrifiable materials) to be heated.
Cozac fails to disclose the at least one first inlet means located upstream of the at least one first melting tank, as claimed in one embodiment of claim 7 and claimed in claim 8. However, FR’784 (Fig. 1 and [0006]) discloses a glass melting tank 5, and (Figs. 6-8 and [0006]) discloses examples of the introduction of vitrifiable material through an opening in the wall of the furnace. FR’784 (Fig. 8 and [0006]) the use of a throat technique at the opening that includes an upstream enclosure to supply the furnace with vitrifiable material (i.e. glass composition). Both Cozac and FR’784 disclose an opening in the wall of the furnace that provides for at least one first inlet located at the at least one first melting tank. Accordingly, based on the additional teachings by FR’784, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the apparatus of Cozac could be modified to include the use of a throat at the melting tank that includes an upstream enclosure to supply the furnace with vitrifiable material, since it is a known prior art technique to introduce vitrifiable material into a melting tank with a throat technique combined with an upstream enclosure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, allowability is unable to be determined.
Claims 18 and 21 is/are objected to for typographical errors.
Claims 9-14 and 17-22 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of Cozac in view of Johnson fails to disclose or fairly suggest the width of the fining tank in combination with at least one first melting tank, a first neck, a second melting tank, a second neck, and a width of the second neck, as claimed in the inequality that defines the furnace in line 11 of claim 9.
Conclusion
/LISA L HERRING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741