DETAILED ACTION
"Beyond Iron: Iridium-Containing P450 Enzymes for Selective Cyclopropanations of Structurally Diverse Alkenes" to Key et al.
(hereinafter Key). Key discloses an unnatural metalloenzyme (pg. 303, left col, para 2: artificial metalloenzymes created from a P450).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0024372 to Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) and Key et al (ACS Central Science 2017).
CMU discloses a method for conducting a controlled atom transfer radical reaction [0002] catalyzed by a transition metal and a catalase enzyme [0008] (Fig. 3)
providing a first substrate, wherein the first substrate comprises an alkyl halide moiety [0067] alpha-bromophenyl acetic acid), providing a second substrate, wherein the second substrate comprises an unsaturated carbon-carbon moiety (Fig. 5): but does not
disclose an atom transfer radical addition or atom transfer radical cyclization reaction catalyzed by an unnatural metalloenzyme however at the time the invention was filed
it would have been obvious to provide a metalloenzyme catalyst, wherein the metalloenzyme catalyst exerts enantiocontrol or diastereocontrol over the
first and the second substrates; and combining the first substrate, the second substrate, and the metalloenzyme catalyst to react such that an atom transfer radical addition reaction or an atom transfer radical cyclization reaction occurs to afford a product wherein the alkyl group and the halogen atom of the alkyl halide moiety are installed across the unsaturated C-C bond of the unsaturated moiety with a desirable
enantiomer or and diastereomer outcome because Key discloses an unnatural metalloenzyme (p 303) which is an artificial metalloenzymes created from a P450.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
The enzyme of Key would be obviously substituted in the process of CMU also a heme-based enzyme to produce a product with a desirable enantiomer or and diastereomer outcome.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Key et al (ACS Central Science 2017) and Bernhardt (J of Biotech 124 p128-145 (2006).
Key discloses many variants of P450 made and used specifically to use as stereodivergent catalysts and while Key doesn’t teach the exact mutations instantly claimed, because it was old and well known in the art to make and use point mutated P450s, it would have been obvious to do so especially since Bernahdt (section 4.3 Engineering of P450 substrate specificity) further teaches that it was old and well known in the art to make and use point mutated P450s at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657