DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim amendment filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-21 remain cancelled.
Claims 22, 24-29 and 31-34 remain withdrawn without traverse for being drawn to nonelected groups; Claims 23 and 30 previously withdrawn are now cancelled; Withdrawn claims 22, 29 and 31 are amended.
Claims 35 and 37 are amended. Claim 36 is now cancelled. Claims 42-44 are new.
Claims 35 and 37-44 are pending and being examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This instant application 18294847, filed on 03/10/2025, is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/011683, filed on 08/05/2022, and claims foreign priority of REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2021-0103705 filed on 08/06/2021 and REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2022-0002693, filed on 01/07/2022. No English copy for the foreign priority document was uploaded.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
All previous claim Objection(s) / Rejection(s) as set forth in the previous Office action (mailed 04/21/2026) that are not repeated and/or maintained in the instant Office action are withdrawn, in light of applicant’s amendment and remark filed on 09/14/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 35 based on the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is interpreted as a pesticide composition comprising histidine and valine, or glutamic acid and leucine , or their salts thereof, with a pesticide.
The transitional phrase “comprising” is an open-ended term that does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or materials, as such that the amino acids in the composition are not only limited to the recited amino acid species, e.g., histidine and valine, or glutamic acid and leucine.
The “pesticide” is not defined in specification, and it is interpreted as any substance used to prevent, destroy, repel, or control pests, including but not limited to insects, weeds, microbes, rodents, termites, or nematodes.
The phrase “ the composition has a reduced pesticide phytotoxicity compared to a composition with either ... alone” is interpreted as the property or intended use of the composition, because the comparison or reduced phytotoxicity does not materially contribute to the subject matter of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35 and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bristow (CN107105663, 08/29/2017, Machine translation replied upon below; in record of 04/21/2026).
Bristow teaches a pesticide composition, specifically a nematicide composition (e.g., [0004]) (corresponding to pesticide in instant claims 35 and 39), comprising component (A) at least one insecticide, preferably selected from groups including abamectin (corresponding to instant claim 40); and component (B) at least one fertilizer, preferably one or more amino acids and one or more micronutrients (e.g., Abstract; Claim 1; Claim 5; Claim 70), selected from glutamic acid, histidine, leucine, valine and other amino acids (e.g., Claim 71; [0034]), wherein two or more amino acids are suitable (e.g., Claim 72), thus combination of two amino acids, e.g., glutamic acid and leucine, histidine and valine, etc., is suitable for the composition; especially in light of claim interpretation, current claims do not exclude other amino acids in the composition due to the “comprising” open-ended term (corresponding to instant claims 35 and 41-43).
Regarding the reduced pesticide phytotoxicity in instant claims 35 and 42-43, in light of claim interpretation, it is interpreted as intended use or property of the composition, therefore, it would necessarily present in prior art, or capable of being achieved by prior art. MPEP 2112.01.II states "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, as indicated in MPEP 2112.01.II. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty."). For this instance, the composition main components are mutual with those in prior art, and therefore, the properties would be anticipated to present in prior art.
MPEP 2144.01 points out "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 and 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristow (CN107105663, 08/29/2017, Machine translation replied upon below; in record of 04/21/2026), in view of Ohara et al. (US20180116215, 05/03/2018).
Bristow teaches a nematicide composition (e.g., [0004]) comprising component (A) at least one insecticide, preferably selected from groups including abamectin, and component (B) at least one fertilizer, preferably one or more amino acids (e.g., Abstract; Claim 1; Claim 5; Claim 70), selected from glutamic acid, histidine, leucine, valine and other amino acids that are suitable to combine in application (e.g., Claim 71; [0034]), which would achieve the reduced phytotoxicity as instantly claimed, as discussed and applied to claims 35 and 39-43 above and incorporated herein.
Bristow further teaches that component A as pesticide in the composition can present at 1-85%, or 10-75%, or 15-70% (e.g., Claims 2-4), and component B, e.g., amino acids, can present at 5-95%, 10-75%, or 10-50% (e.g., Claims 42-44), resulting in amino acid is about 0.06 to 95 times (calculated from lowest amino acid/highest pesticide as 5%/85% to highest amino acid/lowest pesticide as 95%/1%) (overlapping with the range 0.001 to 100 times in instant claim 38).
Bristow does not teach combination ratio of amino acid is 1: 9 to 9: 1 as recited in instant claim 37.
Ohara throughout the reference teaches an agricultural composition against plant disease caused by fungi and bacteria comprising monosaccharide as an active ingredient in combination with one or more assistants including amino acid (e.g., Abstract; [0002]), such as amino acid or salts, such as L-glutamic acid, L-histidine, L-leucine, and L-valine (e.g., Claim 3; [0215]). Ohara teaches the composition can be mixed or used in combination with other agricultural chemicals including nematicides (e.g., [0105]).
Ohara exemplifies in composition containing amino acids, e.g., Test Example 12, amino acid or salt as Assistant 1 combined with D-tagatose shows improvement of control effects against cucumber downy mildew, grape vine downy mildew and cucumber powdery mildew (e.g., [0216], wherein 5 parts each of histidine, valine, leucine, glutamic acid, etc., can be used in the composition (Pg. 28, Table 12; [0216]); Test Example 8 [0194] including 5 (parts) L-glutamic acid, 5 L-histidine, 5 L-leucine, 5 L-valine (Pg, 21, Table 8) (representing amino acid combination ratio as 1:1, overlapping with combination ratio 1:9 to 9:1 in instant claim 37), with treatment concentration of D-tagatose 0.5% +assistant 0.5% (as 1 time of amino acid to pesticide weight ratio, falling within the range of 0.001 to 100 times in instant claim 38).
