DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The “first high-nitrogen-containing layer” is “21a” in the current specification. However, where are instances where it is indicated as “21”. See at least paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0051, 0055, and 0057.
Paragraph 0057, indicates in Fig. 2 there are references to “Ft1” and “Ft2”. However, these references are not found in Fig. 2.
Paragraph 0058, indicates in Fig. 6 there is reference to “Ft1”. However, this reference is not found in Fig. 6.
Paragraph 0066, for uniformity, a parenthesis is needed for numeral “5”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroshima.
Regarding claim 1, Hiroshima teaches a chip resistor (thin-film resistor; see at least paragraph 0041 and fig. 1) comprising:
an insulating substrate (insulating substrate such as alumina 1);
a resistive layer formed of an alloy containing Cr, Si, and N, the resistive layer
being provided on the insulating substrate (resistive film 3a composed of Cr, Si and N; paragraph 0048); and
a first high-nitrogen-containing layer provided on the resistive layer, the first high-nitrogen-containing layer being made of an alloy having a N atomic percentage higher than a N atomic percentage of the resistive layer (Second resistive film 3b, wherein the nitrogen mixture ratio in the sputtering gas for forming the second resistive film is made larger than that used for the first resistance film, and therefore that the nitrogen proportion in the second resistance film 3b is greater than that in the first resistance film 3a. See paragraphs 0048-0053.).
Regarding claim 3, Hiroshima teaches the chip resistor according to claim 1, wherein a film thickness of the first high-nitrogen-containing layer is 1,000 nm or less (The resistive film 3a has a thickness between 30 to 150nm. Rs1, the thickness of the resistance film is less than the thickness Rs2 of the first high-nitrogen-containing layer 3b. 19Rs1≤Rs2. Therefore, the thickness of the first high-nitrogen-containing later 3b is with the range of 1000nm or less.).
Regarding claim 5, Hiroshima teaches the chip resistor according to claim 1, wherein the alloy of the first high-nitrogen-containing layer contains at least one element selected from a group including Cr, Nb, Ta, Al, and Si (metal elements such as Nb, Ta and Al may be added to the high-nitrogen-containing layer; see paragraphs 0126-130).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach or suggest the chip resistor, further comprising, between the insulating substrate and the resistive layer, a second high-nitrogen-containing layer made of an alloy having a N atomic percentage higher than a N atomic percentage of the resistive layer.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or suggest the chip resistor, wherein the composition of the alloy of the first high-nitrogen-containing layer is 40 atom% or more in a N atomic percentage.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or suggest the chip resistor, wherein a composition ratio excluding elements O and N of the alloy of the first high-nitrogen-containing layer is matched with a composition ratio excluding elements 0 and N of the alloy of the resistive layer in a range of ±5 atom% for each constituent element.
Claims 7-9 are allowed.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest the method for manufacturing a chip resistor comprising:
performing a heat treatment in a temperature range between 500°C and 700°C
both inclusive in an atmosphere containing oxygen to adjust a temperature coefficient of
resistance (TCR) indicating a change in resistance per degree of absolute temperature of
the resistive layer, and oxidizing a part of a surface of the first high-nitrogen-containing.
layer to form an oxide layer.
Conclusion
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831