DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the amendments filed on 02/18/2026.
Claims 9-12, 14 and 15 are pending and presented for examination.
The previous 35 USC 101 Rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
This action has been made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Foreign Priority Date: 08/03/2021).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleges the following on pages 6-8 of the Applicant’s remarks: “For at least this reason, the Office has not established a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness for at least the features of "deriving a texture coordinate based on at least one of a flag information, width information or height information, and updating the texture coordinate for a texture video, wherein the bitstream includes the flag information for representing the texture coordinate is derived based on a projection, the width information related to the texture coordinate, and the height information related to the texture coordinate," as recited in amended claim 9.” The examiner is not persuaded. Schwarz discloses the Applicant’s amended claim language. More specifically, Schwarz discloses the following:
deriving a texture coordinate based on at least one of a flag information, width information or height information,
and updating the texture coordinate for a texture video,
wherein the bitstream includes the flag information for representing the texture coordinate is derived based on a projection, the width information related to the texture coordinate, and the height information related to the texture coordinate
Moreover, Schwarz teachings in Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084 discloses the Applicant’s claim language of “deriving a texture coordinate.”
More specifically, Schwarz Paragraphs 0061 recites “Instead of the above-mentioned approaches, a 3D scene, represented as meshes, points, and/or voxel, may be projected onto one, or more, geometries. These geometries are “unfolded” onto 2D planes (two planes per geometry: one for texture, one for depth), which are then encoded using standard 2D video compression technologies. Relevant projection geometry information is transmitted alongside the encoded video files to the decoder. The decoder decodes the video and performs the inverse projection to regenerate the 3D scene in any desired representation format (not necessarily the starting format).”
Schwarz goes on to disclose at least one of a flag information in Paragraphs 0121; 0151; 0155-0157.
Schwarz goes on to disclose width information or height information in Paragraphs 0081-0084; 0109.
Schwarz goes on to disclose updating the texture coordinate for a texture video in Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084.
Moreover, Schwarz discloses wherein the bitstream includes the flag information for representing the texture coordinate in Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084; 0121; 0151; 0155-0157)
Schwarz discloses a projection in Paragraphs 0061-0064; 0068; 0079; 0085; 0095.
As previously mentioned above, Schwarz discloses the width information Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084; 0109) related to the texture coordinate.
As previously mentioned above, Schwarz discloses the height information related to the texture coordinate in Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084; 0109.
MPEP § 2106 states Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed Cir. 1997). Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwarz, US 20210092430.
Claim 9:
Schwarz discloses a method (See Schwarz Abstract) comprising:
decoding mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057; 0059-0061) of the point cloud data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0129; 0135; 0197) in a bitstream (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0124-0125; 0135; 0197);
and reconstructing the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061) of the point cloud data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0129; 0135; 0197),
wherein the reconstructing the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061) of the point cloud data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0129; 0135; 0197) comprises:
deriving a texture coordinate (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-00841) based on at least one of a flag information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0121; 0151; 0155-0157), width information or height information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081-0084; 0109),
and updating the texture coordinate for a texture video (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084),
wherein the bitstream includes the flag information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0121; 0151; 0155-0157) for representing the texture coordinate (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084) is derived based on a projection (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0061-0064; 0068; 0079; 0085; 0095), the width information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081-0084; 0109) related to the texture coordinate (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084), and the height information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081-0084; 0109) related to the texture coordinate (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0061-0062; 0081-0084).
Claim 14:
Schwarz discloses wherein the bitstream (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0124-0125; 0135; 0197) contains:
information indicating whether a texture map (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081; 0119) related to mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061) of the point cloud data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0124-0125; 0135; 0197);
information indicating whether a unit of reconstruction of the texture map is a block (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081; 0119);
information indicating whether the unit of reconstruction of the texture map is an object (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081; 0119);
a block index (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0080-0083) for reconstruction of the texture map (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081; 0119);
an object index (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0095-0108) for reconstruction of the texture map (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081; 0119);
and offset information related to the texture map (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0081; 0119; 0195).
Claim 15:
Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis as claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz, US 20210092430 in view of Graziosi, US 20210295566.
Claim 10:
Schwarz failed to disclose vertex data. Graziosi discloses this feature in paragraphs 0052; 0062. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Schwarz and Graziosi to enable improved coding of three-dimensional graphic capabilities, more efficiently (See Graziosi Field of Invention).
As modified:
The combination of Schwarz and Graziosi discloses the following:
wherein the decoding of the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061) comprises:
decoding auxiliary information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065) related to the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061);
decoding an occupancy map (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065; 0109) of the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061);
decoding vertex geometry data (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062) of the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061);
decoding attribute data (See Schwarz Paragraph 0057) of the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061);
decoding connectivity (See Schwarz Paragraph 0086) related to the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061);
and decoding normal information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065; 0109) related to the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061).
Claim 11:
The combination of Schwarz and Graziosi discloses wherein the decoding of the auxiliary information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065) comprises:
decoding auxiliary information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065) related to reconstruction of the vertex geometry data (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062) and the attribute data (See Schwarz Paragraph 0057),
wherein the auxiliary information (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065) comprises information for restoring a plane index (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065), a position of a bounding box (See Schwarz Paragraph 0105), a reconstructed position (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065), a patch index map (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065), and a vertex order table (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062) for a patch of the point cloud data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0064-0065), wherein the vertex order table (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062) contains reconstructed connectivity and information for mapping of a restored vertex order (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062), wherein the decoding of the vertex geometry data (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062) of the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061) comprises: reconstructing the reconstructed vertex geometry data (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062) and reconstructed attribute data (See Schwarz Paragraph 0057) based on the reconstructed geometry data, the reconstructed attribute data (See Schwarz Paragraph 0057), and a reconstructed vertex occupancy map (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062).
Claim 12:
The combination of Schwarz and Graziosi discloses wherein the decoding of the mesh data (See Schwarz Paragraphs 0057-0061) comprises: mapping, based on the vertex order table, an index of a reconstructed vertex to an index of a vertex of the connectivity (See Graziosi Paragraphs 0046; 0052; 0062).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 11514610 is generally related to point cloud coding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612
April 14, 2026
1 Schwarz Paragraphs 0061 recites “Instead of the above-mentioned approaches, a 3D scene, represented as meshes, points, and/or voxel, may be projected onto one, or more, geometries. These geometries are “unfolded” onto 2D planes (two planes per geometry: one for texture, one for depth), which are then encoded using standard 2D video compression technologies. Relevant projection geometry information is transmitted alongside the encoded video files to the decoder. The decoder decodes the video and performs the inverse projection to regenerate the 3D scene in any desired representation format (not necessarily the starting format).”