It would be prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to incorporate Ohara’s teaching of combination ratio resulted from amino acid amounts with the composition taught by Bristow to arrive at current invention. Bristow demonstrates the composition comprising nematicide abamectin with amino acids has the advantage of being easier to produce and apply as well as less costly than known treatment technologies [0005] with surprising exhibition of high activity in controlling various nematodes in broad range of plants (e.g., [0006]; [0010]; [0068-0070]), however, Bristow does not provide individual amino acid amount or combination ratio of more than one amino acids, e.g., two amino acids, in the composition, while Ohara teaches amino acid amounts in the composition exhibiting relative ratio of amino acids to each other, it would have motivated artisans to implement this piece of information like last piece of puzzle to arrive at the current invention. It would have provided artisans reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the claimed invention is a simple combination of reagents known to be obvious materials that all already taught in prior art and discussed above. The idea for combining them flows logically from them having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Moreover, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP §2144.05(I) states that “A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the ranges of a claimed composition overlap the ranges disclosed in the prior art.” See In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003). For this instance, the amino acid ratio in combination, the amino acid relevant amount to pesticide, both overlap with those taught by prior art. Furthermore, “[i]t would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize additive amount through nothing more than “routine experimentation,” because of a reasonable expectation of success resulting from the optimization for desirable features of intended use of the composition (MPEP §2144.05 (II)). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 35 and 39-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristow (CN107105663, 08/29/2017, Machine translation replied upon below; in record of 04/21/2026), as applied to claims 35 and 39-43 above, in view of Hellwege et al. (WO2014019983, 02/06/2014, PTO-892).
Bristow teaches a nematicide composition (e.g., [0004]) comprising component (A) at least one insecticide, preferably selected from groups including abamectin, and component (B) at least one fertilizer, preferably one or more amino acids (e.g., Abstract; Claim 1; Claim 5; Claim 70), selected from glutamic acid, histidine, leucine, valine and other amino acids that are suitable to combine in application (e.g., Claim 71; [0034]), which would achieve the reduced phytotoxicity as instantly claimed, as discussed and applied to claims 35 and 39-43 above and incorporated herein.
Bristow does not teach the pesticide comprises fluensulfone as recited in instant claim 44.
Hellwege throughout the reference teaches pesticidal compositions comprising a pesticidal terpene mixture and insecticide selected from the group including fluensulfone for reducing overall damage of plants and plant parts (e.g., Abstract; Claim 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to incorporate Hellwege’s teaching to include fluensulfone in the composition taught by Bristow to arrive at current invention. Because both are pesticide compositions and Hellwege teaches that the compositions comprising insecticide such as fluensulfone can reduce damage of plants and plant parts, it would have motivated artisans in the field to implement such insecticide for the benefit and reasonable expectation of success. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on 09/14/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts that anticipated rejections based on Bristow have to be withdrawn because applicant amended the claim 35 and Bristow does not establish anticipatory without any need for picking, choosing and combining various disclosures.
In light of claim interpretation as presented in the office action above, the amended claim 35 uses open-ended term “comprising” and the general term “pesticide”, while the reduced phytotoxicity constitutes the composition property or intended use of the composition, as a result of the broadest reasonable interpretation, claims 35 and 39-43 are still anticipated by Bristow without picking or choosing. However, if the claim is amended into close-ended language, “consisting”, the specific combination of the unique two species of amino acids coupling with a specific pesticide would be able to at least overcome the anticipated rejections, or even obviousness rejections if extended searches would conclude as free of prior art at that time.
Applicant asserts that the pending claims are not obvious because the combination of cited references does not teach or suggest amino acid combinations recited in claims, and there is no reason to select the claimed combinations from among infinite possibilities, furthermore, the claimed combinations provide unexpectedly superior results.
As discussed above, in light of the claim interpretation, the “comprising” transitional phrase implies that the current claim scope does not exclude the possibility of combining other amino acids into the recited species of amino acids, and therefore the claim of such amino acid combination is not unique when compared to prior art. As a result, the prior art teaching amino acid species same as recited ones in the composition, coupling with any pesticide establishes an obviousness ground of rejections. The unexpected results as shown in specification would be part of the properties that prior art necessarily would present, or capable of being achieved, because the composition is obviously taught by prior art. MPEP 2145 II. states that “prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present but not recognized in the prior art”, see In re Baxter Travenol Labs., 952 F.2d 388, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (Appellant argued that the presence of DEHP as the plasticizer in a blood collection bag unexpectedly suppressed hemolysis and therefore rebutted any prima facie showing of obviousness. However, the closest prior art utilizing a DEHP plasticized blood collection bag inherently achieved same result, although this fact was unknown in the prior art.). Therefore, even if prior art does not recognize such reduced phytotoxicity generated from the combined amino acids, prior art already teaches the suitable combination of amino acids as instantly claimed, and prior art would necessarily have such capability or property. Especially, as discussed above, the current claim language does not exclude using all kinds of amino acids due to the open-ended comprising language. There is no differentiation between current claims and prior arts’ teaching.
The arguments are not persuasive. Please refer to the entire office action as a complete response to the remarks/arguments.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DX.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616