Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is nonsensical. The frame is demountable for covering the frame? If the frame is demounted, how can it cover itself?
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the deflection elements" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palm et al (EP 3690962) with references made to English equivalent (US 2022/0158022).
Palm discloses, regarding claim 1, A spacer device for a heating system for heating large-area substrates (See Figs 8-10), wherein the spacer device comprises: a frame (frame 13); and a covering supported by the frame and made of several intersecting flexible spacer elements (spacer elements 20, 22, 23, See Paragraphs [0102], Figs 8-11). Regarding claim 2, as the elements 20, 22, 23 are rods, they must be woven. (See Paragraph [0112]) Regarding claims 5 and 6, the spacers are made from glass threads/string. (See Paragraph [0039]). Regarding claim 8, Figs 7-11 show the frame being rectangular with the covering comprising longitudinal and transverse to the frame. Regarding claim 10, the frame is made from graphite or carbon fiber. (See Paragraph [0007], [0045]) Regarding claim 14, the heating system has a susceptor 5, with an upper and lower surface as shown in the figures, a spacer device 13 above the susceptor 5, as shown in Fig 2, an infrared radiation source 7 (See Paragraph [0084]) to heat the lower surface of the susceptor 5. Regarding claim 15, the heating system has a susceptor 5, with an upper and lower surface as shown in the figures, a spacer device 13 above the susceptor 5, as shown in Fig 2, an infrared radiation source 7 (See Paragraph [0084]) to directly heat the lower surface of the susceptor 5. Regarding claim 19, Figs 7-11 show several of the spacer elements being formed from a single string or cord. It is not clear if applicant is claiming all a single continuous string/cord, or if each spacer element is one string between each connection, compared to two parallel strings between each connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm et al (EP 3690962) in view of Ulrich (US 2007/0261956).
The teachings of Palm have been discussed above. Palm fails to disclose the claimed elastic modulus.
Ulrich discloses a set of spacers for holding a substrate. (See Abstract.) Ulrich describes the substrate carrier having a modulus of elasticity based on certain factors such as warpage and thermal expansion. (See Paragraph [0010])
It would have been obvious to adapt Palm in view of Ulrich to provide the E Modulus of at more 75 GPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, It would have been obvious to adapt Palm in view of Ulrich to provide the claimed fill factor since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, It would have been obvious to adapt Palm in view of Ulrich to provide the spacer element diameter and mesh size between adjacent spacer elements since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm et al (EP 3690962) in view of Applied Materials (DE 202008013163) with references made to applicant provided machine translation.
The teachings of Palm have been discussed above. Palm fails to disclose the several deflection elements which are demountable for covering the frame.
Applied Materials discloses a frame having deflection elements 18, 25a, as shown in Figs 9 and 12. The deflection elements or projections serve to mount the frame in order to cover it with the carrier plate. It would have been obvious to adapt Palm in view of Applied Materials to provide the deflection elements for mounting the frame to another element such as the carrier plate.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/27/2026